Alister McRae wins the 2012 Malaysian Rally

Alister McRae has won the Malaysian Rally 2012, making it his first win of the 2012 Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) season. The win also saw Proton defending its Malaysian Rally crown, which was won by Chris Atkinson last year.

Driving the Proton Satria Neo S2000, the defending ARPC champion finished second overnight at the end of Leg 2. He was fastest on the opening stage of the third and final leg, completing the 12.46 km Tai Tak Court House stretch in 10 minutes 37 seconds, three seconds faster than teammate PG Andersson.

Andersson retired at the end of special stage 10; he was leading the rally. As a result of the retirement, Proton R3 Cusco Rally Team’s Karamjit Singh was promoted to third while teammates Akira Bamba and Kenneth Koh moved up to seventh and ninth respectively.

At the end of the race, Alister McRae crossed the finish line in 2 hours 57 minutes 31.5 seconds. Chris Atkinson, in the Skoda Fabia S2000, secured second place 25 minutes 25.1 seconds behind the leader. While Brian Green in the Subaru Impreza WRX STi finished third with a time of 3 hours 24 minutes 8.1 seconds.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• krs189 on Jul 16, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Proton syok sendiri this rally….

If P2 Myvi enter this rally, sure “tapau” all….. damn you ‘potong’ bcoz syok sendiri

• Dewata on Jul 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

apa kau merepek ni krs189

• 3rd world mentality…

• Trinitrotoluene on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Myvi vs satria neo??what were u thinking?

• krs189 on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Come on…

If satria so good why sales so slow????

Fact is Myvi sales higher than satria neo… so definitely myvi better laa…

:p

• yanes on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:28 am

Seriously? Do you even know what rally is? What’s the relation between sales number and rally performance?

• benzema on Jul 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

thumbs up to bro krs189. i’m totally agree with you! like, yeah! your opinion really matters to us malaysians. i’m with you! myvi is the best! it can smoke wrx easily without any doubt. yeah long live P2! (3x)

ROFL

• NONICKNAME on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Yeah.. Myvi is the best, can tapau any car easily (Malaysian mentality)

• Crutz on Jul 16, 2012 at 5:21 pm

And yeaahhhh….That make Skoda Fabia even worst than Proton. Lagi susah mau Jual Skoda than jual Neo in Malaysia. How bout Subaru compared to Neo then?? (If U compare the sales over performance and branding).

• Then all those supercar sure lose 99 d, Myvi 0-100 0.5 sec wor :D

• MrChocoHazelnut on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:01 am

Cmon Crutz, give that kid a break.. U’re talking to him about Skoda Fabia? Nanti dia ingat tu jenama peti ais nanti.. (:

• spike on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:47 pm

I really hope you know what you’re talking about. If you had been following the season you should have noticed that McRae’s pace has never been on par with Atkinson and Andersson throughout the season. McRae won the rally because the strongest contenders, Atkinson and Andersson both suffered from mechanical failures.

Despite that, Atkinson’s Skoda fought back to second place during the Day Two winning 5 out of 7 rallies. Sadly Andersson’s Proton couldn’t be restarted otherwise it’d be fun to watch both of them in contest (rather than McRae’s mediocre performance though).

• myvi…malaysian vehicle ma….that why he forgot neo…makan myvi …tido myvi….huh..ha..kaya perodua…tq2

• KL fella on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:07 am

lol can’t believe a comment by a troll warrants so many replies..

• Leonardo on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:09 am

Why are we talking about MyVi here? It’s not even in the same league when it comes to rallying. Congratulations to PROTON, must give credit where it is due.

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:52 am

Even Japanese now driving Neo in Rally.

• tony blair on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:55 pm

congrate proton!!rare car!!