Perodua sells a record 189,000 vehicles in 2012 – retains market leading position with 30.2% share

aminar-rashid-salleh

Same news, different year. This time last year, we brought to you news that Perodua sold 180,000 vehicles in 2011, securing its market leader position for the sixth consecutive year. This morning, Perodua revealed that it sold 189,000 vehicles in 2012, its highest ever yearly total, beating 2010’s 188,600 units.

The 189k total translates to an estimated 30.2% market share, which means that P2 is #1 in Malaysia for the seventh year running. Total sales beat the company’s 188k-unit target for 2012, thanks to “aggressive promotional campaigns as well as a healthy demand for vehicles,” said Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

“The demand for vehicles this year has been very encouraging as competition is heating up, especially from the foreign carmakers. Nevertheless, we wish to thank all Malaysians for making us the most preferred compact car company for seven years in a row,” Aminar added.

perodua-2012-results

Record sales aside, Perodua was also happy to announce that its after sales division posted a record intake of 1.78 million vehicles last year, a 5% increase from 2011. After sales was also boosted by RM240 million of parts sales, an increase of 17% from 2011. Currently, the brand has 170 service outlets nationwide.

Looking forward, Perodua has set a 194,000-unit sales target for 2013, with an estimated market share of 30%. Should it achieve the target this year, 2013 will be yet another record breaking year for the maker of the Viva, Myvi and Alza.

“The target is based on the expected strong economic performance of above 4% this year. In addition, we are also improving our sales and after sales strategies and operations to ensure that we are able to meet our customers’ motoring needs,” Aminar explained, adding that one possible speed bump is a hike in interest rates.

perodua-2012-after-sales

New for 2013 is a pre-owned vehicle division (based in Subang Permai) that started quietly last month. Currently, Perodua is only selling traded-in cars to used car dealers, but retail sales are expected to start in the second half of this year.

On Perodua’s expansion plans, Aminar said that the company will invest some RM2.32 billion between 2012 and 2016 to further boost efficiency in manufacturing, sales and after sales. A large portion of the CAPEX will be used to strengthen core businesses so that Perodua will be able to compete in a fully liberalised auto market post-2016, Aminar said.

Three weeks ago, Perodua announced that it will invest RM790 million to set up a new company and a new manufacturing plant adjacent to its existing factory in Sg Choh. The 65,000 square metre facility and its holding company will add 100,000 units to Perodua’s annual production capacity, which now stands at 200,000 with a two-shift cycle. Click here for full details.

perodua-20th-anniv

Finally, Perodua turns 20 years old this year, and the company launched its 20th Anniversary Celebration and logo this morning. We’re expecting plenty of corporate responsibility activites and a celebration come August, with possibly a new variant of some sort debuting the same time.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alpha on Jan 15, 2013 at 3:59 pm

For their 20th anniversary, Perodua is going to rebadge the Toyota 86 in to the Perodua LapanEnam Edisi Ulangtahun Ke-20. Comes in only 3 body colours. Lagi Best White, Lagi Best Black and Lagi Best Yellow.

After all, Perodua is essentially the Malaysian version of Scion. If Scion can rebadge an 86, why can’t Perodua, right? =P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • Strange, P2 rebadge sells like hot cake.
      Technology rich P1 rebadge cannot sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
      • Expatriate VN on Jan 15, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Technology rich ……. ha, ha, ha, you must go to scan your brain …. for …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Dr Advisor on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Why not? Proton also celup Lancer jadi Inspira…hopefully got Inspira low cost model 1.3L manual campro with unpainted black bumper…good for weekend drag until tayar tercabut LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 15, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Preve is still a better car. Proton is still a better company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 46
      • ae101 on Jan 15, 2013 at 5:48 pm

car doesnt good causing loose money is normal. but car good but doesnt make money is big big issue. every shareholder on earth care about profit. seriously if no gomen support, long long ago proton already being buy over or gulung tikar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • I agree. The way I look at it, Perodua is only accepting orders from big boss Daihatsu and Toyota. Perodua only knows how to make bumpers and spoilers for their cars. Proton on the other hand is an independent company with legitimate Malaysian- made cars. Proton cars may not be as good as Perodua cars, but at least they’re trying their best to improve themselves and this is quite clear with the Prevé. I can go on and on stressing how Proton is a better company, but I don’t want to bore you guys.

Basically, Perodua is a Japanese woman in Baju Melayu. Proton is Hang Tuah through and through. That’s the difference. My fellow Malaysians, let’s do the right thing, let’s make Proton no.1 again in 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 28
        • We spend money to buy a product to use, not for some joker to TRY .

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:08 am

Hang Tuah through and through at the expense of our pocket….

Most of the previous buyers are patriotic at some stage, until P1 idiotness and effortless shy away the loyal ones….

My brief comparison (not product), i hope u all try this:
          Go to Glenmarie area, walk into the Perodua showroom cum service center. After that you can walk into Proton center just next 2 units away.

You can feel the experience is between heaven and earth.
          Surprisingly, those idiots got a high rating on the JD Power scale???

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:38 am

Don’t forget Proton also celup Lancer Inspira. Baju Shogun jadi baju kain pelikat pulak.

BTW, Hang Tuah also celup but from China lah. Pendekar Cina sesat main tongkang masa ribut terkandas kat Melaka lalu jadi bouncer jaga pintu istana.

• rakyat on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:21 pm

if you think deep enough. the reason why malaysians buy P1 or P2 is mainly becoz of only 1 reason. ie. only P1 & P2 are priced low enough for the majority of the raykat to purchase and most also need a 9 year loan to service.

if you want to talk about patriotism, then let all car make be priced as they wish. then we let the rakyat decide.

Singapore car prices are high to discourage high car density in such a small country.

why are car prices “controlled” items in MY? what is the purpose?

• Listen x 11 on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Listen Listen Listenx9!!!!!

If you check some other forums, users reported combined FC ave. 12l/100km and if remap ecu, FC 14l/100km.

FC worse than 2.4 litre cars. What gives!!!!!! How could preve be a better car? Just junk and shld be junked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • paulz on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:08 am

Negative, my friend. Preve is good car. Proton is a spoiled “national car company”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Good college and P car,small and easy…

• Very true, the Myvi is an excellent college car. The viva a great P car. But the Alza, I have want on the driveway, is plague with more problems than a 20 yrs old proton. The brake is the worst I’ve come across, and just the other day I brake rather hard on a rainy day, the tires lock up, which is quite impossible considering it has ABS. 3 yrs on, and the squeaking and shaking orchestra continue to grow on my car. Comfort is good though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • hiding behind toyota of coz can sell.. modal p2 salesman cuma, “p2 pakai teknologi toyota bang”.. thats the only they know.. if not believe, go ask them… even DVVT they did not know what the hell is that.. DUAL VOLTAGE VTEC TURBO… haish…

• Wow, Lucky I didn’t book the other car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Davinnci on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Proton mana?

• Expatriate VN on Jan 15, 2013 at 5:05 pm

What? Jaguh Kampung No. 2 beaten flat by Juara Kampung No. 1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Is consumer buying blindly?? Proton..do something…proton is losing 7 years in a row to perodua…make perodua as national car then….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Nope. Consumer just have fun with Proton. Cannot kah?

Proton already make fun of consumers 25 years so why not consumers do the same too. Buy Perodua for fun to teach Proton for fun too.

Fun fun fun He He He He

• Abdullah on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Obscene profits due to NAP.
    The government should open up the market to all
    manufacturers.
    Everybody should be on a level playing field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • 1000% agree…P2 syok sendiri! Of course P2 can sell, the cheapest in the market maa.. BTW, the intake numbers for AFtersales is ambigious. All the reports are manual, of course the P2 Dealers can tipu, and they indeed DID. That’s why I say P2 syok sendiri..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Absolutely right. Without the taxes on imported cars, the Myvi will probably cost only 5-10k less than the Mazda 2, Vios, City, Almera etc. Why? Because 75%+ of the Myvi parts are sourced from Toyota and Daihatsu. Proton cars will have a better chance because most of the parts are made in Malaysia, making it cheaper overall.

• Whatever it is, Proton still lose out… hahahaha

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Without taxes would you buy Proton or Toyota??? Kan dah kena dah! He He He He

• Henry on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Dr, if tax free I will buy either a Porsche Boxter or Nissan GTR.

• ben yap on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:31 pm

if government open up to other car manufacturers, P2 won’t be able to boast here. probably they can only capture 1% market share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Dr Advisor on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Syabas tahniah to Perodua…doesn’t matter celup car as long fuel efficient and price reasonable it’s OK lah…Inspira juga kereta celup kan He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Dr Advisor on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:37 pm

It’s true that people buying Perodua is a sign of protest against Proton…He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Honda lover on Jan 16, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Yes buying Perodua is like buying Vauxhall cars in the UK.

• policeman on Jan 15, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Got 20 year Special Edition car?

• ben yap on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:30 pm

got new car…. new bumper, new rims, new color, new name which is myvi spe (special premium edition). price also new… more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Better get Inspira…everything new different design…even more expensive than Lancer in Langkawi LOL He He He He

• Best selling is just it is, doesn’t mean anything more.
    Toyota is the largest car maker, but does it make it any good than BMW? think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:33 am

What would you think the Asian BMW (Proton lah) any better than the actual BMW? He He He He

• So are you saying that P1 is on par with BMW?
      low sales volume, premium, good quality, dream car for most people.

• kaminski on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:04 pm

For those who are curious, Perodua managed to sell 404 new vehicles in the UK during 2012,giving Perodua a UK market share of 0.002%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • When will Perodua produce sedan car? Sure will laris compared to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • jolly_idiot on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:24 pm

They’re no.1 because they’re cheapest and we have no choice but to choose them.

If other brand were to sell as cheap as them in Malaysia. I bet they’ll be last in the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • so easy to run a re-badge company. Put a monkey to head the company, it’ll still make a handsome profit…

• tokmoh on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:10 am

So they bangga la?

Macam pussy dulu kata BNM’s stricter guideline gonna bankrupt them. Perodua salesmen penipu scammer booooo

• kancil turbo on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:42 am

well 8 years ago i buy p2 and thats the last i buy from p2 and any japanese car. they just good for leeching people money. true the p2 only good cheating people and they good to collaborate with bank officer to approve loan. i have to blame p1 dealer becoze they failed to cooperate with bank officer to aprove my loan. now i have to use my little kancil who i have to modify to satisfy my need

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:47 am

Soon new MRT lines cover all over KL. No reason to buy car only to park it at KTM multi storey carparks before naik kerja.

Sick of your Kancil? Pergi timbang and jual at scrap iron yard lah He He He He

• Sam Loo on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:55 am

Perodua is using Toyota Engine, the most reliable, durable and robust engine in the world

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:42 am

Insurance company kasi depreciation rate Perodua RM5000 per year while Proton RM6500 per year. He He He He

• mobilo on Jan 16, 2013 at 3:58 am

errr…Perodua got 3 cars only to sell…
    Proton got too many car in different segment, but have same cc…Saga, Neo, Persona, Preve, Exora…all in 1.6…make ppl confuse woo

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:52 am

Ehhh..itu Inspira ada kasi enjin 2.0L lah…mau taruk itu 1.6L nanti Mitsubishi marah pulak He He He He

• mobilo on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:00 am

Last 20 years…Proton sold Saga, Wira & Perdana only…

• Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:31 am

Perodua better change name as Perosatu for being No1.

Toyota came second so tukar nama Toyodua.

Proton is 3rd so become Protiga.

Ini macam ada betol kah?? He He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • P2 at least they don’t ‘uglify’ clone like P1 do !
    e.g. Facial of Wira , Inspira were so much spoilt by the 28-year veteran.(rather infant) …

• No to Japanese Car on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:05 am

P2 over priced CAR. Not worth of buying..

• zainal abidin on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:09 am

Guys,at the end of the day you and I know actually people are ‘angry’ due to taxes. Product quality wise is second issue. We want to buy a much much less expensive car be it P1 or P2 or CKD or other new cars.

Of course they’ll be people who will say “What gives? You should earn more lah to afford to buy other cars”.

But then again…..you guys know the answer….the same answer that we know all this while…

• Mechanic on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Congratulation to perodua.

• Henry on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Nothing to be proud of. In an open market they’ll be very lucky if they can have even 10% of the market share.

• NEIL Gayler on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Perodua revealed that it sold 189,000 vehicles in 2012, its highest ever yearly total, beating 2010?s 188,600 units.

• Intercooler VNT on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Last year they get 6 months of Bonus… Uh!!!