Petron rebrands Esso/Mobil stations in Malaysia

It looks like Petron has wasted no time in rebranding the Esso and Mobil stations its purchased, as you can see from this red and blue themed Petron station by the KESAS highway. On The Run cafe has also been rebranded to Treats. Petron calls its fuel by the brand name Blaze, and offers both RON97 and RON95 fuel. I forgot to check out what they call their Diesel fuel.

For those who are unaware of what Petron is and what happened to Esso and Mobil, here’s the gist of it: in August last year, ExxonMobil, owner of Esso and Mobil brands agreed to sell its interest in three businesses operating in the Malaysian downstream petroleum sector to San Miguel Corporation of the Philippines. Petron Corporation is the largest oil refining and marketing company in the Philippines, and is majority owned by beverage maker San Miguel.

The total transacted was US$577.3 million for 65% of Esso Malaysia Berhad, 100% of ExxonMobil Malaysia Sdn Bhd and 100% of ExxonMobil Borneo Sdn Bhd. Petron also wrapped up the acquisition of 175.5 million ordinary shares in Esso Malaysia at RM0.50 per share, totaling US$195.123 million.

The physical assets in the transaction include the 88kbd-capacity Port Dickson refinery which processes an average of 45,000 barrels of crude a day, equity interest in 10 fuel distribution terminals (seven of which are active) and approximately 560 retail fuel stations nationwide.

Has anyone tried Petron’s Blaze fuel yet? If you have, share your thoughts in the comments. I also wonder how many people are confused by how similiar Petron and Petronas sounds – perhaps some who are unaware of who Petron is might even think Petronas changed its name to Petron.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Drove it for a week with Ron 95 on my kenari and I can feel the burst of power when driven but for me fc is not as good as what I used previously.

• tiadaid on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:26 pm

A lot of my friends noticed the Petron brand but all of them thought it’s another Petronas station!

Time for them to start a big ad blitz to educate the public!

• Sam Loo on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm

So what happens to all the points accumulated in the Esso loyalty card?

• adrian g. on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:07 pm

same feature for smiles from what am told. No difference. Only that new Petron card will be sent to us to replace the smiles card. Meanwhile still can use smile….

• tokmoh on Jun 24, 2012 at 11:45 am

Yes, just as adrian said.

I asked at an Esso station yesterday, they told me Smiles points won’t be affected or lost once they changed to Petron

• alldisc on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:34 am

i actually panicked a little coz i have like 10,000 smile points… i was aiming for juicemaker.

• Amitis on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:00 pm

As soon as your balance is up to RM 3000,you have a chance to fill your car’s tank for RM 45 FREE.

• thebugbud on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:00 pm

No sure how they manage the transfer of esso smile points.hopefully, not voided.

• The rock on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Too many colors, confusing..

• adrian g. on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:05 pm

been using esso for sometime and after the switch to Petron as well. No diff. Think its just same la, just name change only..

• Kok Chi on Jun 25, 2012 at 1:36 am

They bought the assets and rights to sell and process fuel in Malaysia from Exxon. They would not have the rights to Esso / Mobil fuel formulation. It’s definitely different. Like how BHP bought over BP.

• V12Kompressor on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Esso smiles reward program are still being recognized by Petron, as posted on their FB page.

• petron is owned by san miguel, one of the direcotors of san miguel is son of tun.apa.nama.

let us do the calculation and guessing.

• Petrova on Jun 24, 2012 at 8:25 am

Fact, is indeed better than guessing.

That son of Mahathir is not the director of San Miguel anymore. He’s still the director of Petron, though..

• Yes correct..he is not ceo or shareholder of san miguel anymore…but he only retain petroleum activity

• matlimmutu on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm

direcotors..

• is that fuel formula still same as esso??

• look closely, not just its name, the font also very similar to PETRONAS, same goes for colour scheme of RON97 and RON95.

• Sentinel Prime on Jun 24, 2012 at 7:11 am

Pretty standard colour for all ron 97 either in green or red label and ron 95 in yellow label at all oil n gas brand around the world.

• alldisc on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:37 am

even the name PETRON is 80% of PETRONAS.

• JeremyNg on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:56 pm

I still didnt saw any of this at Melaka

• La Hami bin Ahmad on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Mabuhay Petron!

• Gambus on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:33 pm

I actually read it as Proton at first glance.

• Josh Young on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm

I hope Malaysian Petron stations would also get our “Blaze 100”!

• fongozic on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:41 pm

for Smile Card user, you can enjoy 1.5x point with petron now… wangsa maju have one Petron too

• petron vs petronas….hehe

• Petronas , Petron n Proton..hope foreigners knows the diff…..If alcohol beverages could be sold at petrol kiosk , imagine putting full tank n u get a free San Miguel can of beer..cool marketing eh..nice way to kill Carlsberg n G.A.B..:)

• Sentinel Prime on Jun 24, 2012 at 7:07 am

You suggestion is good but Khairy & Rosmah won’t let this happened to shaken their wealth main under table money as significant shareholder in the company. they will use their political influence and her husband status to protect their alcohol interest.

• Agree with u but there r some improvements when u compare Mahathirism time …Asean countries r opening their doors very widely which means dirty tactic political interference should not be there when there is a free market ..the greatest n biggest consumers r the rakyat n not the politicians…Rakyat moves the market..Cheers (San Miguel) buddy..:)

• Give proof la….talk no proof is fairytale

• tokmoh on Jun 24, 2012 at 11:49 am

Then inb4 JAIS kata haroooooom. After this petrol station need to apply sijil halal hohohoho

• RedBeanBun on Jun 24, 2012 at 12:59 am

and Mahathir brokering the deal to sell National Oil License to foreigner owned by him and his son, and no one dare to say a word.

• AripSon on Jun 24, 2012 at 1:00 am

Who owns San Miguel?

• SUVobserver on Jun 24, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Mirzan Mahathir owns a substantial stake

• Wrong he already sold the share in 2010 if not mistaken…..he only retain share in san miguel petroleum company

• Paul, so completely different fuels are being used or is it the same fuel as Esso before, but just branded as Petron?

• Mobil 1 on Jun 24, 2012 at 6:17 am

Can I still get Mobil 1 in Msia??

• Sentinel Prime on Jun 24, 2012 at 7:02 am

Mamak kutty son, Mirzan Mathatir is 1 of the board of directors in san miguel corporation. Mathatir dictator family won the deal as USA agree to sold to their ally country mate, Philippine company even our BN cronies with BN govt willing offer better higher price bid and try to keep negotiate with ExxonMobil for reconsideration but failed.
    Many had said the fuel is no longer as good as the Esso/Mobil formula recipe and poor just like the Petronas fuel. For me, since the transition i been converting back my loyalty to shell and the shell 95 had been well improvement over the recent past few years compare to the ron 95 been 1st time introduced in Msia. Feel sad can’t longer enjoy the best America product as 1 of the big 5 global oil & gas brand and their best loyalty smile card benefit.

• Lorat on Jun 24, 2012 at 12:44 pm

F**k Yeah Americ**ts!

• CarLover on Jun 24, 2012 at 3:09 pm

I’d have to agree on that one, the local Malaysian company put up a deal which was worth MYR150M more but was steamrolled. The only consolation in the overall Petron business proposal is that Petron promised in their proposal to upgrade the Port Dickson facility, hopefully adding a hydro cracker which would make the plant efficiency up to global standard. They are looking at 700K barrel a day, which is equivalent to the whole Malaysia crude oil output. That itself is an additional revenue earner and adds new downstream business.

• dare u to say petronas fuel poor. Please do a research…damn!

• sentinoob on Jun 24, 2012 at 6:03 pm

you’re so blinded by your hate for all things malaysian that you assume petronas fuel is bad. petronas fuel both petrol and diesel IS THE BEST and MOST CONSISTENT in malaysia

• jaka sembung on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:01 am

poor just like the Petronas fuel????where u got this fact?whats the source to this claim?

mind to share?

or just another brainless basher

• flyguy on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:48 pm

agree with you jaka. so far petronas 95 the best compare to other (in term of mileage, engine smoothness)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Leehanvoon on Feb 17, 2013 at 10:58 pm

I was a shell user for 2 yrs until I converted to Esso synergy 95.

Shell Fuelsave 95 is significantly weaker than Esso 95..especially on low rpm acceleration and low rpm high speed cruising…

I hate to see Esso leaving Malaysia with its quality fuel

• Regina Shwartz on Jun 24, 2012 at 7:30 am

I think Petronas needs to take steps to protect its brand – this “Petron” name is too close to “Petronas” for comfort. I’m pretty sure that Malaysians living outside of cities are going to get pretty darn confused about this.

• heehaw on Jun 24, 2012 at 2:53 pm

apanama said no problem!

• oblong on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:57 am

ya lor…sometimes when watching F1 the word PETRONAS & PETROBRAS look like the same…maybe if PR win this PRU they will rebrand it to ‘PetroPer @ Petrol Percuma’ huhuhu

• inb4, petron wujud tahun 1933 lagi. Petronas only exist after 1957.

• mohd azan on Jun 24, 2012 at 10:05 am

the core biz of san miguel is beverage, mainly beer and hard liquor. muslims are forbidden in anything to do with alchoholic drinks i.e. drink, work in the co, promoting them and i would think this includes using fuel owned by the co since there are other alternatives

• car driver on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:00 am

yeah, try and ask jakim to put up a fatwa for it. they would put up a fatwa to haram street demonstration, but not the bigger things in life; like the mass adopted riba in all the loans.

jakim (and islam in general in malaysia) will do their work as long as it’s not against the interest of some crony and people in power (your many kings and queens included).

• Wisdom on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

Then when all thing in Malaysia follow 100% Islamic regulation, no riba & no interest, 100% clean, u’ll be the one who hot butted.

Let those who works in JAKIM or any other islamic based dept do their fair share of effort, to gradually improve the implementation and hopefully its beneficial not only to muslim but general malaysian too. U see, we’ve been colonialised. In 70s we still have Islamic politician keeping beer at home, racist (yes, colonial is racist). Women with hijjab is non existence on TV. At least now the situation improved. No need to relate everything to politics/cronyism/etc.

Dont read too much politics.

• kerelbort on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:43 am

your argument is like people who support a football team who used to be sponsored by a beer company. so instead of supporting their favorite football team, they are force to support another team because there’s alternative of football team.

A conventional bank that promoting riba’ which is also haram for muslim, so is supporting the football team who are wearing jersey promoting riba’ consider haram as well?

• Do you ever went to genting theme park or hotel or cruise ship or resort..own by resort world genting?…same situation….what bout liverpool fc last time still many kipas susah mati

• extremis on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Hey if I can put san miguel in my mower motor.. is that still ‘forbidden’. I promise I won’t sip and I won’t breath in the aroma

• if thats your arguement that what is to be done about muslim shareholders who sits on the board of directors of Genting, Magnum, Carlberg and GAB? and what about the taxes these “sinful” companies have paid to the government who in turn have use the money for the country? This arguement will never end………

• fabio on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:45 am

can i ask u mohd azan..u can boycott this brand because it affiliated with alcohol but what is the fate with your fellow muslim who is running esso/mobil petrol station before and unintentionally have to change to Petron station because of market share changing between Petron and Exxon high council? are they the one could be blame and guilty too?

• Leehanvoon on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm

In boycotting the Petron Brand…
        We are directly punishing the innocent Petrol Station owners…

Before the effect reaches Petron Malaysia..

• I believe that the only way you can tell the fuel is different from what you’re used to, is by giving your money to your friend, father, mother or whatever it is..ask them to fill up your car without you knowing what brand it is..drive for one week and report the driving experience!

• Johndeep on Jun 24, 2012 at 12:45 pm

dont always think that malaysian outside cities can not access news and internet. damn “ulu” thinking!!

• the difference between Petron n Petronas is that one doesn’t hve “as” n the other one has “ass” ..opps i mean “as”..;)

• Saw these stations after sg besi tol to serdang…my wife thought its petronas…for me i think the logo seems odd a bit…prefer petronas more than the rest

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 24, 2012 at 4:19 pm

what??? no more esso after this???

• Maaajeeedaaa on Jun 24, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Whatever it is….Techron still da best

• rozanne on Jun 24, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Cheers for Mokhzani Mahathir!!

• Tried last Saturday. Can really feel the diff. More kilometer and slightly more pick up. My usual fuel is ‘S’.

• Leehanvoon on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:08 pm

I was a loyal S 97 user until they introduced 95…

S 95 is so sluggish… the least powerful among all 95
      And I forced me to survey all other 95…
      And found Esso 95 is way better…

If u use S 95..Any petrol will feel more powerful by comparison
      :)

• fuel_user on Jun 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Like it or not. .we wont get the feel of ESSO fuel anymore ever. . You think ESSO want to simply give their recepi or better know as ‘the additives’ to PETRON? Think again and Im pretty sure thats not part of the purchase deal. Smiles points conversion to Petron point its juz to camouflage us to think that their fuel will also be the same as ESSO. For me I’ve redeem all my smiley points and started trying other brands. . . So far Shell 95 seems to favour me this time. Juz my 2cents.

• jaka sembung on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:03 am

shell fuel is the worst?how i know?
      coz im also a blind basher like u

claim without fact=BS
      unless from internet source of some reputable com/org

• Still they can buy the right to sell esso fuel by rebrand…..if car can y not petrol..petronas do that in south africa rite

• Very true that Esso had their own additives and will not give their formula so Petron, so thats why Petron had purchased higher premium additives as compared to Esso and is willing to lower their profits just in order to penetrate the market. This is info i got from people working in Petron.

• please on Jun 24, 2012 at 8:13 pm

what’s wrong with u guys? totally out of topic! please share your experience with petron la!

• Wow, first BP, and Esso Mobil exited Malaysian market..that left only Shell and Petronas as big old players…like most drivers i find Petronas petrols last longer mileage, Shell very fast finish

• TouchTitanic on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Bob, you forgot that Caltex is still around? That means at least one American gasoline company continues to do business here in Malaysia, despite ExxonMobil’s withdrawal from the downstream business…

And yup, Petronas is indeed the gasoline that gives you great mileage, which is why I stick to either them or Caltex, compared with Shell! :)

• I pump full tank Shell, reach ipoh I pump caltex, immediately I feel my car no power.

• mamat on Jun 24, 2012 at 8:42 pm

pls come to SARAWAK so we hv more choices!

• GreenFuel on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:34 am

Sarawak have the one and only Exxel (afte Esso pulled out from Sarawak market a few years ago), die of due to the low quality of fuel. Now only Petronas and Shell

• Diesel monster on Jun 24, 2012 at 9:24 pm

hope this petron can give more clean diesel fuel, Esso diesel very dirty, each time full tank, can see the ‘buih buih’ easily compare to shell

• Dude

Did you know that Esso/Mobil is having the cleanest diesel in Msia? Please give me facts on your claim and i will give mine. Thanks.

• MyChoice on Jun 24, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Knowing is Mahathir’s son involvement.. I will avoid this PETRON, unless I need to push my car… Everything is smudge with their fingerprints all over

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:07 am

agree! Will stay away from then and Treats when I possibly can

• Tried Petron last week. Not enough acceleration and fuel economy, if compared to Caltex with Techron.

• Poured this blaze d other day, feel much better then d ron95 by Esso. Fc wise, but slightly better. Just my 2 cents.

• Kuryakin on Jun 25, 2012 at 12:22 am

Am gonna max out my Smile card…….just in case….

• Kuryakin on Jun 25, 2012 at 12:24 am

Remember the days of yore “put a tiger in your tank”?
    I suppose it’s now “Put some beer in your Tank” LOL

• ilyasadam on Jun 25, 2012 at 1:32 am

the real reason why the exxonmobil assets were not sold to either Shell or Petronas is because the retail market share for both companies are neck and neck. selling it to shell or petronas would mean that one would tip the other and gain a very large market share. This may test our new anti-monopoly law. Thus the safest option would be to do it as they did, sell it to a new entrant with some kind of downstream experience hoping that it would add some competition into the market.

• What about BHP their BID is the highest, and they on par with caltex

• FC worsened…screw this…cant run my campro with mobil 1 engine oil and essomobil petrol…was the best combo for me

• merce on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:10 am

Isn’t it cool that Mahathir allows his son to operate a beer company?
    Rumour has it that the Tun Razak clan (najib included) holds the biggest bumi portion of the Genting Casino shares.
    Malaysia is actually ruled by very “interesting” people.

• Yes, it’s full of ‘interesting’ people like you who is full of ‘sh*t’, spreading innuendos and propagating rumours.

• He already sold la…only petroluem activity he did not sold

• Why u always say he sold he sold? Why did he buy in the first place? Typical umno cybertrooper!

• Give proof with link than talk can?

• Of course you couldnt find the proof..you only read utusan and watch tv3!

• kRuiSer on Jun 25, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Just done my research, smiles points can still be use both at esso and petron right now but petron is promoting 1.5X smiles points so better fill in ur fuel tank at petron… i noticed the price at Treats (Petron’s shop) are much more expensive compared to esso so u better reedem ur points at esso’s mart! so conclusion, Fuel = Petron, Reedem = Esso.. cheers! :)

• no worries on our points, it will be migrated (to whatever) and there’ll be more to come!!

• The info i got from people working in Petron is that your points will not be forfeited even if they have fully rebranded all their kiosk to Petron, so there is no need to push the panic button and start redeeming all of your points. You still can carry on accumulating your points as how you used to.

• TAHIR PELIER on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm

dont you all remember during the 1998 economic downturn, when al-gore and its associates attacked asean currency. which make many company that trade internationally suffer badly and even near bankrupt due to high foreign exchange rate. the most hated guy had made a move to bind our ringgit at 3.8 to us dollar. which save many company in malaysia from bankrupt and avoid us from taking imf funds which favors the evil plot of al-gore. this hated man is Dr. Mahathir, his move which save many company from drowning, which race owns the business in malaysia mainly? think about it, put aside racism ( i know which race because most of them stay away from national company because they hate that race inside it, but please be rational, it is what malaysia have, and these companies that built malaysia until now, be patriotic, if not go south )

• kevin on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:49 pm

excuse me, “when al-gore and its associates …”???
      or are u talking about soros???

• tricycle on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Let’s not put religious into this issue unless we are really an expert, scholar etc.

Let say San Miguel is a chocolate cake making company.

Tun Apanama through his son got a substantial share in this cake making company.

Wonder where did he or his son get the money.

After so many years of plundering the nations wealth, dividing Malay-Chinese-Indian, Isa-ing DSAI, Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng and others I will stop buying/spending at Petron as a sign of protest.

And doesn’t matter what company Tun Apanama is in, I will boycott his company because of his sins.

• Then you should not step into the Twin Towers or KLIA then. Tun Apanama had a hand in those and a whole lot of other things most take for granted today.

If you want to boycott something, best to do it fully rather than doing it at your convenience.

One good way is to move to another country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Was klcc and klia built using mahathir’s money? What kind of thinking is this? Its the rakyats’ money! And 50% of the rakyat didnt support BN last election! So dont think the country belongs to mahathir or bn

• TAHIR PELIER on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm

i also wanted to point at malay who is anti-G but yet still working and getting salary from the G or GLC. these kind of malay is an ignorant bastard. yet still begging for free this and that but are lazy ass to improve their life and only eat rumors and shiite as meals.

• Anti G or the rulling party BN?

• Wtf?where does the G or GLC get the money in the first place? From the rakyat la..its not BN’s money! So why should we be grateful to BN? We are only grateful to the rakyat and leaders who care for the rakyat

• matlimmutu on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:55 pm

petronas for me, not petron or shell or bhp or caltex.

• Yeah which leader? Camouflaging their interests with kononnya rakyat’s. And btw, if you’re a muslim, konsep bersyukur is to berterima kasih first.

• flat_tire on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:57 pm

i see an identity crisis here.. it’s petronas without the ass………. i mean ‘as’..

• ben yap on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:28 pm

before i pump petron, my kancil does 0-100km/h in 20 seconds. after i pump petron, it can do the century sprint in under 5 seconds!

• sochams on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:51 pm

so far the only petrol kiosk i’ve been to where the toilet is really clean and has AIR CONDITIONING in it.. :D

• MYDriver on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:41 pm

seems Petron has invested in premium market additives!! not sure if its me, but my car feels bit more torqy after my 2nd fueling..Blaze 95

• Leehanvoon on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Hi..
      By the way…
      Which petrol brand were u using immediately before switching to Petron Blaze 95?

• yearp. so far so good. have to try it a lil bit more to feel the difference.

• Andy Soe on Jun 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm

There’s an Esso station just nearby my area, beside the interchange up to Desa Petaling, KL. Initially I thought it’s Petronas who taken over Esso & doing the major rebranding exercise. I only knew that it’s San Miguel that owns Petron & bought stakes in ExxonMobil.

Not much difference for the fuel as I believed it’s the same as Esso / Mobil’s Synergy F1 (RON 97) / 5000 (RON 95) fuel quality. Luckily the station’s staff updated me that there’s no effect on the Smiles points accumulated under Smiles cards as my main concern was I’m currently having 82,000 points up to date.

• I would say their blaze 95 is so much better than petronas.. I drove an old car Honda EK 2door… I used to consume petronas ron95..i gave up on the engine knocking sound despite ive done the valve clearance.. When i first use Petron blaze, the engine sound is so smooth and no knocking sound anymore..fuel saving wise, no difference with Petronas 95.. will stick to Petron.. better quality, you can feel the difference especially on old cars.. cheers!

• To all

Petron even fuelled the new MAS Airbus A380. Do not believe me? Go to MAS website and click Airbus A380 story.

I heard the additive is much better compared to Synergy (under Esso/Mobil)and other competitors especially Shell and Petronas.

• Pinoy on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:57 pm

All

Go try Blaze… I am sure you will feel the difference. Same price but smoother and cleaner engine. You will feel the difference. I did and I am sure you wont regret it.

• Speedfreak154 on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:02 am

I think we should try the fuel out first for a few tankfuls. An esso user would be able 2 feel d difference if there is any. The esso company isn’t gone, its just been rebranded. Let’s give it a chance, eh? If it’s good, then continue using it. If it isn’t, then by all means, go ahead and choose another petrol company as fuel for ur car. Simple as that.

• Any updates on PB-Esso Mobil Visa Gold Credit Card?

• Patrick on Dec 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Hi, wanna check with you guys, isn’t the RON97 price RM3.30 (based on what I rememberd on Shell RON97)? I just pumped at Esso (renovating to Petron) today and my receipt showed RM2.85/litre. Has the price dropped? Market price?

• Petron 97 feels like Shell 97 Racing

To be fair, this is of course comparing the good Shell petrol stations. If you try Shell Station like the one in Mutiara Damansara (next to the high power line), then you will feel like their Shell 97 Racing is worse than any 95.

• Leehanvoon on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Hi..

Where do you live?
      In Johor / Penang?

U can still remember the Shell 97 Racing feel?
      It was almost 2 yrs since they remove that product from Major Shell station in my area (Klang Valley)

As for me..
      Sometimes filling the same petrol at the same station also have different feeling..

I used to fill 97 racing at Kesas…
      But it feels different from the 97 racing at Shell Jalan 222 (Selangor)…

People already think I’m crazy… When I say different petrol brands felt differently.. Worse if i say different feeling even from the same station..

• ya Shell 97 racing is still around. But not all stations though and not all pumps either. eg. the Shell station near 1 utama old wing has it, and this station has good fuel.

Some engines seem to work better on certain fuel brand. Petron 95 and BHP 95 gave me about 50km extra mileage each tank. This is comparing to Shell.

So I guess it is essential to identify the good stations first before comparing fuel.

• irene on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Can i know near johor jaya got perton?

• Angelica on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:09 am

You will find deals inside the magazine every-day of the week.