RIP: Ferdinand Alexander Porsche, creator of the 911

Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Stuttgart, is mourning the loss of the father of the 911, Professor Ferdinand Alexander Porsche, the Honorary President of the Supervisory Board. He died on April 5, 2012, in Salzburg. He was 76 years old.

Ferdinand Alexander Porsche, or F.A. Porsche as called by his colleagues, was born on December 11, 1935 in Stuttgart and was the eldest son of Dorothea and Ferry Porsche, and the grandson of Ferdinand Porsche, the founder of the Porsche car brand.

Automobiles dominated F.A. Porsche’s childhood as he spent plenty of time in Porsche’s construction areas and development workshops with his grandfather. In 1943, the family moved as well as the Porsche brand moved to Zell am See in Austria, where he attended school. He returned to Stuttgart in 1950 and furthered his education in the College of Design in Ulm.

In 1958, F.A. Porsche, started in the design office of the former Dr. Ing hc F. Porsche KG. His first model was the successor to the 356 series. In 1962, he became the head of the Porsche Design Studio and debuted the Porsche 901 (or 911) a year later. Elements of his design and vision still live on the seventh generation 911 today. F.A. Porsche also designed the Formula 1 racecar type 804 and the Porsche 904 Carrera GTS – still considered as one of the most beautiful racing cars ever.

He founded the ‘Porsche Design Studio’ when the Porsche car company was made into a limited company in 1971/72, which also saw the other family members retired from the car company’s business operations.

In 1974, the headquarters of Porsche Design was relocated to Zell am See in Austria. In the following decades, he designed a number of men’s watches eyewear and writing instruments. Under the brand “Design by FA Porsche”, he and his team penned a variety of industrial products, household appliances and consumer good for internationally known clients.

F.A. Porsche won countless honours and awards for his work as a car designer and his other designs. The “Comité International de Promotion et de Prestige” was honoured to him in 1968 for outstanding aesthetic design of the Porsche 911, while he was chosen as the Industrie Forum Design Hannover (iF) 1992 “award winners”. He earned the title of professor from the Austrian Federal President in 1999.

Ferdinand Alexander Porsche was a Porsche AG shareholder and board member. From 1990 to 1993, F.A. Porsche held the role of supervisory board chairman and thus had large share of the economic turnaround of Porsche AG. In 2005 he handed over his mandate to his son Ferdinand Oliver and took the position of honourary chairman of the supervisory board.

Matthias Müller, President and Chief Executive Officer of Porsche AG, paid tribute to Ferdinand Alexander Porsche’s services to the sports car manufacturer: “We mourn the death of our partner, Ferdinand Alexander Porsche. As the creator of the Porsche 911, he established a design culture in our company that has shaped our sports cars to this very day. His philosophy of good design is a legacy to us that we will honour for all time.”

An official memorial service will be held in Stuttgart at a later date.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Danke Doktor Butzi F.A. Porsche

• littlefire on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:48 pm

He invented quite a lot of new technology, which include the hybrid technology first in automobile.. If can, try to google around about him.. R.I.P

• squawk on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:23 pm

RIP.

• beritakini on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:32 pm

RIP mr. porsche.

are there still any porsche family member in porsche co now?

• jay8393 on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:45 pm

The automotive world mourns the loss of yet another genius. R.I.P Dr. Porsche. Thank you for creating great cars that is well-loved worldwide. Danke!

• Chyan on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:47 pm

RIP Ferdinand.

• Porsche Overpriced in Malaysia on Apr 06, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Ferdinand will roll in his grave knowing that his Porsche is sold here at RM900,000 when it is in actual fact only about 70,000 to 80,000 pounds. In heaven, he must be wondering what the BN government is doing with the extra money.

• zainal abidin on Apr 07, 2012 at 8:56 am

” In heaven, he must be wondering what the BN government is doing with the extra money.”

Alamak,

Seriously, this is about the passing of the great man. Even if the cost is ONLY 70,000 pound sterling you may say, is still around RM350,000 and not many Germans can afford a PORSCHE either. Believe me,if someone WANTS TO BUY a Porsche, he or she has the means to purchase it.

• Tan Kah Wai on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:12 am

kawan, not everybody can get government help lah.

• Leonardo on Apr 09, 2012 at 2:11 pm

I don’t know what Porche the car has got to do with any political parties in Malaysia. And I don’t want to be dragged in the mud by some misled comments.
        His ‘frogged eyed’ Porche will always remain the icon of Porche cars for many more years to come.
        RIP Mr Porche.

• zainal abidin on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Oh oh please don’t misinterpret me, I was only quoting ‘Porsche Overpriced in Malaysia’. Thank you for your understanding.

• Are you in the market for a 911? or just whining?

• matured man on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:21 am

how we know where will anyone end up, heaven or hell, you think going to heaven like purchasing travel ticket.

• i thought 911 creator is islamic terrorist? no?

• no, its bush

• loveit on Apr 07, 2012 at 1:01 pm

I know ur are being sarcastic but the ‘911’ has no coincide with any terrorism aptitude. The original name clashed with Peugeot right on car naming..

• R.I.P.
    a man who design a real German sports car…

• hway de Cruz on Apr 07, 2012 at 9:12 am

God bless u, may ur soul rest in peace…

• Jerry on Apr 07, 2012 at 9:39 am

Will TG’s 911-critic Jezza shed a tear?

• GT Fan on Apr 08, 2012 at 5:10 pm

That shaggy haired fool gave the new 911 0 stars because its tyres went flat.

• 911 4ever on Apr 07, 2012 at 10:18 am

May he RIP. The man was a genius!

• A legend dies….R.I.P

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 07, 2012 at 7:51 pm

The frogs will miss him, RIP….

CROOOAAAKKK!!!!

• Kumar san on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:14 am

R.I.P Ferdinand “Ferry” Porsche.

The automotive world has seen a great loss with your departure.

When i was a young automobile engineer just starting to work in Detroit,Michigan(1984),you were an inspiration to me then,even until now.

You will forever be remembered as the sole pillar of strength that’s made Porsche what it is today.

• And you thought Savvy with step window was such a timeless iconic design…”shoh away” the Top Gear said with the viewers groaned ‘Owwwhhh’ watch it at youtube lah HA HA HA HA HA

• quottro on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:44 am

A great lost for Porsche… :(