DRB-Hicom to pour in RM1 bil to develop Proton City

DRB-Hicom to pour in RM1 bil to develop Proton CityTanjung Malim is set to see significant growth and progression over the next five years, with DRB-Hicom planning to ramp up development of Proton City.

According to a Bernama report. the corporation is set to inject more than RM1 billion into developing the area, which is home to the Proton Tanjung Malim assembly plant.

Over the next half-decade, the sleepy-hollow place and its surrounding areas will be transformed into a vibrant automotive town, Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir told reporters. When Proton City – which began in 1996 – is fully developed, it is expected to have a population of about 240,000.

At the moment, only 30% of the 1,618 hectares has been developed, Zambry explained, adding that the state government had conferred with DRB-Hicom on plans to develop the area.

Plans are afoot to build up the infrastructure in and around Tanjung Malim, including building an access road to Proton City from the North-South Expressway to ease the movement of Proton vehicles being brought out of Proton City. A commercial centre and a school is also slated to be built in the area.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly discuss Proton's pricing competitiveness and its reliance on government protection due to its privatization status. Many commenters criticize the RM1 billion investment in Proton City, suspecting it to be a way for cronies and government-linked entities to siphon public funds rather than genuinely expanding Proton’s car production or R&D. There’s skepticism about the development of Proton City, with doubts about whether it will benefit car sales or merely become a real estate project for profit. Some argue that Proton’s market share has declined and that government protection and tax advantages favor Proton unfairly, leading to questions about the true purpose of the investment and concerns about cronyism and mismanagement. Overall, sentiments lean towards suspicion of misuse of taxpayer money and skepticism about the project's original intent.

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Tanjung malim will remain as pau town. Nothing else. Pau kaya, pau lotus etc.

• Lim Kopi on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:42 am

To me, when I read this sort of news, I can only see a bunch of BN cronies trying to make every last buck by creating new projects and siphon off as much public funds just before the next GE.

DRB Hicom = run by u know who which is a well known dUMNO crony. And now, what a coincidence, working together with fellow Zambry (the guy who would be MB)…

I mean lets be real, who in the world really thought Proton City could work ?? Look at it, its been there for donkey years…. rotting away. Why all of a sudden they wanna pump money in there??

They just keep going on and on, until years later, our later generations will suffer the consequence of bad governance.

So, Wake up people !! Vote wisely!

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:54 am

As usual, Lim Kopi with his conspiracy theories… to me it’s simple, DRB owns the land so it’s up to them if they want to invest there. u nuts.

• Just B Real on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:56 am

Well, your not wrong there Mofaz, but come to think of it Lim Kopi has a point too.

Look at why Najib suddenly so gungho wanna push TRX project near KLCC ??

Before that Badawi also made an attempt with PGCC in Penang, but was later scraped after he resigned.

I mean, its just so clear to see how much cronyism is at work here, unless one is very naive to realise or just simply choose to be denial ….

The Rakyat is not all stupid!

• Unforgiven on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:15 am

MoFaz is right because it’s time to grab more money for cronies before it’s too late. 1B is not a small amount of money for the banks to approve, and banks understood it’s a sure loose business if it’s Proton. G will be an excuse to buyout or support it later, which the rakyat will end up paying for it, or bear the consequences. History is repeating and cronies are still getting richer.

• Mackers on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:17 am

Im inclined to agree with you.. both ends makes a good match to make the money ‘work’

• faisal on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:32 am

Belajar sejarah dan perlembagaan dulu sebelum komen yang bukan-bukan.

• Just B Real on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Buku-buku sejarah yg kita semua baca kat sekolah cuma “paint a pretty picture”.

Tau tak bang?

• robby on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:07 am

it’s a corporation & using their own money on their own land. Proton City is a JV project. like other BN crony etc YTL that just grab RM 1.5 billion govt project for internet at school project… i didn’t hear any complaint about that. silent racism.

• MycarMylife on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:42 am

Paus will be paus , let forget wheels for now and Syabas to our super Pandelela Rinong girl from Sarawak for standing up against an illustrious field of stars and winning the bronze for diving , if not for her 1st dive it was surely a silver .CONGRATULATIONS MY ,
      PI should reward her with a new Preve named Pandelela.

• just Ta(njung malim)Pau lah.

• Drebar on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:19 pm

VW Group actually having the last laugh for this news…

Good good good build all the facilities before VW take over Proton’s idle factories…make job easier for VW to move in faster…

• shawal on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:31 pm

republic of protonia~!
    here , where all your veedub needs are assembled….

• Kmsbzd on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:19 pm

This is one of the reasons why i have said previous Management has failed to show anything after years in control.
    Waiting for Proton to tap niche market of cheap powerful sport hot hatch satria neo with Turbo CFE engine for those who not willing or not affort to buy Golf GTI.

• why la on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:57 pm

pi bikin kereta la, lu apa bikin?

• After the capital injection, DRB wants to use the place to assemble vw cars!

• mivec101 on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Have to interpret this piece of news carefully……it said: “inject more than RM1 billion into developing the area”…..it does not mean that DRB-Hicom will invest all this money to expand or upgrade the factory (as it is right now, the factory is severely under-utilised, what is the point of expanding it??) I suspect most of the money will be used to develop the area around the factory…..such as building infrastructure, residential or commercial developments for profit taking…..which may not necessarily improve the quality of Proton Cars.

• robby on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:15 am

you’re supposed to be smart according to your background but you’re the opposite.

they could have VW, Mercedes & Honda to be assemble their cars over there. i won’t mind, it’s a good thing for Proton.

• brader_N on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:41 pm

so what happen to the previous gov budget to development Proton City since its opening in 1996???
    Billion of rakyat money was use to build an underutilized high tech assembly plant so that gov can songlap again by slapping with insane duty/excise tax, thats double songlap or songlaption at its best!!
    Now this 1 billion is another excuse to triple songlap rakyat money and the best thing of all is that 70% people agree with this development songlap because the mainstream media say so!

• captainobvious on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Multiple songlap my fren…

U pay income tax then pay toll, etc.

• robby on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:10 am

stop lying la.

Proton City was developed between Proton & DRB using their own internal money.

and only 30% out of total land was developed.

stop lying & grow up.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Their own internal money according to who? You mean all these years govt money used to bail them out is their internal money?

It is clowns like yourself that fall for their silap mata. Just because they cover up the true source of their funds does not mean it is magically theirs.

• Sabahman on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Proton market share in Malaysia has fallen from over 70% in the 1980s to 25% now. Without the government helping Proton and slapping high taxes on the competition, how many Proton cars would they sell?

Try selling Proton models at the same price as Toyotas and see what happens.

• mad aly on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:57 am

Sabahman, actually Toyota can sell their car equal price as PROTON… its not TAX!! its profit margin u paying toyota ba’.. so who is the IDIOT here ba’!! then remember Proton car have their tax too ba…

• Sabahman on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Of course there is more tax on a Toyota Vios than on a Proton Saga. Different tax is why a Saga is cheaper than a Vios.

Proton and Perodua pays only half the excise duty foreign car makers pay, and no import duties. Foreign brands pay double excise tax (it is 75% for a Vios). They must also pay duty when they import parts to assemble CKD cars in Malaysia.

Proton was established with your taxpayer money, never paid back. Other brands must pay for factories and investments themselves.

This is the truth about the “national car”. Now, if you could get a Vios for the same price as a Saga, which one would you buy?

• Indonesian on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Proton car price never exceed Toyota. In Indonesia Saga price is only 50% of Vios, Persona only 70%. Even Vios has already built their Plant in here. Proton price still competitive.

• alldisc on Aug 12, 2012 at 12:33 pm

mad aly, you are right toyota can sell a vios as cheap as a persona but it is not about greed or maximising profit. dont you think UMW Toyota likes it when they sell more vios than any other car in malaysia? surely they want to sell it cheap but govt has created a gentlement agreement so as not to kacau proton’s share.

the same gentlement agreement applies to all japanese cars (max speed 180kmh) and top end luxury cars at 250kmh

• Sambaloona on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:20 pm

ei ,go do your reading la before talking la

• Vios and Preve, a lot of ppls choose Preve.. why? ppls not stupid anymore to buy basic vios with preve prices

• robby on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:11 am

ah beng will still go for Vios & other Dugong & they’re so proud of it. pathetic.

• _xXx_ on Aug 11, 2012 at 9:20 am

No matter how u whack, Vios is still selling well. I judge a car by its sold figure, no thru the number of bashes…so plz save ur breath, hehehe..

• awg1031 on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:54 pm

instead of doing that, they should use the money to improve their car interior parts..

• so this b a good reason for protection policy to remain as drb gonna argue that they invested so much…lol

• Henry on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:25 pm

So Proton wants to be a real estate developer? Might as well since the cars can’t sell, but who is going to buy in Tanjung Malim?

Are they too blind to see that the first thing they must do is sell more cars which they cannot seem to be able to do? More money is going to be poured into a bottomless hole.

• Proton is not a real estate developer but DRB is. obviously you are not familliar with property industry.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:06 am

Ya, new venture by jaguh kampung, now building township!!! Later ask G to formulate National Housing Policy to make sure all competitors can sell properties only at least double the price for similar class/house!!!!

• gOOsh on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:09 am

in this BolehLand, the golden triangle (jb,kl & penang) only potential for good economic growth… tg.malim??? cross my fingers… huhuhhuh…

• faisal on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:57 am

So Orang Jb,KL & Penang sahaja yg boleh maju. Orang area Tanjong Malim & Slim river tidak boleh maju.????

• in property or real estate development there always potential, which is why people like you or me can never be developer.
      what is needed is to identify what is the target market.

• Ricky James on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:06 am

Bullshit Proton!!!RM1Billion!!!The money got from where…Gvment??? Quality still poor! Better sell Proton 2 VW!!!

• faisal on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

DRB Hicom siapa punya. Takde Funds dari Gov pun. Ada sebab la Taikun DRB beli Proton. Ada faham Ricky

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 15, 2012 at 12:04 am

According to whom? They never took money from govt? Have they paid it back?

Jangan buat bodoh.

• beatnik on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:53 am

Pour in money somemore for what lah. Rakyat still at loss. Unfortunately them fanbois unable to see this.

• Murphy on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:12 am

should have invest that 1 bill into Proton’s R&D…

• DRB better make sure what they are into. I stay nearby the big boss’s house… I think he has more than 20 cars parked within his house.. Best plate no. reads DR13.. With such lifestyle, I’m not too sure if Proton is in good hands now

• Invest 1B ? Just tutup Kedai la….Better for Malaysian. Protong just killing us…

• gangga negara on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:53 am

everyone is an expert nowdays eee. haha

PR goons, take your propaganda outta here. the more you talk, the more stupid u sound..this is aint no Malaysiakini @ Papagomo etc. plz dont underestimated silent voters. we did it once. and we might did it twice just to shut ur mouth.

Even your role model country, Singapore had it’s own special speaking/expressing view places. plz be mature, we sure knew better whom to vote when the time is due. just go to proper channel je la. hmmm there is something wrong when you cant see a good plan from a bad one!!

better late than never i guess,

this is actually a good plan.. at least, they think and plan & walk the talk. manis di bibir, lunak di telinga tapi kosong takda gunanya juga!!!

gov @ rakyat money @ whatever u wanna call it had nothing to lose. Proton already own the place. up to em la kan. it’s rare to see private practice giving back to rakyat like this. sure they’re not giving out cash like duit raya, but in term of employment, economic expansion & development growth..it’s good for TJ people & adjacent places.

Tanjung Malim is not that far from Rawang. other than LRT, Rawang soon to be connected via MRT. there is no more reason to said it’s far & had no potential. there are thousand of job seekers willing to sacrifice a hectic city for this kind of surrounding. those who came to work, sure gonna spend a money and before you know it, the place are going to be crowded, people are flock in to live there and make a living.

Yes Proton City might be a bit sleepy, but take a look at Putrajaya.. it’s a place to earn your cash at a day..and the city sleep at night..takda masalah pun..they live a healthy live with enough rest. and once a while if you opt for a night live, just drove away for KL & Klang valley area..ok ape. whatever happened in Vegas stay in Vegas.. hehe you dont drag it home..

and, to have other than gov willing to invest RM1bil just to make the place vibrant..that is good not only for Tanjung Malim, but for the country as well.

• What did silent voters did? I don’t understand.. please clarify.

• brader_N on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

gov give money for you to build house, for 20 years money are still pour in periodically to build your unfinish house, and now a so call “private entity” are giving you another big fat capital injection to start back the same project you build 20 years ago.

moral of the story is “proton is a black hole for rakyat money”

i hope this topic can be revive in the next ten years so you can prove me wrong!

• faisal on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Tahniah Bro. Komen hebat. Kasi buka mata kepada orang-orang yang taksub dan sering ditipu oleh permainan ahli-ahli politik.

• das auto on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:44 am

just sell the stake to vw. 30 years stil shitty quality… vw will save proton arse…

mahathir also gip greenlight d

• With Proton 100% own by DRB now, G is currently protecting DRBHCOM business instead of the interest of the Malaysian who wish to buy good quality car at reasonable price. In short, G scarify us to protect crony’s pocket.

• nabill on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm

this all sound like developing property rather than expanding proton as an operation

• eastman on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:51 pm

I pay income tax more than rm100k a year…my bmw cost me more than rm300k…premium price due to tax and what not….but i never complain…why?…because i can still cari makan here….anyway i always picked the better of two sinners…please stop all this political talk…wrong platform

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 15, 2012 at 12:12 am

If everyone like you driving BMW with high income, then of course not. But not everyone come from rich families or have rich friends in high places to have a luxurious life.

If you want to brag that you are rich and not concerned about the abuse of the NAP, go somewhere else, here is not the place.

• Skypirate on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Does proton still need protection since it is now privatized?

• b sensible on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:36 pm

good question….since proton has been sold so private…it no longer has to serve national interest …so it’s payback time…the gov need to reduce car duty or provide FREE public transport!!!

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 15, 2012 at 12:15 am

It still needs protection because it has only been piratised, not privatized. Selling it below market price to DRB was not a sale but daylight robbery.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:32 pm

yawn…..

whatever la…..

• orang biasa on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Hahahahha… funny to read all these comments… look like some of us here still don’t understand what the article is all about…. and don’t even know actually what drb’s biz… so, to all keyboard businessman of the year… lets talk… talk.. n talk… at least, all of us here know, u still like proton n be malaysian…. thats why u like to give a comment about this…

• retard on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:21 am

haaaa….wasting money shit…i thought drb will create new advance affordable cars for malaysian but waste money to develop city. no need proton city, rumah kedai 3 tingkat will do. bolo punya managment. the current models saga, preve, exora will repeat the same fate like iswara. it will cycle for 30 years without any new model from now, only change the bumper & sport rims many many times.

• tikus on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:26 am

Plan to CKD Lotus ??

• Henry on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:57 pm

One of the reasons why DRB-Hicom bought Proton is the land in Proton City. I wonder what is their immediate plan to help Proton sell more cars?

• Newkembara on Aug 11, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Hidup proton