OFFICIAL: Proton ‘not aware’ of Syed Zainal’s resignation

As a follow-up to our previous breaking news, here’s the official statement from Proton that just came in:

“We refer to the news report in The Edge Financial Daily dated April 10, 2012 on the resignation of Proton’s group managing director, Datuk Seri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir. Proton is not aware of the source of this speculation. Datuk Seri Syed Zainal is still holding the position of the group managing director of Proton, and his services are still required in the company.

The post-acquisition exercise is still proceeding smoothly and upon the completion of the same, Proton is expected to have a strong synergy of current and new management team members that will provide Proton with the necessary impetus to lead the company in its aspiration to become a globally successful automotive player.”

Read the statement closely and you’ll see that Proton is not denying nor confirming the speculation of the resignation. As far as Proton is concerned, Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin is still in the driving seat.

However, according to The Malaysian Insider, Syed Zainal has indeed resigned and will remain in Proton until the middle of the year, when he will have completed his notice period. This means that Syed Zainal will be present to launch the Prevé, Proton’s global car that was conceived under his watch.

The report adds that the person being lined up to fill DSZ’s position is DRB-Hicom COO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim who, like Syed Zainal, once held a top managerial position in Perodua. What is undeniable is the fact that the post-acquisition exercise is still on-going and there are more changes to be expected once the dust settles.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely express concern and disappointment over the reported resignation of Proton’s CEO, Syed Zainal, viewing his leadership as a positive force for the company’s turnaround. Many believe he has contributed significantly to Proton’s recent progress and would be a loss if he leaves. Several comments also criticize Proton’s management and the influence of DRB-HICOM, blaming them for internal conflicts, mismanagement, and the company's financial struggles, including issues with Lotus and high car prices due to taxes. There’s a general sentiment that Proton has been mismanaged and that DSZ’s departure would be detrimental to its future. Some comments suggest conspiracy theories about corporate politics and speculate on the possible impact on Proton’s stability and reputation. Overall, the tone is largely concerned about the potential negative repercussions of his departure.

• Who is PROTON actually? And its a joke that they “PROTON” are not aware of DSZ’s resignation.

• ezracopters on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:53 pm

bro, think what would effect of Proton share price on the billboard.. uncertainty mean loss there..

• donnatello on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:08 pm

who cares.. proton is not ours anymore.. is DRB now.. lets buy a BMW now..

• bobdbilder on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:44 am

Bro it is in the best interest for DRB to have price drop. Right now is fixed. If price goes down, then they have to pay less for MGO to the other shareholders

• BoLiao on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Proton don’t even know who their Managing Director is and they want us to trust them with our life and drive their car ??? Ptui, I vowed I will never buy another proton…

• intermilan on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:45 am

read carefully, PROTON said they are not aware of the source of this news (they called it speculation). mean that they said they claimed they don’t know who ‘pecah lubang’ about the resignation.

repeating what had been deduced by Chris, there is NO denying nor acknowledgement made by PROTON in their official statement, means “no comment”. which mean its true. if its not true, they would have deny it right there and then.

unless, they want to gamble and look at how the (stock) market react to the news. today, PROTON share price remains unchanged and where not heavily traded. Either market want to wait n see or its too early to react. but not sure why they choose to wait.. Perhaps to lower the share price and when it is low, it will reduce the cost of the offers we want to make to other shareholders. Whats clear, DRB want to make PROTON private.

As to why they make it quite long winded just to say “no comment”, well this official statement is a ‘buy time’ statement. perhaps to manage the situation as the timing of the news seems to taken them by surprise, hence the released of ’empty’ official statement.

since tomorrow is a public holiday, they have at least 24 hours to come up with something better, if need be.

they might want to gamble and use this as yardstick to measure (stock) market reactions regarding the idea of DSZ resigning from PROTON.

Anyway, it is inevitable that DSZ will leave PROTON.
      It is 99.99% certain when DRB won the bid (of buying Khazanah’s PROTON shares)..

• BoLiao on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Car makers should concentrate on making cars, not how shares perform.

• Salamander on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Ever heard that Volvo is an now owned by Indian company? Lotus is now owned by Malaysian Company and Lamborghini is owned by a German company?

It is all about business. You don’t just make car out of passion these day.

• keretalembu546 on Apr 13, 2012 at 4:18 am

volvo cars is owned by the chinese company.. jaguar is owned by tata group, an indian company..

• bobdbilder on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:46 am

Industrial Relations bro. The same they said that the never knew about DRB buying them out.

• Look at the picture, Syed Zainal looks confused by the games of politics…

• Think in positive ways. Proton will be restructure……In this fast paced world, if you are not competitive enough….you will drowned.

If he quite now, who want to launch PEREVEEEE’ how people might beleive.

I went to brunei last 2 month…. our neigbour country…. they already sell new swift for rm40k. Even with small taxes, the car in brunei are much cheaper than Langkawi so called free taxes. Plus the petrol are cheaper too….he he.

Go visit there….all daihatsu car no perodua…….

• Wisdom on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:35 am

The same will happen if proton shutsdown, tax exempted for all cars, we will endure the same high price cars. They knew malaysian willing to pay.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 11, 2012 at 3:42 pm

THIS GOES TO SHOW THE CONTINUOUS STUPIDITY & INCOMPETENCE OF PROTON’S MANAGEMENT

MAKING A COMPLETE FOOL OF THEMSELVES AGAIN….

WHEN IS THERE EVER A GOOD PUBLICITY OR NEWS FROM THIS CARMAKER ??

I SAY SHUT IT DOWN FOR THE GREATER GOOD !!!

• alldisc on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:49 am

wayang lah… notice is 3 months i think. they will announce at the very last minute to avoid chaos

• Haha… nice picture to accompany the story.

• Quattro on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Pokok takkan bergoyang jika tiada angin> kalau betul, proton keluarkanlah press statement yg mengatakan dsz akan terus berada di proton sehingga sekian sekian bg menepis tanggapan umum.

• Syazwan on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm

I think it is about the future plan of DSZ vision against DRB-HICOM quick to get back their investment to buyout Proton vision. DSZ heavy reliance on LOTUS and back-up for LOTUS might the main culprit. It is an open secret DSZ want to use LOTUS and its motorsport to enhanced product awareness and potential for PROTON but LOTUS and motorsports is bleeding PROTON more than a vampire does. I’m sure DSZ is a good leader and sure NAZA or INOKOM under Sime-Darby waiting any time from now to offer him a new job.

After this what can I see are,
      1. Proton Edar might as well merge with EON to rationalize dealers and service centre, enhancing after sales services.
      2. Proton Commerce will merge into Bank Muamalat unit.
      3. LOTUS will be sold to potential suitors with a good tag price (since DRB-HICOM is private entity, unlike Gov buy expensive than later sell cheap, or buy the loss making company then sell promit making company)
      4. Job cutting exercise to trim down overhead.
      5. Shah Alam plant turn into commercial mixed development development.
      6. All the Proton operation will be moved to Tg.Malim.
      7. More and more DRB-HICOM vendor in Proton parts.

What also I really want to see before LOTUS sold are:-
      1. Proton transfer all the intellectual rights from LOTUS to PROTON first.
      2. Took and spinoff Lotus engineering to be the arm of PROTON including the R&D and design studios.

• Common sensor on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Think that u should be the CEO ..

• ezracopters on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:18 pm

wow..

really good idea, but are there anyone out there capable of handling such a task..

” What also I really want to see before LOTUS sold are:-
        1. Proton transfer all the intellectual rights from LOTUS to PROTON first.
        2. Took and spinoff Lotus engineering to be the arm of PROTON including the R&D and design studios. ”

yup, u should be the CEO

• donnatello on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:11 pm

who cares… proton should closed lotus and end the nightmare.. no need to sell to others.. lotus is just craps

• muaaa hahaha….engkau ni….Dr.M pun surrender…

• sean ZX10 on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Yeah..u should be the CEO but a stupid one because LOTUS is to the interest of Tun Mahathir Mohamad …your beloved old senile. Lotus is worse than vampire because fathered by the worst advisor

Please check your facts rather than putting the puzzle from Bernama, TV3, Utusan, RTM etc…

• richardsrichard on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Look, maybe it’s a damage control by Proton corp comm… But if Datuk SZ is about to be push out of Proton under the new owner DRB, I will refrain from buying any Proton car for forseable future.

• Abdul123 on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:06 pm

He see no hope in Proton.

• What? Still nak cover? Better reconsider this decision oh for good sake DRB!! Its not easy to gain people trust again if DSZ is not in Proton..

• zack randolph on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:09 pm

In this soap drama, DRB HICOM is the only fool to be fooled by DSZ, while it might be a mere speculation, it may still serve as a warning to DRB HICOM

• start on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Don’t really trust Proton media statement. They can change their tone in the very last day. Recently Datuk Nadzmi resignation press release out just days before his final day.

Since it will be in May for the so-called resignation to take effect, they can deny it now and 1 week before DSZ final day, Proton will just issue a statement.

I know how DRB work.. DRB is useless company. They don’t even know how to make a good bike. Since Modenas existence for more than 15 years, they can only produce kaphcai and some taiwan made re-badge scooters. And people want to put their faith for DRB to make their own decent car?? In your dream!! I bet this useless DRB will take VW 10-15 years model, re-badged it and sell to poor Malaysians Remember their crime on Tiara? How many people suffer from this mess?

DRB is survived due to cronisym not due to their merit. Their management is full of ex-army pensioners who knows nothing about cars.

• Major T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Tiara a DRB crime?

• kuncisudu on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:56 pm

yes.u read history no? it their product but its proton that have to produce take the blame for the losses.

• start on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:19 pm

You don’t know Tiara is DRB project under USPD? That is why Tiara is sold under USPD but not EON. Apparently USPD was bought over by Proton and turn into P.Edar.

This project embarked during the late Tan Sri Yahya time. DRB once own Proton but soon after his death, DRB sold the shares back to govt (Khazanah).

I know many old friends out there that Proton did not want Tiara but DRB insist it (who reasons only they know)

So expect DRB will do the same to Proton. Only this time their favorite is VW. Do not expect we will get new model.. DRB will buy old model/platform and sold to Malaysian at high price.

DRB is full of bunch of greedy people. They won’t do something that will cost them. That is why LOTUS will be sold soon, trust me!. They don’t believed in ‘INVESTMENT’, they just interested in making money as quickly as possible. After all, they spends billions to acquire Proton..so you tell me how they can get back their return if they continue what DSZ is doing right now? Mark my word, unless DSZ is willing to follow DRB way, – he will stay..otherwise no place for DSZ

You see how they run Modenas and you will know what I’m telling you. The rest they are just a re-badge manufacturer or worst they are just an assembler. They can’t even make their own bike after 15 years except rebadge kapchai and few China (Taiwan bla bla.. whatever lah) scooters.

• donnatello on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Haiya.. Dulu proton beli Lotus sume kutuk die.. skg proton nak jual lotus, marah plakkkkkkk!

• DRB vampire on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:30 pm

tiara is 1of example of DRB hicom failure lah! sibuk wanna kacau proton that time.

~~
        DRB hicom is a blood sucking vampire company – go ask the production worker at their Pekan plant… how much is their salary – most ly below RM1,000 – averaging RM700!! per month. Would you believe it? they work assembling brand such as – Merc, Isuzu truck, Suzuki car.. but their salary is really that peanut. still the people in pekan put up a good quality workmanship.. and they normally work extra hour just get ensure they get better money to take home. sometimes even husband and wife work at the same factory to get better income at home.

They didn’t give any bonus or what soever.. , sometimes it is the japanese master (isuzu & suzuki) or German master (merc) who pity the staff and give the staff some incentives, where it is supposed to come from DRB after they’re making so much profit per car / trucks they assembled.

I don’t what kind of perks and benefit will proton staff got.. when drb swoop in. pray that proton got union.., so at least got some bargaining power… if no-union.. they will treat you like a bangla only.

don’t believe? ask any people work in DRB hicom plant in pekan pahang.. check how much their salary.., i so kesian them. and this is Najib area.. so prosperous eh?

• aduss2 on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm

yes bro!! DRB berak, Proton yg dpat nama busuk… sekarang Perodua terloncat2 mau DSZ balik.. rugi la proton..

• you don’t trust proton media statement? i never trust ANY media statement in the 1st place. ….well, depending on what issues is all about. Of course if you’re in their feet, you will makes all statement sound good, and talking for the benefit of themselves. just like anybody, bet it either gov or opposition, or even so-called innocent rakyat, or foreign parties, lecturers, sells man, professors, employees, no one gonna make a statement that will ruin themselves, except idiots.

this is common things. no need to surprise.

• Likepreve on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:13 pm

DSZ and his team has done a really good job on transforming Proton into what it has become today. Let us pray that this news is not true but if it is true, we should respect his decision and congratulate him. What was done is good, but maybe the next Proton’s GMD will bring out the best from Proton? Let us hope..

• underskinned on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:13 pm

This is not good. Less than a week of the make-or-break product launch you have this news.

• plunking on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Good riddance…..any idea when” the advisor” or “the bukhary” gonna “go”?

• sean ZX10 on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Tunggu mampos je dua ekor tu tp tu la nyawa orang jahat iblis laknat ni panjang…

• joe april on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:23 pm

DSZ,
    Good Luck to you……whether you remain in Proton or going else.

I luv your presentation when Proton launched Exora, a few years back.

If you go, it would be a lost to Proton.

Again, all the best.

• mystvearn on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

DRB, if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. This old saying stays very true. Regardless of DSZ not coming from “DRB” he was turning proton around. It still is in DRB’s interest to make money, so let DSZ do his job. This surely is one facepalm moment…

Regardless, I’ve heard he will stay with proton until May (until after preve launch), cause DRB already bought proton so one by one replacing people at the top.

• e-tique on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:42 pm

i bet that clown successor knows nothing about rnd & making cars…

• Nakal on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm

I believe he is the only malaysian MD/CEO who know about vehicle R&D. Other auto CEO just know to rebadge or worst, doing used car business

• 1malaysia2020 on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:42 pm

I do remember not so long time ago, there was one giant conglomerate issued a similar statement “not aware” about possible takeover of a national automative company….
    This giant specialize in putting together car components for certain famous car brand and it turned out the takeover materialised…..*sigh*

• TSM Al Bukhari on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:46 pm

He will remain with proton. not going anywhere.

• VWfan on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:53 pm

screw DRB!!

• razzack04 on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Bad for Proton..

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:57 pm

DSZ resigned? If the rumor is true then this is truly a very sad news. My confidence in Proton suddenly is going down the drain. Unless if his successor can prove otherwise the outlook is grim.

• DSZ have done an excellent job in gaining people’s trust as can be seen in the acceptance of their latest range of models over recent years……a benchmark has been set for the successor and what a loss!

• SGBLM on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Oh no! DSZ leaving? Too bad lah for Proton if he indeed decided to leave, but shame on DRB and Proton if you force this great guy out … obviously, by re-electing Tengku Mahaleel, you are not trying to move forward, but backwards … lepas ni kalau DSZ dah takde and replaced with Tengku, sure the quality and designs will become like crap again … sigh …

• kamaji on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Not surprise at all…new boss new outfit a.k.a new PM with new cabinet.

• Funniman on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm

If the ship is sailing smoothly, don’t rock the boat. Leave the manufacturing alone.

There are more things to do such as build up the marketing team overseas, clean up the leakages like storage yards, Lotus, after sales service, parts center, financial planning, etc.

The last thing you need is to try to be greedy and say DRB can do all this and therefore we will all do this inhouse. That way we make the maximum profits. The leader can be very visionary but can your people work like you?

• ramzan shah alam on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Proton lost money and U dare say its sailing smoothly ?
      The 1 bil cash reserve is depleting and you dare say “semua ok” !!
      We don’t wanna see another Titanic fiasco !!

• Bayang Putih on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:47 pm

depleting je… bukannye rugi atau pon hutang…
        biaselah tu bisnes, itulah yg dinamakan pelaburan!

• Funniman on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Business turnaround management.
          Identify the strong areas and correct the weak.
          Chop off the lame ones and plug the leaks.

Paham?

• TSM Al Bukhari on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:23 pm

be calm. i guarentee he will be with our luvly proton for at least another 5 years. dont worry. proton please sue business insider..

• jsooz on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:27 pm

What a picture

• Dr Mamak good friend crony own The Edge so of course muddy up the water and kick out DSZ faster…

DSZ already jolok sarang tebuan try to kick out Mamak Crony auto suppliers…bad move DSZ…

Instead of trying to change Protongkat Kronies, DSZ got kicked out himself by Protongkat Kronies…

Anyway good for DSZ to stop working for Protongkat lah waste of time and talent…

How about DSZ return to Perodua..??? Ha Ha Ha that will keep Protongkat step closer to graveyard Ha Ha Ha

Or better still DSZ become Rolls Royce Malaysia new CEO…easy job lepak at office wait for VIP Kroni or some Sultan to drop buy say hello order pink metallic Phantom with polished merbau wood interior…no worry about car loan approval from Bank Negara…all are cash purchase and RM50K commission to salesmen…

• Unforgiven on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:05 am

Tun M told everyone in advanced he’ll take over Proton, now you’ll have to believe him.

He’s capable of getting anyone in and anyone out.
      He’s capable of deciding which is the cheapest car in Malaysia.

If he wants Polo to be the cheapest car, he’s able to do that.
      GTI to be the cheapest hot hatch, no problem too.

Anyway, what you said may be true, this is M cronies M’sia.

• ramzan shah alam on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:35 pm

If F1 Lotus already on the chopping board then I see
    no purpose for DSZ to be in Proton.
    DSZ used to call the shots but with the new chairman and management coming
    on board, its better for DSZ to leave gracefully.
    Full management change once the GO on Proton has been executed
    and 42.7 % stake has been transfered from Khazanah is expected.
    Swallow whatever pride you have cos at the end of the day you
    are no more the boss and you yourself will have to toe the line.

• ramson on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:49 pm

owh cmon!
    malaysian insider cannot be trusted leh..
    paultan blog using unrelieable source ah?
    very funny

• Mike Dude on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Whatever lah. Itu hari my Proton Persona tersadai tak boleh start. Pergi service center ada ke dia cakap kenapa tak bawak kereta tuh…LOL! Bukan nak hantar mekanik pi tengok ke atau recommend number tow truck ke…what a joke. Lepas tu macam nak salahkan kita kenapa tak hantar ke service center dia. Woi Proton, setakat tukar minyak hitam, ganti oil filter tu, kedai tepi jalan pun boleh buat. So last-last panggil tow truck sendiri contact, terus tow ke kedai biasa. Harga pun tak lah ketuk sangat. Ganti itu ganti ini tapi semua pasal engine CAMPRO yang tak berkuality tuh. Leaking sana, leaking sini. Anyway, dude tu nak resign ke apa, ada aku kisah. Orang nak kereta yg berkualiti beb!

• deftones on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:28 pm

hehe..siapa suruh tak jaga kereta..leaking maybe bcos u nak save duit and hantar kedai bawah pokok..then blame proton..and to me, u are bloody noob..u go to proton and say your car rosak..of course they will ask where is your car and why didnt u bring you car there..in fact, u can find proton’s care number anytime..they can tow your car to the centre

its like u go to clinic and tell doctor your daughter at home is ill ..how to cure it. obviously the doctor will give u a tight slap on your face..

• John Player Special on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:47 pm

kereta ko rosak ada orang nak kesah? lain kali guna spare part original. Kedai bawah pokok ko hingat dia pakai spare part mana. Spare part proton klau beli luar ada macam macam gred. Ini lesson learnt untuk budak baru kenal kereta macam ko.

• Ni satu lagi mangkuk hayun tak tau pasal keta. Dah keta rosak tak gi bawak gi bengkel…pastu salahkan proton sebab keta rosak. Ferarri pun kalau hantar ke kedai yang tau2 alang je rosak bongok.

• I guess Proton is going down under drb. Compared to former MDs, DSZ has actually brought in some good results and made some changes with the introduction of some good models from Proton. He seems sincere and has that likeability factor. just hope TM doesn’t make a return.

• NutzeyWagen on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:22 pm

and another bright and brilliant talent lost… across the causeway.? its an open secret that he dont see eye2eye with s.mokhtar (umnos proxy capitalist)… and when one cant see the light at the end of the tunnel… the inevitable letter is tendered.!

• really hope Proton doesn’t emulate Petronas.
    the great CEO went to other side of Tebrau straits…

He’s doing his job nicely.
    Well, seriously believe there’s more urgency at other GLCs…

• most probably current model line up will be abandoned by new management. New mgt want show off their new model laa, as usual. Be careful guys.

• Barang tak rosak jgn memandai nak baiki..

• anti-vios on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:11 pm

DRB….,macam maner korang nk follow visi dan misi kalau MD nak resign pon korang xperasan…..

mmg terpikir untuk tidak membeli apa-apa model proton selepas ni…..

• niuhje on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

bukan xperasan buat xtau jer… it’s called “damage limitation” exercise

• TheReturn on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:22 pm

I hope he returns to Perodua.

• As much as we hate Proton, credit needs to be given to DSZ. He worked his ass out attempting to turn around the company. Anyway he is fighting a losing battle from day 1. The company is hopeless.

• GOOD JOB FOR QUITING A PROTON…COZ WHERE IS 1 BILLION MONEY GIVING TO LOTUS..HA…I`VE KNOW IT..COZ MY HUSBND IS LEAD ENGNEER AT PROTON..DSZ DOESNT KNW ANYTHING ABOUT TECHONOLOGY…PROTON IS CAR MAKER NOT A HUMAN RESOURCE COMPANY THEN..SO MUCH MORE TO R&D EVEN , SELLING OF CAR PROTON NOT SEEM TO LOOK INCREASE …HE DOES MORE TO HR COMPARE TO R&D..OUR ON 2020 VISION SHOULD BE GOOD IN R&D SO WE CAN TO MORE BETTER THAN THIS..EVEN IF ANY CASE IN R&D DSZ CANNOT SOLVE IT.

• ramun on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

vote me for new Proton MD. Ill produce Putra replacement. FR 180hp in 3 yrs. hahaha!

• ezracopters on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:49 pm

bro, i’ll vote for you..but lets make it even better.. all new PUTRA coupe

RWD (only manual) 2.0 N/A enhanced Campro CPS engine
      225bhp @ 6,000rpm, torque of 250 Nm @ 4500rpm, redline 7500rpm
      100meter in 6.0 sc, max 260km/hour
      fuel consumption 6.5L/100km (highway), 6.8L (rural terrain), 7.0L (city), 7.5L (sport mode)
      weight 1100 – 1200kg

sell it with :
      a. 5 years warranty @ 100,000 millage
      b. adding RM 10,000 for special upgrade & tuning by R3.. test drive by Tengku Djan himself!!
      c. R & H by Proton, make a good use of it..heck, overused it doesnt matter..this is going to be Toyota 86 new enemies!!

AND tagline it as this

” NEVERMIND THE GOING FORWARD, HERE COMES THE PUTRA ” or this one
      ” PROTON PUTRA .. RESET YOUR MENTAL BLUE-PRINT “- for Asian, Aussies & UK markets

or

” DOUBT IT, TEST IT, LOVE IT…PROTON ” – for Europe, Mid. East & North America markets

or

” PROTON …. SURPRISINGLY UNDERRATED ” – for rest of the world

and best of all.. price it domestically OTR RM 66,666 (entry spec)..!!!!

p/s : still can’t believe T 86 priced like that..

• 2.0 na engine that produce 225hp? make it supercharge and maybe can get those figures

• alldisc on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:25 am

you certainly have high imaginations… congrats.

p/s – banyak tengok DVD ni.

• Timothy Dalton on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Sad news indeed seeing competent manager being shown to the door.

• Absolute Rider on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Proton needs DSZ!!!! He’s brilliant and he knows what is he doing and he has big plans in Proton ahead 2012 and beyond. However, if he step down. I’m not sure what will happened to Proton.

He is good in speach (for example during the launch of Exora). Many others during speach, lots of “E”and “A” words coming out as they can’t think of what they want to say.

DSZ must stay. I’m sure many of your fans love you and like to see you on stage!!!

• kusochon on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm

yeah right… coming from a very reliable source there…

• rosdi on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm

‘Not aware’ kepala abah kau!!… satu dunia dah tahu kau still not aware!.. kepala hotak engkau lah!…

• Frankly … who cares ! LOL

• ExPekanDRB on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:44 pm

100% agreed to DRB Vampire.

• Kudos to DSSZ for “turned around” negative public perception to promising one. The doom day for me not this news but rather the decision made to sell Khazanah’s stakes to not so competent assembler, DRB.

We must ask Proton to appoint the owner itself, TSSM Al-Bukhary to helm Proton. By doing so, he can prevé he’s smart, savvy yet charismatic businessman not simply a crony. He got merit. Do not use your lieutenant but preve yourself Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar.

Many, I believe do not perceived Proton sans DSSZ as positive.

• The owner of DRB himself, TS Syed Mokhtar as Proton MD

• Paint on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:56 am

I tell you, knowing how Yayasan Bukhari operates, they but the company, strip it off all its asset, and sell it. Then, declare profit. This was what happened to Pos Malaysia. They were going to do the same with KTM, but government already learnt their trick. But now, it seems that the government is also really forgetful. I got no one but to blame, but 1 person only for this sloppy decision, Azman Mokhtar of Khazanah.

• d'aboukir on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm

DRB will dispose Lotus to DSZ and Nadzmi, then DSZ will make Lotus so successful. Much later, DRB will beg Lotus to bail out Proton. Lotus then buy Proton, merge the two companies, rename it to LotusPro.

• khayrul on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:37 pm

if this is true..
    DSZ he set the pace of new proton! he is the man to beat-legend!

who will replace him will face a hard time setting new pace!

• beruk on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Garu kepala macam beruk kat zoo negara. Kereta impot kena tax 100% sebab kau, kau masih meniaga rugi, harap sabsidi .
    Hang ni patut hukum tembak aje. Dah kenyang dah kau kaut.
    Khaaak Ptui! memalukan.

• oi beruk, dsz masuk prtn tahun bile? Nap revised tiada lagi cukai import 100%. Prtn dah tidak disubsidi, tidal diberi rebate sebab itu syarat afta dan malaysia dah masuk afta sejak tahun 2009, itupun ko xtau ker. Afta bukan bermaksud xda cukai(ramai ingat afta xda cukai, biasalah, suh ngaji@blajo, malas)

afta bermaksud tiada cukai import antara negara asean. Sume negara asean dh masuk afta termasuk singapura. Tp ko tgk kat singapore, ada cukai ke tidak?

Dlm afta, local @ non local asean,klu nak dikenakan tax, mesti sama. Klu vios kena 85% cukai, proton pun kena 85% cukai.

Cukai import sekarang hanya tinggal 30% ajek, itupun yg dtg cbu dr negara bukan asean, tp kalu dtg ckd, hanya kena 10% jek lebih dr kete malaysia mcm pug tuh. Sbb tuh vw bila ckd, kurangnye xbyk berbanding cbu kerana hanya 20% cukai yg dikenakan dr harge docket dibuang. Klu pkai 40% komponen tempatan@asean, dah dpt status ckd asean, maksudnye, nanti bila full ckd, kurangler lg 10%, itu ajek.

Pastu mesti ada banding plak ngan rega langkawikan. Dulu dh penah byk org bg link termasuk aku, kali nih, ko cr sendiri dlm laman web kastam akta bhagian free trade area kat malaysia.ko baca mcm mana status barangan kilang tempatan yg dr semenanjung, dihantar ke free trade area dlm malaysia mcm langkawi dan labuan, dikenakan tax @ x?
      Manakala, brg kilangan luar, masuk ke free trade area kat malaysia, lagu mana plak akta dia, dikenakan cukai@ duty free?

Bacelah sendiri. Aku cukup xsuka org main ckp xikut akal, tp ikut hati n rasa jek. Inilah yg aku ckp sebelum nih, budaya membaca kat malaysia, mmg teruk. Klu baca suratkhabarpun, tgk tajuk jek. Sbb tuh byk yg beli surat khabar ehem sebab tajuk dia mmg gempak, tp isi xbykpun. Byk hiburan dari ilmu, sbb tuh jadi newspaper paling laku dlm malaysia. Xsalah nak enjoy n berhibur, tp kena hati2,itu ajek.

Dari membaca dari web2 yang komen sume petik dari langit, baiklah cari dari sumber yg sah. Mcm kat dlm pt@ blog2 lain cam fd, ak,mtm,kdi n etc.

Jgn baca blog nujum pak belalang, pak pandir, luncai dgn labunye n etc. Sume data dihujah dikatakan fakta. Tp xdapun link dr pihak yg sah. Hanya main cakap ajek, bg figure byk kosong, org malaysiapun melopong, eh yeke, ish teruknye, wa laknat, cilaka lu n sebagainye.

Tapi klu dah bebal, bebal gak. Mcm org zaman moden ckp, sekolah bertingkat2, tp b*do* melantun lantun.

Sekian

• racerallyresearch on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:55 am

dia tak sekolah, main sarkas aje, tu yang tak paham, kat bawah tu ade lagi seekor, asyik membabikan org je. Maaf la bahasa tuan tu kasar sgt, mcm nak halau lembu kadang2 kena kasar sikit. Sorry ye tuan.

• Tergolek on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:43 am

Billionaire mana kau ni, kau dapat sabsidi macam saudara kau kat atas ke? Hari-hari kena screw , sebab tu otak lembab , poket kosong.

• Tergolek on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:34 am

Hoi bangsat, kau nak putar belit kot mana lagi. Kau banding sajalah harga kereta kat sini dengan amerika atau australia. Depa gaji mahal, tapi kereta murah 3 kali lipat.
        Sebab ada bangsat macam kau lah depa boleh tipu rakyat dekat 25 tahun. Bodoh tak boleh diajar. Depa silap mata sikit, kau dah caya. Cukai ke, tax ke, duti ke, rebate ke……..orang bukan bodoh, orang tengok “end product”.
        Kau tahu, passat depa jual dekat 65 ribu, sini 285 ribu. Benang basah mana yang kau nak tegakkan. Bangsat.

Tahun- tahun proton rugi, tapi gomen tambah duit konon melalui geran r&d supaya nampak macam untung. Aku dengar dekat 500 juta setahun. Dalam proton terlalu banyak bangsat yang pandai sikit pada kau, itu sebab rugi.

• hadjihalef on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:55 am

betulke 100%? bukan 300% ke?

Bagi bukti sikit kereta import kene tax 100% tolong.. kita semua nak tengok.

• Loneranger on Apr 12, 2012 at 3:18 am

Aku rasa ramai lagi rakyat malaysia yg taktau psl struktur cukai kenderaan di negara kita sendiri ni. Bawah ni table struktur cukai bagi kereta, wagon dan juga mpv dan van.

untuk kereta cbu (completely build-up unit) ataupun yg sampai ke pelabuhan dlm bentuk yg lengkap tanpa bercerai cukai duti import yg dikenakan 0% dari negara ASEAN dan 30% bagi negara lain. untuk kereta ckd (completely knocked down) ataupun kereta yg smpi di pelabuhan dlm keadaan bercerai dan dipasang di Malaysia, cukai duti import adlh 0%.

untuk local taxes atau cukai tempatan terdiri daripada 2 iaitu duti eksais dan cukai jualan. semua kereta iaitu kereta CKD, CBU dan juga kereta tempatan dikenakan cukai jualan 10% dari harga asal dan eksais duti 75% dari harga sebenar. contoh seperti kereta toyota vios yg dibuat di thailand dan dihantar ke malaysia secara cbu tidak dikenakan cukai duti import kerana faktor pelepasan cukai bagi negara ASEAN. walaubagaimanapun kereta honda city yg dipasang secara CKD di Melaka dikenakan cukai duti import sebanyak 10&. kedua2 kereta ini juga dikenakan cukai tempatan sebanyak 85% dari harga asal sama seperti juga yang dinikmati oelh kereta berjenama Perodua dan Proton.

begitu juga dgn mpv dan van. cuma bezanya adalah pd duti eksais yang lebih rendah. sebab tu kereta toyota vios lagi mahal dari toyota avanza walaupun avanza tu adalah mpv. dan bagi kereta yg harga luar adalah murah dan bila sudah ditolak cukai masih lagi mahal harganya didlm malaysia bernaksud kereta tu harganya telah dinaikkan harga oleh pengeluar kereta tersebut mungkin atas sebab tertentu seperti faktor jenama, jenis kereta dan permintaan terhadap kereta tersebut.

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

(agak2 RAJIN KE ORG YG MENGUTUK NI NAK BACA BND YG AKU POST NI? hehehehehehhehehe

• raven on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:06 am

ur nick is ‘beruk’ rite?..
      who’s the beruk again?… -_-‘

ur comment however illustrate that u are indeed a ‘Chimpanzee’ !!!!

… what ceasar? are u a pet??
      … nooo..
      :-D

• nebula87 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Poor man…xD

• I’m so glad to be out of this shitty company.

• clear on Apr 11, 2012 at 3:19 am

ni iklan shampoo clear kot

• All the people in proton should resign.

• apamau on Apr 11, 2012 at 5:13 am

I don’t see so great about any of the MD or whatever ceo ever in proton, no matter what, how many years they still need tongkat. So whoever or whatever from the past CEO till today, it’s all hopeless. for the kind of price we pay for cars like this over the past 20years, that’s no change at all. Just sell it off and remove the tax for imported car.

• Mega/Liverpool on Apr 11, 2012 at 6:26 am

Lotus cars have gone BUST !!!!!!!
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/262208/
    Mike

• it’s seem a lot of people misread proton statement. if we read carefully, they said that they are not aware on the “speculation source” – the people who are leaking the news to The Edge. Obviously they know very well about this resignation, however due to various reason, they are reluctant to make the new official.

• Tergolek on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:27 am

Babi sial ni lah punca masalah kita. Sebab proton lah kita kena cekik dek menteri menteri MITI. Cukai mangalahkan Yahudi. Jangan cerita orang kat Gaza kena tindas, tiap bulan bank kejar kita sebab babi ni. Toyota vios orang luar bayar tak sampai 40 ribu, kita bayar 80ribu. Suzuki swift , orang india bayar 25ribu, kita bayar 65ribu. Itu baru kereta murahan, belum tengok bmw, audi, dan lain lain.
    Kau ingat orang suka tengok muka sial kau. Kau mati pun orang tak peduli tau.

Dua menteri miti iaitu 1) mustapha mohamad 2) mukhriz mahathir (jerlun) – pastikan mereka kalah pilihanraya di kerusi mereka. Babi sial….patut jaga kebajikan kita, dia jaga kebajikan bilionaire

• apa punya pukimak ko cakap ni?

• tergolek…ko ni nama pun dah tergolek..nampak sangat ko ni bukan org yg bijak…sedih aku ada gak org mcm ko ni…takpelah pelan2 improve diri ko tu..jgn satu hari nanti ko terjun dengan labu-labu kau tu sekali..

saje nak share dgn ko ni..1997 aku beli wira 1.6 auto harga masa tu 65k otr price utang 7 tahun jer..ko percaya tak dulu interest bank 9%..ko mesti tak percaya kot sebab masa tu pun ko blum blh nak bli kete kot…
      tapi sekarang persona 1.6 auto kita blh dapat 58k fuh jauh beza dari yang 1.6 dulu punya harga…
      ko tak kaji sejarah harga keta ni…org sekarang ni dah senang nak senang lagi..keje nak sikit tapi duit nak byk.. rmi yang tak bijak dari yang bijak mengkaji sesuatu perbandingan ni..

tergolek..blaja lagi eh nak buat statement tu..nmpk kurang bijak lah..aku ingat klu cara ko ni pegi perang lama dah kena tembak mati dulu..hehehe..

• tergolek on Apr 11, 2012 at 4:20 pm

1997 kau beli wira? Gua 1995 sudah beli Civic 1.6i manual, 79k. Tapi sekarang apa kereta gua nak, gua boleh beli cash. Tapi gua kesian tengok kawan-kawan dicekik darah oleh 2-3 lahanat yang bersekongkol dengan menteri memeras titik peluh rakyat. Macamana kau boleh tengok orang sini bayar harga 3 kali ganda harga luar, towkay babi pun bankrap.Sampai bila pun kau tak boleh senang kalau terperangkap dengan hutang begitu besar. Apa bangsat sangat ke rakyat malaysia terpaksa bayar 3 kali ganda harga luar?
        Towkay proton juga yang jual kereta impot…..sini kaut, sana pun kaut. Kau kena screw depan, belakang pun kena. Orang putih cakap “how convenient”.

Kau ni pura-pura bodoh ke atau sememangnya bodoh semulajadi? Apasal kau tak mention tahun-tahun sebelum sigila mahathir buat kilang proton, berapa harga kereta. Semua kereta jepun 1.6 lebihkurang 15-20 ribu aje.

Takanlah nak salahkan ibu mengandung……hai.

• budi bahasa budaya kita.

• Proton national car or Syed Mokhtar's? on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Blessing in disguise when incompetent DRB was ‘awarded’ Proton-Lotus-Tg Malim Plant and Shah Alam plant. Since the behavior of this conglomerate suggested they’re more than ready to take Proton at their own hand, l think government should now liberate this industry for once and for all.

The significant of DSSZ to Proton is my opinion is changing people perception over ailing national carmaker image with Persona, Saga BLM and upcoming Preve.
          , and mpv Exora Bold!

• Poor Professor on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Semoga tuhan mengekalkan kesihatan saudara “tergolek”.
          semoga rezeki saudara diberkati.
          semoga saudara dilindungi dari sebarang kecelakaan ketika memandu kereta yang saudara beli cash tu.

amin.

• sean ZX10 on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:21 pm

saya setuju dengan tergolek…korang yg duk komen2 ni SATU HARAM PON XTAU YG SEMUANYA ANGKARA mahatir…

• tergolek on Apr 11, 2012 at 4:45 pm

1997 kau beli wira, 1995 gua sudah pakai Civic 1.6i baru.Tapi mungkin kau pakai lamborghini sekarang, gua tak kisah.

Kau ni pura-pura bodoh atau memang semulajadi bodoh.

Harga kereta kat malaysia melambung hanya kerana cukai yang melampau , kononnya untuk melindungi proton. Sebelum proton, rata-rata kereta jepun 1.6 hanya 15-20 ribu aje.

Tapi sekarang, keadaan sudah tak masuk akal, proton bukan lagi kereta kepunyaan kerajaan/rakyat. Towkay proton, Syed mokhtar, jugak yang jual kereta impot.
        Apa jadah rakyat malaysia nak tanggung bilionaire macam syed mokhtar, sini dia kaut ,sana pun dia kaut.Apa jenis meniaga macam ni, tak ada persaingan langsung? Macamana menteri bertanggungjawab boleh benarkan 2-3 orang kontrol semua jenis kereta dan memeras kita semua? Kalau kat eropah, semua dah masuk penjara kerana “anti-trust offences’, ada paham?

Apa , low class sangat ke rakyat malaysia terpaksa bayar harga 3 kali ganda harga luar? Tak ada maruah/harga diri ke?

• Loneranger on Apr 12, 2012 at 2:46 am

pernah tau x maksud INFLASI? agak2 tahun ko bli keter jepun baru 15k tu….brapa rate INFLASI dia eh?

sama gak mcm harga petrol ms tu brapa eh? skang dh brapa eh?

harga rokok ms tu brapa eh? skng brapa eh?

harga umah ms tu brapa eh? skng brapa eh?

• Kau kira sendirilah…..
            15000 x 1.03 x1.03……….x 1.03 = $ Harga Kereta

Make sure kau kali 1.03 sebanyak 20 kali kalau kau nak perbezaan harga 20 tahun.

Formula di atas untuk orang-orang yang tak berapa canggih macam hang.
            Kalau kadar inflasi 2% setahun, kau kali 1.02, bukan 1.03………kalau kadar inflasi 5% setahun kau kali 1.05. Ada paham?

Untuk menjimatkan tenaga “fikir”otak hang, aku baru habis kira.

Kalau harga kereta 20 tahun dulu= rm15,000
            dan kadar inflasi = 3% setahun,
            maka harga kereta sepatutnya pada masa kini = rm 27,091.67

Tapi hang cuba cari kereta impot 1.6litre di Malaysia pada harga di atas….Paling murah pun 3 KALI GANDA.
            SEBAB ITULAH ORANG BENCI PROTON.

Yang kau minat sangat sokong proton tu apahal, ada pertalian darah dengan syed mokhtar ke?

• Loneranger on Apr 12, 2012 at 1:48 pm

it is not bcoz of proton….ko xfaham konsep afta dan percukaian sbb lain negara lain sistem percukaian. afta tu dah jelas dan terang inform camner sistem percukaian yg sepatutnya kitakne amik tahu, in fact skng proton bkln lg govt entity….

1 more thing kita xpernah kaji camner plak harga ketrer kat luar. kita cuma tahu apa yg kita tgk secara dasar tapi kita tahu tak kos sampingan utk memiliki kereta kat oversea tu tinggi…..

dgn road tax / insurance yg tinggi, cukai atas emission, cukai jem, harga petrol leh naik ikut suka hati dan bertukar setiap hari…pernah ke kita kaji semua tuh?

infact tax yg proton kne byr sama mcm manufacturer lain kot……

sblm nak tembak, bykkan membaca. br tambah ilmu tu….

• Loneranger on Apr 12, 2012 at 1:59 pm

hang ada kira kos pengeluaran naik tak?

hang kita 1 car as a whole but ada hang kira kos bahan mentah?

kos pengangkutan?

kos buruh?

kos pembelian mesin utk bina kereta tu?

kos teknologi yg sentiasa berubah?

tlg la belaja betul2 ekonomi kalau nak citer pasal kos dan inflasi dan perubahan harga dan konsep penawaran dan permintaan…..

aku nk tny la…ms tu harga protonj brapa plak eh…tahun yg ko bli honda tu? ada tak cecah 65k mcm skng?

kos operasi?

dan jugak jgn lupa org niaga nak UNTUNG…unless ko je niaga nak bt amal jariah…aku tgu la ko bt keter….

kos ko 20k..ko jual 20k…not a penny more……deal?

ni aku nak copy paste komen aku kat atas pasal cukai..hrp2 rajin2kanlah diri tu membaca. jgn jd average Msian yg baca 1 page buku je setahun yerk…aku siap bg link lagi utk ko cross check….mana tau ko nak bukti kukuh…

• DArkerMarker on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:38 am

Resign??

Mau tarik harga ker??

• SGBLM on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:39 am

Can kiss the Preve hatchback, the EMAS, the Exora SUV all of them goodbye ler… New MD coming in under DRB, he will scrape all this future projects under the carpet, never to be seen again. And Proton will start rebadging VWs models that are already 5 yrs old as new cars. Can’t wait for the ship to sank…

• Mirul on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Heard He’s Going To Rescue TNB

• What most people do not realised in the heat of the debate is that this is a share price play. Sell before the news and/or buy after the news. SC should investigate the ‘source’ and the one publishing the news.

• Shahlan on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:48 am

In my opinion, it’s now a good time for DSZ to start up a new car maker company. Surely he will get a good support from any financial institution to fund up the new company. With DSZ good re[putation, his new car maker company will surely get a number of wise yet intelligent engineers to join.

I would personally suggest DSZ to form a new car maker company with attention on producing cheaper cars with green technology, and also to venture into the MPV and commercial small van sector as well.
    Produce new car that is not PROTON, not PERODUA not NAZA… bet them… I will be the first buyer for your MPV
    Go DSZ, go DSZ

• Datuk SZA,

Please leave everything behind in Proton and search for a better prospect. I guarantee.

• Wisdom on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:30 pm

He should finish what he have started in Proton, at least before he go.
    Can Preve seal that transformation?

• javis on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Read the body language…for whatever reason, Tun M seems to be does not really appreciating DSZ presence (?) hence goes the great leadership in Malaysian motor industry.

Similar case with Petronas…?

• Dah kena on May 30, 2012 at 5:54 pm

… Aku dah tinggalkan jenama proton ini. sekarang I love naza kia product….