New Chevrolet Impala full-size sedan unveiled in New York

Last week, we saw the new Toyota Avalon, which shed its old man image in two strikes – “emotionally styled exterior design” and “improved dynamic performance”. It wasn’t the only new full-sized car debuting in NYC though, you’re looking at the 2014 all-new Chevrolet Impala that will battle the Avalon.

Like the Avalon, the Impala features striking new sheetmetal that represents the next evolution of Chevrolet’s design vocabulary. So brace yourselves for more Chevys looking like this, a “luxury Camaro saloon”, if there’s such a thing.

“Our design team was challenged to create a new classic, but that didn’t mean relying on nostalgia. This is very much a contemporary car, with design elements, craftsmanship and attention to detail that complement its advanced technology and performance,” said said John Cafaro, director of North America passenger car exterior design.

A package of sound-absorbing, sound-suppressing and even active noise cancellation (on four-cylinder models) contributes to the 2014 Impala being Chevrolet’s quietest full-size sedan ever. For those not used to the US size chart, the Corolla/Civic/Cruze class is “compact”, while the Camry/Accord class is labeled as “midsize”. In that fierce battleground, GM has the Malibu.

The 2014 Impala will be powered by three engines. An Ecotec 2.4L works with the eAssist system to provide electrical assist in certain conditions to help save fuel. It is estimated at 182 hp. The Ecotec 2.5L is part of a new family of four-cylinder engines developed with increased efficiency and greater refinement. This one is estimated at 195 hp. A 3.6L V6 with roughly 303 hp tops the range. All engines come with a six-speed automatic.

Driver assistance systems include full-speed-range adaptive cruise control, collision mitigation braking, forward collision alert, lane departure warning, side blind zone alert and rear cross traffic alert. 10 airbags and OnStar will also be available.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just me on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:34 pm

This car really big size. I rented the current model in US, the boot is so big that I have to crawl into the boot to take my camera tripod. Furthermore 2 largest size luggage are able to put flat in the boot, front & back. But the fuel consumption ….. definitely a drinking machine.

• Murano2012 on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Neat. Kia K5 look-alike though.

• Major T-roll on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Your comment is very very stupid. For one, you show no understanding of design language. Second, you offer no real POV here. Are you an oxygen thief?

• Lim Kopi on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Naza should try bring some REAL AMERICAN CHEVIES to Malaysia …

At least, they are the ones that really mean the business, instead of those Korean Rebadged Daewoos ….

• Storm on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Another stupid comment. When are they going to stop this? Now for them all new cars look like Korean. The only time they will stop using the word copy I think is the day we see a car with 5 wheels, 1 door, star shaped rear light, triangle headlamp, stool type seats…

• Minor T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:01 am

agree.. just look at the C pillar

• ss427 on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Hmm… although the side profile, esp the C pillar area, looks alot like the Nissan Teana, and the rear end looks like the Passat, GM still manage to pull off one handsome looking full size sedan :)

The engine sizes are good for this part of the world too. Unfortunately there’s no RHD planned and the Malibu is about the biggest Chevy sedan we can realistically get over here. It will replace the unweirdly Chevy Epica which was just being used en masses as taxis in SG :p

The Malibu will be build by Daewoo in Korea just like the Cruze.

haha when will the Japs offer anything similar to the Impala? The new Camry looks just too cheap and even more boring than the current gen. Accord? Too weird looking,
    Only the Koreans can offer anything similar for similar prices…:)

Proton? haha :D:D

• pauline tan on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:21 pm

impala is same size as Merc S class. i have driven one in the states. very comfortable.

• Jufri on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:08 am

there is no more Daewoo in Korea. it is now called GM Korea.

• Kumar san on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:40 pm

This latest incarnation of the Chevy’s legendary Impala model is certainly striking,it looks tough as hell and seems to be equipped to the hilt with kit.As with most of Chevy’s North America market models,this should sell in large numbers.The Yanks love their Impala’s.

Of the 20 odd years i was working in the States,i owned 3 different Impala’s.My first was 1961 Impala with 327ci small block V-8,stick shift..fins and all.My second one was probably one of the largest muscle cars i have ever owned,it was a 73′ Coupe,it came stock with a 350ci small block and a Munchie 4 speed stick tranny,it was anemic to say the least due to the smog regs of the day,so i swapped that motor for a nice ground pounding tyre shredding LS7 454ci big block.Now this is an engine>pure grunt.No contest.Enough said.This Impala was just over 20 feet long and pig heavy.

My last Impala was a 92′ SS 350ci small block 4 door sedan with a 5 speed tranny.Great car,it was well built for it’s time,it will run forever and it was very,very realiable.Great cars.I really miss them since coming home recently.

Cheers.

• David D on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Well detailed ownership experience dude. Truth be told, i would have the Hyundai Azera/Grandeur anyday, but this, whoa, it’s one heck of a beauty.

Sure, it kinda looks like a yacht, but what the heck man! This sort of car will get you more attention than any Taurus, Avalon, Azera or even the Lacrosse put together!! Not to mention the space in such large cars like this. As big as an E-Class, but with S-Class-like space inside, for a whole damn lot less.

Now, i think we’re wondering whether the luxo barges with luxo badges on it is worth the extra dough after all………….

• ss427 on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:22 am

Well David I’ve to correct you there. The current gen Impala may be a large, but cheap looking car, the new one seen here will be a totally different model and it will be marketed as a much higher end vehicle rather than a straight-to-rental-car-fleet kind of car like the present gen.

The new Impala uses the same chassis as the Malibu, which in turn is based on the superb Opel Insignia chassis … GM lengthen the wheelbase to make it a full size car. The tuning may not be the exactly the same as the Opel, but it will be close and certainly competitive with what the Japs, Koreans can offer these days

It will be much more economical to drive too since the 2.5L DI Ecotec engines are all shared by the Malibu and various Opels. Even the top spec 3.6L V6 is a superbly modern unit that sees duty in Cadillac CTS too. It has DI, DOHC, VVT and 300+hp.

• Kumar san on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Agreed man,you are spot on there.Your call name denotes a big block american V-8 (427ci = 6998cc engine)namely the 427ci engine size is used mostly by Chevrolet or the GM lineup.The only Ford big block V-8 to displace 427ci was an sohc 427ci FE block,which was used mostly by the Can Am race cars-They are highly sought after today.Were you in the States before by any chance?

The Corvettes,Chevelles and other GM/Buick/Cadillac/Pontiac/Oldsmobile full size,mid size and sport cars used a cast iron blocked 427ci V-8’s.And even a stupidly rare Camaro in 1969 called the ZL-1 used a 427ci all aluminium big block V-8-A buddy of mine still has it and it’s worth a serious amount of dough nowadays..came only in Canary yellow.For those in the know,a big block carburettered V-8 has a collossal amount of grunt.If you have gunned a LS7 454ci big block to the engine speed governor as used in the legendary 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle you will know what real grunt really is.

I owned close to 50 odd muscle cars from various American marques in my 20 odd years i was there,including a sweet 1969 Chevrolet Camaro ss396 big block 4 speed Munchie,i love american muscle,yes they don’t handle very well(can be sorted which i did for all my muscle cars)and are barge big,but there is nothing even remotely like them out there.(ss) stands for Super Sports which is unique to the Chevy nameplate.Which denotes your first alphabetical call name ss427,am i right here bro?

Cheers.

• ss427 on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:10 pm

haha that is sharp bro. Yup ss427 refers to one of the greatest GM big block V8s of all time… 7L, yes people, that’s 7000cc, OHV (what’s DOHC?), dual 4 barrel carbs… and either 430hp or 450hp depending on which GM vehicle it was installed in.

I’ve never actually rode in any of the 60s muscle cars when I was studying in the US those many yrs ago… saw quite a few on the roads though… and back in the mid 90s where small 4 cyln engines still can’t offer big power realistically, the sounds of all these small and big block V8s rubbing by was really intoxicating… more so during winter where the temp is cold.

Managed to take quite a few pics of them. :)

My favorite is still the 1970 Chevelle SS454… an enlarged, 7.4L version of the 427… :)

• Kumar san on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:32 pm

I owned both the 69’&70′ Chevelle SS454’s at one point,both were 4 speed “sticks”(manuals to us Asians) and both were lovingly restored to concours level,though i did not enter them in shows because i always feel that these rides should be driven,not spend all that money and years only to be ‘trailer queens” at the end of the day.

And yes,both of my Chevelle’s i restored them myself in my garage with a few of buddies chipping in.As a matter of fact,most of the muscle cars i owned over the years in the States i restored them myself.I’m an automobile engineer by profession and i worked for all the Big 3 in Detroit,Michigan where i was based for 20 odd years before coming home recently.

Allow me to tell you a story about how i found my 70’ Chevelle.Somewhere in 1990,me and my best buddy Steven were driving in my 1970 Dodge Challenger 426 Hemi R/T(4 speed stick of course and this is another american iron legend) after restoring it on a road trip across the U.S during our summer vacation.

We were barreling down rural Texas roads at close to 100mph when we passed a ranch with a huge barn with a car next to it under a tarp.Could not make out what it was so we drove up to the huge house and asked the owner.

And on the patio sat an old grandpa sipping moonshine on his rocking chair!(moonshine is an ilicitly brewed liqor famous in the southern states)I ask him about the car and he tells it’s a Chevelle and he says he seriously wants to get rid of it.It belonged to his son who died in a nasty crash,it has been sitting under that tarp for 18 years.I lift the tarp and i almost shat myself.It was an ss454,with a Munchie 4 speed,fully optioned out and it was actually in very good nick,only dusty.It was Orange Gold with black stripes on the hood.

Gramps said “She will fire up,give me 3 grand in cash and it’s yours son,hell,i’ll throw in the trailer too”.We paid on the spot,got plastered on moonshine,stayed the night with gramps and drove back to detroit the next day with the Chevelle at the back on the trailer towed by the Dodge in disbelief.It took me and Steven 2 years to restore it to awesome standards.What a car.Brilliant.

Cheers.

• Andrew on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Nice

• just wonder if this model will be available here in bolehland

• Annecy on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Don’t think I’ve ever heard of a RHD Impala before. But if they do bring it here, I think they’ll price it way up there with the 5-series or something of that class. Far off from what Chevrolet’s chief engineer in the late 1950s, defined as a “prestige car within the reach of the average American citizen.”

• ss427 on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:37 am

Actually there was. According to my dad, Chevrolet used to sell the Bel Air and Impalas in SG back in the 60s till the late 60s. And I believe they were sold in Bolehland back then as well.

They were not exactly the same models as sold in North America, rather they were rebadged Holdens (GM’s Aussie’s arm) from that era. The arrangement was needed as we require RHD models and GM doesn’t build RHD cars in the US back then.

Not really a problem for the Holdens themselves of that era were build off the same Impala platform and featuring the same engine/drivetrain options. Major styling elements are the same too.

The Impalas were built in Australia till ard 1964.

See here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Impala

• gorgeous. conti styling

• Chevrolet Passat CC… lol

• Alpha on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Nice.But the front really reminds me of VW CC.

• samsam on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:03 pm

feel likes camry, this chevrolet impala larger than a camry?

• exactly my thought. first glance i saw a camry. nothing breath-taking in design.

• what a pathetic comment! i was hoping that you said your first impression was that of a Camaro. have your ever seen a Camaro by any chance??

• Anaconda on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Preve can smoke this car.

• vincent on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Very ‘American’ kinda luxury.

• this is how the new camry should look like

• first glance, i thought it was a camry

• duhhhh…you and your Japanese obsession. you should have seen a Camaro at first glance, not the boring looking Camry.

• Han!h on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:14 pm

It indeed looks like a luxury saloon Camaro, which is a good thing…

From its face, it looks American, from the body looks American, but I don’t think its back looks American… Somehow looks Japanese/Korean…

Any Supernatural series fans here? Fancy seeing Dean & Sam Winchester driving this Impala?… Naaah… Haha

• tikus on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Nice….But still love Supernatural TV Series Impala “bad ass car” . maybe Dean and Sam will drive one.

• The ’67 Chevy Impala featured in the Supernatural series is definitely bad ass. I would drive that over this anytime, not that im implying modern technology sucks but sometimes we need to keep things simple, that is why theres people riding chopper instead of hypersport bikes…

• john doe on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:29 pm

but this is an impala..minus the american muscle

• shawal on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:52 pm

i see a shade of citroen on the rear haunches

• nitro motor on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:34 pm

impala???… how come name same as Nitro Super Impala motocycle… Honda EX-5 clone…

• ss427 on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:27 am

Sigh bro, the nameplate Impala dates back to 1958… when it was a sub model name for the Chevy Bel Air to denote the so called ‘Sports’ model.

See here bro..
      http://www.eastohiocoolcars.com/Chevy/58%20Impala/58%20impala%201.JPG
      http://www.classicroad.com/58Impala/Impala%20(2)-4000.jpg
      http://www.free-photos.biz/images/industry/instruments/1958-chevy-impala-interior-chevrolet-archives.jpg

Wonder where Honda was back in 1958? :)

• Vicky on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:02 pm

It is looking quite awesome, but it is looking somewhat similar to camry.

• kownek on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Naza brothers going to scalp you with this one.

• BOYRACER on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:38 pm

FWD?Dodge Charger here I come..

• tan sari on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:41 pm

sexy,elegant, sporty and classy llok, wow, but bolehland wont get it

• Josh Ling on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:26 am

Can someone tell me why this car is called ‘2014’ Chevy Impala, instead of ‘2012’ or ‘2013’? Previously I learnt that the Americans called their cars ‘2013 *something’, only if the car is launched in the 2nd half of 2012 or the first half of 2013. So, I kinda a bit confused when I keep seeing something like ‘2014’ or even ‘2015’ on cars that are debuting this year (I mean production ready cars, and not concept cars). Don’t think they are gonna wait until 2014 or 2015 to produce and sell the cars right?

• ‘All engines come with a six-speed automatic.’

The americans offer more advanced technology than Toyota with it’s Camry and four-speed automatic? ;)

• atifjeelan on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:11 pm

at first glance, the exterior look more Korean-ish. looks like Korean car maker successive in making its trademark .