Seoul 2013: Lexus IS 250 live in the metal

P3280343

This is the new third generation Lexus IS, which has yet to make it’s debut in Malaysia, and it’s one aggressive looking thing. The model you see here isn’t even the F-Sport model. The F-Sport model has even more aggressive bumpers without fog lamps.

UPDATE: The new Lexus IS is now launched in Malaysia. Click here for our launch report and pics.

Since this is the first time we’re seeing the new IS in the metal since it’s world premiere in January 2013, we took the opportunity to snap a small gallery of it at the Seoul Motor Show 2013. The new IS looks controversial in photos, and design features especially talked about is that arrow-shaped daytime running light design that’s split from the headlamps as well as the extreme upward curve of the side skirt towards the tail lamps.

P3280358

The design somehow works in the metal but the blandness of the rear bumper design around the twin tailpipes really sticks out compared to the rest of the car. That part of the car looks a little ‘understyled’.

The badging on the rear of this show car indicates this is the base 204 horsepower Lexus IS 250 model. Base is a relative word as pricing-wise the IS 250 goes head to head with cars like the C250 CGI and the 328i, and as with the last generation there’s no ‘IS 200’ to be seen to take on the C200 CGI and the 320i.

You can read our 2014 Lexus IS debut story to find out more about the new IS, or enjoy the live gallery below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• OMG….something wrong with the headlight!…. The ugliest lexus to date…….they run out of idea…..it just GS clone…….

spindle grill…. comeone……even tail light copy from GS….. cost cutting maybe….

seriously…..i thought this like concept car….should not allow to go to production….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 114
    • Anonymous on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:34 pm

The dumbest comment I’ve seen… IS of course “copy” from GS… The spindle-grille, the aggressive ass – it’s something of a design that denotes the brand Lexus…

Are you also saying Beemer 5- and 3-series copy each other because they both have similar asses..?

How about Merc CLS’ and CLA’s asses…? Now CLA is “copying” CLS…?

OMG, iPhone 5 copied iPhone 4’s ass…!!!

You and I have the similar-looking ass – with a centered butt-crack… So who copied whom now…?

Or do you have a poor sense of style…? ASS…!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 6
      • well said,
        some people say something bcoz they just want to say something..
        some people say something bcoz they hv something to say.
        khai belongs to the first group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Good debate,good sense

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:16 am

Spindle shape, inspired by Lambo or what? Infiniti grill?
      This car is good in the sense that it is definitely more Ah-Beng than C-class, and with heavy tint, nobody dares to overtake you or give you a honk. Other than that …., oh yes, resale value, it shows that you are very good at math, as perceived by your friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Petrolhead on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:02 am

Why does Toyota keep coming up with bland designs while Lexus succeeds? Can’t Toyota just borrow a designer from Lexus.. just one is enough

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • Lexus is a premium brand, toyota will rather focus R&D on this brand where oversea markets are looking into.
        As for toyota, its easier to migrate old Lexus tech to it as d selling price is much cheaper.
        But in this Bolehland, Toyota is selling at premium price while Lexus n other european car r selling at rocketscience pricing. So must work hard to buy one.

• seancorr on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Super aggressive looking car and it continues into the interior too!

Can’t wait to see this baby on our roads…boy will it look menacing compared to the BMW F30!

Guess this car will be priced around RM300k as usual but I think some buyers from the usual Mercedes, BMW and even Audi will be swayed by its looks alone and its not a bad thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:24 am

If you want sporty yet elegant look, I recommend Audi. Most people will still look high on Merc, just like how they look at RR. A RM50k Selko is a good Selko, it is still not a VC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • smarties on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Gorgeous car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • I still really love the brilliance of the design, being bold and striking and a departure of Toyotas and Lexus unmatched level of dull and blend. A truly polarizing design, but to me its neither a beauty nor a monster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • frenzy on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:21 am

The design is a bit over designed. But this is what you expected from a country who design gundam and some badass mecha. The design itself is differ from it’s German rival which looks elegance and simple. It’s sharp angle on the body make it shine among the rest and people can recognized it from miles away. The only drawbacks is the drive doesn’t suit the looks. Lexus drive are relax and calm, like sitting in a Rolls-Royce. Hope the F sport division can learn what AMG did to their car, port the LFA F1 sounding V10 into the engine bay. The sound itself definitely match the characteristics of the car, attention seeker. Imagine the looks of a IS-F with a sound of the LFA doing sideways in a mountain road of Japan just make me goose bump .

• Skypirate on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:02 am

I bet you have not driven the 2013 GS before. If you have not, you can look up the reviews on the internet, it drives better than the F10 5 series. I find generalising how car drives base on manufacturers are plain stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • exactly, and the americans have started drive reviews for this new IS already, generally it’s on par with BMW, and better in some areas, the only disadvantage from Lexus rite now is the lack of torque from it’s non turbo engine, compared to the germans…

• Being on par with BMW is not good. it had to be significantly better to offset that hideous look.

I’ll buy the F30 anytime over this 3rd gen IS

• Skypirate on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Well, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. The only reason the 3 series is doing so well is because of the 320i, since it’s cheaper than the entry level IS, and the road tax is cheap, but good luck in driving that horrendous underpowered 320i, in exchange you might get the ‘shiok sendiri’ factor of driving an entry level German luxury executive car.

• Definitely not the 320, its the 320 or 330 for me!

• The word you are looking for is Kireaji (切味), the idea of sharpness. Basically a design that is sharp with precision and smoothness, a Katana. until recently, Honda uses this ideals for their car design, FD Civic, CRZ, City. Lexus uses it for their facelift LS, GS and LFA….and this.

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:27 am

Oh yes, I suddenly have a flash of deja-vu, did I see the front of this car this afternoon? Yes, the taxis Naza Citra facelift (1st generation). Haha, joking only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • hahah, its so ugly its hilarious. wtf happened on the front?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Lewis Lee on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:15 am

What I like the most is the LFA-inspired circular instrument panel

• Looks awesome…

• ABTguy on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:21 am

Well, if IS250 is priced to match C250 & 328i then it’s slated to fail due to the old drivetrain ! It’s FC is high & the mated gearbox is lazy & slow.

I pity the buyers.

The same goes to GS, most owners buy GS250 which is a let down on engine, gearbox & FC. My cousins bought 2 instead of 528i & they regretted since their 1st mth of ownership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • Gavin on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:39 am

Meh for the front, cannot get the big grille, but the backside damn, like slutty ninja

• albag on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:58 am

i have no issues with the front… it looks simply aggressive and put extreme design into a whole new level… however the rear just doesnt seem right…

• sleepyhollow on Mar 29, 2013 at 8:34 am

Since radiation leaked. ..jdm seems dead….clones design everywhere…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Jinggo on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:03 am

Lexus want to compete with Merc, BMW & Audi but they still fail. if i got money, i will never buy this car. Anyway, the girl is so hot!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • ugly

lexus should be “premium and classy”

this is not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Jerry on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:49 am

ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Sadly, no one make an elegant, rwd, executive saloon anymore.

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Do you mean Lexus/Toyota alone?
      How do you find the current S-class and 5-series? What about RR and BB? In terms of beauty alone, virtually all Audi saloons?
      Well, maybe you have your own taste, unique, maybe a good thing to you yourself.

• if those costs 250k i might as well get the new mazda 6. zoom zoom zoom!

• The front design ok, but the back is the most ugliest lexus design ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • nexus2238 on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:56 am

Don’t know why, the rear remind me of Darth Vader :)

• Placing an order on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:57 am

I’m actually waiting for its launch here in Malaysia.. Which my Lexus buddies tells me its gonna be around July or August. I’ll be booking mine in F-Sport! Reviews over reviews over reviews has stated the same thing. The new IS is indeed a better drive than the new 3-series. Sportier drive whilst maintaining the famous Lexus comfort. People who can’t accept the fact that Lexus has turned its table since the new GS, is just a Lexus hater who will always hate on Lexus.

• There’s someone in Autoblog who commented that he is glad that there are many haters of the new Lexus IS. Because there will be less on the road and it will stand out in the crowds of German. Personally, like how the many Korean designs makes Japanese cars look dull, The new IS Striking and aggressive design makes every German cars in it’s segment look dull. Weather is it better looking that’s another question, It stands out, people will come and ask what are you driving. The GS is honestly more handsome than all the Germans bar the 5-series. Priced fairly, whoever chooses the new IS in Malaysia over contemporary Germans ,I’ll take hat off to you guys ,for like Alfa 159 owners, being daring and different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Placing an order on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm

I highly agree with you AVH.. I like the fact that there won’t be too many IS on the road which makes the car look and feel even more special as to compared it with the C and the 3 which kinda feels like a proton.. (I meant that its really common, not the car itself of course) …

• v-power on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:52 am

Design is subjective…and people will always speak their minds about their individual preferences…you can’t please everybody, right?

But personally, I feel the latest Lexus IS 250 has faithfully captured their ‘design language’ quite brilliantly. Spindle grill, wedge-shape rear lights, etc…these are inspired design cues that mark this car out as brand Lexus…much like the Beemers signature kidney grill or the Merc’s 3-pointed star on the hood…

For those who feel it’s ugly, they have their reasons; but for those who think otherwise…there’s just this gut instinct that this car could be a game-changer…

• predator on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:08 pm

the grill look like mouth of predator…

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 29, 2013 at 8:13 pm

great front design, showing the latest Lexus design language. However, I still dont get the rear design, it’s a bit too much I think. Maybe, it will start to grow on me sooner. The rear might look okay with this trim but then again I doubt the car would look this good with lower trim level. Hmmm We’ll see soon