R3 Artiga in the metal on show at Proton Power of 1

Say hello to the R3 Artiga… again. We previously saw this concept car in Shanghai) and now the Artiga is here, at the Proton Power of 1 in all its metal glory.

There’s a bit more information about the Artiga this time around. We already know that the engine is a supercharged Campro unit that’s good for 180 hp and 240 Nm of torque. The Artiga can do its 0-100 km/h sprint in 7.6 seconds and hits maximum speed at 235 km/h.

The Artiga sports Cusco Zero-3G height and damping adjustable coil-overs at the front and rear, possibly to take advantage of the partnership between Proton and Cusco (read about it here). Stopping power comes courtesy of Endless ventilated rotors and four pot calipers, but only for the front. The rear is equipped with solid brakes.

It’s not a pure concept car per se; you can see that it is a Satria Neo underneath all that extra body kit. The grille and light assembly has also been revised to make it look more aggressive. The one big difference is the ‘eyebrow’ (indicators?) is now in amber instead of the ‘clear’ as seen in Shanghai. It is eye-catching, nonetheless.

No pictures of the interior though. The car is locked tight when I was making my rounds.

But the Artiga is not here just for show. Proton R3 is conducting a survey to see just how much you like the Artiga and what you think can be improved. Could Proton R3 be launching what could be the hottest Satria Neo yet?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• samsam on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:00 pm

wow, fast. i just back from there this car really awesome!

• A regular VW GTI eat this for food…

• armandd on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:44 pm

You’re sure ’bout that?

• kamaji on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:44 am

Sure enough & fully agreeable but with the VW GTI, the bank will eat you up for lunch on the repayment itself.

• I am no too sure.. this thing is surely lighter than the VW… I haven’t driven a Neo, but I hear it handles decently too..

• now thats what i call a HOT hatch!

• redribbon on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:19 pm

nope. still not there yet. a lot of rooms for improvement especially the interior. exterior wise just strip those excessive wheel arches and it’ll be better. they’re just overkill.

• IMHO those excessive wheel arches is a must if they want to put bigger tires (n in doing so, improve the handling of the car) into satria neo…

• dzulx on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Not going to be there but these are things they can improve

1.. Interior.. soft touch, higher perceived quality material for seat dashboard.. everything.. In fact make it on par with VW Golf.. that should be fine…

2. Manual is great but in reality auto sells.. Option for auto tranny, no CVT please as we need ample torque from the engine..unless CVT can handle..

3..Lower seat height… bucket type or something… new seat too cheapo and not deep making the sitting position quite high..

4.. steering wheel… change it please.. its ugly

5. current trend –> panoramic roof like 308..

6. If the intention to make it ultimate car..engine output must be at least 200hp…Megane RS/GTI is the benchmark..

7.. Drilled rotor … tell me it doesnt look nice..

8… Externally.. well I think its a bit over the top.. but well beauty is subjective anyway..

9.. and lastly.. put everything P321a has

Actually satria neo is a good car and handsome.. but the interior looks very cheap..such a turn off..

Dun mind if the price goes beyond 100K mark.. its an ultimate car anyway..

• harris murad on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:37 am

SUPER LIKE!

• in general, proton interior is cheap. only certain model got moderate quality (perdana/waja). as for neo its just dirt cheap. make it par as waja also ok.

180hb/240nm is good number.

but the most important thing for me is safety. our national really lack of that.

• faizal on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

sprintex!!

• Kampung style upgrading witn ugly body kit, proton better get a group good designer for future vehicle.

• redribbon on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:32 pm

It’s a concept for goodness sake. If you dislike it tell that to Proton. They’re are still conducting a survey if u did read the article down to the last word. all haters please..don’t just bash without solutions. suggest improvements too. I don’t own a Proton nor Perodua. but still i’m proud we have our own national brands. so please with all due respect be a little mindful and contribute something positive too.

• kampung mana boleh upgrade macam tu, meh sini kongsi.

• Kampung style upgrading with ugly body kit, proton better get a group good designer for future vehicle.

• asahiyakuza on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Demm.. I want one.. but if Proton ever sell this… it may comes around 100K mark.. *sigh*

• kereta_lembu on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm

It actually looks pretty darn good for a PROTON. This is what they should be doing if they really want to make a meaningful presence in the car industry. There will always be PROTON bashers and haters and rightly so given the current line up of cars we have now but if they can produce kick-ass cars like this one here, I’m sure there will be a lot less haters and bashers.

• udm4747 on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:32 pm

poor man’s impreza… hahahaha wat a rip off proton.

• alien.workshop on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:26 pm

wow.. comparing it with impreza? that means this car has potential. Like how U can get Ferrari-like performance in a GT-R. Cheaper but heck it smokes almost anything.

• dude, have u seen impreza before? even the segment is different

• this car needs a more daring color scheme and a more flared wheel arches for starters.

• makeitmine on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Can Artiga beat the Mini Cooper S Countryman 1.6 (A) specs? 0-100km/h can smoke Mini Cooper? Let’s have a competition. Artiga deserves some recognition for all the effort.

Here’s the Mini Cooper S Countryman 1.6 (A) specs:

Engine
    Engine capacity 1,598 cc
    Engine type 4-cylinders in-line Twin-scroll turbocharged
    Compression ratio 10.5
    Bore x Stroke (77.0 x 85.8) mm
    Power 184 bhp
    Torque 240 Nm

Performance
    Acceleration 7.9s (0-100 kmh)
    Top speed 210 kmh
    Fuel consumption 14.1 km\Lts

• Muryadi on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

On paper it’s surely can…

There is a bit more information about the Artiga this time around. We already know that the engine is a supercharged CAMPRO that is good for 180 hp and 240 Nm of torque. The Artiga can do its zero to hundred sprint in 7.6 seconds and hits maximum speed at 235 km/h.

• All this comparison, and no one talks about the power to weight ratio. Although I’m not a Proton fan, let’s give credit where it’s due.

Satria Neo – 1,200 kg,
      R3 – 995kg.
      GTI – 1,300kg
      Countryman – 1,385kg
      Polo – 1,194kg

I’d say it will probably beat the GTI and Countryman, but maybe just edge out the Polo.

• khairulx19a on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:11 pm

out of topic, when proton going to develop estate car????

• YeapyEvo on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Suggestions :

1) Must have manual
    2) Better interior and sitting position
    3) Possible to make it into 4 doors?
    4) Price it below RM90k with all the goodies as shown above, and set Golf Gti as the target market in overseas

• sulaimansor on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:23 pm

the front look very impreza…

• ss427 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:26 pm

OMG, and its supposed to be a factory modded bodykit?

The whole thing looks so droppy and yes, really kampong style. It looks more like some cheap, tasteless DIY efforts that a Satira owner would do in a ….kampong during his free days…

The Satira already looks quite dated in today’s automotive scene, the bodykit made it worse.

Ok so maybe the supercharged Campro is worth a look, but what kind of reliability and refinement can we expect from the hot rodded engine? Opps… reliability and Proton doesnt go together….LOL :)

• George911 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Can’t they think of a better name?

• abg.padil on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

U try suggest a better name. let’s see how many people like it. then we can all propose it to proton.

• john f kennedy on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:31 pm

typical upgrade (bodykits etc etc) which i can go to sunway and have they custom made it for me heheheheheh betol tak proton?

• abg.padil on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:57 pm

yup.. U want to mention they’re cheaper too, don’t U? and while u at it why not go and find the supercharger too. typical upgrade right?

• asdfg12345 on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:53 pm

supercharger is a simple bolt on kit only. find proreka sprintex supercharger. they only make for campros.

• irobot on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Kampung Designers with kampung bodykit, kampung materials, and kampung paint.. what an ugly my A$$ car….

• maxisbroadbandsux on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Wah.. so Bandar la U.. Can’t accept kampung’s products. Even rich people in town have to eat vegetables from kampung U know. No need to be bragging too much. It’s still a concept and Proton is gathering feedback of the car. So if U don’t have anything constructive U better shut the F**k up. What an @$$h0Le.

• ZenZarray on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:21 pm

haiyo….ArTiga is design concept by the Japanese..and the original is Neo design by Malaysian…The Artiga is Japanese using Malaysian Platform….and how can u say Kampung Design….Japan=Kampung?? hahaha

One Does Not Simply . . .

Comment Without Searching.

• Wake up lah u guys, japanese r not that stupid, giving u the latest concept car design.

• Japanese r tat stupid giving the latest concept design to proton lah please, wake up lah u guys

• Ei Wei on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm

What’s so wrong with KAMPUNG? I live in a kampung and I love to live there?

• Gavin on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:44 pm

i’m interested

• lan87 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:48 pm

front looks very nice… but whats wit those fugly arches on the sides at the rear? dem fugly…

• mystvearn on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm

R3 = Ar Tiga. Nice name there :)

If R4 = Ar Empat :P?

• mzrivaldo10 on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:00 pm

the body kit is really ugly. like tampal2 one. but performance wise. great engine! if sell in malaysia. plz make it under 60k….though it might aroung 70 or 80. plz for once think about malaysian salary condition.

ps=love only the engine.if buy, take out engine, put it on gti or neo r3.heheh.

• Mazda freak on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:05 am

Do a better one and price it higher. eg 100k. Otherwise the road will be full of rempit driving this car and endanger other drivers.

• fariq on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

gotta stop trying to revive the satria gti look with those bolted flares.. the neo is already a good looking car ..

• Diesel monster on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:21 pm

compression ratio 10.5:1..quite high for force induction

• SakMyDik on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:26 pm

What a Beast from R3.
    Civic, you better get your arse ready!

• sk8didas on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:37 pm

THIS CAR IS FAST… believe me

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:41 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:36 pm

it is official!! a copy and paste comment from P1 cybertrooper.
      Check out previous thread.

• dont just talking..go booking ur lovely protong and go play jauh2..toyota,honda and other brand that u call kereta lembu is among their class of best..u must admit it la..

• Scary car. Will you trust your life to this?

• ts = transgendered

• Just like I thought these kampung supporters. all have cloud for brains. A bit of water but mostly air.

• an651 on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:13 am

sure i believe. FYI all cars on Msian road tested by JPJ… can u outsmart JPJ?

• child.of.eden on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:37 pm

If you think a car is scary you better not drive that car or you better not drive any car at all. it’s all down to the driver. buses should be limited to 90 km/h on the highway. but more often than not they’re on the right lane overtaking cars that does 110km/h. and what’s behind it? Kancil..Viva..old Iswara..you get me. scary bus? NO. scary driver?YES. you don’t put your life on cars or any other man-made machines. It’s in your hand and of course your God. but try drive sensibly with anticipation and you’ll be ok..whatever cars you’re in. don’t get me started with non-national cars that doesn’t come standard with airbags and those acronyms..ABS..EBD..ESP bla..bla..bla..

• as an owner of GOLF i’m impressed with the car esp the engine performance
    torque same as golf tsi
    hp is higher than golf tsi
    topspeed is higher tha golf tsi

goodluck and congratz proton

• Mazda freak on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:13 am

Golf TSI is not a race car but for family use. should match it with Golf Gti.

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:39 pm

satrio neo is in fact the best looking car from proton

• brendan on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm

nice car…i think they made a gd mve at supercharging it instead of BOT…front facelift looking bad ass…me likey…performance figures looks promising and i like the cusco and endless hardware..
    but i think they should put in a role cage like how they did on the neo clubman…or make that an option if its gnna be inconvenient to some…
    since its gnna be marketed to boyracers..this would make it the ultimate boyracer package…
    but cost wise…fingers crossed…
    cheers!

• witchy on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Loving the front, kinda hate the rear. Like the above comment, ditch the excessive bolted-on rear arches, the R3 Neo looks pretty damn good already. If Proton releases this car without the fugly fenders and better quality interior below 100k, I’l definitely trade in my Honda for this.

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:06 pm

I doubt satria neo is the best looking car fr proton, the prettiest still putra, followed close by satria gti!!

• Getty on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Proton really lost their sense of direction- rebadge, R3 (puke), Turkish market, wau shaped grill, consistency in product design and flair. It’s not about bashing proton but they will make themselves the one to get it.

• 99ners on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:21 pm

If below 100k.. I’ll definitely buy this car..

• kobealex on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Rumors has it R3 may not release any bolt-on or supercharger kit this year (or even not at all) for Neo after change of management… sad news, was looking forward to hv it in ma Neo CPS.

• Sambal Belacan on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:46 pm

If the front of current Saga Flx look like this Artiga, i’m sure FLX sales will increase drastically.

• outsider says on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm

the name r3 artiga should change to satria gti .
    the rear body kit really typical ah beng too extreme and ugly.
    led light instead of eyebrown
    the color of car plus the rim are not match at all everything look so dark !

• gen2manual on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:35 am

Gti is trademark for volkswagen. Now only wolkswagen car can use that name..

R3 Artiga is a fine name. Should associate the name with satria neo s2000, barulah gempak.

• outsider says on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:41 pm

change to satria gti instead of artiga sound very funny !
    installed the led light instead of eyebrown.
    the rear body kit too extreme and very ugly
    the color of the car plus the rim look so dark it doesnt match at all !

• DArkerMarker on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:05 am

why the diffuser looked like cut off? cosmetic only ar?

• niceone on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:23 am

Proton, how about the promised APRC-edition yellow supercharged Neo? I’ve been anticipating that model. Make it more or less 200hp mark, 6-speed manual transmission, much improved interior (similar to upcoming P3-21A perhaps?), and you’ve got a potential buyer here.

• Me liking it!

A lil comment though.
    1. the rear arches should go on a diet a bit. a little thick i supposed
    2. Lose the bolts for the flared arches. mold a new fender and rear quarter panel
    3. Rear diffuser is a little bit overboard dont you think? (dont follow focus RS’s rear diffuser, too massive!)

The shape has the resemblance of impreza Ver 10 and some hints of Focus RS.

Very2 aggressive! loving it guys

• nighttrain on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:12 pm

I love the widebody conversion but should look built-in smoothly instead of bolt-on. Australian’s would love this car.. They have a thing for Satria. Ccleaner lines for the front, looks too busy. Safety features should match Polo GTi.

• Ken. T on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:14 am

Just realized something.

ARTIGA, AR TIGA,
    AR=R
    TIGA=3

ARTIGA=R3

Is that how they come up with the name?? LOL

• l_beck on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:25 am

“The Artiga can do its 0-100 km/h sprint in 7.6 seconds and hits maximum speed at 235 km/h”
    I don’t agree

• tengku amirul on Feb 14, 2018 at 11:24 pm

harap kereta ni jual dekat malaysia …. kalau ade jual, nk beli … body smart sgt …