Drag race unsanctioned, says MAM and AAM

If you’re up-to-date with the news and especially to topics regarding last weekend’s 2012 Million Youths Rally, then you know what has happened.

For those who don’t know, let’s bring you up to speed, and the best way to do it is to show you what happened during the event. This video, sourced from YouTube, shows both angles of the accident, from the front and from the rear. Go ahead and watch it, I’ll wait.

Let’s continue. MUSC Drag Racing, the organiser of the drag race, has issued a rather emotional press release on Facebook stating that measures were taken to keep the spectators from going too close to the drag strip. The measures include frequent announcements to the crowd to move away from the barricades, which fell on deaf ears. He also said that the spectators will behave the same even if they were sanctions imposed.

MUSC Drag Racing said that the accident was caused by an engine oil leak from a competitor’s car. The accident occurred when a 600 hp Mitsubishi Lancer lost control and veered into the thicket, subsequently putting 17 spectators in the hospital.

In a Bernama report, Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek was quoted as saying that “the race was arranged by experienced organisers but he had been made to understand that there were no sanctioning body to monitor and supervise competitions of such nature.”

Following the tragedy, the Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) and the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) have issued separate press statements saying otherwise.

MAM, who are under the purview of the Ministry of Youth and Sports, said that they have been tasked with the responsibility to oversee, advice and sanction all motorsport activities. AAM also underlines the fact that they are the sole sanctioning body for all forms of motorsports in the country. The drag race was one of several motorsports-related events that were not sanctioned by AAM or its affiliates.

The take back is simple. When there’s only a thin piece of metal or a thick greenery that separates you and a high horsepowered, one-ton rocket of steely death, it is very much advisable that you remove your person from the scene as far as possible.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on May 30, 2012 at 12:09 pm

silly idea to have this in the 1st place. So many other options like cycling, safe & environmental friendly too!

• Racer on May 30, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Drag racing is a fun and exciting sport. It can be organized is a safe manner like they do at Sepang and in some closed public roads. Unfortunately the organizer at the Putrajaya event was lackadaisical.

• sudonano on May 30, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Pity the people watching the race, was it so necessary for the organisers to have a race, when one of the goals we are trying to achieve is to reduce illegal racing among teens? Never think forward. and why no proper protection? Cut cost? One person’s mistake, another has to face the consequences. And they call this a huge success. Wow I am so impressed by this mentality. Seriously disappointing.

• pelams on May 30, 2012 at 12:19 pm

mentally retarded organiser… better sell fish!

• Gabla on May 30, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Looks like a spoilt child of some businessman, somehow connected to the apex development & construction berhad.

• Polo Saga on May 30, 2012 at 7:19 pm

better sell burger…..

• WHat is the point to having such drag drive in crowded condition?

Yup, this is the courage from our stup.d gomen to the belia. Previously they even praise mat rempit skill and said they have capability to participate in race event. what a funny view from gomen… lol

I seeing what happend in Arab Drift…. the accident that frequent happend and now it is happen in Malaysia…

Good luck to B-ENd, Malaysia and Belia Belia sekalian…..

• No need to blame goverment or BN la bro..this event is organize by MUSC management itself..Do your research before talk cock here..

• Always look alike on May 30, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Foul mouth. Badly brought up kid.

• F.N.H. on May 31, 2012 at 11:10 pm

I am amused that this shocking atrocity happened.

And, no, it was not an ACCIDENT. Why? Because it is no accident when foolishly inept decisions are made in the face of years of experience in the dangerous conditions of motorsports. If there are no criminal negligence charges soon, no integrity is left with the government’s efforts for better safety on the roads.

And serves the government right in how the ridiculously-named “Himpunan Sejuta Belia” was nothing more than a carnival waiting for a disaster to happen.

And how fortuitous.

• Theory of a Big Bang on May 30, 2012 at 4:26 pm

For all you know, the driver is a PR man who cannot properly mod his car because he used up all his money to drive all the way from penang/kelantan to join bersih3.0 and stayed over for the drag race.. haha!

• Theory of a Small Bang on May 31, 2012 at 11:13 am

For all you know, the driver is a BN stupid man known also as Barisan Najis who cannot properly mod his cheap and ugly junk because he used up all Rakyat money to drive chicken and cow all the way from Johor to boarder of Perlis/Siam to join Datuk T and stayed over for the sex video production..and he blows himself…hahahahahahah

• Zippy Polo on May 30, 2012 at 12:27 pm

is accident waiting to happen… same goes to this kind of sports held at Bukit Jalil stadium ground last year…. where safety is very obviously lack..

I cant be sure what safety precaution for the existing event held every Saturday or Friday at Sungai Besi Equestrian club….cos it is hidden from the public view as the ground are all fence unlike the at the stadium ground where it is open…
    Do hope the responsible body do a strict check on the safety issue before any more lives are lost unnecessarily

• as an option..sepang track is just near by..

• LE_buruk on May 30, 2012 at 12:33 pm

y blame the organizer…blame the baboon who stay near the barrier even though the organizer keep asking them to stay away from the barrier…

• The organizing body was under a legal responsibility to take reasonable measures to ensure that the race was held in a safe environment and manner. I dont think they have done what was reasonable in the circumstances to discharge their legal obligation. At least some barriers need to be put up. If any baboons jump over the barriers, then you can safely say that the organiser is not to be blamed. Put simply, the organiser has not done enough to ensure the safety of the spectators by simply asking spectators to steer clear of the barricade.

• Tell me which race or motorsports event you know has carnival stalls right next to the track? That’s why you blame the organiser. Fool.

• Use your brain, baboon..

• Anak Duck Tok Wi on May 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Ezzat Tahir who? Who the F**K does he think he is?

• dodgeviper88 on May 30, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Checked him & his facebook page. Judging from his attitude he doesn’t have any remorse nor concern of those injured. Just want to ‘cabar cabar’ people who had supposedly talk s**t about him. Won’t be surprised if this happens again under his organization

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:26 am

The same monkey who initially operates Melaka Intl Racing/Go Kart Circuit.

Kindly quickcheck what happened to MIMC now ???

• Gabla on May 30, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Go to a rally, either got hit by smoke grenade and water cannon or hit by a car (police car or a race car)

• kadal on May 30, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Azhar Idrul suppose to give ceramah in putrajaya same day but they revoke the permit to make way for the event.

• jalan54 on May 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Brainless organizer and brainless audience!!! Safety and lives mean nothing to them…

• Urrobota on May 30, 2012 at 1:16 pm

“The measures include frequent announcements to the crowd to move away from the barricades, which fell on deaf ears. He also said that the spectators will behave the same even if they were sanctions imposed.”

what an easy way out? so does that means, I was often asked not to drive above the speed limit but I did, so does it make me RIGHT?

• seriousdude on May 30, 2012 at 1:19 pm

why organise drag race?
    probably trying to win some youths’ votes in coming ge
    btw the drag race seems more like an illegal drag race and the place is so dimly lit..
    some cars had no headlight at all
    obviously the drivers are not professional too. cant even drive straight ^^

• sundown on May 30, 2012 at 1:20 pm

in the end, the same usual excuse will be used when something goes wrong in Malaysia.

“apa nak buat benda nak jadi, takdir tuhan”

And they blame it on the ‘Boss’, b’cos no one challenges the ‘Boss’.

• Polo Saga on May 30, 2012 at 1:26 pm

“the stupidest government in the world” award goes to BN!!!!!!

• Paint on May 31, 2012 at 1:02 am

Suddenly this issue becomes political. And you seem to have ignored the 99% of the rest of the events which brings benefit to youth. What silly and retarded.

• k_man on May 30, 2012 at 1:29 pm

and how do you expect to manage the crowd when there were F&B stalls set up along the drag strip, merely few meters from the barricade? The organizer is a stupid, ignorant, arrogant, 3rd world mentality moron!

• Works on May 30, 2012 at 1:53 pm

malaysian drag organiser should do a lot of homework before organise a drag race event…learn from our neighbour which is thailand…they are better than us on drag race…

• A simple double barricade can simply avoid such thing from getting worst. The act of the driving team and organizer went emotional on facebook also show lack of professionalism on their part.

Shit has already happen and blaming the visitor by namecalling and animalbranding them instead of putting yourself to blame prove much of your third world country mentality, Emcee announcing to get away from barricade each 10-30 minutes? on a drag race? with engine revving over 80dB? yeah that work…

• jonnie on May 30, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Not sanction? So is it Lumba Haram? What is the purpose and message of the event anyway? BN Boleh!

• 600hp Lancer and can’t even get the headlights and tail lights working properly? Did the organiser even check the road worthiness of the car?

• mickey on May 30, 2012 at 2:30 pm

hope those injured are recovering well.

WTH were the organisers thinking of, having this type of drag race in a public access road. very disappointed. Organisers shud take the blame & not put it on the public viewers.

• pauline on May 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm

they wanna fight with Clean 3.0 .

so now they have it, both event got ppl hurt by car.

• xshiro on May 30, 2012 at 2:40 pm

we need a permanent and proper drag strip..not temporary track like this

• gtmaniac on May 30, 2012 at 2:41 pm

The intention from organiser is good, i still feel that the venue & set-up is not proper for a drag race. Those spectators are just too close to the strip!

• realist on May 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

The idiot has the cheek to give attitude in his press statement. No one gives a damn about his 600 bhp piece of crap. Anyone putting that much horse power in a 70s tech passenger car is not a very smart person. Big horsepower requires money. No two ways about it.

As the organizer, they are vicariously liable for what happened. The victims can sue them no matter what this idiot says on facebook. If all that is required is for the emcee to make announcements, anyone can organize motorsport events. Idiots like these should not be allowed on the wheel let alone organize events.

• Ordinary Joe on May 30, 2012 at 2:49 pm

This is what happens when the main objective of such an event is to gain popularity.

• mamat saring on May 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm

“measures were taken to keep the spectators from going too close to the drag strip. The measures include frequent announcements to the crowd to move away from the barricades, which fell on deaf ears”

… crowd move away from the baricades??… shoudnt you racing promoter put the barricades farther away than the road at the first place?.. if you racing promote guys put those barricades like what… 20 more feet awy from the road you dont have to do anouncement at all..

• It should be done in a proper drag strip not on the road or highways… Hope all the victims are safe and recovering.

• Hikaru on May 30, 2012 at 2:54 pm

I think any event organiser would also have to vet the cars that is participating in such events as the safetiness of the car towards the spectators as well as the driver needs to be taken seriously.

I am just guessing here but the car in the incident look rather old and also with 600bhp on tap is a recipe for disaster in anyone’s book, not to mention a drag race where achieving high speed is the name of the game.

• Shabery Chik on May 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm

“EVEN WE FOLLOW MAM AND AAM SANTION SAFETY ISSUE, THE MONKEY IS ALWAYS MONKIES… THEY WILL HANG AROUND HERE AND THERE AND IGNORE OTHER PPL ADVICED. SOMETIMES LIKE BABOON…” Ezzat Tahir, whose driver ploughed into the crowd at high speed during the Himpunan Sejuta Belia drag race event.

When Top Gear Malaysia editor Hezeri Samsuri asked Ezzat how he expected the crowd to stay away from the barricades given that food stalls were set up right next to them, the latter responded:

“Call Gua Utk Sessi Dialog Live Broadcasting Bring Up This Matter. I CABAR YOU!!! Call Me… Tonite Or Tomorrow. If Not I Find You Asap.”

• tokmoh on May 30, 2012 at 6:50 pm

He’s such an arse, his replies on fb were really stupid.

I’d like to think all his sponsors would pull out their sponsorship after the disastrous “official press conference” and his replies in other fb posts. But probably won’t happen, cuz he seems like a really spoilt brat with some powerful datuk/tan sri of a dad.

And so he will continue being an idiot.

• MycarMylife on May 31, 2012 at 8:49 am

Next time organize the next race in town round all the mamak stalls for ALL to Watch and maybe then blame the spectators la.

• ta ser shiung on May 31, 2012 at 9:37 am

his comments/repplies/attitude is so…..im speechless.

• Black Dog on May 30, 2012 at 3:11 pm

There will be more of this happening. A minister just announced in the Star they will be rounding illegal Mat Rempits and let them race ‘safely’ somewhere. Funnily, he said ‘illegal’ is not a crime! Haha! Now I can do my illegal stuff and tell the cops it’s not a crime because that minister said so.

• car driver on May 30, 2012 at 9:52 pm

well you should understand by now, that this country are being run by IDIOTS.

• Clutch Basah on May 30, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Sponsored, organized, participated and attended by not so bright individuals. nuff said..

• Henry on May 30, 2012 at 3:41 pm

MAM and AAM is smart and professional enough to not sanction a race with such poor safety measures. .

• mystvearn on May 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

In America, there are proper venues for this. There are concrete walls, spectators sit higher than the car so that no one crowds near the gate to catch a view.

My personal view: Belia got better things to do than this…

• Orgnisers are experienced???…..what a load of s**t. If they are experienced, there will be proper barriers in place, marshalls everywhere, lighting, etc.

• donno on May 30, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Why are they (race organisers) choosen by the himpunan belia organisers (well you know who)?

Because they give the cheapest quote, and as you know proper barricades, sanctions are expensive, so they cut cost. Proper safety equipment, proper barricades on a race event are there for a reason. The minister of sport statement is just to save his skinny ass, because he knows well that events like this has to be properly sanctioned (his ministry is the one which appoints MAM and AAM to oversee motorsport in M’sia)

• Safety what!!…Msian are very lacking in safety (no knowledge/awareness), even towards their own children…..Soo many parents are driving around wt their kids/child’s without proper childseats/harness…they even let them stand on the front passangers seats wt AIRBAGS!!!…thats hows lacking we are on safety

• Gettho on May 30, 2012 at 5:00 pm

600hp on an aged Mitsu Lancer.. but did they bother to upgrade the brakes and suspension on the car to handle 600hp???

Look at the video and see how the car dips and bounces violently upon emergency braking and you will know the answer…

Typical Malaysian cut and paste modification without any regard for safety……

• deftones on May 30, 2012 at 7:30 pm

yo Mr Gettho, do you think other performance car with >600hp + big brakes and good suspensions will never got crash??

the thing is, its not all about the car..its the driver..but it depends, when the car is not controllable, it just shit happens..thats all.. dont think the drive do it on purpose anyway..its an accident..accident..accident..

• Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on May 31, 2012 at 1:37 pm

If the car a kereta potong & modified illegally by some backyard workshop? JPJ-approved & Puspakom-checked?

• MycarMylife on May 30, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Sympathies to the injured and hope they recover soon to sue the organizers to heaven .Hope they learn something this time.

• Rulered on May 30, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Mat Rempits or bus drivers makes judgement errors, because they’re on a drug called ganja.. Some people makes wrong decisions because of a more powerful drug, it’s called power.

• Rags1968 on May 30, 2012 at 8:12 pm

The minister in charge should be professional enough to take full responsibility for such an atrocious accident which should not have happened in the first place. But also to blame is the total lack of safety precautions which should have been done and finally spectators also fully responsible for their own safety.

Let’s hope there will not be any type of such dangerous motor sports be held at such locations other than locations that have been designed for these types of drag races i.e. sepang circuit

• I believe hari belia is a bad idea anyways. It attracts the young to come from all corners of the nation and attend activities that they could be getting elsewhere. But this will expose the young to having more freedom than they require. Ive heard sex cases, drug consumption among belia who finds this a melting pot to be with others all in one place, it is also najibs way to attract youngsters into being pro najib yet it is not a good way to do it. Ive never seen so many belia on motorbikes racing down the streets of putrajaya with no helmets, doing harm to themselves and others. Not all teens are well behaved, and in such attractive atmosphere, its havoc bound to happen.

• 4g63tdsm on May 30, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Not only that drag races are done on proper venues, the tracks are set up to NHRA, IHRA and IDRC safety requirements. I’ve done well over 200 runs on a proper sanctioned track on private track days and organized events in North America.

On top of that if you’d been on a proper drag strip (not stupid converted tracks like sepang) the spectators don’t sit past the 300ft point and behind concrete and steel Armco barriers and wire fence. No one, even track officials and safety marshals stands past the 1/8 mile point.

No matter what the driver and organizers says, I’ve driven 700hp drag cars and they can get very very loose when the car’s grip is uneven, even on traction compound aided tracks, especially when one engages the 150shot. I’Ve gotten in some pretty scary tank slappers that nearly put me in the wall. Accidents happen.

The organizer has no experience in setting up a drag strip. No one that have done drag runs on a proper track will ever do up a track like they had that night.

• dreaming of maserati on May 30, 2012 at 11:11 pm

how did this old junk pass puspakom inspection or jpj approval?
    is it even legal to upgrade an 80hp old lancer to 600hp?

• hahahha …an old car equipped with turbo go participant the drag race …no wonder accident happend …hahahahahaha

• If this happened in America the injured spectators can sue the organizers or gomen for billions…here in Malaysia, u become famous when the oscar winning ministers pretended to visit the victims and pictures taken to show they care…

• HeyDude on May 31, 2012 at 12:13 am

this is all Najib fault

• streetcar on May 31, 2012 at 12:33 am

I was like, OMFG! So how much to build a full facility private drag strip, coz I might have that piece og land..

• anak malaysia on May 31, 2012 at 1:33 am

spectator, organiser, racer ….all are, “id·i·ot? ?[id-ee-uht] Show IPA
    noun
    Informal . an utterly foolish or senseless person.
    Psychology . (no longer in technical use; considered offensive) a person of the lowest order in a former and discarded classification of mental retardation, having a mental age of less than three years old and an intelligence quotient under 25.

• tukangdriverketeboss on May 31, 2012 at 2:08 am

i was near the tuanku mizan mosque during that time, lots of siren heard at that time, and too crowd at the area, so i just knew this news at home… the objective of this perhimpuan is good but the control for this event is very low… participant can do whatever they want (even ride a motocross recklessly at the area where pedestrian walk, yeay, it happened to me). advice to the organiser for the program that involve public and many people, plan the control of the event and enforce it; such as safety…. or else, spend more money on the insurance and lawsuit…

• Suthan on May 31, 2012 at 3:29 am

Seriously, the dude is a jerk. As a organizer, he should bear responsibility and work out solution/ways to move forward, not cussing and dissing people emotionally on FB.

But bravo bro Ezzat for issuing one of the Stupidest (read retarded) Press Release ever.

• It’s been almost three years MUSC organizes this race and they also handle race in some states in Malaysia. I am one of fans who follow the event. Hopefully we will all take learned from this incident. To the victims, my condolences.

• now everyone is taking their feet from the pedal. hahaha. the same old story in the kingdom of bolehland…

• organizer got experiend. is a laughing stock. used tyre mana, sand bag mana, and otak mana.

• This is not a political issues. This is all about irresponsible statement from irresponsible organizer. why must he put his cocky statement instead of apology and tell his counter measure for the next race or put it on hold as further investigation is needed.

To the authorities, please re-look on how the event is being organized. If to put a full-stop, then just full stop. This is about 17 people who were injured and some of them are under intensive care unit.

They have Sepang Drag Battle held in SIC which is much safer. To the organizer, admit mistakes. Find counter measure and tell what are you going to do with the 17 people. What on earth are you thinking by calling the spectators baboon or monkeys will makes you different?

• Cosmo Artemis on May 31, 2012 at 10:53 am

There are visibly NONE traffic police to control the traffic flow on Saturday. Jalan jem like hell, stuck in traffic at Putrajaya for almost 3 hours.

• qwert on May 31, 2012 at 11:41 am

of course this will be political issue
    because we all know all this events had nothing todo with pas,pkr & dap

its always umno-goons that get the contracts to manage all these

• Cheah Tat Cheong on May 31, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Next should be a Mat Rempit drag race…hold on, maybe a Mat Rempit vs Drag Queen drag race? I’ll come and watch, with binoculars!

• Med Student on a Vespa. on May 31, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Well, spectators shouldve stand away from the drag strip. It’s logical to do that. Bet they’ve never seen NHRA drag races in the States, and rally fans who got run down by rally cars. Too bad.

• k_man on May 31, 2012 at 1:53 pm

with all the retarded and idiotic comments this ezzat guy put on his official press statement and other FB comments, im beginning to wonder…is this loser on ‘ICE’ or something…when he wrote all these?

• MycarMylife on May 31, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Watch the Shameful Cheek’s smirk face on Malaysia kini now trying lay part blame on MAM and AAM for not being proactive.!!!!

• Leonardo on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:28 am

Please note to all spectators of motorised sports any where in the world – you must be aware of the risks when attending such events, regardless of the sanctions and all the safety measures put up. The risk is YOURS. If you have a racing ticket from Sepang circuit, read the conditions behind it. Likewise if you are watching a rally event in an estate; choose a safe location, not where the car will slide into a corner, eventhough it’s nice for photography! Some of you were not even born when Henry Yap’s Ford Escort BDA crashed into the fence and crowd at Batu Tiga’s racing circuit long time ago. That’s one of the reasons why they moved the track to Sepang, with better safety features. But as spectators, be aware that it is a dangerous sports and the onus is on YOU to be alert at all times. And no unsanctioned Kereta Potong with 600 hp and unlicenced racing driver please!