2013 SRT Viper: more photos, prices released

More venomous eye candy, and in the case of the new SRT Viper, you can never get enough visual poison. Chrysler has announced pricing: US$97,395 (RM300k) for the bottom-rung model. The range-topping Viper GTS, however, goes for US$120,395 (RM371k).

Both the Viper and Viper GTS have an 8.4 litre all-aluminium V10 engine under the hood that churns out 640 hp and a tyre-shredding 814 Nm of twist. SRT (short for Street and Racing Technology), Chrysler’s performance arm, claims the torque figure is the highest among naturally-aspirated sports cars. A six-speed stick shift is standard, as is a speed-sensitive limited-slip differential.

The Viper GTS gets several enhancements such as active suspension and forged aluminium ‘Venom’ rims to set it apart from the base car.

Viper production is set to begin in November at Detroit’s Conner Avenue Assembly Plant (the Viper’s home since its first generation in 1995), and order books will open in mid-November.

Chrysler wants to make SRT a separate brand, so expect to see more ‘SRT Viper’ than the ‘Dodge Viper’ we grew up with. Then again, what’s in a name when you’ve got this much power and torque?

Go ahead and check out the pictures (the GTS is the blue one with racing stripes). Just look at those hood louvres!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• CarManiac on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:55 am

Well for a 8400 cc car..the horses are realy low…but the look kinda nice tough…

• CarManiac on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:59 am

And the light at the back looks maseratish..

• Leseid Obrut on Sep 13, 2012 at 7:42 pm

and the wheels are round…like the ones found on a kancil…

• LOL?! on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Well then~ it has always looked that way ever since the first iteration. Just enhanced and evolved over time. It’s made out of metal just like a kancil too

• sepul on Sep 13, 2012 at 1:02 pm

they did say for naturally aspirated engine, the horsepower figure is quite high.. turbos and supercharged ones don’t count

• chronous on Sep 13, 2012 at 1:19 pm

LOL at the 300K price. If it ever comes here, sure the price will go 1-2M.

• and what does 300k buys us in Malaysia? hmm let me see, ah a 2.0 liter Audi A4. fly to usa and for the same money you can get a 8.4 liter supercar. Life is so fair.

• Malaysian always complaining on Sep 13, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Get a life bro. Work hard and dont waste yr time. Jerk!

• real stuff on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:34 am

Go and migrate to USA then.. infact u can’t even afford to buy an Audi A4 or even a plane ticket to the US, that’s why ure still stuck in here and keep complaining.. hahaa

• shawn on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:06 am

i drive an e92 335 and i still complain. what logic do you have in your reply? you are simply judging a person without a single spec of knowledge of the person.

work hard? there are company owners here who are still complaining. the only diff is they buy cars under company yearly to get tax benefits.

who’s the idiot here? yeah most probably you. why have i not move out? simple. family.

why am i not using caps? because i’m talking to you.

• 4g63tdsm on Sep 13, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Just wait and see what Hennessey has in store for this.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:06 pm

everyone complains on how low power it has considering the 8.4 litres. but think again, besides hino trucks, there arent much other cars with 8.4 litre engine.