Renault Clio RS 200 EDC makes its Asian debut in KL, presented by the Williams Formula One racing drivers

RenaultClioRS_live_006

The fabulous Renault Clio RS 200 EDC has just made its Asian debut right here in Kuala Lumpur. Take that, Singapore! Flown in for a special customer and media event with the Williams-Renault Formula One team, the new RS 200 was presented by the team’s two racing drivers, Pastor Maldonado and Valtteri Bottas.

This is not a launch, mind you, just a preview of the new car that was unveiled in September last year. Local introduction isn’t set until the fourth quarter of this year, so there will be no price or final equipment list just yet. We can also confirm that the standard non-RS Clio in TCe 120 form will make it to local shores sometime next year.

RenaultClioRS_live_062

So on to the main event then. The Clio RS 200 EDC looks absolutely brilliant in the metal. Pictures can’t quite capture its complex yet svelte curves but trust us, it’s a damn good looker. DRLs blazing, 18-inch black wheels under the flared wheel arches; it’s special, this one.

The show car was painted in RenaultSport’s signature Liquid Yellow paintjob that shows it in its best light. This is a deeper, more metallic yellow than the pale variety we’ve gotten used to on the Megane RS 250 Cup. Fortunately enough, the latest RS 265 gets this exclusive colour option too.

RenaultClioRS_live_061

Inside, it’s slightly less impressive. While fit and finish takes a giant leap forward, leaving the current owners in awe, it’s just not very exciting. The red highlights lift up the cabin ambience, in an otherwise rather dour cabin. Front seats are standard sport items too, which will probably be swapped with Recaro buckets by the time it arrives here.

Blink and you’ll miss the rear doors. The handles are hidden within the glasshouse a la Alfa 147, and the doors open up to reveal a decent rear cabin. It’s by no means spacious back there but it’s a good improvement over its three-door predecessor. Entry to the rear seats are much better too, obviously.

RenaultClioRS_live_031

Under the hood lies a big departure from the hot Clios of old. The cover-less engine is a 1.6 litre turbocharged unit with 200 hp and 240 Nm. There’s also a Launch Control to toy with, plus a physical RS Sound Pipe that sends engine soundwaves directly into the cabin for enhanced aural drama.

It’s certainly faster (0-100 km/h in 6.7 seconds, top speed 230 km/h versus 6.9 and 225 in the outgoing car) and more efficient than before, no doubt, but better? We’ll have to drive it to find out.

RenaultClioRS_live_001

While some may bemoan the lack of a free revving normally aspirated engine as found in its predecessors, the loss of a manual gearbox is an even bigger worry. Williams F1 driver Bottas defended the two-pedal dual-clutch set-up, saying you’ll now be able to concentrate so much more on the steering, going quicker through every corner without sacrificing driver involvement and satisfaction.

He went on to say that the EDC gearbox in the Clio RS is the best paddle-based sequential transmission he’s experienced in a road car. But then again, of course he’d say that, wouldn’t he?

The new Clio RS will be displayed at the PJ Renault showroom for a whole month from this Friday onwards, so do come by if you want to see it in the flesh. It’s worth the trip down, that’s for sure. So what do you think, chaps? Will it have the guts to match its looks?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• zzzzz on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:33 am

it looks nice. if it is the same price with golf gti, i will get this… simply because it looks nicer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • drgn86 on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:00 pm

this clio rs should be priced the same as the polo gti, similar class

• This is one not boring car! Golf GTI mk7 is a quite nice car and looks great but the only one problem is so boring Zzz i hope M’sian open their mind,not only go for VW…French cars r quite nice too!

• beatnik on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:38 am

A very nice hatch indeed.. the question will be how reliable is the EDC?

btw, “Take that, Singapore!” is rather uncalled for.. let’s just focus on the car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • PauCharSiew on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:39 am

How much did bottas get paid? All i know is that every magazine sort of critizied the new clio rs

• encik boss on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:59 am

Very nice car indeed.
    Should i say better than Golf GTi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • gracke on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:05 am

First time Asian debut here….congratulation!!! Gorgeous….top notch quality everything in and out but still need to wait price and launching until end of the year, why?

• Laa...Guna on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:14 am

Renault Clio RS = Roti Special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • yeah take that, singapore!

how did maldonado fare with the roti canai? looks horrible.

• Mercedes Lover on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:21 am

sadly this car wont sell more than those folks car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • ‘Take that Singapore’, actually is more like take that Thailand, Indonesia and even china as most ‘Asian’ debut is always there. I sigh at the absence of a clutch pedal.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:13 am

Renault Clio copying KIA Rio front !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
  • ae101 on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:26 am

i would rather buy ft86 than this hot hatch. fr layout, high rev na and perfect handling. most importantly there are so many after market performance parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Hahaa…in reality, I bet you are not getting either one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:19 pm

don’t forget!it’s a toyota!..HIGH RV!HIGH RV!!
      blearghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Medic on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:36 pm

High rev NA is dead.All advance car makers is going for low capacity forced induction for power,low rpm accesibilty,low carbon emission &fuel economy.Try drving ur 86 in the city to know wat i mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • zamer on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:28 am

dont bash me..i’m telling the truth..
    the dashboard does not look any better than myvi..except the meter panel. however, the speed meter would be better in conventional rather putting fuel indicator as big as rpm dial

• MeganeRSOwner on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:42 am

If you’re looking at German made cars finishing, then you wouldn’t be looking at this awesomely designed new Clio RS. I’m saying this as I own a Megane RS250. Looking at the interior finishing, it is a step higher than the Japs, but a step lower than the Germans..but there isn’t any match when it comes to sheer driving performance. This is a car for those who doesn’t care much of the finishing but the driving itself. Take it to Sepang, get the TAXI ride, then you’ll know what I’m talking about. Yes, you may say that you’re buying this car just for track purpose?? I would answer, it is hell of a car and yes, you can track it anytime you want and the car won’t disappoint you! That’s the magical thing about RENAULTSPORT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Fredo on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:18 pm

I can agree with you on that.
      Looking at 240Nm, its actually not much, but considering its a turbocharged engine then it should be easily tweaked for more….300Nm for this small hatc would be awesome…think Route 68 ot Sg. Tua- Ulu Yam up to genting kind of route :)

• gracke on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:37 pm

It is a car that drivers need, yes you are right Megane owner. Really…the interior dash and side panel looks plastic even there are quality.

• Well , the previous Clio RS and for that matter the current Megane are slighly ‘hardcore’ie 2 doors and manual only, what Renault aims to do is to go beyond the core and reach the edges..ie tap more markets.I prefer the previous Clio RS over my Polo GTi but was put off by the 2 doors being a family man and manual gearbox since i drive 95% of the time grinding through KL traffic jams.

• The striking golden yellow is very nice.

Design wise, sure it looks very modern. However, I am not sure how that Good Look impression will last.

Golf GTI might be a little dull at first, but it is a very classic design that won the heart of many, with modern LED touch. Also, GTI is sure a very attractive phrase for many.

If both are above RM200k, forget about them. Track at Sepang? I prefer to enjoy a car that I drive 364 days on normal road than just 1 day in Sepang.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:21 pm

would pick this car over tobaru cartoon inspired tofu 86 car anyway!..look at the finishing!..the design!…urghhhhh…stim wei!orgasm!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Fredo on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Haiyoh!… no 2 doors version ah? potong stim betoi la…

• kadajawi on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Hm. Isn’t the exciting news that a more sensible version will follow next year? Sadly only next year, but better late than never. I guess it will compete against the 208, Fiesta, Polo etc., and what a competitor it is. For a B segment car the interior looks good (even if the quality is a bit of a let down compared to a Polo for example), and the exterior looks great.

• how much? RM150k? i buy straight ^^

• Super on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Take that Singapore. hahahahahaha.!!
    I like that.

• Jinggo on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:52 pm

the closest model to Hyundai Veloster Turbo!!

• confused on Mar 24, 2013 at 11:17 am

no manual. terrible. Renault practically doing a glenn tan and telling their core customers that the company hates them and will now only offer an auto. oh wait, aren’t Renault and Subaru bought in buy mr tan “ku hon” chong?

• Daily Driver on May 02, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Hi,

for those still complaining about RV.. please..please..please… don’t even look at renault brand (not yet, at least for the moment) in Malaysia. You have to look for T or H…

BTW, nice car… love it, but ‘im not sure if could afford it. In europe, it’s cheaper than VW Golf TSI.. :)

• L-Bird on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:50 am

Still not launch yet in MY? When can I buy this car? been waiting for it…

• jean-pierre on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:39 am

One’s you become a Renault Rs fan you will never change I have been working on Renault RS for over 15 years preparing race cars and turning them they are one of the best car to work on I also race 2 of them a Megan R225 with 300 hp under the bonnet and a Clio 172 with 240 hp .