Proton trademarks – Idaman, Persada, Exia, Esfora

Proton-logoAfter a quick search with the MyIPO trademark database revealed Proton had registered the name Proton Suprima earlier this year, we dug a bit further back to see what else Proton had registered, in hopes that it would perhaps reveal some interesting names that were contemplated internally but never ended up being used.

We did see some variations as well as concept car names that have already been announced before being trademarked – Exora Bold, Preve Sapphire and Proton Artiga had all been trademarked. But we also found some interesting names that we’ve never heard of before – Proton Idaman, Proton Persada, Proton Exia and Proton Esfora.

The only trademark result which included a stylized logo was the name Proton Esfora, which seems to use the exact same font style as the Exora. We also found no other name registered recently that could point to a different name used for the Preve hatchback, so Proton will probably continue to use the Preve name for it, or perhaps use the Preve Sapphire name, which was once used on a concept Preve with a yet to be released bodykit.

So there you have it – while the name Proton Suprima would be a prime candidate for the name of the Proton Perdana Replacement model, we can’t be 100% too sure it’s the one that would be used. Does keep things a little interesting for us. Check out the trademark papers below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• TurboMax on Apr 26, 2013 at 12:37 pm

All the best to Proton. Change is good

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Proton should just close down. For 25 years, every single Malaysian has suffered paying high car loans because of the protectionism given to Proton. Now they say, to protect 30,000 lazy goons (Proton and their suppliers), 30 million people must suffer with high loans and hefty repayments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 127
      • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Youngster-style comment.
        This is not from the elder Jimmy.
        To me, car tax or no tax, doesn’t matter. And I said I don’t want any vehicles to be tax-free.
        Vehicles are best bought fully sponsored.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Fully sponsored! If you are with Datok or Dato’ Seri title with gigabite power line connect to the Corridor of Power at Putrajaya, your dream will come true!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Whoever is good to rakyats, he gets my vote, including BN.
            If you kasi kawan sepuluh ribu hektar tanah for no good to rakyats, then nobody vote for you.

To motivate the youngs, even by doing business ethically without evading any taxes, there are still a lot of people whose mercedeses are fully sponsored by banks, brand new ones every year if they want. So do not blame BN. In this context, BN did nothing wrong.
            Betul cakap betul, greedy cakap greedy(example: if Merc omits ESP in S-class).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • Jimmy on Apr 29, 2013 at 9:06 am

Younger Jimmy please don’t use my name lah. By the way, it is rakyat and not rakyats! Respect me, the older Jimmy!

• Robot Boy on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Bro. pls dont say lazy goons to proton staff, these guys work hard. they are trying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
        • proton user on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:18 am

Try visit their sc regularly and see how ‘hard’ they are trying….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Robot Boy on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Service centers are different. some are contracted and carry the brand. I know several centers which are excellent in their work. I have friend who was so pissed off on service he got on his Ferrari. door handle problem. my comment is for the engineers and workers in p1.

• driver on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:07 pm

I disagree with this. It’s the government in power who should be blamed, not P1.

If gomen did not interfere with P1’s matter as a business entity (e.g. force P1 to use their cronies’s crappy products, greedy all over the place, wrong priority of financial management etc.), I think we could see P1 at a different level now.

I hate current gomen, but I love P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
        • Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Your last sentence just like said you love Naxxx but hate Rosxxx!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • driver on Apr 28, 2013 at 12:56 am

No. What I meant was that..

Gomen is not equal to BN, which is also not equal to P1.

So, to previous gomen in power, STOP manipulating the country’s entities for your own party!

Time for the change.

• Dru-Zod on Apr 26, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Bro, that’s not cool. You can’t just call the staff those things just because they so happen to work for that company. What goes on with the whole protectionism and all is beyond the staff’s control.

• Hey, what about the nasi lemak or goreng pisang?! sound better!

• Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:30 pm

“Idaman, Persada, Exia, Esfora”

– Pathetic, this Jaguh Kampung No. 1 have model names inventory more than the model they can produce!

No more car naming contest in the near future!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:31 pm

… Jaguh Kampung No. 2 ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • hermes on Apr 27, 2013 at 1:02 am

No problem with that. Human knows names better than numbers. Only stupid butt-hurt people will bash no matter what proton does.

• _xXx_ on Apr 27, 2013 at 7:59 pm

toyota idaman? ford persada? nissan exia? mazda esfora??? plz la…

• Ah Beng on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Proton Tanjung Malim

• confused on Apr 26, 2013 at 12:40 pm

WHAT. THE. HECK.

• alldisc on Apr 28, 2013 at 1:25 pm

and dont they know the name sapphire was used by Ford in 1980s for its Sierra model? The sedan version was called Siera Sapphire.

go google.

• policeman on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Proton I Da Man
    Best of the lot there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • setsuna on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:04 pm

proton exia..name like gundam oo exia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • jun jun on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Then we put Proton Isap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • kinda cool wat using gundam universe mecha name…. justice, freedom, kyrios, buster, arios, strike, noir, calamity, savior, exes, aegis, aile, providence, abyss, impulse, destiny, gaia, legend, exus, astray, x, blitz….etc

• Esfora sounds….wrong, Why don’t bite the bullet and name it Euphoria, sounds so much better.
    – IMHO, our opinion may differ –

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • jun jun on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:51 pm

then you thought everybody like Euphoria name as ur suggestion?puiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • IMHO = In my honest opinion
        The comment section is hear to express opinion, I do not think everybody likes it, I just think it sounds better than Esfora, the spitting is unnecessary

• harris murad on Apr 28, 2013 at 11:09 am

let him be bro AVH, typical budak kampong mak bapak tak ajar are always like that. puiii?
          I bet thats how the parents taught him

lets talk auto people!

• until they could make a twin turbocharged v8, only then it’s suitable to use Euphoria~

• I disagree, as long as the car looks svelte and somewhat sexy, more Tipo 33 Stradale than Ford Mustang, the name is perfectly fine.

• presna on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:17 am

and don’t forget really really really affordable…. you know for the euphoria effect…..

p.s. Seriously…. who comes up with these names anyway? are they trying to make all their car models rhyme or something??

• Driver from outerspace on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Proton Exia? Copycat from Gundam Exia? are u sure proton? we driving a car, not a mobile suit. (google for gundam exia)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • jun jun on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm

so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • what bout Nissan Note copycat Samsung Galaxy Note? ford galaxy….samsung galaxy s4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Newtype on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:59 pm

The word Note is generally used mate. Try searching for Exia on google and you’ll only find infos of the gundam. I don’t think the name Exia itself have any meaning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • mamamia on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm

don’t just relying on google brooooo…

• Newtype on Apr 27, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Yea I know. Haha. But ppl generally use google to search for things.

• bodohppl on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:04 pm

nissan note was way older than samsung note……

• jdmftw on Apr 26, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Nissan note was here way before that crap samsung. Do your homework.

And logic, why would Japanese copy sopycats ?

• frenzyaustin on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Gundam 00 season 3. Proudly sponsor by Bandai, Kadokawa and….. PROTON!

• gundam..? u serious? grow up..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • What the heck proton??? All those name are bad!!! And don’t you dare name preve hatchback as Esfora!!!

• Peter on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:24 pm

… last but not least: Accodana

• Footon on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Proton should change their logo ! It Looks so childish and amatuer. And the names for the cars so kampung ! Might as well name the car Proton Sungai Buaya or Proton Teluk Gong !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 36
    • JustWannaSay on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:53 pm

haha…even your own name is so “childish and amatuer”…might be the combination of Food+Wanton=FooTon..CHeers!! =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • driver on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:44 pm

I think it’s waaayyy better then the previous bulan bintang thingy.. on blue background some more!

• Hiroshi on Apr 26, 2013 at 8:10 pm

haha,damn funny, i got your point

• presna on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:21 am

Excuse me, that logo ain’t so bad okay….. worse cum worse at least people will be reminded of Thundercats every time they see a Proton pass by… :p

• Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Perdana is still a good name, no need to change.
    English pronounciation: per-dae-ne, sounds good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • felimond kahin on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:49 pm

so erm when will the satria neo s2000 concept will come out?

• kentji on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:22 pm

tax all added will cost more than 100k for a better s2000 satria, but who buy?

better go copy some car maker’s design, rebadge it, stripe those gadgets and stuff out, price it between 70~100k, more ppl buy those cronies lagi untung lahhh

• syioknyaaaa sendiri…… Proton people here are so syiok sendiri.

They spend more effort in creating names than manufacture are proper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Manufacturing “real car”, you mean like viva, myvi and alza, Perodua salesgirls?

• Yes. They did a good job. That’s why they are selling more cars than you. hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • beatnik on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Substandard car names.. poor taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • sepul on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:28 pm

I suggested to proton recently for the Perdana replacement names:

Estreno
    Estrella
    Revo
    Revol

The Exia name is from a Gundam, though it sounds cool nonetheless. Maybe for the SUV (better use Exile for the SUV imo)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • JustWannaSay on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:45 pm

i think most of the Name is for the Coming KLIMS 13….might be for the concept car…CHeers!! =)

• laoya on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Proton is getting from bad to worse. It’s bad enough they produce sub-par car and now they are using sub-par names

What happen to all Malaysia names like Wira, Juara, Satria. Is Proton losing its Malaysia identify.

What’s with all the funny sounding name. I bet old generation will find those names a mouthful hard to pronounce

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • hyundai using none korean name

• Dr Cooper on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm

And the japs also doesn’t use japs name for most of their cars, bear in mind this is a nation who always uphold their language and culture

• petani on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Have u ever heard of suzuki gsx-r HAYABUSA?

Its japanese..

• frenzyaustin on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Hate to say that, but Japanese car is the only country in Asia use surname as a brand of a car. Honda, Toyota, Mazda(Matsuda), Kawasaki….etc
          Korean car used Korean name for their car? I think only Korean words Hyundai (Modern in Hangul).
          Korean name car? Lee Elentra? Kim Sonata?

• Katak on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Most car manufacturers more than 70 years use surname. Ford, Peugeot, Mercedes, Chrysler etc… except BMW and VW.

• Verne on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Proton reverting to Malaysian-type names again?

Seems to be a departure from the current – Neo, Persona, Exora, Preve naming conventions.

• Proton Tersadai, Proton Flora, Proton Fauna..just a joke..hahaha

• timber8115 on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Persada = sounds like tersadai….
    omg…

Please come with global names since it is gonna be marketed out from Malaysia.

• better proton GLOWRA. (gelora) it will glow whenever there is a problem. haha R.A stand for Repair Always

• Nazri on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

I dont care and i dont give a damn

• Newtype on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Proton Exia? Really Proton? Why not Proton Sazabi? Or Proton Sinanju? It’ll go 3 times faster than your average car.

• Sounding more like launching of new houses only.. :-)

• gtmaniac on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:19 pm

There is a good chance that Persada will be the name of upcoming SUV/4WD vehicle.

• Martin Tan on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Comments on Proton’s quality and design aside, why can’t they stick to the Perdana name? Like how the Saga was used for the latest model. See how the names Corolla, Civic, Golf, etc have been used on newer models over all these years? Don’t compare Proton’s quality lah… but keeping the name seems logical unless they don’t want people to associate it with the olde Perdana. High maintenance anyone?

• Dr Cooper on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

What ever name they want to give..I would like to think proton should retain their old trademarks..at least make it as surname name basis (like Satria Neo)

• pak jabit on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:28 pm

whatever name la…quality first! amazing name but poor quality…hopeless

• Exia. Name of one of the gundams in Gundam 00

• Could it be for International market…eg Indonesia?

• really, as a true malaysian who finished SPM and passed BM, i really think these names are stupid and make-no-sensely idiotic

my 2 cents

• Nazri on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Proton can shove it up their a**. Protection policy is unfair to rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Proton UBAH lagi best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Dude: Hey guys look at my new ride(beeming pride)

Fren: whoaaaa…cool ride man. Which model is this??

Dude: Proton Esfora

Fren: Proton what Huh?? Is this part of Gaban series???

• bitch please on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Proton Exia = First Gundam made in Malaysia???!!!

• MEH all just recycled rebadged decade old cars.
    also, the talk about the rabadged honda accord, they never said what year accord, it could be the current 2013 which hasn’t arrived or the last year’s model (which im guessing it is).

• suprimo2 on Apr 27, 2013 at 2:50 pm

it is pointless to register these “tradename”. which brand want to use these kampung names? and even if proton lose these “tradename”, there are many more better names. all they need is a little creativity.

• front on Apr 28, 2013 at 2:45 am

Proton already sold in other countries so kampung is not the right word lor. Learn more about IPO, don’t stay in those caves forever, ok?

• Malaysian on Apr 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Whatever the name proton cars are a joke. Car is a joke. The whole organisation is also a joke.

• Blacktop on Apr 27, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Proton having an issue w the quality..
    Engine is ok.. Just the quliaty.. The QC department ned to be improved time by time since they is alot of prob occur to the new user of proton.. Im 1 of the user.. Proton persona.. Pls.. Just improved your quality, then all bashers will stfu.. That is the only prob..

• retard on Apr 27, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Soo many names but the technology still old, still use timing belt, no dcvvt, and the rest…..boring.

• ksger on Apr 28, 2013 at 2:40 am

CFE has vvt lor, oh i forgot. You only want to drive decade old engine and four gears right? LOL enjoy your ride, proton already downsizes and turbocharges the engine like Europeans. Haha!

• mamat on Apr 28, 2013 at 11:55 am

Please use Malay word ! This is malaysian product..

• lamanblog on May 01, 2013 at 2:53 pm

I literally think there’s no point to think about name. Proton has now 26 years old. This thingy Proton should be back before – should have name for all lineup/segment already. But after decades, still finding names?

• Why does proton need to have a new name for every new model?.just maintain a name and stik with with new models..it confuses the market, imagine if new civic with new name every coupke of years lol…anyways visited a proton dealer lately looking at reason not to buy myvi, showroom was dead,staff not motivated, no drive or sense of energy in shwroom, products looks lame unlike p2 with many offers and livelier sales and products. Proton felt like entering a govt building, greyyyy…hope proton stop wasting time naming their products and focus on the product itself..

• Matthew T on May 11, 2013 at 12:15 am

Oh! They are coming up with more copy-paste cars?

*smile*

• Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 7:21 pm

That called economy… Accord re-badge proton can be sell below RM100k… They can save R&D cost…