Esso’s Klang Valley stations facing supply shortages – are we seeing the effects of EMB ownership change?

It has been reported that Esso station operators in the Klang Valley have been facing fuel supply shortage, with some resorting to shutting down temporarily as their pumps ran dry.

“We frequently ran out of supply early, because we received no supply for two weeks and I wondered why this situation that is incurring losses to me came about,” an Esso station operator in Kuala Lumpur told Bernama. “If their (supply) delivery is okay, such a problem will certainly not arise,” another Esso operator in Damansara added.

An Esso station in the Sungai Besi area had to stop business temporarily as it ran out of petrol to sell, and diesel stocks ran low. “I had to wait for supply for 15 hours since last night and they only delivered some diesel which only lasted up to 1pm today, forcing the station to be closed, to the anger of many irate customers. The problem arose when the Petron Oil company took over Esso abruptly and we had to face the problem of erratic fuel supply,” the operator said.

What he was talking about is of course the change of ownership that’s being played out now. In August last year, we reported that ExxonMobil, owner of Esso and Mobil brands, has agreed to sell its interest in three businesses operating in the Malaysian downstream petroleum sector to San Miguel Corporation of the Philippines. Petron Corporation is the largest oil refining and marketing company in the Philippines, and is majority owned by beverage maker San Miguel.

Earlier this month, Petron Oil and Gas International Sdn Bhd (POGI) concluded the US$577.3 million acquisition of 65% of Esso Malaysia Berhad, 100% of ExxonMobil Malaysia Sdn Bhd and 100% of ExxonMobil Borneo Sdn Bhd. POGI also wrapped up the acquisition of 175.5 million ordinary shares in Esso Malaysia at RM0.50 per share, totaling US$195.123 million.

The physical assets in the transaction include the 88kbd-capacity Port Dickson refinery which processes an average of 45,000 barrels of crude a day, equity interest in 10 fuel distribution terminals (seven of which are active) and around 560 retail fuel stations nationwide.

“We will upgrade it (Esso refinery) and run that, and there would still be a need to augment that for products that we get from elsewhere. An investment of US$1.2 billion has already been lined up by SMC for the newly-acquired Malaysia assets,” Petron president Eric O. Recto told Manila-based reporters.

Earlier, it was revealed that the refining, distribution and fuels marketing businesses will continue to operate as they do under the new owner, and that Esso and Mobil brands will remain in the Malaysian market for up to three years to facilitate SMC’s transition to a new retail fuels brand. This could be either Petron or an all-new brand.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• saiful on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

ahh…there goes my ‘smiles’ points in the cards. need to utilise soon eh? or doesn’t matter who own this company…

• kfmok on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm

No wonder…. I face this last week when filling my petrol. when ask, they said petrol not reach to their shop yet… Because that station is real big and hardly face such problem b4.

• kevin lee on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:02 pm

bye bye esso and mobil nostalgic moments

• incognito on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:06 pm

San Miguel eh? looks like i can’t fill up my car full tank. Don’t want the car to get ‘intoxicated’. For sure, fail PUSPAKOM and JPJ ‘breath’ test =P

• ramesh on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:22 pm

San Miguel inchiban…!!
    Better inform boss Mirzan to make sure they supply
    petrol instead of beer.! Cheers!

• Pedi5525 on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Also same @ paka, terengganu.

• ezracopters on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:15 am

Bandar minyak pun takda supply gak ker, berat ni.. kejap, laaaa ESSO je pun hahaha

• protonista on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:39 pm

this problem are nationwide as far as i know

• mastermind on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:47 pm

All BN faults….hakhak joke::::4 My Smile Card….

ESSO n MOBIL ……

Past We are driver like u…
    Now We are suffer like u….

• farghmee on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:20 pm

patut le mlm smlm esso jln puchong bergelap.
    pelik juga shell sblh ada lampu.

ingatkn esso lupa bayar bil letrik..

• tips2all on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

hope they can solve this problem wisely..actually i always use petronas and shell only..

• Kumar san on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Esso have the best RON97 fuel out there in our market if you ask me.I use it in all my cars,at the very least,it has a sense and feel of quality in terms of actual performance gained,though marginal.It saves on consumption too. (Synergy)

Where i live there is a big Esso station that faced short supply of fuel,when i queried they too told me that their supply currently was not consistent.This should not happen,whoever who takes over whichever company,the existing supply chain should not be ruffled so the customer acquisition to the end product is not disrupted at all.Petron should know better than to not create this unnecessary drama.

It’s already happened as is happening now as we correspond here and it’s not good for the Esso brand image.Their fuels and other products are excellent though,at least to me.

Cheers.

• Zharfan on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:46 pm

My hometown Bukit Sentosa only have Esso. The Petrol station on near bus station is closed… Ahhhh……

• ben yap on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I hope my Smiles points wouldn’t go missing when there is a takeover. i want to redeem something that i like.

• Masked Ryder on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Esso Mobil 95 is my favorite fuel, Damn now we have to end up with Philippine fuel Patron, no supprise soon we shall see PTT (Thailand), Pertamina (Indonesia).

The American & European is retreat their Investment 1st BP, then Conoco, now Exxon.

• RedBeanBun on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm

one of the behind hand boss is Msian…and name starts with M.

• ezracopters on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:18 am

yup, i do believe this is another Conspiracy to overthrown the other party..again!!! hahaha

• John Player Special on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm

ExxonMobil is not leaving Malaysia. They are only exiting the retail and downstream activities. They are still partners to a few blocks of oil production area in Malaysia and is heavily investing in drilling activities. You forgot their big tower next to KLCC eh?

• apam2009 on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Dear all

The divestment of ExxonMobil downstream business in Malaysia is not due to the political situation in Malaysia. For your info, this is the master plan of ExxonMobil Corp USA – to divest its downstream businesses worldwide. Some of the businesses divested – Central America, Argentina, Europe, Australia, Japan, Africa and Malaysia. Coming soon is Thailand and Hong Kong.

Thanks.

• optimus on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:04 pm

esso sabotage before handover to petron ^^

• apam2009 on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Fully agree as I’m part of the transition. ExxonMobil screwed up the transition process.

• Qiffa mihar on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Smiles ponts will be still used i heard.just that it wont be called smiles anymore….just hope the fuel will be as good as their 97 n 95 right now…still keeping the faith…

• RedBeanBun on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:54 pm

if you all dont realized the G is transferring those national “asset” to cronies.

god bless msia.

• John Player Special on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:45 pm

aiyooo… those old refining plant and some petrol pump stations are hardly national assets la.

• ezracopters on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:28 am

dude, u just mark up ur status quo a bit.. pretty close to Rambling & Gibberish master, Anwar & Karpal sivaji

we’re talking bout ESSO & MOBIL here, i assume – national “asset” = ESSO & MOBIL, “cronies” = Philippines San Miguel & Petron Corporation???

wow, this is even better that Wikileaks, Citizen Nades, The Sun & RPK’s Malaysia Today exposes hahahahaha

p/s : morale of the story, stay in topic. AUTOMOTIVE .. or better stick to Malaysiakini if u must.

• Consumer on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:14 am

Agree.. Just stay in the topics. We here to only discuss abt ESSO , PETRON & San Miguel Corp. Politics go to Malaysiakini. Personally I think they wont be any Eso Petrol Station anymore in the future. Agree the ESSO Building at KLCC will stay there as they are still in the upstream business..but we consumer only see its Retail Business ie ESSO Station. They may allow you to convert their Smile Points to whatever points they may want to call it in future so that you would still stick to them but the real question here is..Is the Fuel you are getting is it the same quality as you enjoyed previously.. ? I dont think Eso will allow San Migel to use their fuel additive is like KFC giving out their chicken recepi to pasar malam trader ?
        You decide..I think time for me to switch to Shellcard for my fleet and utilise my smiles points

• Dr.Kartik on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

you should read more brother! no matter where we want to share the info if its helpfil rather than burden!

• vincent on Apr 11, 2012 at 1:28 am

Yup. One of the big share holder of San Maguel corp is owned my the son of Dr. M

• along on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:49 am

again, stupid malaysians are being fooled. didnt u guys know that the upstream oil n gas is nw monopolised by mahathir’s son Mokhzani via Kencana while Mahathir’s oher son Mirzan control the downstream oil n gas distibution via san miguel while big papa mahathir himself stays in the midstream as adviser’s to Petronas to ensure the the upstream and dwnstream oil n gas business goes to his family only. ask anyone in the o&g industry, they will tell you mahathir is the mastermind behind this. good luck malaysians!

• If you read Wiki, San Maguel Corp is a company from the Philippines involves in Food Beverage and packaging.

• Dr.Kartik on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

you should read other sources rather than depending on open sources such as “WIKIPEDIA”! its an open source where any one can edit the information.

• Shame on you Petron Oil and Gas International Sdn Bhd ! You are ruining the good reputations of the Esso brand. My mom has been using your brand for as long as I can remember her driving.

You are responsible to your dedicated station operators, and they are not to be treated like an employee.

I am boycotting Esso for life !

Shame on you !

• Well I read San Maguel Corp’s webside too to confirm.

• Unknown on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Previously I’m using Petronas fuel since I have top-up card and never thought of Esso fuel, somebody told me that Esso fuel last longer in his motorbike, for curiousity I tried, at first few months I didn’t noticed the different for my principle is whenever I need the fuel and whos most nearest there I go. It happen every time my tank run out of fuel it happen Esso is the nearest and so one day my tank is filled with 100% Esso fuel without Shell and Petronas mixeture. As I use my motorbike I noticed the machine run smothly as before. I didn’t change any motorpart but I wonder when I use different fuel mixed up together several times my motorbike shutoff when I stop in red traffic light. Since I could hardly believe and for curiiousity sake I tried to use one fuel brand at a time. Few weeks Esso, Few weeks with Petronas Fuel and some weeks for Shell. With this experiement with my motorbike I found that Esso perform better than two others. :) I’m not conviencing anybody but I encourage you to be curious and do some experiments with your motor toy.