Msia vehicle ownership costs lowest in Asean – MITI

Malaysians frequently complain of high car prices, but the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) has come out to say that total cost of vehicle ownership in Malaysia is among the lowest in Asean, according to its comparative analysis.

In a statement released yesterday, MITI said the total cost of vehicle ownership took into account the cost of vehicle, petrol, insurance and road tax, Bernama reported.

It was pointed out that our subsidised RON95 petrol is RM1.90 per litre, lower than Thailand (RM3.80 per litre), Indonesia (RM3.35 per litre), Singapore (RM5.10 per litre), Vietnam (RM3.60 per litre) and Philippines (RM3.20 per litre).

Average annual road tax and insurance in Malaysia is also among the lowest in the region, with yearly road tax at RM398 and insurance at RM3,062. In Singapore, it is RM2,756 and RM7,960 respectively, while Indonesians pay RM1,837/RM4,593, Thais RM459/RM6,736 and Filipinos RM306 and RM2,847.

MITI even gave some real examples. Apparently, ownership costs for a Honda City in Malaysia, accounting for petrol subsidy, is RM126,491, which is lower than Thailand’s RM147,875 and Indonesia’s RM159,963. Ownership costs for a Toyota Vios also follows the trend – RM125,361 in Malaysia, RM146,475 in Thailand and RM147,283 in Indonesia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bystander on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Better if you release the full MITI statement here for readers to digest

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Why should they?
      You just have to remember the rule of 30.
      A lot of things that we see or hear are only 30% true, including this statement from me myself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 20
      • Wisdom on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Still most of us want cheap car and rather change the government for so called ‘better future’.

Hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 125
        • hey fool! cheap cars is just the tip of the iceberg of why we want to government, this idiotic MITI statement is another example. it flies in the face of everything we know to be true about car ownership in this country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 20
          • Wisdom on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:37 am

When an organisation (especially government related) comes with facts and figures, you mumbles and called it idiotic.
            Its facts and figures bro. True. Do your own calculation (sincerely, not calculate just to proof MITI wrong by adjusting on toll, parking etc); ownership cost per annum. Call your friends down singapore or Indonesia or siamese. Ask the car prices & fuel prices etc, and calculate based on your own usage for few years.
            At least (with less usage) the figure break even. Most of the time, their cost is higher than Malaysian.
            *In Singapore, even the COE already cost tenth of thousands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
      • Jimmy on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Podholes and drilling of newly built roads: sounds familiar? Why should I plan the wires and piping before constructing new roads? Isn’t it a chance to ‘makan suap’ here? No project, no suap to makan.
        No podhole where to give money to my friends to ‘rectify’? With podholes and bumps your cars will spoil faster, and my friends is doing spare part business and also selling new cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
        • diamjer on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:49 am

jimmy, someday when you grow older, apply for a work at JKR or town planning.

then you can eat your own words…

you knew nothing about road construction and yet you say people makan suap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • danny on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:41 am

let us know about road construction. is it full of ‘makan suap’?

• MITI + Bernama: You should never believe them?
        MITI= Cronies money generator
        Bernama= Cronies pimp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
      • Don't Streal from the CACAT. on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:48 am

Mat Salleh earn 3000 pounds a month. Malaysian earns RM3000 a month. A new car is about 9000 pounds. The same car is about RM90,000.

If both the Malaysian and Mat Salleh don’t eat at all and use his pay to pay for the car, the Mat Salleh paying for his car wholly in 3 months. The Malaysian takes close to 3 years to pay for his car (30 months x RM3000)

As for fuel, the Mat Salleh who earns 3000 pounds pay about 1.50 pounds per litres for good quality Ron 97. The Malaysia who earns RM3000, pays RM1.90 per litre for low grade RON 95.

So, on a one to one basis, who really pays more?

I just came back from the UK. What I spend on graoceries and food for my family in a week in Malaysia is RM500. I bought exactly the same amount of food and groceries from Sainbury in the UK for 50 pounds.

So, if I am earning 3000, the 50 pounds per week on groceries is SO SO SO SO SO much smaller than the RM500 I pay in Malaysia whislt earning only RM3000 per month.

So government, please don’t bullshit the rakyat lah about cost of living. People are not stupid. Sort your corruption first then car prices will come down. BN has stooped so low that even from the cacat people also they steal like the 4 million that disappeared from the Paralympic COuncil for disabled athletes. Imagine, stealing from the invalid? It is the same like raping a blind and retarded child.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 6
        • Lim Chee Seah on Oct 08, 2012 at 7:07 pm

I used to live in the UK (3 years ago) and yes, cost of living there is far cheaper than Malaysia. I use my electric to the maximum and my my electric bill is only 40 pounds a month. My heating bill I use to the maximum also and the bill is also about 30 pounds a month. But in Malaysia, my same electricity usage comes to RM400 to RM500 a month.

So, which do you think is cheaper?

Oh yes by the way, when I used to change tyre, it only cost 30 pounds per tyre. We in Malaysia produce rubber and yet out tyres are RM180 per tyre. Malaysians kena tipu big time also yet they cannot see it. We produce rubber and yet we pay like RM200 for a tyre!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
          • anonyomous on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:51 am

30 pounds * 6.xxx = rm180… same laalol…it just the difference of currency….try to convert it back to malaysia RM..go figure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 48
          • to Anonymous:

Are you sure? 1pound = RM6.xx

Haha,, its 4.9 bro.. 6.xx maybe 10 years ago..

Ppl make 1 to 1 compare la.. cmon, 1 to 1.. thats nothing better than that la.. haih.. why still think like that eh?

mimpi la wawasan 2020.. hhaaa

• diamjer on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:02 am

tomorrow go to KLIA, get the first flight to UK and then never set back your foot here.

if the gov now is so bad, why don’t you try to bertanding comes this election? hopefully when you became prime minister of malaysia, malaysian corruption index can beat UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
    • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Ever heard this thing called ‘Denial Is Truth’ ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
    • Bimmer on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:59 pm

It is easier to find something to justify what have been done than doing something that is backed with a justification beforehand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • RIFRAF on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 213
      • mate, please don’t convert back to RM. you earn pounds, you spend pounds not RM. if you wanna convert, why not convert to rupiah instead?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 322 Thumb down 15
      • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:33 pm

It’s even out?

On average each car here tax RM25K

That RM25K being charged again on top of car loan eg.Double Tax

Being charged twice for nothing

Total repayment full car loan settlement costs basically as if now petrol is RM7 per litre with only 10 pct excise duty

Only different which govt sembelih you today or spread few years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 10
      • Rifrafkaupoyo on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Halo pakcik. Dont talk rubbish laa. U earn GBP over there. U pay petrol / service/ road tax in GBP maa. Why must convert? Y dont u tell ur income over there easily more than rm15k per month after conversion? Loserrrr

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 231 Thumb down 12
      • Black Dog on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:38 pm

The Govt propaganda machine is in self-denial mode again. They never mentioned about the extra tens of thousands we paid upfront in excise duty which makes ownership of the car much more expensive than many countries, except Singapore.

Of course except if everybody driving a Kancil, then it’s better we live in a third world country!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 11
        • afhstingray on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:22 pm

this makes no sense. you seem to think that people in the UK earn millions of pounds a month. fresh grad doctors salary over there is about 2500 pounds after taxes, and keep in mind, they pay up to 40% tax over there. out of that 2500 pounds, a rent for a miserable ROOM, not HOUSE is around 700 pounds a month, sometimes over 1000 if its a good location and has nice facilities. And none of you losers are taking into account the high insurance costs, which can easily exceed the cost of the car over a 5 year period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 120
          • cakapmanyaksenang on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:06 am

only katak bawah tempurung will disagree with you..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35
          • afhstingray on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:20 am

seems like got lot of katak here haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
          • i’ve worked in the uk, and you can get away with not having a car if you live in a big city like London and where there is comprehensive public transit. Room rates are only that high in central London, out in the country, 700 GBP or even less gets you a house.
            You dont pay 40% income tax on a new Dr’s salary. the point is, you could get by without a car in the UK, i did for the 6 years i was there. if you needed one, you pay for it.
            unlike where every taxpayer pays to protect proton to jaga muka dr M.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 18
          • Bimmer on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:19 am

Compared to a fresh grad here who also gets RM 2500, a home rental here is also around RM700, weekly groceries here will cost more than RM100. While in Europe, I hardly spend more than GBP30 for the weekly groceries.

• rukawa on Oct 09, 2012 at 11:54 am

our garmen slowly churning out lots of low-quality propaganda… macam north korea hahaha! see news like reading comic nowadays :)

• pls read the title, it’s say ASEAN !, dont compare with UK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 17
      • Why did you convert the amount in RM?

A majority of people in UK are those who work and earn their wages there.

If a British earns £4,000/month in his native land, he only has to spend £32,000 for a new 520i.

I earn RM4,000/month here in Malaysia and RM32,000 will only buy me a brand new Viva 850.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 378 Thumb down 17
      • InsaneClown on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Why this dope is converting to RM? You stay & work in UK, you earn in Pounds, not RM. Just check & see what can you buy with 10 Pounds in UK & compare to what you can buy with RM10 in Malaysia. In S’pore, one can still get a bowl of Mee Kari for S$3.00, but what can we get for RM3.00 in Msia?This MITI is just trying to mislead us by converting foreign currencies into RM & comparing the car ownership costs. Why dont MITI propose to all employers to increase our salary?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 10
      • HAhaHA on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Actually have to say that this is bloody bullshit. I used to live in the UK, cars are cheap, and filling my tank cost 100 GBP for a 2.0L car. AND, average service cost was 404GBP, Tax 444GBP, Insurance 1212GBP, Parking spending 100GBP a month. Also parking and speeding fines are 600RM.
        But, on the flip side, a 3yr old 520i BMW costs 10K GBP!!
        So is that evens out???
        Asshole!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
      • Hahaha, obviously you aren’t accountant. You forgot to convert the pay in GBP to MYR. Whoever earns GBP3000 there worth MYR15,000!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Anand on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Was your salary in RM? How much was your salary once converted a**h***

• u dont need to know on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:39 pm

people who never live or been to uk will dislike this not to forget the opposition
        but yes rifraf statement was entirely true even parking your car there will cost a bomb
        and those who say don’t convert do you think people there earn enough to pay all of that? the answer is no that why u still see toyota/honda there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • open door on Oct 08, 2012 at 4:15 pm

earning pound use pound… bro use ur brain lah… don convert!

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Again its very funny why malaysia love to compare fuel/petrol price with NON OIL Producing Nation..
      It should company in ASIA with oil producing nation “Brunei”.. While Indonesia was booted out from OPEC recently due to low oil production.
      Singapore, Thai, Viet, Philippines.. etc are non oil producing nation and YES therefore oil price its high.

Malaysian RON97 is RM3/L and RON95 is RM1.9/L.

Compare with other oil producing:

Brunei RON97 is RM1.32/L!
      Bahrain RON95 is RM0.81/L!
      Qatar RON97 is RM0.84/L!
      UAE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 247 Thumb down 18
      • zzzzz on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:23 pm

hey check out indonesia mate…no.7 in the list..why got no malaysia??we shud be in the top ten also isn’t it?
        http://www.go4quiz.com/1185/list-of-opec-member-countries/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • Seeking Opportunity on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Indon was removed from OPEC in 2008 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • donno on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:20 am

FYI malaysia did not join the OPEC group (as we like to produce our oil as much as we like, not decided by others). So how to have our nation in the ranking?

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:59 am

true malaysia is not OPEC
            becoz we cannot produce sufficient production to meet OPEC requirement.
            same goes to Brunei..
            BUT YET they manage to sell their ron97 at 50% cheaper than here in Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Brunei population: 400,000
            Malaysian population: 30,000,000
            1 Brunei Dollar = RM 2.50
            please make reasonable comparisons

• ah peng on Oct 06, 2012 at 9:04 am

Well said 1 Malaysia. We should compare with the other OIL producing nations. I wonder how much these nations produce per day? In term of reserves, how much do we have, and how many years do we have left. GO figure out boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • 1 Malaysia on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:19 pm

While UAE is selling RON98 at RM1.55/L!

hurm…
      go figure…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • Name... on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:50 pm

I suppose MITI forgot to visit a certain oil producing kingdom :).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • MITI Go Fly Kite on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:25 pm

That’s the problem, there is NO full statement by MITI. These are all just vague data and figures that have been conveniently manupulated to suit their political masters and cronies.
      C’mon, MITI, if you want to convince the Malaysian people, please lah do come up with a proper and professional report…. we Malaysians are not easily fooled!
      MITI, please answer the following:
      – what are the assumptions or conditions adopted
      – where is the detailed breakdown of how the figures are derived. It is easy to just provide the figures like in the example given for Honda City but how in the world do you come to the cost figures given for the respective countries?
      – do you take into account the earning power for the respective countries? Just doing a currency conversion does not properly reflect the situation.
      – do you take into account the additional cost that Malaysians have to bear due to the bank interest for loans that goes up to 9 years? Or have you conveniently left that out?
      – how about all the tols that we have to pay and the awful public transport system that force us to drive?
      – do you take into consideration that in countries that have excellent public transport that their petrol and maintenance spending on their cars will be significantly lower as they do not travel much using their cars?
      – do you know that by publishing this stupid statement that more of us Malaysians will vote for PR in the next GE?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 6
    • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:07 am

When the election will take place? I’m sick of craps created by the current gov already. Sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
      • alldisc on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:53 am

by March if not mistaken, PM still could not decide a date for GE, the current BN government will be automatically dissolved.that is less than 6 months away.

i wonder why our PM need to wait until the very end of his term.

• Sharu on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Easy bro,

Try to win GE13 with the help from our Bangalesh/Pakistan friends and swindle the rakyat’s $$ for next 5 yrs

• mrkthxbai on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:46 pm

no la kasi pakatan chance bring down more china immigrants :P

• Kjell on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:34 am

MITI still support AP king,they will never change.Time for us to change them on PRU 13. Once And for all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • romzee on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:51 am

Another MITI fake facts!! Those sucks just compare Malaysia with country without oil export.
      Najib and Anwar should debate in this issues. Let people judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • _xXx_ on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:09 am

hello meaty, u think all Malaysians stil on diaper ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Well done to MITI for manipulating the stats to suit government propoganda. Should we be comparing ourselves with our poorer neighbours?? The most important stat they left out about Singapore is that you can survive on public transport and having a car is a want not a need like here. What we want is cheaper car prices and better public transport, its ok if that means higher running cost (petrol etc). Then you can drive the car you want when you want.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 17
    • azlan87 on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:58 pm

yup… our public transport sucks big time. and when they don’t get things their way, they will mogok and cause havoc like in Bukit Bintang just recently…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 7
    • Eddie on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 308
      • _xXx_ on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:57 pm

talk kok je pandai u. U take a bus in Mesia b4 onot? U pee behind a bus stop after hours of wait onot?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 13
      • Kuwahara on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Very true eddie… i wonder when was the last time these type of people taking the public transport…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 62
        • kimikira on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:01 pm

just recent due my car broke down, what i say even worse!! the bus code keep change without notice ,wait a for a hours under hot weather ,after a beloved traffic i spend 2 and half hour arrive with wet shirt…what a day

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
      • go n check how bad is d condition of our bus!1! for LRT, lots places unable to reach. As for taxi, d price damn expensive n lots of them still dun wan use meter or d meter jump faster than my heartbeat. Trust public transport if u really cant even afford a second hand kancil.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
    • hway de Cruz on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:26 pm

they r just trying to pull curtains to cover our eyes think we r stupid n can be easily bluffed. everything is tailored made to suit jib n cronies lor and does not reflect the tolls that need to pay n get jammed after paying toll…, the billions of potholes we hv to endure, insane excise duties, better if they impose a fart tax, u r suppose to fine urself n pay the gomen RM5000 per fart, better lah like that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 10
  • polo saga on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:51 pm

why not compare to UK, China, or Taiwan? car prices are half or 3 times cheaper, yet petrol price are reasonable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 10
    • fdsdfsd on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:15 pm

hello….so much do you thing the gas price in UK….FYI British government dont subsidies the gas…infact they have tax for the gas….Now idiot..tell mewhich one is better…subsidise gas or TAXed gas???u idoit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 99
      • anti stupid on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:59 am

niasing government use the word “subsidy”, god damn it, it is our petrol ! why the need to subsidy, unless the ownership already transfer!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Rhynnon on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:51 pm

You must be joking? Petrol prices in the UK are so high it’s a farce. Not to mention the high insurance and the mot’s that you have to pay. Compared to them, we pay peanuts.

We only see the price of the car itself but you never experience buying it. Well I have, and let me tell you, on top of buying insurance from ASDA, you’re better of just cycling to work!

The problem is we’re all too covered in cotton wool and like to be forced fed the solutions rather than look for it.

Dislike me all you want but it’s the truth. Face it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 106
      • Queen on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:15 pm

As if you were the only one who’s been to the UK….are you poor or something? Majority of Malaysian my friends there were driving merces and beemers. Nobody told me sob stories….like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
      • cycling is a good idea as they have proper bike lanes. healthier, better, cheaper too!
        in the UK, they have other options to get to where they want to be.
        in msia, we usually have no choice even in highly developed KL, so we drive cars that are MORE expensive than in UK and pay TOLL to sit in a traffice jam!

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:01 am

if malaysia’s weather is all time like in genting highland (that means cool), i dont mind cycling to go to work.

not in 30 degrees celcius of morning heat.

• afhstingray on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:33 pm

dude, you think petrol prices in the UK are cheap? A full tank costs almost 100 pounds- 500 ringgit. That is a quarter of an average malaysian’s monthly salary. further more, if you are below 25, or are considered a risk in any way, the insurance costs can be upward of 5,000 pounds- 25,000 ringgit a YEAR!! im not saying that the ridiculous tax on cars here is a good thing, but at least get your bloody facts right before spewing verbal crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 107
      • damn, afhstingray you’re good at spinning man.
        If you think typical MSIAN salary is RM2k (1/4 = RM500), then their graduate there must be earing an average of RM10k/month!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 10
      • mercury on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:21 pm

mate, you earn in pounds you spend pounds not ringgit. please don’t convert.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
        • kimikira on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:05 pm

some people not only fail their math , their cant even think logical >.<

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
        • OO marah bila convert pasal duit duit ni, haa lain kali jangan jugak ungkit cerita pasal kereta dekat UK lagi murah dari malaysia lah ape lah.. just terima je kenyataan bahawa malaysia memang mcm ni and just face it like a man bro :-) .. Aku tau semua nak pkai BMW, MERC, BENTLY, LAMBO tpi belom smpai mase lagi kawan2 work harder yah, jangan cemburu dengan orang lain yg dah pakai.. :-) peace yaw, stop comparing anything related to car in term of petrol, car price what so ever.. THIS IS MALAYSIA !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
          • Not-a-Noob on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Noob, u just like to bend over and take it up in the arse huh..

“Follow like buffalo” must be the motto you live by…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • dude , u cant just convert the money from gbp to rinngit. u have to take 1 pound as 1 ringgit coz in malaysia if your gaji is rm2000 in uk ur gaji is 2000pound. so 1 litre petrol here is 1.30 ish which expensive but still cheaper than malaysia when u compare it against what ur paid in the uk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • Petrol price in UK: £1.50 per liter.

A British earns £4,000 per month and he needs to pay £1.50 for a liter of petrol in UK.

I earn RM4,000 per month in Malaysia and I need to pay RM1.90 for a liter of petrol here.

Now you tell me which one costs more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 5
        • afhstingray on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:31 pm

this is pure ridiculousness. if you really want to look at buying power, read the economist, they have a pretty good chart based on mcdonald’s around the world. you guys seem to think people in the UK are rolling in money. a rent for a small room there is upwards of 500 pounds a month, petrol is 100 pounds a tank, and the insurance is ridiculous. instead of talking cock, why dont you take the time to research things properly? Not to mention income tax in the UK is up to 40%. looking at the sticker price is just not enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 72
          • bingo on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:57 pm

mate, say you’re earning GBP 2,400 nett, and I’m earning around RM 3,500 nett – this is an equivalent grade comparison between these two countries yeah. (Mind u with this kind of salary, i too have paid my tax to the G)

Both of us are the thrifty type so we settle for the normal folks car i.e volkswagen Polo – brand spanking new coz we don’t want the MOT repair cost what have yous.

we both went to the dealership u pay for your 10% deposit at about GBP 1,300 and agreed on a monthly settlement of GBP 280 for d next 5 yrs. thats only 54% for the deposit and only 11.6% for the monthly installment if compared to your monthly salary.

likewise, I went to the dealer got to fork out rm11,500 for the deposit and pay rm 1,900 also for d nxt 5 yrs. u do the maths.

on the petrol side, on average msians who works in the city got to commute 90km return daily just for work, whilst in uk normally about 30km return, still got time to nip into Asda – and with no tolls thank you very much.

since we’re only discussing about car ownership costs, would you still say Msia got the cheaper one as compared to UK?

you’d probably still coz u’re driving a 13yrs old honda accord with gas guzzling 2.0 engine, got ripped off upon MOT, and you’re earning 1,500 nett thats y you’re complaining about the 500up one bed flat whilst if you think carefully the public is rather efficient to cater your needs.

again, the point is, the transportation costs in malaysia is so expensive I lost 50% of my salary only on that and I’m only driving a fucking Proton. Why, coz i only take 5 yrs loan, pay rm750 a month for petrol, and 250 for toll, and yet none in the belanjawan stated on how to mitigate these skyhigh transportation costs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 8
          • Davinnci on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:37 am

You not only fail your maths, probably fail geography as well, compare the item in one country boleh tak..

Zzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • smiley on Oct 06, 2012 at 6:25 am

a rent in KL for a small room is about RM500 too. Petrol full tank about RM90. Income tax is lower, yet I paid a lot of toll since in my area, all roads are tolled – no escape! So I would say effective rate is around 20%. But when it comes to car, I paid almost 100% tax (in the form of excise duty and sales tax).

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:07 am

there is no such thing as 5 years loan in UK.

cars are so cheap (a golf 1.6, persona 1.6 and focus 1.6 all about GBP13,000)

most will take 1-3 years loan only.

• smiley on Oct 06, 2012 at 6:19 am

afhstingray, full tank of 100 pound out of how much in salary? what… 2000 pound? What is this, a mix and match argument? You compared your cost in UK against salary drawing of Malaysian? You must be very very drunk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • he could be very drunk, because beer is very cheap over there if you work. but if you are on fama scholarship, what are you doing drinking!

• peyno on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:49 am

no need compare UK la..compare aussie better…

fresh graduate salary in malaysia – rm3000
        fresh graduate salary in australia – AUD3000

cheapest petrol in malaysia – rm1.90/l
        cheapest petrol in australia – it is not fix..but fuel up during weekend is expensive..better during weekdays…average AUD1.30 – AUD1.45 (still remember when i was there in 2008, cheapest is AUD0.96/l for petrol)

2nd hand car in malaysia – average rm20k – rm25k for EK. (refer frm motor trader)
        2nd hand car in australia – AUD5000 average for Honda civic EK. (refer frm australia used car online guide.http://www.carsguide.com.au) based on my experience last time i still can easily get a good 2nd hand cars around AUD5000.

foods – it depends..i could say both country have reasonable price.

home – not explore much in australia but i think it is expensive to own a house in there. Same goes to Malaysia.(for fresh graduate)

public transport efficiency – bus and train 5x better in australia(refer at the city and urban rural area) than what we have in malaysia. always on time and its easy for u to manage your time. plus u can get the timetable in the internet. but taxi charges is f**king expensive over there. Malaysia still cheap for the taxi’s fare.

renting car in malaysia – average rm100.day for saga?and the condition?? i don’t know
        renting cars in aussie – AUD45/day mitsu lancer/hyundai i30.in good condition(from Thrifty – one of the cheapest renting company in Aussie)

but the best is to rent a old car – 1989 toyota corolla se (AUD700/month) – i used rented it before..its really in good condition with a/c,radio…..use to travel that time 40km/day

so..share some of my experience n knowledge…pikir2 la sendiri

• i concur about car rental! just came back from a week in melbourne. rented a Camry for AUD 345 for a week!

• Kau pegi jelah duduk kat China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • Queen on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Kau sedar tak …memang orang dah beransur-ansur meninggalkan Malaysia. Tak pandang belakangpun.

• mastermind on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:16 pm

bagus la nak pegi pun menyusahkan dan membawa bala kat mesia je…bila ramai pegi murah la sikt barang kan kan….kikiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • matlimmutu on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:14 am

we don’t need those people here. pls berambus meningglkn Malaysia. I love Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • walau on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Helloooo, Thailand no need to pay toll, why don’t you point out? How much we spent on toll road?

Also, why don’t you compare the average car size too? They are getting Big car for small price. We pay big price for milo tin perverte.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 250 Thumb down 16
    • _xXx_ on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Go compare Thai roads with our JKR roads. World of difference ok?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 14
      • Mr Cool on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Bro. our JKR road not better ok

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
        • _xXx_ on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:54 pm

yeah Thai is way better…that is what I wanted to say. Thx

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 6
          • walau on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:49 pm

The road from Hadyai to Pathalong is not so good, but from Nokhon to Surat Thani is excellent. A toll free service road that I drive 200km/h feeling like 100km/h on Plus toll way!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • _xXx_ on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Not to mention main roads, even their kampung roads are tiptop. Took a shortcut from Phatthalung to Trang this year, the kg road was amazingly good. So as some others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Anybody here know that town road at Kuching Sarawak is very nice…shinning also…^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • KCH.ROAD on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:17 am

so shinning until so many bump the whole town area. have u been to kch before mate? looks like u’ve been missing from kch 5 years ago.

• Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Yes very different…our road sudah tar but rumput tumbuh…

Transparent tar by JKR

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • fdsdfsd on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:19 pm

you sure….not much different…even some places even worse…

• Cosmo Artemis on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Are you sure Thailand no need to pay toll? Have you ever take a taxi from Suvarnabhumi to Bangkok central before?

The truth is, your tawkey drive a Mercedes or a BMW. He have zillions in his bank account, properties, stocks, lands etc. It is just you pay big price for milo tin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • walau on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Ya, forgot that part…
        But many times I took that highway without traffic jam, that’s what people pay for.
        Bolehland we pay we jam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Krasher on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Becoz the taxi driver took the express way to save time and evade traffic jam! U blardy fool

• i_swear on Oct 07, 2012 at 1:44 am

How many toll did you see in Bangkok??
        Can count with your palm fingers

How many toll did you see in KL?
        I can’t with both of my hand fingers and toes

• Rifrafkaupoyo on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Eh halo pakcik.. Over there when u work , u get paid in pound ma. Not ringgit. Here in m’sia Average isi minyak for honda civic also 100rm maa.the numbers are the same.insurance anywhere in the world also expensive maa. Haiyoo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • kimikira on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:12 pm

agree thailand is toll free….toll in malaysia total Punk collect money every few KM in Klang Valley for ABANG-ADIK BN ,MITI please research just malaysia is most many toll among Asean…nope mabe Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • cakapmanyaksenang on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:17 am

my sister travelled to phuket by her car..she said its good travel with no tol..but petrol is too expensive !

• azlan87 on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:55 pm

it’s hard for freshgrad to survive in big cities in Malaysia. but that ios where the money is, so they don’t have much choice.

I just hope that the Government can lower the prices on our local cars such as Proton and Perodua. Be more like Japan. Sell cheaper cars in our own country. How come Proton cars are cheaper in the Middle-East rather than Malaysia? Proton you are a Malaysian and not Arabs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 5
  • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Hello MITI, where is BRUNEI cost????

Very convenient lah BN always forgot Brunei comparison…kenapa ya???

Compare also Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, East Timor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
    • CAUSE they fogot them liao..they out asean already ma… those ppl still think that we are still like before..just listen what ever they say or trust…come on la…now is 2012 la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Adrian on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Hi Danny, thanks for actually pointing out these costs but bear in mind,are these the actual real costs of owning a car? Did they mention that the actual price of taxes and duties that need to be paid in order to own these cars? what about the toll that we need to pay? what about all those extra charges that are incurred? are they not taken into account? Lets just compare these and then we shall see.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:13 pm

The figures are from MITI, as reported by Bernama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • _xXx_ on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:00 pm

OK lar…u can have my vote but afterlife ya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • veeooss on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:00 pm

pls do not compare when u change it to currency…we r not idiot to be fooled like that..do compare with value to value not currency to currency.juz concern citizen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
  • What NONSENSE!! Compare DOLLAR TO DOLLAR LAH!!!! Don’t convert!!! Malaysia cost of living is so expensive!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 4
    • mutings on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Well said, bro. I believe the reason why people has been grumbling (commenting?) about the high cost of car ownership is related to the cost of living. With the amount of salary we’re making monthly, and compare it with the price of car, petrol, road tax, insurance, so on and so forth, you’ll realize that our purchasing power actually is really small.

It’s not really the cost of something that is the biggest concern here, MITI, it’s what and how much you can do or purchase with your salary that matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • TooFast! on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Car is a need in Malaysia. But it is not a need in Singapore. Total cost of commuting in Singapore is much much much lower than in Malaysia. We will not even talk about car price if we do not need one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • Orang Singapore on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Well, if you would like to compare. In Singapore, real world calculations. (All in SGD)
      1. Taking public transport
      – Bus/train: between $4-$5 a day, depending if you need to take several modes/transfers to reach your destination
      – Taxi: Crazy prices, almost as expensive as driving a car!
      2. Owning a car
      – Annual expense from $16,000 based on cheapest car brand new car available
      – Prices of cars start at $80,000 (China car!)

I’m not sure of how much it cost to take public transport in Malaysia as I normally drive in. But just to give you a little different perspective dollar to dollar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
      • TooFast! on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:31 pm

In Singapore:

– You do not need a car to survive, because public transportation is very advanced and reliable.
        – You take taxi in SG only when you are in a hurry, or you are carrying a lot of stuff, or kids. Taxis are abundance in SG, you can flag down one almost any where.
        – Car in SG is very expensive, especially after the hike of COE in the recent couple years.

In Malaysia:

– You need a car to travel to 99% of places, since the public transportation is so unreliable. You will end up late taking public transportation. Also the public transportation is not properly connected and integrated.
        – Taxi in Malaysia is expensive, and no where as comfortable to the big sized Toyota Crown or Hyundai Sonata in Singapore. And, taxis coverage in Malaysia sucks, and the drivers will choose whether to pick you up or not.
        – Cars in Malaysia is expensive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
        • Orang Singapore on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:03 am

Indeed, I do not live in Malaysia and am ignorant with Malaysia politics/policies. I’m humbled by the fact that I get to eat kueh lobang in Melaka and maggi goreng power in KL. I was in no way condemning your views. Only merely showing figures from what I’ve to go through everyday here in Singapore.

Similarly, my experience is felt by many of my Malaysian colleagues who are working here.

I do understand your plight in KL since I do have colleagues working in our KL office. And the exhorbitant standard of living just supercedes living conditions there.

With regards to public transport here;

Taxis: Very comfortable indeed and no pirate taxis, unless you are tourist. You are right about being able to get a cab anywhere but not anytime. At peak hour, you won’t be able to get any unless you call. So good luck to you if you are standing by the roadside trying to get a cab when all the cabs are labelled “busy” when you most need it. If you are lucky enough to get a cab be prepared to fork out at least $20 for 5km right with surchages. My trip normally cost me at least $25 one way.

Train/bus: Peak hour normally packed and you’ve got to wait 2-4 trains before you get on it. We’ve got 6 long carriages filled with commuters. The influx of foreign workers has in fact worsened situation. This stressful experience everyday has led to more people buying cars as commuters become violent on public transport. I do prefer the orderliness on KL trains.

• _xXx_ on Oct 06, 2012 at 6:52 am

I have life-threatening feeling whenever I am in a Saga taxi. Taxi customers here are treated low class that’s why you see most of the locally made junks are used as Taxis. I still prefer the old recon Toyota Crown taxis.

• mrkthxbai on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:59 pm

haiya. of coz la malaysia big country. singapore small norhhh. smaller than malacca. thats why u think that public trasport good. sienzz….

• _xXx_ on Oct 06, 2012 at 6:59 am

$16000/yr, sure onot? Pls do not include monthly instalment (interest). If included simply means annual expenses to those bought in cash is low.

• why state in RM.they didnt earn in RM.
    and why compare petrol.do they produce petrol?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
  • YDLee on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Why don’t compare the citizen average monthly income?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • HP_CYber on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Government want to compare with poor country if telling about car ,which benefiting Government statement.. salary wise far away from expected.

• frustrated BN supporter on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:06 pm

aiyoo…this MITI think we stupid ah? eventho the cost of ownership is lower, but if you factor in the price of cars and tolls in Malaysia, we r still highest!

i’ve always been a BN supporter…but if they continue to insult the intelligence of the rakyat, then we say goodbye in the next GE…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 4
  • Total rubbish Stat by MITI……this statement is issued to cover something….for sure there will be another statement regarding the NAP soon…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • GTR 2.0 on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:07 pm

I do believe that the statement from MITI was to cover up the Najib’s interview in Awani previously.

• Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Thailand give one-off 100K Thai Baht (RM10K) for new car buyers buying Eco green status car eg.Mitsubishi Mirage thus reduce price from 450K Baht to 350K Baht…

Here? Mirage belum jual MITI already hantam RM65K price kaw kaw….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
  • nabill on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:13 pm

classic fact twisting for elections i suppose! the whole thing jus doesnt sound right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • brader_rich on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:13 pm

keyword here is “fuel subsidy”. Last time i check 1 million taxable rakyat pay for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:15 pm

RM30 Billion Car Taxes?

More than enough to give Free Bus service ENTIRE Malaysia Perlis to Sabah

To recoup the cost, let advertisements, banners put on those Free buses

In long-run, the bus pay for itself to cover costs driver, tyres, fuels etc.

Ini macam pun BN tarak Otak mau pikir kah

Sembelih rakyat memang No.1 tak payah pikir lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
    • cakapmanyaksenang on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:20 am

cakap mmg senang bro.. kalau ko mmg berotak dah lama aku rasa ko ni jadi PM !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • Car ownership in Malaysia is one of the highest in the world and I do realise people want a better choice,”
    -NAJIB

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Hahaha…..Now he wants to blame who?

Its ajib kor’s own brother in arms mr. mamak that once proclaimed that he wants to see a proton on every driveway.

Irony of ironies that most malaysians find it difficult to even afford a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • that true but we are also one of the highest in the world, which is buy a proton or produa car n loan for 9 year!… ppl always laught on us about this..just for a local car only..

• Undi dengan bijak, vote ..no need to talklah…….then only see how? no point argued.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Yes, please undi dengan bijak, if USA is greedy(makan suap, tetapi berpura-pura stupid), don’t vote for USA.

• Pontiac on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:36 pm

I couldnt agree more. Most of u complaining dont know hows gov work. Its easy to blame gov by stating high tax, toll, and proton. But at the end of the day the gov that we choose next can they do what we really wanted? Can they really abolish toll and managing them self eventhough our current road full of lope hole the jkr even couldnt fix it and the indians crony who makes / fix low quality tar road. A lot of things is easy saying rather than working on it. But if u really thing the ‘next gov’ can give better/change without changing the bad attitute of some rakyat then do vote for them. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 79
      • LoL'D on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

sudah Baligh ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Fizilem on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Of course leh, you don’t know eh. If PR wins:

i.we all can get cheaper cars, everyone will drive BMW/Merc;
        ii. cost of living will go down due to free education, free healthcare, cheaper fuel, cheaper food;
        iii. Malaysia will be the best country in the world due to the best and efficient government, everyone will be happy no one will suffer;
        iv. There will be no rasuah, no cronies. PR will be the most bersih government in the history of mankind.

Bahhh..power corrupts. Dream on la loser..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
      • i agree with pontiac….i think they have no issue to blame on the gov… they themselves make their way spoil…just dont have their pocket full still want to buy bigggg car….then they blame gov…after that they cannot work as gov servant(also the one not promoted in the gov- x naik gajilah)…then they blame gov…. so they have some issue that they cannot solve ….they blame gov…. i find out that they have money problem… i think when you got money….its no big deal to buy big car right….”big desire big responsibility” up to you man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
        • mrkthxbai on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:05 pm

yeah. i think when they suffer stomach pain also they blame gov since the pakatan teach them to blame the gov.

• Maybe the pembangkang are not as good as what they said they do. But only by changing to the new government we can clean up all those corrupt leader.

We has the power to vote. If the new government not perform as we expected then fired them. Leader must serve us not the other wise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
  • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Let’s check in ASEAN if banks give two different car loan rates

High Risk car buyers = Above 3 percent

Low Risk car buyers = Below 2.5 percent

How do banks judge buyer profile…??? Proton, Perodua buyers! Proton, Perodua cars! Gila punya analisis!

Even banks still condemn own car quality despite Proton, Perodua telling otherwise!

Yes only in Malaysia this crazy double standard happens…OK lah MITI cannot control banks…itu Bank Negara punya kerja…

Bank Negara cakap…itu kamu punya pasal lah, sudah hutang mesti lah bayar ngok!

BolehLand…craziest things it’s all here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • emmm risk buyer…..to much hutang but still wanna buy car …hhe….
      low risk….have hutang but still have money to pay the the big vw like me …

i vote cheaper car price…. than i can change to lexus

• Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Now also you can buy cheap Lexus CT200h RM180K

2 pct car loan interest p.a.

But bank tengok muka you aiyah takut lah kasi 4 pct lah

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:52 am

i vote cheap car price, so i still can buy saga and loan for 2 or 3 years only before changing to another car (or maybe another new saga with new warranty).

this way, i will not suffer from wear and tear issues in a 9 yrs loan car during the 4-5th year tenure.

and i am able to own more than 10 cars during my 25 years of working compare to only 3 cars. this is what ‘live life to the fullest’ should be meaning, right?

• kmiahs on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:01 pm

bank takut tengok muka lu, cakap pandai, mintak pinjaman laju tapi bayar tak nak lol

• Vincent on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Misleading statement. Is our country public transport is as good as S’pore? Let’s be fair enough,the amount That MITI claims that is cheaper than Singapore,do they consider the ratio of income and car price? MITI also ‘forgot’ to compare with Brunei. Brunei is belongs to SEA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • CY Lok on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:24 pm

From the articl, Malaysia government want you to paid up front a big amount first then later on the other thing that come will be cheaper.

Other country will paid cheaper first but later stuff will be more expensive.

• Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Cost ownership issue? How MITI wanna help rakyat?

Very easy lah.

Enforce LIFE-TIME WARRANTY & LIFE-TIME FREE SERVICE MAINTENANCE PARTS, LABOUR CHARGE (UNLIMITED MILEAGE) to all new car purchase

Rakyat tak pening kepala…bayar 75 pct car tax pun also OK worth it no problem

What say you MITI???????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • taboogen on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:13 pm

even GOD don’t give you life time warranty lah brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Eh brader, itu Proton Australia bagi :
        – Waja car warranty 1 Million KM mileage
        – Free one scooter for Arena Jumbuck

Rakyat here dapat free? Haprak pun tarak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • babee on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:32 am

u shud go to Australia bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
          • Inilah geng warlords yang kata,
            “You tak suka you keluar dari Malaysia!”

Got screwed many times, but still love the government.

• kales on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:06 pm

They pay for cars with Australian Dollars, not with Malaysian Ringgit, of course can give more. But that’s old story, waja and arena jumbuck were sold there years ago, not new like saga and persona.

• mrkthxbai on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:07 pm

still not lifetime warranty. haiya

• 2wheelers on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:56 pm

aiyooo…urself oso no lifetime warranty anytime can die n yet u want life time warranty kah?

• Why not compare with the car prices where the car comes from rather than just Asean country? If the international currency is in Dollar,why not compare Dollar with Ringgit and then see the difference? This is not even a logical topic to even be official.

• Sean Lim on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:33 pm

How about TOL?

• Show the calculation la. You may as well say owning a car in Thailand is RM500,000,000,000,000.00. What a mf.

• stupid MITI…how can u convert RM to sing dollar! U stay at singapore, earn sing dollar…u pay sing dollar for petrol is cheaper than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • how about you stay their and tell us about that…. surely i want to know all, about how you buy the car or use the public transport….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • kenji1903 on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:42 pm

very well said… as always, convert the expenses but never convert the salary… what’s owning a car like when their Singaporean fresh grad gets RM9k (SGD3k) while ours get RM3k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Cosmo Artemis on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:47 pm

The truth is, you tawkeh drive a BMW or Mercedes or Jaguar or Ferrari. It is only you little pity boy he pay peanuts to generate wealth for him. You only can afford a milo tin car. See the differences? Eventhough the car tax is 300% he still can buy the car. Still can go holiday oversea. Still can send his son/daughter study oversea. Now, who to blame?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • afhstingray on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:40 pm

this is a bit of an over estimation. fresh grads in sg (unless working for big banks and consulting firms) get about 21-25k sgd.

• Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:43 pm

AFTA agreement did not expect Malaysia to adjust car excise duty to recoup the zero import tariff rule…but it did

Malaysia is cheating ASEAN members

Look how ‘great’ the response by ASEAN to Proton car sales so far…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • MoFaz on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:59 pm

proton also kena excise duty la. otherwise, without excise the saga would only costs RM24k, and Persona below RM40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Exactly the same reason why the small tiny Proton sales in Saudi Arabia too…

Dirt cheap but still the Pak Arab don’t want to touch Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • babee on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:34 am

if i mak arab oso dun wan to buy proton

• _xXx_ on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:07 am

see how they trash their camry on the street…keta poton blh tahan bikin ini mcm kah?

• jepang on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:08 pm

tahan, gen2 been drifted like no tomorrow still can tahan

• they are rich, when they have options to buy luxury and sport cars, why settle down with normal one?

• they are rich, when they can buy luxury and sport cars, why settle down for normal one?

• beerrry on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:40 pm

that’s their problems, they are rich and can buy luxury premium cars. why should settle down with normal cars?

• remove fuel sub for cars above 1.6 and let free market determine car,insurance prices..thats all the rakyat wants,no more stupid response which only protects greddy companies and politicians

• I come from an insurance background. All the insurance companies are losing money on motor insurance. This is because the motor insurance tariffs are almost the same as they were in the 1980s. You didn’t have 100k-1million dollar cars back then.

It’s damn stupid of them not to compare average income. No doubt overall cost might be cheaper in Malaysia but our spending power is amongst the lowest. I’m currently on a 4.5 k salary but just got offered a job in Sg for 4ksgd. That’s 10k RM at today’s exchange rate. All this for the same position in my company’s Sg branch.

So what I’m saying is, if our Average income wasn’t so low. You can justify saying that a car’s cost is one of the lowest. Otherwise its just bullshit twisting of stats.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
      • if you got sg dolar try to buy your dream car their…haiah at singaporelah…then i try to apreciate you….before that tell me about the whole cost……ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • 4G63T DSM on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:48 pm

What the hell are you talking about? You sure you are in insurance or not.

Insurance tariff is a RATE…and it scales with car price.

Insurance companies already dropped 3rd party insurance because they don’t earn enough.

Where got insurance company loose money wan? Earn less maybe, loose never. Insurance companies hires boat load of actuarial specialist to calculate all sorts of risks.

• It’s possible, see how many supercar crash? You need 1000 Myvi to cover 1 supercar. And yes, supercar does crash.

• Yes I’m sure.

You got to realize this takes into account all the lorries, express buses, vans etc etc. I’ll give you an example. So let’a say you have a 100 protons at roughly insured at 50k. So average premium would be 1.3k(average!) so that’s 130k premium for 100 vehicles in the pool. 3 total losses out of the 100 means you’re already at -30k rm and this is without smaller claims. I using a damn simple example but now just imagine all those lorries on the road without a care about the condition of their vehicle because the drivers aren’t the owners. The motor pool last year is at -40million rm and that’s a fact.

• Darren on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:45 pm

FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

Stupid! Other country’s petrol maybe expensive but their car price are not that high!!! But here ? *sigh* stop these lies please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • eagleeye on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:48 pm

why MITI give example of only Honda City and Toyota Vios?

Are we all driving these cars? Or out of dozens of cars they ‘selectively’ choose these to suit their data ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Hukaka on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:48 pm

GE13 please come faster i want to vote for a change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • takNakP1 on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:49 pm

almost make me puke…

• seancorr on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Mwahahaha I see they conveniently left out the fact that our bosses pay us peanuts for doing multi tasks!

In addition to that why are we paying so much for fuel when we’re an oil producing nation?? They should compare with the likes of Saudi or Qatar!

Lastly our public transportation is useless. Our cabs are charging fees like there’s no tomorrow (bringing down our country’s image in the process), our buses are a reckless moving junk and our trains have so much more to improve!

MITI, u suck!

• than change your boslahhh……that the real deal….. when you got paid better …no sound lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • 4G63T DSM on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Change boss, get better paid so what?

Still pay through my nose for car. I can maybe buy a better car…but that also means I pay the government more taxes on the better car.

Haha…

• you want a cheaper car but you dont want to pay the tax to the goverment right…..? then next time you go to kfc or mcdonald dont pay the tax maaaaa….. life goes on daaaaa….. you see one big number to pay off once but that small price you pay everyday is still the same…. that mean you can afford it….doesnt matter right!!

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:31 pm

When the cost of a decent car is equivalent to a price of a house, but not in value, something is very very wrong.

By your logic as long as Malaysians can pay for it in installments it is ok even though they can hardly afford a good home and save for their children or future. Is this the ETP the govt has been preaching about?

• This is BULLSHIT

• Ash Menon on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:53 pm

The comparison is irrelevant unless you see it in terms of percentage of average annual income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:54 pm

It shows how hard to justify Proton protection to rakyat eh??? Try harder lah BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Brunei is lowest car ownership cost in ASEAN

But exact figures maybe MITI terlupa to tell or sengaja lupa kah?

• rukawa on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:50 pm

as usual la, everytime compare fule prices, our garmen always “accidentally” forgotten to include brunei eventhough its beside us.

• Donex on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Please let us pay high petrol price rather then pay high tax with loan interest , example City tax RM35K included bank loan interest become RM40K , monthly avg spend petrol RM300=158L(RM1.9/L) if changed to market normal price RM3.20/L (+RM205 monthly RM1.3 x 158L), the RM40K/RM205 , can run 16years + , if very 5 years change car mean lost 11years petrol cost (tax) , unless 1 car drive over 16years .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Brunei petrol cost per litre is cheaper than mineral water per litre…

Even cheaper with the newly found RM320 Billion oil reserves for free…

Kuat untung ini Brunei…thanks Pak Lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • find someone you can get married their…..lah…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:21 pm

You suggest you try it 1st lah

Let us wait and see

Still no news then alhamdulilah good for you!

• They still thinks that we are IDIOTS…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • SomeOne on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Hmmm…. why they never mention that the car sell in Msia having most of the feature strip off compared to the car selling in other countries ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Yes underspec car but High price too

But for export car, pandai pula full spec but cheaper price eg.Proton Australia, Saudi Arabia etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • planse on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:49 pm

they pay in higher currency exchange, pandai pulak nak convert dollar to dollar, puihh

• persaingan sihat kot….healthy bussiness…hahhahah why ? cannot change to new sport rim….better soun system….momo steering….and blbllblllalallal……car acsesorries cannot eat maa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Guys. I’m all for lower taxes but I’ve trying to figure out the best way to do it. This is to prevent significant damage to new car buyers and 2nd hand dealers. Any one got suggestions so those people won’t be drastically effected?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Now I know why MITI are so dumb. They are full of idiots. Don’t do direct comparison without taking consideration of earning and cost of living. MITI so stupid because their leader also stupid.

• terryble on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:22 pm

The 1 who calculate this is either no brain or suffered severe brain damage~~

• Kayter on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:22 pm

So money from subsidies just fell out of the sky is it? Hell NO! Its tax payers money! Did they account for how much tax dollars is used to subsidize petrol in the cost of ownership? At least in other countries there is a CHOICE to use private or public transporation systems. Countries like Singapore, Taiwan, Japan, Thailand have decent public transport systems (funded in part by tax dollars) and what do we have? So our money went to make way for a cheaper national car ownership program is it? This is a terribly short sighted argument MITI has come up with … honestly can you blame them for being so? *sigh*

• mmmmmm so what….you got back your money… right…but how much …count for yourself maaa…haha…

• Sea edge on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:23 pm

I wonder how this calculation was done.

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:15 am

This calculation was done by PHD Economics holder…from the prestigous Universiti Bolehland…you never heard of it kah…you must be orang kampong

• roller on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:09 pm

i don’t know about that, what i know is pumpkins gave retard comments

• Pumpkins on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Not surprised if this comparative analysis would require lots of global strategic think-thank consultants expert panels

Decorating farm chicken as glorious peacock…

• AH CAI on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:27 pm

whay compare our petrol subsidised with thailand,indonesia,brunei,vietnam and philiphines?? malaysia is oil producers.. we have PETRONAS ok,made in MALAYSIA mehhh. i dont know if PETRON is inculding. so our petrol price must reasonable . why compare with country that not have their own oil? nak masuk hak ‘ROYALTI’ plak ke…

• Chai Heng on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:27 pm

They are converting everything into RM. Can we have an after-conversion salary as well, esp for Singapore? And for the others, at least they are paying less upfront, and then they can decide when and how much they pay for petrol.

Imagine, take away all car excise and taxes, and at te same time take away all fuel subsidies; the government will actually make more money! And it reduces pollution. Not to mention, why would citizens who don’t drive pay for the fuel subsidies? Open for all!

Some say this will increase the number of cars dramatically. Really? If currently one person can drive one car at one time, suddenly if there’re no taxes one person and CONCURRENTLY drive 2 or more cars on the road? So you say these are the ppl who do not own a car today, so what? More money for the government, and seriously, more cars on the road as a reason not to reduce taxes?

That’s a first..

• Maths Correct or Not??? on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:30 pm

What are the assumptions??? Show to us, MITI.

We know our maths

Let’s take Mirage as reference.

Thailand price for MT RM38k, Malaysia price RM56k. Therefore the difference is RM18k.

Assuming maintenance costs same, only petrol, road tax and insurance different. If total mileage use over 5 years is 100k km @ 22km/l, then total petrol used is 4545 litre. Thailand will cost RM3.8 x 4545 = RM17271 while in Malaysia @ RM1.90 = RM8635. Difference is RM8636.

So there is RM9364 left to cover road tax and insurance differences. Will the difference between MY and TH road tax and insurance will exceed RM9364????

Maths Correct or Not???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Statements can be created. MITI is wrong to make such assumption without proof. Studies and data are needed. Why just compare in ASEAN??? They should study where Malaysia is in par with other nations. THEN only you can conclude. Government should give a proper documentation on how they charge WITH reasons. Not some mock up prices.

• Khairul Jamil on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:33 pm

REALLY?

Then, we should increase our petrol and car price so that we are on par with other SEA countries. Good money for gov.

• Raizzen on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Don’t they get tired of this “we are among the cheapest/affordable” this and that ? I mean if they’re stupid enough to think that the rakyat is gonna buy this shit over and over again, God save us all!

• MITI is correct. But we are not idiots. We are not talking about cars assembled in Malaysia. We are talking about car assembled outside malaysia. They just expect everyone to purchase only locally assembled cars. How about everyday I make the whole farking MITI people eat mamak mee goreng while other ministries gets to eat all type of international food for almost the same price.

• malaysiann on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

I DO NOT NEED SEX BECAUSE GOVT FUCKS ME EVERYDAY!!!!!!
    10 PENGGAL MEMERINTAH!! RASUAH & KAUT BERBILION DUIT RAKYAT!! SU*K!!!!! FU*K!! NEGARA LAIN 2 PENGGAL MEMERINTAH DAH TUKAR LAA..JGN JD BODOH RAKYAT MALAYSIA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • moronnajibstupidhamsah on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

lower my ass, f*cker moron MITI!!! the price of GT86 is only RM120,000 sold in taiwan, malaysia is RM240,000. which is double, ok? i dun mind to use RM120,000 to pay my higher petrol price for next coming 40 years!! moron MITI, stupid Be-Ended!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • lopui on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:11 am

report GOLF GTI MK6 2012 SOLD in Taiwan 143K after convert in RM

if you compare more, you find out how worse the TAX been tax on Rakyat

• BeeEnd on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

No point reading this silly article. Maybe it is written by form 3 student. I just cant believe it ppl sitting in MITI cud come out with this table n churn it to local newspaper!! It high time for us to vote using hand rather than putting our vote in a box!!

• why always also bad news regarding automotive stuff.. damn sien and disapointed

• mister potato on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Does it matter? Are you using Langkawi/Labuan prices? It’s time to pangkah the other box. At least they don’t think we’re idiots.

• Dear MITI, pls pay my income in SGD if u wanna compare wif Spore~

• najibisgay on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:41 pm

why our government is soooooooooooo stupid?

• Deputy of MITI – Mukriz Mahathir..amin

• Hopeless on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:43 pm

MITI is hopeless.. They think that they are doing the Gov a favor by releasing this stats.. What actually happen is the opposite..

• proton sucks on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:46 pm

they did not deduct the NCD for insurance in both Indonesia and Thailand, but deduct it for Malaysia. Malaysian are not dumb to fall for that!! without NCD a city or viaos insurance would cost RM 2,538.52 in Malaysia, that is if they are talking about the RM 398 insurance for a city or viaos in this context.

• malaysiann on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Toll, road tax, income tax, summon, insurance >> burden us 4 such along time!! think about it malaysiannn..its too much!! mereka kaya, rakyat menderita!!

• Mackers on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:46 pm

being a gov agency for sure they’ll back their masters well, no?

• Chuie on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:49 pm

How did they calculate the figure???? Our car price plus their tax n insurance???

• Awaken User on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Why there is NO STATEMENT about toll!!!

• oilworker on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Reduced car prices, increase petrol price.. that way people with less money can opt to travel less/smaller cc cars/hybrid. The important point is that the choice is given to the rakyat rather than being enforced. Improving public transport will further give options to rakyat to reduce their fuel consumption.

• Make a loan to buy a car.

Buyer said: Lastly, I get my dream car!

Bank said: Ehem..ehem..This is hire purchase. The car is owned by bank until buyer finish the repayment.

My question: When a car break down or send for services, why buyer paid the cost? Why bank not paid for the cost as they claim; the owner of car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Cosmo Artemis on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:46 am

It is because the bank don’t drive the car. You are the one. If you loan you friend’s car and the one who broke it down the road, is it your friend still need to pay for the fix?

• Another person not understand the secret of that question. Please try again:-)

• jalan54 on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Wonder why they never include the cost to maintain the car in malaysia. Oh yeah, bcoz it is too high and they don’t dare to put into calculation.

Also i wonder how do they calculate the cost of owning, I’m more interested in seeing the formula rather than the total amount.

As the citizen in malaysia, i don’t mind to pay higher price for the car or petrol or tax or anything else. What we really mind is that where is our money being spent into? To make our lives better or just to make those politicians richer?

Don’t tell us the government has done a lot, well this is obviously not enough compare to what you put into you and your family pocket. Want to be rich, go do business, politic is not for you.

Look at the cost of living now, look at the road condition now in most of the housing areas. Have you guys improve the standard of public transport? Not to mention the pubic security, instead of giving excuses, have you guys done anything else? Level of education keeps dropping, housing cost keeps increasing and worse, our country debts keep on going up. You guys collected so much money, yet the country debts still increasing, amazing…

I can keep on listing more facts if you guys keep giving excuses and do nothing bout it. Again, want to be rich, don’t become politician, do business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • taboogen on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:04 pm

yeah.. no malaysian can changed the nationality to thai or pinoy… living in malaysia hard right? so less jam and malaysian always said the grass is always greener there.. go lah go lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:05 pm

MITI banyak stupid!!!!!

• Visitor on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Does the gov. says it gets roughly RM7 billion from car taxes and duties? Such amount of money should be spent to overhaul public transportation system around the nation’s large cities.

• Fredo on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:14 pm

hrrmmm its is time for change..
    we pay toll everyday on a badly congested city highways everyday….

• Why not compare RM1 to $1 without the FOREX? That would be more fair to compare based on how much people earn in their own countries and in their own currencies :)

• Dr Mamak on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:21 pm

ABU and UBAH next GE13

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • mayonis on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:23 pm

yeah…as always…lame excuse.

• But the earning power in Singapore is 2.53x

• Freeeeeeeeddooooooommmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!

• rukawa on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:45 pm

why everything petrol price and cost of ownership is compared among “neighbouring countries” they always fail to include BRUNEI ? the last time i checked on the map, Brunei is right beside us, you can basically walk over to Brunei.

• Cosmo Artemis on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:54 am

Since Brunei have only 300k citizens. You have so much oil. I give you example. If Brunei sell 100k barrel of oil per day, they will get USD10 million/day (base on oil price USD100/barrel). Therefore, if you distribute the money for each living person in Brunei, they will get USD33.33.

In Malaysia, we have 28 million people. Therefore, if we sell at the same rate as Brunei, each Malaysian people will get USD 0.36.

Can you see the relation? We Malaysian need to work 93 days to get what Bruneian have in 1 day. That justify why the Brunei government don’t need so much tax.

And please remember peeps, oil is not infiniti in Malaysia. The dry well signage is everywhere. You have been warned.

• rukawa on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:46 pm

why everytime petrol price and cost of ownership is compared among “neighbouring countries” they always fail to include BRUNEI ? the last time i checked on the map, Brunei is right beside us, you can basically walk over to Brunei.

• Hadi75 on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Bullshit statement…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • fatihablack on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:51 pm

come on , please be relevant la MITI, why don’t u compare m’sian average salary with the car price? why m’sian have to take 9 years loan even only bought national car? and U say the insurance in m’sia are cheap?…u better go and do survey about the insurance price…even kapchai have to pay RM270 for insurance…citizen are not blind anymore nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • the worst researcher in this earth is the one who is twisting facts for the greed of the ruler.
    ….and the great loser is. well the rakyat a.k.a the Voter, specifically those believe to the researcher n ruler says

• ae101 on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:12 pm

talk cock here no use la. vote nicely

• MALAYSIA IS OIL PRODUCING COUNTRY! how can we compare with singapore, thailand, all these are oil importing countries!.. u wan compare petrol price compare with QATAR, MIDDLE EAST, ARAB countries!.. some of them only RM 0.50/litre.. Petronas profit amounts to hundred of billions where all the money go? subsidy petrol a bit, with all that 100-200% tax on foreign cars still wan to cheat us the people?!

• Our gov. shud not brag abt subsidising rakyat. Basically, all the money spent the tax that were paid by rakyat.

• hazri on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Dear MITI…

Please dont convert the currencies when doing comparison. We are not working at those countries and we are not earning salary in SGD or BD or GBP. Same job in Malaysia doesnt mean we are gain same value amount of money (after conversion) if we work in Singapore or UK…

• Only retards will believe on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Another statement from BN ruling government to syok sendiri….

Why don’t you include maintenance fees and repair fees too and see if we are still the cheapest?

Malaysia is an Oil and Gas produce country, why don’t you compare to another Oil and Gas country in Asia like Brunei??

• Cantona on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:33 pm

The story gets worse if compare motorbike prices.
    Ducati? Harley? Honda? RM ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND PLUS PLUS!!!

• siaosiwo on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:34 pm

all these bullshit is instructed to answer by their head who put our money in their own pocket.

• Are they trying to pour more oil into a burning fire? Total bullshit. Sick of them posting this shit. Seriously, go back and learn how to do basic Maths.

• work harder & smarter.. earn more.. then you wont be whining about high car price etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • f30 dreamer on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:48 pm

MITI
    Please dont ridicule people by making cheap statement as if your making explanation to ‘katak bawah tempurung’. If you really want to make a point please detailed what are you talking about and come out with specific breakdown. that way people here can digest and judge for themselves. If the statement does not come with details explanation people will suspect MITI of manipulating the statement in favor of the government.

• those dumb*ss forgot that our country produces petroleum.. with the widespread use of internet today, these article means ntg already, yet they still keep on trying

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 05, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Did MITI add the financing cost of 3% for 9 years in?

I mean that alone cost 20K to a 60K car.

Stupid selective statistical report. Missing so many costs. Why convert everything to RM? Why don’t normalize it and use GDP/PPP.

Madness. Completely pointless report.

• MITI, you should use RON97 price for comparison. The petrol prices from other countries are non-subsidized pricing.

• * and also, if got chance to work abroad, go, earn their money, buy their V8 cars which the selling price is cheaper than ours.. then years later you will know the real experience of cars’ ownership. :)

• that the thing… ppl saying that they are not “Katak bawah tempurung” but actually they are.. if the car outside so cheap, why there are not THAT many having a car … try live outside from M’sia 1st . . . dont go for a vacation, LIVE THERE FFS. . then you will know.

• They should compare the number of civil servants working with the government that draw unnecessary salary and come out with this stupid study.

• Why they don’t dare mention Brunei? ron97 only 50 cent brunei dollar = rm1.25 .. a toyota vios only 21k brunei dollar = rm52k !

i am Mirian and always drive to brunei, too bad malaysia car cannot buy fuel from their petrol station.

• Darren on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:30 am

Correction, we can buy petrol there but at a higher rate and specific petrol stations only

• hello world on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:33 pm

they did not include the hire purchase cost from bank.
    the tax cause us has to borrow more from bank.

• Cybermaster98 on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Its funny to see a Government agency actually doing a currency conversion to ringgit to enable a comparitive study. If u convert SGD to Ringgit, of course ull get super high values. Even Chicken rice would cost RM8 per plate if thats the case.

The best way to do a comparison would be to convert to a common currency. The USD would be a good choice. Then ull see some real numbers.

MITI may try to pull wool over our eyes but the urban folk are not that easily swayed.

• ben yap on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:47 pm

MITI forgot the compare our salary. we’re one of the lowest in the region. so to afford one is a challenge.

• Cybermaster98 on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:48 pm

This reminds me of the time some years back when a BN Minister (or was it the PM), said that Malaysia is more democratic that even Zimbabwe. Malaysia is now being compared to Zimbabwe? Imagine how low our standards have dropped. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • skiborne on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:58 pm

what bullcrap. thailand is much cheaper than us, its just that the fuel is not. tipu tak sesudah dorang ni, or just plain ignorant

• Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Wonder why they did not use a Kia or Hyundai to compare (instead of City) >>>>????

Because, with the 50% a year depreciation, the stats for Malaysia will show that the car TCO is the highest in the world, thanks to kimchis

• durkheim on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Use this as an election campaign material and BN will lose their pants. Come on…… Malaysians are not naive. If it’s not for Proton, do u think Malaysians today will be so deprived of affordable quality vehicles????

• it is ok and i believe the figure, but still i hope government reduce the car price 20% and it will had better approve from Rakyat for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Lalat on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Plain statistic doesn’t reflect the true picture. It’s easily manipulated to even reach intended significance just to mengaburi the rakyat….for whatever reason know best to them!

• government say brunei to small to see, middle too far to see. So see wat….neighbouring country but yet still fail to give a good report. No eye see.

• looking-good on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:45 pm

MGH! Open eyes wide and telling lie !!

• udasalleh on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:04 pm

I think MITI got it right in terms of a management accounting point of view marrying cost of ownership + cost of operations… BUT considering Malaysians lifestyle differ so much from the urban KLites to those like me in JB. I spend an average RM250 on gas and almost no tol payment every month where else urban commuters in KL would spend considerably much more. So the law of averages does not apply here. People are getting more mobile. Why not let the cost of ownership be low and let the public be responsible for their daily operations & consumption. That way the Govt could reduce subsidy on fuel and maintain toll prices to maintain the roads and highways so as the more the owners use their car the more they pay. Isn’t that the rationale of subsidies anyway? MITI must realise that you cannot get it both ways… which the people need to learn that they can’t get it both ways either… no way they can get cheaper cars with cheaper fuel and no toll. Thats just the reality that both parties must learn to accept. Just my two cents here.

• udasalleh on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Again… MITI shouldn’t be afraid of losing taxes for the Govt if the system is done in tiers. Perhaps fit lowest taxes for those cars assembled locally will mean more industries for the country. Then set of lower taxes for imported cars below 2400cc which are what most Malaysians desire. Maintain the high taxes for cars over 2500cc which contains most of the luxury set… i bet those who could afford a Ferrari has no qualms here… and those oil burning V8s and oil hungry Hummers should be spending more for their consumption.

• Tok-kok on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Hey MITI, don’t tok kok lah!!!

• stupid MITI…they toght we are not educated.

by the way, please dont compare petrol price here with middle east countries..over there, oil is easily found compare to fresh water at some countries. we produce oil but too little… but 1L petrol still cheaper than 1L fresh milk.

• stupid MITI…they tought we are not educated.

by the way, please dont compare petrol price here with middle east countries..over there, oil is easily found compare to fresh water at some countries. we produce oil but too little… but 1L petrol still cheaper than 1L fresh milk.

• Nonsense on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:36 pm

This is bullshit. Period. Though, I suspect that there might still be a number of malaysians who are not using their brain properly will buy over this piece of cover-up shit.

What ever has come up, must go down !

• droll on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Honda’s web site
    1. base spec city OTR = RM90980
    2. road tax = RM90
    3. total cost to buy = RM91070

MITI says Honda City including petrol subsidy = RM126,491.

Differential = RM126491 – RM91070 = RM35421
    Insurance calculation using http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/tools/pcmi_calc.asp
    Assuming the car depreciates 10k per year:
    1st year insurance = 2.5k (0% NCD)
    2nd year insurance = 1.7k (25% NCD)
    3rd year insurance = 1.4k (30% NCD)
    4th year insurance = 1.1k (381/3% NCD)
    5th year insurance = 839 (45% NCD)
    6th year insurance = 569 (55% NCD)
    7th year insurance = 452

Now the statement is “accounting for petrol subsidy”
    1. does this mean RM35421 includes subsidy that govt pays??
    2. or RM35421 is the cost of petrol the owner pays?

I assume it’s the 2nd since we’re talking about ownership cost. Taking away total insurance cost, we have
    RM35421 – insurance for 7 years (RM8108) = RM27313. I’m assuming the person sells the car after 7 years.

Assuming you get 2.5% bank loan for 90% loan for 7 years, the total interest you pay is
    1. Total car price = RM88103 (the rest like registration, number plate, insurance, etc you have to pay in cash)
    2. Monthly repayment = RM1109.15
    3. Total interest = (RM1109.15 * 12 * 7) – (RM88103) = RM5065.6

RM27313 – RM5065.6 = RM22247.4 left for fuel, toll, parking.

Since MITI didn’t show breakdown of toll and parking, I will assume everything is for fuel (which is kinda optimistic actually since it’s impossible).

Assuming Honda City does about 17km/L (using http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=22279&st=320 as a source), and at RM1.90/L of fuel, we have
    RM22247.4 / 1.90 = 11709 litres of fuel
    11709L x 17km/L = 199,053km

Hmmmm…assuming we do about 22,000km per year (which I think is average), and since I assumed we sell car after 7 years, that’s total of 154,000km travelled. The differential of 199053km-154000km = 45053km. We convert this back to ringgit with 17km/L consumption and RM1.9/L of fuel
    1. 45053km / 17km/L = 2650Litres of fuel
    2. 2650 x 1.9 = RM5035.

I assume this balance of RM5035 is toll, and parking. This works out to
    1. RM5035 / (12 months x 7 years) = RM59 per month.

If you accept my calculations above, then it looks like MITI has calculated wrongly. The cost they quote is TOO LOW. No way you pay RM59 per month for toll and parking. That’s more like a week’s worth of parking + toll if you live in the city.

Then there are other factors to consider:
    1. Cost of servicing the car. Not cheap especially since you have to send back to authorized SC for servicing just to maintain the warranty. Authorized SC always charge more vs workshop under the pokok.
    2. Tinting (most people would tint)
    3. Car wash
    4. Cost of changing wear and tear stuff on the car (this is not covered by #1 – tyres, battery, air filter, fuel filter, gearbox oil, spark plugs, etc).

I think MITI is underestimating the cost lah.

Or is my calculation too simplistic and / or wrong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:05 am

Do you believe that MITI analysis done by PHD Economics holder or not?

God bless you lah Dacing

• Merc=Real Euro on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:48 pm

More and more excuses…
    Excuse after excuses…..

Again the argument is completely flawed.
    Just look at our earning per capita….
    One of the lowest in the region…. How now Miti?

• droll on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:48 pm

paultan.org team – do you have the link to the MITI source article?

• scratching head on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:24 pm

If this statement by MITI was used as a reference for a master’s thesis, I would have taken the nicely bound thesis, read it while mustering a smile or two.

I would then take out a Zippo lighter in one hand (the other hand holding the thesis), light it up, look at the student in the eye, pause for a moment to savour the confident but curious look of the young lad, bring both of my hands together before saying… “Well Done?”(as in rare, medium rare, medium, medium well and WELL DONE)

• eLLEN on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:37 pm

I am quite impartial in MITI statement. According to MITI the PRESENT government has done their best to give us the BEST car price. And the oppo said they can do better (reduce the price). I don’t know who is talking KOK here. My humble opinion, I desperately need a lower priced and better quality car. So why not we let the oppo perform and show us how they reduce the car price, then we know who is REALLY TALKING KOK here!!

• unforgiven on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Too stupid to be true, but again came out from Gov again…

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:01 am

Bernama bro, Bernama

Same level as global news standard Bloomberg, CNN, CNBC, AlJazeera, BBC…if you believe lah how easy to kelentong orang kampong

• such a stupid statement from MITI.. Who the hell did they hire to do those calculation and assumption?

• Lycoming on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:17 pm

MITI is under a government….of course la government protect themselves…why not pick a independent surveyor? ha for sure la the ownership cost is more expensive than any other country…

• Stupid ppl.. you are judging this wrongly… i think that the calculation are correct ( Hint – Watch Auto Show / Top Gear ). Also , I have lived in both singapore and indonesia due to work.. The cost of having a car is mind blowing if you are just normal salary worker. At least in malaysia u still can buy a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • Abu Dhabi on Oct 06, 2012 at 6:37 am

yeahh..malaysian can still buy a car…for no deposit, yet 10 years installment….before the car even reach year 6, it will broke down to hell (u all know which cars)…then came the maintenance costs which is so high u even wanna bleed to death

• Rosmah mansor on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:21 pm

In Malaysia, we are forced to drive. Every rakyat with car spend almost half of salary on car installment. Which depreciate over time. If we hav a choice not to drive, this money can be invested to property, stock, gold, even cincin berlian will appreciate your wealth over the time.
    U see 1/3 of our earning depreciate while our neighbour country can hav better living with tat extra money.
    As long as this goes on, u wil forever live in poor.

• tokmoh on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:06 am

Jadi kak mah, apa nasihat kak mah? Menabung dari kecik ke? Beli emas dari Genneva ke?

• bingo on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:28 pm

this, is not just like any other knee-jerk statement given out by the ministries.

this is a statement, given out whilst jerking.

• the govn really think the people are stupid….. pity us, who are ruled by stupid people…..

• henry kessinger on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:25 pm

SG dollar and Ringgit were on par in the 70s and 80s but our currency somehow started to choke, devalue all the way down till now. MITI is talking as though Singapore car owners are using ringgit to pump for their petrol, by the way thier RON 98 pump price is even cheaper than our RON 97. Not only that a simple breakfast of coffee, an egg and bread cost only $1.80. How much for the same break fast here in RM?? Price of grocery at supermarkets are also cheaper there than here…..sigh.

• Henry on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:25 pm

MITI conveniently forget to mention car owners paid most of the cost upfront when buying the crappy car. Many of them have to take a seven or nine year loan.

They can’t even cook up a better b..s.. story.

• Chow1 on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:23 pm

If there are no corruption in Malaysia, then we can drive better cars. Don’t divert attention!

• boncit on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:24 pm

aku sebenarnya tak berapa setuju kalau NAP terus dihapuskan….tapi bila baca MITI punya pendapat ni,aku rasa baik hapuskan tanpa belas kasihan aa..sakit ati

• concerned on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Would M’sia’s citizens buying power increase or cost of living be lower if only our currency exchange is higher?

• kenny_lim on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:45 pm

all based on ‘assumptions’ and layman calculations. never done a thorough studies and just make a statement…a typical stupid malaysian ministries…..get other factors also….cost of living, and etc….idiots….

• Robin G on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:54 pm

They didn’t include in the bloody tolls we have to pay every year…!!! They didn’t include in the maintenance cost, where I heard Thailand is much cheaper. Now we have AES, and it’s going to cost us a bomb when it’s mushroomed. Can it be logical to install all these cameras at speed limits like 60, 70, 80 and 90, when the road is going down hill?

• Sam68 on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Do U think nowadays Malaysian is stupid. why when making analysis MITI convert to RM?? It should be apple to apple, Rupiah to Rupiah, Bath to bath, sing to sing dollar. Any school children can also cheat their parent when making such stupid analysis.

• I want to support MITI statement, but since I am not a learned basher, which is better: 1. low car cost,high maintenance/ownership,limited fuel subsidy 2.high car duty tax/low maintenance cost/subsidized fuel. Right now option 1 is better? Like most say PKR better yet still vote BN.

• http://paultan.org/2012/10/04/pm-import-car-excise-duty-reduction-will-collapse-used-car-market-revenue-depreciation-for-govt/

Big Boss: Of all the question they can ask me, why the heck did they asked me about reducing car ownership price? Luckily my otak geliga managed to figure out what statement to give. I hope they buy it.

Highly ambitious assistance: Don’t worry boss, I’ll call our friends at M to cooked up some figure to further back up your statement..

Big Boss: :)

• Their calculation only basd on 2000cc and below. Can we enjoyed cc like 3.6 or 4.2 liter engine as US, I don’t think our road tax in these range are cheaper then them…

• dextrouzst on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:41 am

Directly converting currency to RM is ridiculuos.
    You have to include the cost of living as well.
    That’s why it is expensive to own a car in Malaysia.

• Kenny on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:03 am

did they put Brunei into comparison?

• rukawa on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:02 pm

of coz not. Brunei usually not included in such comparisons. the Rakyat must not know of the cheap petrol and low cost of living in brunei!

• Pork.Nick on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:09 am

Believe me, Makaysia can be more prosperous if all the above people not live here. Trust me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • GUDANG KERETA on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:43 am

blame yourself… dont blame others bro for not being rich.. ekeke…

• Low2215 on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:46 pm

highly agree , facepalm as i read those comment …

• Pork.Nick on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:10 am

Believe me, Malaysia can be more prosperous if all the above people not live here. Trust me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • tokmoh on Oct 06, 2012 at 1:42 am

“There are lies, damned lies and statistics”

– Mark Twain

But actually, even if this report is remotely true, isn’t it still bad? Low total cost of ownership (TCO) translates to a system that encourages private transportation.

TCO should be high for private transportation, it is the only way to motivate people to get off their cars and hop on public transport.

The structure of TCO in Malaysia is broken, risky and contribute to high household debts and bankruptcies.

We pay an expensive price to own a vehicle, but subsidised operating costs. IMHO, this perversion from world market price will only open avenues for AP kings and smugglers to profit, while punishing the people with high debts. Also, the rich with high consumption habits benefit most from subsidised petrol.

To fix our current broken system, this must be corrected first. Pay market rate car and fuel price. This is the most effective way to reduce our household debts and risks of default. It’s also fair that if one uses more fuel, they pay more instead of subsidised more.

The next step, or rather, a simultaneous step is to improve public transport at hyperspeed mode. It felt like the past decade had been a “Lost Decade” of development of public transport, a damn shame and most frustrating indeed. Only now we see LRT extension, MRT, new six-car Komuter rolling stocks, GoKL, BRT, electrified double tracking projects moving when it should have been done since the last decade. Oh well, I’m contented to pass by those construction sites in Subang Jaya, eagerly waiting for those KJ Line extensions to be ready in 2 years time. Syukur Alhamdulillah.

And to be honest, I’m very appalled at how selfish some people can be on these projects, like those Jalan Sultan, TTDI, Putra Heights residents fiasco. How dare they protest against these projects with illogical, selfish reasons (if it’s sensible takpe la, but if it’s because scare house value drop, WTFFFFFF). If petrol price is RM5/L, we’ll see them beg for these projects to finish ASAP.

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 10:41 am

Bro, we are paying RM5 per litre petrol now in equivalent or more

That RM25K average car excise duty tax plus being charged again as car loan bank interest (Double Tax) make it double amount after full car loan settlement

That loss easily cover your petrol bills for 7 years of driving

The only difference is Dacing sembelih you now screaming lies on a tree rather than telling the truth on the ground

Itu lah kerja Dacing: Screaming lies on a tree rather than telling you the truth on the ground

Comparative analysis ASEAN…typical crap by junk graduate but worked at MITI in the name of helping jobless graduates…hiring donkeys to do Math and Economics…gila punya MITI

• resvr on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:33 pm

junk graduates…donkeys and you are…profesor serba tau? (gila-gila) lol

• Ryan L. on Oct 06, 2012 at 2:11 am

For goodness sake, do the comparison with 1 to 1 currency. People earn there & spend there. A camry in Aussie costs an average of 30K. What car can you get here for 30K?

• Clement on Oct 06, 2012 at 2:31 am

BANK INTEREST, BANK INTEREST, BANK INTEREST.

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 10:46 am

DOUBLE TAX, DOUBLE TAX, DOUBLE TAX

CAR EXCISE DUTY BEING CHARGED AGAIN CAR LOAN BANK INTEREST = DOUBLE TAX

DOUBLE CAR TAX = LOSS OF 9 YEARS PETROL COST

EVEN AT RM5 / LITRE PETROL STILL 7 YEARS PETROL COST GONE

YES WE ARE PAYING EQUIVALENT RM5/LITRE PETROL NOW

• Chong on Oct 06, 2012 at 2:47 am

How come MITI dare to compare Singapore price with Malaysia? Shame!

• noname on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:11 am

mate, please dont be in self denial. u must be kidding saying a fresh grad doctor only earn about £2.5 in uk. in malaysia a fresh grad engineer only earn about rm2.5k. petrol here is rm1.90 for ron 95. petrol in uk is £1.50 for much better quality. in kuala lumpur an apartment rental is rm700. honda civic here cost about rm150k but in uk it costs only about £25k. so it shows here cost of living in malaysia is ridiculously higher than in uk. u earn in pound u spend in pound. u dont simply buy a car in uk and fuel up ur car in malaysia.

• GUDANG KERETA on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:40 am

then BOYCOTT proton & perodua… give them some lesson… their price does not match wt the spec & quality..

• malaysiann on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:02 am

Toll, summon, tax, insurance policy, n many more! just remember!! Govt fucks us everyday!!

• Whynot on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:41 pm

I wonder if Malaysians has the most summon caught compare to other countries? More AES to come in the future definitely spell trouble to the pockets of driver’s!

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:40 am

Look how Thailand govt promote their auto sector:

1. Thailand First-Car Buyer Scheme:
    – Tax rebates of up to 100,000 Baht (RM10K) to first-time car buyers from September 16 to December 31, 2012
    – Thai Excise Department will begin issuing the rebates of up to 100,000 Baht for each first-car owner after car owner has owned the car for one year
    – The tax rebate will be a one-off payment made in a lump sum by cheque from the department
    – Eligible vehicles are cars below 1500cc and pickup trucks unlimited engine capacity below 1 million Baht price (below RM100K)
    – The vehicles must be locally assembled – excluding those that are assembled from used imported parts
    – Minimum age for buyers is 21
    – To prevent profiteering, the vehicle has to remain in the possession of the first buyer for 5 years
    – The tax rebate is expected to cost Thai government about 150 billion Baht (RM15 Billion), assuming that 500,000 Thais will buy first cars
    – It will also benefit Thai rubber farmers, since at least 2.5 million tires will be needed for estimated 500,000 cars sold

2. Thailand Eco Car Policy:
    – Follow-up from policy of “Detroit of Asia” in 2002 giving incentives to OEMs, especially Japanese OEMs such as Toyota, to relocate production of pickups to Japan
    – Eco cars defined as need to pass stringent environmental and fuel economy regulations such as running fuel on 20km/L
    – Eco car applicable on A-B segment of engine displacement less than 1,400 cc for diesel and 1,300 cc for gasoline
    – Eco cars can enjoy special incentives by reducing the excise tax from 30% to 17%
    – Mitsubishi Mirage is one such example of cars produced under Eco Car rules

Here? Habok pun tarak. Kereta jimat minyak tapi MITI hantam harga mahal sembelih rakyat.

But for Proton, very easy get free RM120 million duit rakyat hantam lah R&D tapi kereta masih juga macam sial

Rakyat sendiri – kena sembelih, Proton – Enjoy hantam duit rakyat!

Bravo Dacing, Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Whynot on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:43 pm

This is one report I am pleased to see. Well informed brother’s!

• asslubangang on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:54 pm

macam sial?
      lu la sial, ingat proton tak kena tax ke

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:43 am

That’s why minimum qualification to work for MITI is 1st Class Honors Economics degree.

Even MITI janitor must pass SPM Economics paper credit B plus minimum.

• Well of course it’s easy for you to compare it with other equally corrupted countries!! Specially Thailand and Indonesia! Singapore is exceptional because of land limitations, it is the only way they can limit cars on the road! But still, the people there can afford cars easily because of the money they earn compared to us here! Now compare our price of vehicle ownership with countries like Australia, US, Canada, UK, China, Japan, Korea, ETC

• thank god PM didnt state the reduction of car tax during the budget announcement. now im sure why my vote will be going. otherwise, majority of the ppl will surely vote for BN. Bangsat Negara.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 06, 2012 at 9:50 am

It was pointed out that our subsidised RON95 petrol is RM1.90 per litre, lower than Thailand (RM3.80 per litre), Indonesia (RM3.35 per litre), Singapore (RM5.10 per litre), Vietnam (RM3.60 per litre) and Philippines (RM3.20 per litre).

Why miss out and never mentioned Brunei?

Why mentioned City and Vios only?

Why not mentioned Malaysia is net exporting oil countries, at RON 95 for RM 1.90 per liter, it is among the highest price among OPEC countries, Saudi may sell it as low as USD 10 Cent per liter!

Never mentioned Thailand and Vietnam taxi fair way much lower compare to us despite non-subsidised petrol.

Never mentioned that when RM 5.10 converted into SGD is only 2.04! Yet in SGD term, their salary still higher in numeric compare to MYR!

Never mentioned SGD have efficient MRT and bus service?

Never mentioned that Malaysia, apart from Sultans and King, we also have AP Kings and cronies!

Never mentioned that our toll rate is almost equivalent to the cost of car fuel consumption per km!

Never mentioned that a new Toyota Estima is around RM 120K in Japan, but 3 or 4 year recond Estima from Japan, after gone thru AP King, selling at around RM 200K!

The list is not exhaustive! And the verdict is MITI make selective comparison!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 10:57 am

That’s why govt must stop employ Junk Graduates

Look how great quality their Comparative Analysis is

Beri malu Bloomberg, The Economist magazine saja

Gila-Gila magazine punya kelentong pun tidak ini macam Prof Serba Tau

• Yeah that’s why gomen must hire people like pumpkins, much more brilliant than Prof Serba Tau. Only talk talk talk but at the end hampeh, tak reti buat keje lol

• sonar on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:56 pm

bangkok taxi fair is more or less like in kuala lumpur

• rukawa on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:06 pm

when they conveniently excluded BRUNEI (our beloved neighbouring country) then we know this MITI report is full of lembu-tahi (BS) already

• always forget BRUNEI DARUSSALAM. idiot

• rukawa on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:07 pm

cannot include. Rakyat will mogok on the streets. not just petrol prices and car prices. everything else too!

• rosdi on Oct 06, 2012 at 10:41 am

Haters gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 10:48 am

Dacing suka sembelih rakyat…Bagus memang bagus…Amalan mulia…

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:20 am

What? You hate the report? It’s done by PHD Economic holder Universiti Bolehland…world class report bro…whole world reading it…mesti bangga giler punya Dacing…

• MITI? Booooooooooooo…..!

• That why our government minister have at least one supercar at their home.

• Possible Car Price Reduction Policy on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:33 am

I am all for reduction of car prices across the board. It will put money into Malaysians pocket cos car instalment take up a big chunk of Malaysians disposable income.

I believe that one time large reduction will have less impact to the overall car market.

I can see that two groups of Malaysian that really affected. Current car owners who paid off their car loans should not be affected due the reduction of new car price will compensate the reduction of the second hand value. Let assume that the duty reduction cause the car prices being reduced by 30%. Theoritically, the second hand car price will reduce by 30%. So the car owners suffer 30% drop in price but they get to buy new cars at 30% lower as well and gain in the future for the next cars. So there is no loss for them but gain in future.

The affected Malaysians are :
    1) Car owners with outstanding loans. Their second value drop 30% (assumption as above) but loan still at old value (100%). I believe that if GOM give tax rebates of 30% of annual instalment paid, until the full settlement of their loans, will prevent loan default. It will also have less impact on the GOM cashflow. To simplify the matter, another proposal is the car owners pay 70% of their loan instalment and the banks will use the 30% loan amount of instalment payable for the year to set off against the banks’ annual tax payment. So the administration will be with a few banks than several hundred thousand of tax payers.

2) Used car dealers will be the tricky to deal with. If GOM compensate them per car basis, these people will jack up their inventory and maximise payment from GOM. With this group, I think the best solution is 3 years business losses from the implementation of duty reduction are allow to be set off against others business income and employment income. The losses can be transferable to another party. I think this is the safest way to deal with used car dealers.

I think these should minimise the impact on the affected groups.

With regards to the loss of income for the GOM, plugging leakeages will be more than enough to cover the duty reduction by implementing transparent tendering process and lowest qualified tenderers should be awarded the contracts.

POSSIBLE CAR PRICE REDUCTION POLICY

• Great to read all of above commendable feedbacks. Now 1Malaysians are not fool like old days anymore. Event the public now could have our own analytical & statistical comments compare to those Minister, whose only speak crap and trying to fool on us.

• suarez on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:36 am

Why are they still ppl here comparing pounds and ringgit? The most amazing thing is those who comparing it, is those who study in UK. Which “U” that you go??? F*#kin “U”??? You guys better come home and study in M’sia since you are wasting your parents money over there!

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:38 am

This report would make Prof Serba Tau (Gila-Gila) very proud geleng-geleng kepala…

• BN government can take their petrol subsidize back in return for import tax free vehicle for everyone. Correct me if my calculation is wrong. Let assume u consumed 250 liters of Ron 95 every month and paid RM475 (250 x 1.9) for it. Without subsidize it will costs u RM875 (250 x 3.5 (est)). So over 10 yrs period(assume petrol price remains unchanged), thx to our government we save RM48,000 on petrol alone.
    But the fact is you already paid for it the first day u bought a non-national car. For eg, An Accord 2.0 in open mkt costs abt Rm100k but we are paying RM150K for it. The sad truth is most of us cannot have afford an Accord so we all have to settled for lesser car with lesser safety features and lesser handling capability. A humble Vios in Malaysia costs RM30K more as compared to country like Brunei. The government kicked , punch and robbed us
    under broad daylight , and while we are suffering on the floor, they throw us the puny subsidized and expected us to be grateful. what a joke!

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:34 pm

You haven’t multiply/factored that 85 pct excise duty as car loan again aka. Double Tax crap

RM50K car tax Honda Accord until full settlement cost RM220K…take depreciation RM20-30K cost…after 5-7 years lucky your Accord junk price RM70K

Your total loss (Double Tax) alone cost you 4-5 years worth of petrol bills

That is only Honda Accord

Wait until you see Honda Brio…super efficient Eco Car 20km/L RM50K or 500K Baht from Thailand

Let see how much MITI hantam the price…RM75K for a puny car? Gila kah

Memang gila-gila ini MITI suka sembelih rakyat

• u dont need to know on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:56 pm

vios is also a crap car…..better buy preve lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • AP King aka Tak Queen on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:13 pm

what petrol subsidy?? it is our petrol not some crony’s petrol!!!!

• yes.. i will pay u more for no reason on car because the petrol is cheap.. sounds like “i will charge u more because u’re richer”.. legit man

• Lathif on Oct 06, 2012 at 2:44 pm

A few months back, it was different…

http://blog.miti.gov.my/?p=2757

• all the ppl who wrote replies on that blog sound like scam artists.

• Sharu on Oct 06, 2012 at 5:55 pm

First of all why does MITI gives facts from non-oil production country benchmark.

At the moment, I’m working in Oman. Whereby their do not have oil reservoir as big other gulf region and small compare to M’sia. And the best part is the petrol Ron95 is OMR 0.120/ MYR 0.96 (based on OMR 1 = MYR 8.00)

And there is NO such thing petrol subsidiary, and the govt is using the tax payer money to give away the petrol subsidiary. The world market always refer to the US as the benchmark. Why? Wake up China and Russia are on the verge to use their respective currency for trading purpose.

To be honest with you, even in Oman the groceries are more less the same like M’sia after converting.
    Min. salary for Omani is around OMR300 ( MYR 2,400) meanwhile M’sia about to raise it to MYR900.00.So guys do you see how the inflection starts.?

• TotalOil on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:49 pm

World country rank: Total Oil Production

1: Saudi Arabia (Population 26.5 million)
      20: Indonesia (Population 248.6 million)
      24: Oman (Population 3.1 million)
      27: Malaysia (Population 29.2 million)
      32: Thailand (Population 67.1 million)
      34: Vietnam (Population 91.5 million)
      45: Brunei (Population 0.4 million)
      84: Singapore (Population 5.4 million)

• That’s crap! I owned a car in thailand n Indonesia respectively. Statement by MITI simply post deceive info to win voters heart!!! Sorry for BN having such spokesman in your team….

• CibaBNi on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Talk co k, the assupmtion take only factors for their favour only…. Pls Take toll into acc….

• Pat San on Oct 06, 2012 at 9:15 pm

This is an insult to our intelligence. We are now in year 2012…not 1988…… My fellow Malaysians, please vote wisely in the coming General Election.

• helang on Oct 06, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Vote pr and lux jet awaits us for commuting one to another paradise. Why need car since we afford fly. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Scumbag MITI is Scumbag.

• peyno on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:50 am

no need compare UK la..compare aussie better…

fresh graduate salary in malaysia – rm3000
    fresh graduate salary in australia – AUD3000

cheapest petrol in malaysia – rm1.90/l
    cheapest petrol in australia – it is not fix..but fuel up during weekend is expensive..better during weekdays…average AUD1.30 – AUD1.45 (still remember when i was there in 2008, cheapest is AUD0.96/l for petrol)

2nd hand car in malaysia – average rm20k – rm25k for EK. (refer frm motor trader)
    2nd hand car in australia – AUD5000 average for Honda civic EK. (refer frm australia used car online guide.http://www.carsguide.com.au) based on my experience last time i still can easily get a good 2nd hand cars around AUD5000.

foods – it depends..i could say both country have reasonable price.

home – not explore much in australia but i think it is expensive to own a house in there. Same goes to Malaysia.(for fresh graduate)

public transport efficiency – bus and train 5x better in australia(refer at the city and urban rural area) than what we have in malaysia. always on time and its easy for u to manage your time. plus u can get the timetable in the internet. but taxi charges is f**king expensive over there. Malaysia still cheap for the taxi’s fare.

renting car in malaysia – average rm100.day for saga?and the condition?? i don’t know
    renting cars in aussie – AUD45/day mitsu lancer/hyundai i30.in good condition(from Thrifty – one of the cheapest renting company in Aussie)

but the best is to rent an old car – 1989 toyota corolla se (AUD700/month) – i used renting it before..its really in good condition with a/c,radio…..use to travel that time 40km/day

so..share some of my experience n knowledge…pikir2 la sendiri

• peyno on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:57 am

owh..another thing – road tax is fix over there – AUD500
    but malaysia nope…imagine u buy 3L or 4L car – road tax is just AUD500..Malaysia???

• sometime I feel like there is NO sin in criticizing our current low IQ government….

• smokey on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:48 am

wow..look at the amount of ‘Angry’ and ‘Meh’….haha

• stupid comment of MITI,speaking without using theirs brain a typical machinery and paid govt propaganda,most car owners willing to pay higher fuel and at least 40 to 50% cheaper car ownership and without much toll collection ,

• All cronies..

Like anwar ibrahim said before “jangan bezakan harga durian jepun, dengan harga durian Malaysia.BODOH….”

• domainicus on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Unbelievable from miti. Unresponsible. Everyone knows that high car prices cannot be offset by low fuel price or cheap road tax(up to 2 litre engine, mind). Come on. I don’t want to go on.

• HUman on Oct 07, 2012 at 3:12 pm

my lecturer buy a new honda stream 2.0 for only RM40k with cost to bring it to Malaysia… he was a student in Japan… and normal price for the Honda Stream in
    Malaysia is RM140k….

Proton cars is more cheaper in UAE… persona elegance’s price is fro rm28k…

sorry for bad english

• NotTrue on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:12 pm

New Honda Stream 2.0 in japan sold at 2.2 million Yen (RM80k++). RM40k can only get 2nd hand. I think you misunderstood him.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:49 pm

how about factor in per KM tol charge and see which is higher?
    you try to drive from Kepong LDP, to Sunway LDP, and going to Kesas tol.
    If u added in that KM tol in x 365 and see which one is more expensive?

• Davinnci on Oct 07, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Straight to the point

G is cheating and stealing our money.

• Automotive Manufacturing Worker on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:20 pm

I am all agree to have a lower priced car. But PR need to explain more on the proposals. How they are to manage the tax reduction? What will happen to the industry here in malaysia? The current gov is corrupt to the core no argument about it. Is it all CBU car get the tax reduction as well? Need more info. I think if based on local content in the car is better. IMHO.

• Pumpkins on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Revised car tax a bit is enough:

Car below 1800cc = 50 pct excise duty
      Car above 1800cc = 5000 pct excise duty

Hah, ini macam baru bagus…org kaya org miskin sama-sama kena sembelih bayar cukai mahal lah

• Sharu on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Hahaha

Even our PM will start to drive proton preve – GLOBAL CAR

It should be done to property sector too.
        Incase your are buying 3rd property ( individual /company) fixed interest 500%/yr.

• Jason Siew on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:09 am

Last I checked, BRUNEI is still an ASEAN country. These MITI people should go back to school and study GEOGRAPHY!

• macroman on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:38 am

wow PR suicide yet again.. trying to cove the prev PR suicide. THey shld just diam-diam, less damage

• Let’s put aside all these MITI brain dead statements for now,
    just ask ourselves why are we been denied the Rights of buying an affordable SAFER car? Is driving to work and back in one piece NOT OUR FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS? We all know RM80K can buy us a car with lots of safety features with decent handling in an open market. Here we have to spend RM80K for an entry level non-national car and the sad truth is not everyone can afford a RM80K car.

• Pumpkins on Oct 08, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Buying fuel-efficient car at fair price = Big sin, Haram, Criminal act in Bolehland

Buying outdated crap junk fuel inefficient car at crazy price harga sembelih rakyat = Good, Good, Good in Bolehland

Bolehland = where all crazy things happen for fun!

• Halal and haram are not meant for funny things. Watch out your words.

• brader_MITI on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:23 am

pity rakyat had to listen and follow such propaganda. nothing much can be done until the day GE come.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:45 am

This MITI pea brain also forget to compare with Langkawi Island!

• Bob Sam on Oct 08, 2012 at 6:15 pm

How about the impact of Toll payments for commuting?

• GunungMan on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:35 am

The collection from car excise duty is around RM7 bllion while the subsidy for petrol is around RM25 billion. I believe the reduction of subsidy will be able to balance the reduction of duty collection.

• Sven Cal Byan on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:54 am

This is just another inaccurate fact and another cover up stories made by the MITI.Malaysia vehicle ownership is still expensive.Just look at the price of PROTON & PERODUA car with such a poor quality and expensive spare parts.Just ask MITI why vehicle price at Langkawi is lower than other place at Malaysia??..almost a half..and why is that??..because we are paying more for the duty & tax rather than the vehicle price itself.

• Rosmah mansor on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:33 pm

400 angry commends & still counting

• This MITI is complicating the fact. How can u compare our car to other nations? We r the petrol supplier country and yet you want to compare to other countries that is not?Funny. Malaysia goverment pls, dont always compare!!!!Make changes!!!

• Asean which include Brunei. why they never state Brunei’s fuel price. Unleaded 97 rm1.20

• mrkthxbai on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:14 pm

like usual. this kind of topic will lead to these conclusions:

1) gov is lying
    2) make changes
    3) singapore is better

haiya. sad.

• This govt rubbish makes me so angry, VOTE FOR A FREE MALAYSIA

• Melayu takkan lupa on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Kereta mahal, tol mahal, dah pakai hiway bwk 130km/j kena saman ekor pulak. dah ikut hiway jem plak. lepas tu nak kena pakai minyak “MURAH” rm1.90 plak. bila x byr kereta sebulan, bank dah bising. mcm la kita taknak byr. kalu ada public transport aku pegi keje naik bas atau tren saja. tp aku xde pilihan. macam mana mau vote ini kerajaan bn?