Ducati Streetfighter 848 launched by Next Bike – RM99,333

Next Bike Sdn Bhd, the importer and distributor of Ducati motorcycles in Malaysia, launched the Ducati Streetfighter 848 bike at its showroom in Taman Tun this afternoon. Ducati’s Streetfighter naked bike is not new, but this 2012 model year 848 is, featuring a smaller 849 cc L-Twin engine in place of its big brother’s 1,099 cc unit.

The Italian bike maker says that the 848 “adds everyday accessibility” to its famous naked sport bike family. The Testastretta 11, Desmodromic, liquid-cooled engine makes 132 hp at 10,000 rpm, compared to the bigger engine’s 155 hp at 9,500 rpm.

The sexy thing is suspended by front Marzocchi 43 mm fully adjustable forks and progressive linkage rear suspension with a fully adjustable Sachs monoshock. To stop the 169 kg (dry) bike, you’re looking at double 320 mm semi-floating discs and radially mounted monoblock four-piston Brembo calipers up front. The rear disc is a 245 mm unit with two-piston floating calipers.

Ducati Data Analyzer (DDA) and ABS are available on the Streetfighter 848, which comes in three colours, black, yellow and red. The nett selling price is RM99,333, and you can find out about 100% financing schemes at Next Bike outlets.

This unveil comes after the October 2011 introduction of the (relatively) affordable Monster 795 and last month’s launch of the beast called Diavel AMG, and Next Bike is in a bullish mood.

“In the first quarter of 2012, we expect to sell more bikes than our total sales volume in the whole of 2011, an astonishing growth that reflects our economic prosperity and the growing sophistication of Malaysian buyers,” said Datuk Wira SM Faisal, Joint Group Executive Chairman of the Naza Group.

The Streetfighter is quite a sight, so enjoy the gallery below!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• less is more. function over form. luv it.

• JeremyNg on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:48 pm

135hp in a 169kg bike ……. tats insane !!!

• Wat insane? those 1000cc hyper sportsbikes have 1 to 1 power to weight ratio…eg, R1 190kg with 200hp. BMW RR, gsxr1000..etc..etc

• The more HP the better !

As long as it is controllable and we have the tires to lay it on.

Tires to the ground and chin to the tank, 300kph is an experience achievable by anybody with a 180HP bike. A cheap thrill at rm100k compared to trying to do this with 4 wheels and rm1mil.

• SF848 Oz on Dec 20, 2012 at 2:44 pm

169kg is “dry weight”. with fluids, it’s 188kg not inclusive of petrol.

• VOTE AND DEMAND 4 CHEAPER CARS on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Beautiful bike, a sportier version of the Ducati Monster. How much does it cost in Langkawi?

• kadal on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm

don’t waste your money in langkawi with this thing. you will be running out of road…

• Grandpatrucker on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Kawasaki ER6N alike…haha!!

• _xXx_ on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:58 pm

moto ni xbleh pakai kat negara2 dunia ke-3 laa…kunci ngan rantai balak kat tiang lampu pon bleh hilang skali ngan tiang…

• wow great!!i like it..

• policeman on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:05 pm

“Paul Tan – Malaysia New Cars, Car News, Car Reviews”

Apa ini motor buat sini?

• shutup on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:24 pm

GTFO or STFU. No one cares if your don’t like the review about superbikes. I’m a big fan of cars & superbikes, so these type of articles are welcomed.

• terminator on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:24 pm

lovely 100% tax, but still lower than 200% on CBU vehicle.

• daamz on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:38 am

tq malaysian becoz over 50 years – Angguk2 saje.. xpernah geleng2. 200% pun 200% la.. haha..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:48 pm

ducati…meh KTM better.

• you have a KTM?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:26 am

nope. but tried before. the ducati isnt a bad bike but its very overrated.

• Jordam on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:50 am

Style baby Style . You buys a Ducati for the same damn reasons you buy a Ferrari 458 ( which the Nissan GT-R will kick its butt ) Style . And the ldieas ( no Bird is impressed with a Honda no matter how good it is) And if I didn’t already mention it . Flyin by all those Rice Burners with a huge amount of ;STYLE ( Ah con Brio La Dolce Vita ) Live a little . Join the Darkside just once ( buy Italian ) Then after you’ve had your fun come back to earth sell the beast and buy something a bit more ahem .. practical .

• KELETAKUEI on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Dulu motor murah……tapi tahun 97 gawat, abang nuar kita menteri kewangan …..dia kata naik cukai 200%. Sekarang, depa buat buat buat lupa………yalah cukai tinggi tinggi senang lah depa songlap. Bela lembulah , burung walit lah, beli submarin lah…….Depa bukan peduli hang mati atas jalan naik kapcai.

• KELETAKUEI on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Punya mahal…….botak tu tak ade hati perut ke, jual motor mahal pada kereta?

• Ducatista on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Ferrari,Lambo….harga lebih rm1juta..kereta ke motor lagi mahal?

• daamz on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:29 am

haha,, wat a comment? funny? then i comment to u la, Apache, Blackhawk, lebih dari 10 juta, mana lagi mahal? F-16, F-22, lebih dari 100 juta, mana lagi mahal? waaa.. benda macam ni pun nak coment. coment benda lain la better.

• keletakui on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:00 am

Pandailah Abang…..abang sekolah kat mana? Apasal tak banding dengan Boeing747 atau space-shuttle terus?

• Preferring KTM over Ducati does not mean you have to own KTM, then only can make the comment. Some people prefer Ferrari than Lambo or vice versa, but they don’t own either one.

• mindfaucet on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:14 am

Wah lawanye moto ni.. the coolness feeling riding in one of these Ducatis will never disappear lah! Hopefully can own one before getting too old to ride one.

• samsam on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:49 am

great, i can see at least got 4 superbike on highway everday. pls bring more superbike into malaysia,.

• Great Sunda on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:37 pm

syarikat Ducati mungkin bankrup bila-bila masa, apasal NAZA tak take-over Ducati?

• The 848 streetfighter is a great bike, I have ridden ducatis and jap bikes for near to 2 decades now.

But what I am critical of, is the price it is being sold. The bike has a retail price in the US of usd13000. Based on the tax structure the bike should cost rm75000.

Naza is overly profiteering by their control of the AP. This profiteering applies to all the bikes. Thanks to our BN government, we need to cough up more than we need to for our hobbies.

I recommend buying a kawasaki instead, they are the only guys selling the bikes at equivalent prices to the US after taxes.

Hopefully, the new government will end this AP business.

• Spencer L on Mar 28, 2012 at 1:22 am

How much is the maintainence cost for this bike?

• nice bike…service at 12000km… nice spec, unfortunetely the price way over MSRP 13000USD…if direct convert the price will be approx RM40k to 45k without shipping cost, gov tax, sales tax n tetex….so selling @ RM99k seems like somebody make a lot of money here…

we superbike lovers must realise that gomen n their kroni make money from it… what should we do now??? get rid of them so we can buy our feveret bike…

we understand that they are businessman…talking bout bisnes definitely relate to profit….i dont mind buying a bike as long as the price is reasonable and well justified…in this case, if the bike MSRP is RM45k then i allow Shipping cost 5K…duty n sales tax 20% (9K)..profit 10% or 15% (6.75k) showroom cost RM 0.5k = total that i’m willing to pay is RM66.25K…let SAY RM70k

so who eat the remaining RM30k for each bike???hahahah

i bought HD iron883 brand new 2010 tht cost me RM30k in Bahrain (exclude regis n insurance) while HD malaysia sell it at 90K… if this thing still continue, most of our dream will go to the grave…KAMI SUME SUKE PAKAI MOTO BESAR….huhuhu jgn la wat kami begini

• absolutmemoryloss on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:10 am

Just a noticed a misleading info on the article.
    The StreetFigther does come with DDA, but no ABS.

• 848 owner on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:24 am

Sbk doesnt really need the ABS function, will kill the rider if got one. They are the expert in making Ducati not you

• SF848 Oz on Dec 20, 2012 at 2:37 pm

@848 owner: if an sbk “doesn’t need ABS”, then why would Ducati put it on the Panigale, seeing as how that’s arguably the best sbk in the world?