Usain Bolt inspires one-off gold-painted Nissan GT-R

Nissan has unveiled this unique gold-painted GT-R inspired by brand ambassador Usain Bolt. Featuring bespoke gold interior fittings and the Olympic sprinter’s embossed signature, the special vehicle is heading for auction on eBay to benefit the Usain Bolt Foundation, which helps create opportunities for youth in Jamaica.

The world’s fastest man has also extended his role to become honorary ‘Director of Excitement’ for Nissan’s “WHAT IF_” global marketing campaign. “Racing is my inspiration, and I want to help Nissan become an even more exciting brand for everyone,” said Bolt.

A special GT-R is also being tailored for Bolt’s personal use – the 26-year old Jamaican recently paid a visit to Nissan’s headquarters in Yokohama where he test drove various GT-R models and had his reaction times, acceleration and other handling capabilities recorded. He will also work with Nissan product specialists to develop a limited-edition GT-R which will be available in markets.

“Nissan shares the spirit of excitement that captivated worldwide audiences at the Olympics. There is no-one better qualified than Usain Bolt to help us translate that spirit into great experiences,” said COO Toshiyuki Shiga.

Bolt was picked up from Tokyo’s Narita airport in a GT-R driven by Formula One driver Mark Webber, no less. That’s two very fast men in one very fast car.

The 2013 model year Nissan GT-R carries a 3.8 litre twin-turbo V6 that produces 545 hp at 6,400 rpm and 627 Nm of torque between 3,200 and 5,800 rpm. It has a top speed of 315 km/h and completes the century sprint (!) in under three seconds.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• drgn86 on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:10 am

Wondering who rejected whom, BMW on MR Bolt or vice-versa?

• Ekspresi Ruang on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:15 am

since he got the accident in the M3, I think BMW would be afraid to featured him in their supercar, as people might think an accident could happend when you drive faster on M3 :P

• ramun on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:22 am

If he is given the car. He’ll trash it like the M3 sponsored by Puma. haha.

• Alone on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Director of excitement. cool.. if produa hires him, they could only give AJK tandas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • hello on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:09 pm

When he crashes the Nissan. I’ll be there saying “hate to tell you that I told you so”

• shawal on Oct 12, 2012 at 4:20 pm

i tot theyre already selling gt-r black edition , lol…
    maybe jamaican special, a bit nose heavy m understeers everywhere

• _xXx_ on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:02 pm

wow! what a solid tree wrapper

• Gavin on Oct 12, 2012 at 8:30 pm

It must be depressing for the engineer to know their hard work will only be left around the next tree

• kimikira on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:06 pm

rent in japan, driving Fujioka Gunma, perfectly FUN, always Remind my mind and leg to control…if not must crash like Bolt…

• too bad the nissan gtr can’t do the ‘usain bolt pose’

• Pumpkins on Oct 13, 2012 at 9:46 am

Tan Chong can sell this gold GTR here easily…There are what…80,000 Jenneva gold traders?…Takkan satu Jennevanian pun tak nak beli…

• Another use impractical car CO2 monster creator to add to the Porsches, Ferraris, Aston Martins, bla bla bla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8