Proton Preve set to be launched in Thailand this week

The Proton Preve is fulfilling its global car brief market by market, and after launching in Australia in October (click here for our report from Sydney), the C-segment sedan is heading to Thailand, where it will be officially unveiled at the annual Thai Motor Expo this week, according to Bangkok Post.

Platform partner Exora MPV has been well-received by Thais, so it will be interesting to see how the market will react to the Preve in the competitive C-segment, dominated by the Corolla/Civic and recently joined by the new Nissan Sylphy. Replacing the Persona there, the Malaysian car “boasts features that are still not common in the Thai C-segment sector,” according to the daily.

Stand-out points include turbo power, front and side airbags, plus traction and stability control systems. The 138 hp/205 Nm 1.6 CFE turbo engine is already in Thailand via the top-spec Exora.

Prices will be announced at the launch, but the Post speculates that the Preve will cost in the region of 650,000 baht in its basic form, and around 750,000 baht for the top-spec 1.6 CFE. Costlier than the Persona, but the Preve will still undercut C-segment players in Thailand.

We’ll have more on this later in the week. Click here to read our review of the Proton Preve.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• There you go Land of smiles…..smile at the peak of Malaysian automotive engineering superiority
    Or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • alytheman on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:58 am

yeaah.. launch at thai then other market.. push off the old stock and bring on the FL model.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • rosdi on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:06 am

Car prices are more or less the same here and Thailand, so what is the brouhuha about asking G to abolish car tax??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 51
    • haha ! same??? katak di bawah tempurung umno..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Dude, even though i hate Umno like fxxk. Wish to kill them all. But bak to reality, Thailand’s car price is actually almost same as Malaysia except for T & H. Infact, their premium car priceis much expensive then Malaysia. Check their website, Jaguar XF cost around USD150000 onwards. N guys, dont tel me Thais purchasing parity is higher than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

Ha, ha, ha, blind supporters! why can’t make our car prices more or less the same like in Thailand?

Yes, jaguh kampung no. 2 product sure same or even lower price (i.e Aus) with better specs for oversea market.

Why make non-national car prices so high here?but in Thai, Aus, etc

Why don’t make non-national cars prices like Langkawi? What make Langkawi so special from other part of Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Wow. Can’t believe you dare to write that without knowing the exact situation.

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:08 am

650k baht for basic and arnd 750k baht for top spec.. so it is more or less the same. it is.. more or less the same!!!!

• Kent Loh on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:12 am

For the C-segment car,the Thais will prefer the latest Civic or the Altis rather than this junk car from Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 68
    • JUNJUN on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:17 pm

do i care?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • lincoln on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:19 pm

junk to you…but might not to someone else

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:43 am

Some one else like me not only see it as junk, but blood sucking machine fleecing Malaysian consumers to the last drop of blood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • When Proton was still present in continental europe (EU), this “junk car from Malaysia” sold best in…. Germany. But I’m sure it was because the Germans don’t have any technical understanding and the average speed on their “Autobahn” is very slow too… ;)
      http://a4rzero.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/proton-overseas/

• LOL what a coincidence. That’s my blog ! Thanks for sharing. :D That article was prepared with much love and care. Oh, and the real ACCURATE reason why so many Proton cars were sold in Deutschland was because in the late and mid 90s, Germany was reunified and the then communist East Germans went for cheap cars from Asia, being less educated and wealthy than their West German neighbours. It’s not like they made a bad invest in Proton. Those Mitsubishi- based Wira and Satria were FAR more reliable than what came afterwards.

• Only a hint: At least two cars pictured on your blog have actually number plates from western Germany: Nuremberg (N-) and Kleve (KLE-) ;)

• Put away the nationality sentiment, and talking on behalf of the Thais, Kent is telling the truth.

• Vader on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:19 am

Go go proton, keep provide higher spec with lower price to foreign country to show bolehland spirit!
    Those so call patriot not mind that since “rakyat bayar dahuru”, and they will ask those who complaint to migrant to other country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
  • MoFaz on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:20 am

price wise, not much different from Malaysian price. just wait for the final spec sheet… i think proton will offer CNG version, just like persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Thailand media in general rather fair about Proton. Definitely they’ll complaint about Preve’s fc but the rest Preve will be well accepted by BANGKOK Post Auto newspaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 12:02 pm

all the best to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
  • ridzhas on Nov 26, 2012 at 12:06 pm

gud luck proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Nov 26, 2012 at 12:13 pm

can go drifting in thailand. wahahahhaha!

• Belum bankrap lagi ke proton ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 76
  • BadBET on Nov 26, 2012 at 12:57 pm

What offering do the Thais get? same as Australia or being treat as Malaysian?
    Will not consider Proton until they set the standard ‘global’ or better for Malaysian.
    Proton don’t need the law maker to set the standard for them. It just a case of ‘want or don’t want’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Na Bei on Nov 26, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Sell all the old stock in Thailand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • lelong on Nov 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm

aya nobody there buy one lah ! they got many choices, cheap and quality car there. unless potong do lelong-lelong buy 1 fee 1. finaly terkajang balik kampong sale to bodehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 71
    • Somchai on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:25 pm

I am based in Thailand and I can tell you that it is difficult to find anyone driving Proton there. There is no negative comment because Thais will never criticize publicly unless required. So they’ll keep quiet and say … Ok…ok.
      Seriously there is nothing wrong with the car, but Thais will prefer to buy Thai cars under the first car ownership scheme. Also you can get better mileage using diesel or driving better fuel efficient cars.
      My business partners all said, wow good car this and that, but when asked will u buy? They kept quiet. Anyway no harm to have market presence in Thailand though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
      • Thank you for your keen insight. It is more or less the same case here in Malaysia. Most people are forced to buy locally made cars like Proton and Perodua because they have no choice. And usually, those who can afford a Korean car would still buy a Japanese car because of resale value, availability, reputation etc. Oh well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Oh, and I have been using Google Street View Thailand for a while now, and even though I’m not living in Thailand, I can confirm that it is VERY DIFFICULT to find Proton cars there. Even more surprising is that Korean cars are also RARE too. German cars are also not popular, I can imagine it is due to the cost factor. The Thai market is 9x% dominated by Japanese cars. O.O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • _xXx_ on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Where to find foreign-subsidized cars? Hop into a Proton showroom TODAY…

• Just me on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Thailand is toyota and honda territory. There are probably more toyotas in thailand than proton in malaysia.

• Owh, the Thais do have first car ownership scheme?

Can you give us some insight on how it is done?

• vee-oh on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:08 pm

spec wise can beat altis, quality acceptable (not higher than Altis but OK), look is subjective but OK la, Altis also ugly..so all in all, maybe can sell there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
  • iskandar on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:10 pm

All the best to Proton. Hope it’ll sell as well as Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • Ahmad on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Nasib baik harga lebih kurang sini.Kalo tidak baik kita pi bli kat thailand then bawak balik malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • I thought Indonesia would get the Preve after Australia… In any case, please keep in mind that the Thai people are quite fond of Proton, especially the younger generation because they are sick and tired of the Japanese monopoly on the Thai market. We’ll see how the sales come along in due time. I am quite confident Proton has its winning card here with the Preve, they just need more time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • Pumpkins on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Bet you never heard just how crude the Thai trade insults. They’re cursing Savvy like hell now already. HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
      • What rubbish. When the Savvy came out in the Thai market, it was voted as one of Thailand’s Top 10 best cars 2008. All of the other Proton cars are warmly welcomed too. Proton also managed Top 10 from Jan to Mar 2010. thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/1/14/nation/20090114145057&sec=nation
        2.bp.blogspot.com/_AFG3NPS7OFs/S-E3YIJSZFI/AAAAAAAAAgI/U1SXnowaoMk/s1600/proton.bmp

• Katak bawah tempurung.
        I dunno about others when they say it quite hard to spot a proton there, but i when to phuket last time and i saw quite a number of protons; most of them being savvy and second is exora. guess ur eyes just need to be proton concious huh.

• Yes I agree with you. I was in Phuket Island May 2012. I saw a lot of Exora and a few Saga there. Based on the last Proton Holding Annual Report (while it was still listed) Proton was the No 8 Brand in Thailand in terms of passenger car sales.

• no..indo will get preve first quarter next yr if not mistaken source from indo news..followed by cfe exora and hatch preve

• Just me on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Dead on arrival (DOA)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
    • At least they have the guts to try.

Of course it’s possible that the Preve won’t be a big success in Thailand. But if they don’t try, then it’s absolutely sure that it won’t be a success there… ;)

• underskinned on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:37 pm

I do find some Gen-2s and Savvys in Thailand on a daily basis though that would not be a frequent occurrence when I was there last year.

Thai market is basically very Jap dominated that you’d be hard-pressed to find Conti cars on their roads. Koreans are virtually non-existent.

We might pay a little bit more for cars here than in Thailand, but we really do have a lot more choices.

• conti car most r cbu their import tax is 80% if not mistaken n the price is higher than boleh

• Pumpkins on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Thai people said “Die standing”. It means better quit to avoid losing more money or die standing.

• go go preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Pumpkins on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:47 pm

If cannot beat these fuel economy figures (Thai Altis:15km/L, Civic:14km/L) then Protong better forget about Preve there lah

Enjin turbo pun batuk-batuk lagi kuat makan minyak sori lah Protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
  • MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:57 pm

i think i heard somebody said before this proton savvy get a good reponse/ good sale in thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • YaY! time to smoke Toyota in Thailand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Citizen on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Who will buy Preve there if they got other better cars to choose at reasonable price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • All the best….indication that all issues with Preve has been fixed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Though l never had a Proton automobile in my driveway yet, a Preve (count on Waja, Savvy and Persona too)certainly better than Vios or even Altis in event of collision, let alone Myvi Lagi Best or Viva.

R&H and safety-wise Proton has upper hand than many not so Japanese Japanese brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Sorry to break it to you man, but the Vios and Corolla Altis is superior in the event of a collision. Both rated 5 stars by most regulations. The Waja and Saga got 3 stars only. The Preve and Exora might get 4 stars, but they are yet to be certified by Australia’s ANCAP. In any case, the Exora and Preve are the safest cars Proton made so far. We just need to wait for the official word from ANCAP.

• Vios is called Yaris in US and got very bad rating. The Preve got 5 star rating with the Australian ANCAP. Vios/Yaris is more of a Milo tin compared to Preve. Exora got 4 star rating.

• No, sorry, you must be mistaken. And where are your facts to back up your statements ? The Preve is still going through ANCAP trials, the results have yet to be announced. The Preve got a 5 star rating from Malaysian MyVap so far. The Exora got a 4 star rating from MyVap and nothing from ANCAP so far. It isn’t any better than the Preve apparently. I don’t trust MyVap because they are inexperienced and set low standards. The Vios/ Yaris 4 door got pretty good results in the US, 5 stars I suppose. http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/safety.aspx?year=2009&make=Toyota&model=Yaris&wa=wsignin1.0 Don’t get me wrong, I am very supportive of Proton but I will not lie for the cause. facts are facts.

• NIEKO on Nov 27, 2012 at 12:50 am

PROTON IS VERY WELL KNOWN IN THAILANG AND INDONESIA .
    TO TOP IT ALL OF THR PROTON EXORA DID GET CAR OF THE YER INDONESIA , BUT I DONT REMEMBER IN WHAT CLASS

• Pumpkins on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:07 pm

You compare total market share sales volume Thailand, Indonesia first OK.

Only then you know boleh cakap besar kah tidak.

Org Malaysia sendiri memang berani lah Protong suka hati mau tipu.

Lain negara open compeition good luck lah Protong.

• rosdi on Nov 27, 2012 at 12:53 am

Here is some news about proton sales in thailand.

http://autoinsidermalaysia.blogspot.com/2010/05/proton-sales-is-hit-in-thailand.html

• Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:00 am

“Proton sales grew by a whopping 205.4% compared to the year before while Mazda recorded an impressive 521.7% sales increase as compared to last year’s performance.

Based on the market data for the first quarter, Proton has manage to secure the 5th spot for the top 10 car sales with a total sales of 1,930 units sold and in the overall vehicles sales category”

– This is how they write their news, increase shown in big %, but with sale of 1,930 units only! So it is no surprise if their sales drop in big %, then no one will report it in %! Thai is the land of pick-up truck, car is the “dessert” of Thai auto industry. What make it great with less than 2k sales. Being jaguh kampung mindset always bertelur satu biji, riuh satu kampung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Pumpkins on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Compare that with Thailand TIV total car sales. How many market share Proton get? Habok pun tarak.

Welcome to open competition lah jagoh kampong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Kelvin on Nov 27, 2012 at 3:25 am

I travelled to Thailand, I can see most of them driving cars from Honda or TOyota. I don’t think Proton has make any conquering at Thailand….

• helmi on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:25 am

To all my dearest Thai people as well as our good neighbour, support sikit la Proton. It looks exclusive in the sea of Vios, Altis or Civic. Acceptable quality and can smoke all those T&H anytime.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:03 am

Look “exclusive” in the sea of ……. ha, ha, ha, ….. go to look for dictionary for the meaning of exclusive, I think even Jaguh Kampung No. 2 won’t agree with what you said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • Haha..really butthurt with Proton eh? I pity you boy. Life must be hard for people around you. My sympathy to your wife. ……….if…….you had one…. =p

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:15 am

agree with you mr.helmi.

• Pumpkins on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:53 am

Something is wrong here…The Protong price here and Thailand not much difference but at least RM20K difference for Toyota, Honda price

Two things perhaps:
    – Protong happy to sell at big loss ?
    – Toyota, Honda happy to sell at big profit ?

He He He! Ini macam kah Protong bikin bisness…over 20 years ago using the same trick in UK (promote product at loss-making price) yet until now still a failure in UK…fat hope lah for Thai, Indon, Australia market too

Better close shop sell factories to Naza Kia and Sime Hyundai lah Protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • unforgiven on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:10 am

Let’s remove certain tax of Altis in Malaysia and see how Preve sell better than Altis. Rm 90 k for Altis, let’s do that. Preve is ready!

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:11 am

the price of 650k baht for basic and arnd 750k baht for top spec. it is more or less the same. it is.. more or less the same!

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:13 am

all the big bosses in non-national car here in Malaysia hv big big big salary.. they r the real blood sucking king!

• Pumpkins on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Toyota = Thailand National Car.

And the rest of ASEAN market too.

Protong better quit lah don’t waste time and duit rakyat. Just forget about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:17 pm

I Wonder 1 Malaysia?! Penang Bride pun orang Jepun buat punya.
      Terimakashi Orang Jepun.

• gen y on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:03 am

Kudos Proton. Good Luck.

• This maroon colour suits best with preve cos can compensate the bulky rear and look tiny tail lamp. Always a head turn to me rather than cosmetic only metrosexual koreans.