Aston Martin Cygnet spotted on oto.my – RM350k!

Look what has popped up on our sister site oto.my! We’re regular classified trawlers ourselves, but this is the first time we’ve seen an Aston Martin Cygnet in Malaysia. Put up for sale not by Aston Martin – which recently established an official presence here – but by Yap Brothers from Cheras, this 2011 Cygnet is going for RM349,999, which surely makes it the most expensive Toyota around!

Not just the most expensive Toyota, but the smallest one as well. If you don’t already know, the Aston Martin Cygnet is a rebadged luxe version of the Toyota iQ. Making its debut at the 2008 Paris motor show, the iQ is an innovative city car that is less than three metres long, yet has four seats for three adults and a child.

Aston Martin confirmed Cygnet production in October 2010, confident that it “sets a new benchmark for compact luxury”. It better, because the Cygnet sells for £30,995 in the UK, more than twice what Toyota asks for the iQ.

The Cygnet is powered by the iQ’s 1.33 litre Dual VVT-i petrol engine with 97 hp, 123 Nm of torque and Stop & Start, mated to a CVT. The mileage on this black UK-sourced unit is below 5,000 km. The iQ/Cygnet is tiny but strong – it’s five-star Euro NCAP rated.

There’s cow skin everywhere inside, and this Cygnet is listed as having quilted leather trim, 16-inch eight-spoke alloys, personalised sill plaques (with the previous owners name?), rear parking sensors (who needs that in this?), floor mats with leather edge binding, body colour rear spoiler and smoked rear lamps. Click here to see the ad.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• _xXx_ on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:30 am

pay a little bit more u get a used GTR. 350k for this??? see how greedy ppl are nowadays…

• _xXx_ on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:57 pm

how bout buying a Golf R at 270k and remaining 80k to hire a Nepalese/Bangla guarding your Golf R full time for 5 years?? 90-100k for this tiny/micro car more more realistic

• jitiar on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:20 pm

i don’t care about the cvt gear because GT-R-8 also uses it

• crank on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:43 am

I’d really like to see who would actually buy this car with that kinda price tag on it. lol.

• well. considering that we don’t get iQ here, then why not try this one.

• asar8285 on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:45 am

total absurd..!

• underskinned on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:54 am

The AP guy probably bought for 10k pound and sell it here for 350k. Sneaky.

• Well, exactly how much they make we dont know, but in this case, it’s better than selling than property…

• Super PRO on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:55 am

all toyota cars = ripoff

• kereta lembu on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:56 am

I’m curious if they can sell this for that price and even more curious who the owner will be. For RM350k, there are so many choices that are bigger and better in all aspects except for the logo and brand (of course). Talk about being brand conscious!

• who ever buy this is a joke.. who ever can sell this is a genius..

• 350K for this one? What I’ll do is I’ll buy a Toyota iQ than put the aston martin badge on it and modified the exterior.

• salambangi on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:27 pm

I thought the car (RM 350 K) came with James Bond.

• NeverEnough on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:58 pm

What about VW Polo GTI 170k?

• taboogen on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:03 pm

doesn’t make sense at all

• if i really want to have a Aston Martin face/design, the better and cheaper option is get the new facelift ford fiesta with that Aston Martin grille on it, and change to leather seats…all well below 100K and more power…but i guess rich people will love the aston martin factor in that toyota, we (me) are not in their league..

• This car was actually free when you buy certain range of aston Martin…no?I remember a news about that…

• i guess the Aston martin brand to rich man is like Hermes/LV bags to rich women, there are tons of 10-time cheaper bags with same quality out there but no way they would buy those…Imagine if i already have a vanquish and a DB9 at home, i would love to buy a mini Aston for my collection (for my son/daughter), that’s my image..

• Josh Ling on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:03 pm

ya….i think there will be people thinking like that. and actually when you see it from another angle, it’s the cheapest aston martin you can buy here. and it’s a rare stuff here, which will boost its exclusivity as well. i dun think the seller will have any problem selling it, especially to the ladies, or some rich men want to impress their better halves.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:22 pm

weirdly got ppl buy this car

• To all Myvi owners, now you can pimp your ride to look like this. Anyway, there will still be a buyer and the most I can think of is a multimillionaire’s daughter who wants to drive a car and she wants a cute small car. 350K for a beloved daughter? No problem..

• InsaneClown on Sep 06, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Maybe the Viva owners can pimp their ride like the Cygnet, rebadge it as a Maserati & try to sell it at RM350K too.

• I saw one of this at Tom’s Stickers last few months. Can view at this url http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150952812552909.426661.60146722908&type=3

• albag on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:30 pm

why not, it wears an aston martin badge after all..

• Just saw this car but in white color in front of Pavilion. Plate No. W?? 1.

• CKD Master on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:49 pm

better buy myvi

• armandd on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:55 pm

RM350k just for this tiny car? Absurd. Unless it comes with a stunning Bond girl. Now that’s value for money…

• Jurgen on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:18 pm

The headlamp looks like Myvi! LOL

• LOL 350k??? i’m sorry Aston Martin, your RM1 million DB9 is more worth it.

• This advertiser is a dare devil, a real business man. Respect! Anyone here can recommend a millionaire to this guy? I’m sure he will give you a commission a grand or two. Look at it positively :)

• Err…..after this are they going to charge toyota price or aston price for maintenance service?….

• kerelbort on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:54 pm

camping to see anyone bashing aston martin to rebadged a toyota…

• beng chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:13 pm

pay 350k and what are you getting your money worth for? 50k worth of car, 200k for the badge!! oh yes…and 100k to cronies’s pocket.

• Hmm, it’s an Aston Martin and priced at RM350,000.

Is this a a premium car?

I’m afraid it’s not. Too close to our local Myvi!

• mystvearn on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:00 pm

The only reason Aston Martin is making this Cygnet is to get pass EU regulation on car emissions

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Right, they don’t even have to sell loads. Its just a cheat to raise fleet mpg averages to meet new efficiency standards. So what we have here is just a cheat on wheels. Having said that, if it wasn’t for this lil car, the future of high powered gasoline sucking Astons would be bleak. So maybe this car has some cachet value.

• alex chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:11 pm

haha..people with no money..bashing and barking..people with money will go and buy it..its toyota engine maa…world class engine OK

• v-power on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Well, with used car prices as it is…and with patience on your side, you could just about bring home a proper Aston for RM350k…or less even…

• where to buy ah?

• junaidi on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Yah and u believe that the actual km’s
    is only 5K.
    It’s a pity the Emas is still
    collecting dust in the muzeum
    hopefully not R.I.P.

• WTF at first i really thought this is a modified myvi

• Jimmy on Sep 06, 2012 at 5:47 pm

If this car is fully sponsored by banks, you will not call it expensive. You will have it as your lovely toy(if you really love it).

• Soup69 on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:45 pm

What a total waste of money and totally wrong for the AM brand!!

• Hahahahahaha. People who pay this much money for this ugly little car really have too much money in the pockets…

• ahmadfaris93 on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:54 pm

The new Fiesta looks like the Cygnet. Hmmmm will you excuse me and I’ll take the Fiesta, please.

• seriously i rather choose myvi than this stupid car. LOL

• Lol.. new Myvi owners who to like convert convert convert.. Please convert to this Aston Martin Cygnet body kit.. I really want you guys to flood the road with em.. Aston Martin should stick to producing “sports” car, not eco friendly car.

• Been seeing this car a few times already roaming around KL and PJ. So this car has its own target market, some people are just willing to buy it, no need to argue.

• Fraabi on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:46 am

Aston martin also practices rebadging kah?

• Leonardo on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:38 am

Small and expensive with a brand? Buy a Lotus. Better R&H.

• there is actually a dumbarse car dealer that brought this car into malaysia? what poor business sense.

• Suresh Soosay on Sep 10, 2012 at 9:55 am

Just saw a white Cygnet pull up at the Pavillion 3 days ago. So someone has bought one! Add another Rm160,000 and get a used DB9. A proper Aston…that’s what I did!

• This car was only introduced so Aston Martin could reduce the CO2 emissions of it’s range of cars to comply with EU regulations. Shows how stupid the EU regulations are sometimes.