VIDEO: Proton Preve Hatchback doing highway runs

Here’s yet another sighting of the soon to be launched Proton Preve Hatchback. However, this time around we get to see the P3-22A doing some high speed runs on the NKVE, plus a bonus video of it in action, thanks to alert reader Farhan Akmal.

As a recap, the previous sighting was by our colleague William in Damansara last week, showing a group test with multiple units racking up urban miles together. One of the mules wore smaller steel wheels instead of the big alloys on today’s car – a hint that there will be multiple specs on offer.

You’ve seen the test mules before – in January, on the 6th, 10th, 16th and 28th – so this sighting reveals nothing new, just another sign that the P3-22A is coming soon. No one knows exactly how soon though, so in the meantime, have a look at Theophilus Chin’s renderings here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pumped Up Kicks!

• PhuckMe on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Harder, faster, stronger phuck mmmme @wilsonrock95

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 141
        • Proton is not all at fault here. Proton is just a shell to cover up stuff. Look deeper and vote wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 92
        • Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Who said Jaguh Kampung No. 2 is a disgrace to all Malaysians????

Our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 is a proud to the followings: –
          1) The driving Cayenne SUV Chairman-TDM
          2) Die-hard blind supporters!
          3) Cronies
          4) AP Kings who benefit from AP!

Proof me wrong Jimmy, when you said “all”, you are utter bullshits!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 111
          • Dru-Zod on Apr 27, 2013 at 7:47 am

DRB also won’t drive Proton. All brand new Audi A6 with special plates. Go and see in the COSE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 59
        • policeman on Apr 26, 2013 at 7:56 pm

I don’t struggle to pay loans. First of all I don’t buy what I can’t afford.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
    • mattshox on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Pumped Up Kicls is like one of the best song ever, like ever :-)

• Don’t remove the cover coz it looks so much better than remove it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • side profile does look nice. is that 17″? so this the performance variant? preve gti?

• jimmy kang on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:58 pm

what a shitty look, pervert!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 61
  • boooooooringggggggg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 55
  • lalalalala on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:10 pm

can some one tell me wat car this guy is driving??? it look like a rx 8 to me

• what do we want?! the preve hatchback!! when do we want it?! now!! what do we expect from it?! a 2.0L n/a (turbocharged is even better) e01 with those 17-inch rims!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • lalalalala on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:12 pm

fyi i mean the guy video-ing this

• curious on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:19 pm

just a random thought. can the “22” in P3-22A stand for 2.2L ?correct me if i am wrong . i am just wandering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Ah pek on Apr 26, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Who cares what car he is driving.
    Better dont go so close. Tyre might come offffffff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
  • the real DRL seems really bright.

• dewaSemut on May 01, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Yaa lah… perhaps Preve hatchback is equipped with Preve Hatchback with DRLs as opposed to LED position lamp as in Preve sedan (hope Proton will upgrade it to DRL too).. This model wants to enter European market perhaps?

• wickiwild on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:01 pm

the guy is driving inspira 1.8mt

• DonkeyKong on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Proton test drivers do midnight runs from Tg Malim all the way to Hicom Shah Alam on Saturday nights at around 2.30am to 3am or so, reaching Hicom after 4am. I’ve gone on a few chases and at times, some modded Wiras and Hondas who spot these cars try to outrace them. And guess what – these other cars get blown away!

Some curious drivers in continental cars like VW and BMW who happen to spot the convoy of 1 Preve + 3 hatches will give chase and could keep up, and the hatches could seemingly do 180-200km/h effortlessly while weaving between lanes. Truly impressive.

If you guys have the time, you can linger around the north-south highway on saturdays after midnight, and if you’re lucky you’ll catch these speed demons in action!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Go and do 180 km/h, not only speedster, but endanger other life! Why on earth go and catch this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 at midnight!

Remember, local version do not equip with 6 airbag and not 5 Star ANcap rating! They are lucky do not end up in crash!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 58
      • wrong on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:03 am

this time u r wrong. Since DRB Hicom took over, they want all proton cars to be the same around the world. Meaning the model sold in australia is the same spec with model sold in malaysia. No more di anak tirikan.

dont believe me? just wait for the launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
        • pirlo on Apr 27, 2013 at 1:41 am

agreed. i hope Kamil Jamil hold his words.

• So when is the Preve here gonna be quiped with 2 more airbags? That’s not that hard right?

• Proton Staff on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:23 am

Preve HB will be releasing on somewhere in June.
        The car is targeted for import market, and for local people, they will get the same import version.

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • mystvearn on May 01, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Can I know price range? About the same as current one? Slightly more? I heard bigger LCD, reverse camera and leather seat?

• impise on Apr 27, 2013 at 1:14 am

Your conti car doesn’t good enough at corners. Forget it if you want to chase them

• DonkeyKong on Apr 27, 2013 at 2:43 am

Dumbass, that’s why they do it at a time when there’s very few cars on the road! They weave between LANES, not between VEHICLES!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Peyno on Apr 27, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Local preve has 4 airbags which is above standard malysuan market car 2 airbag like civic, vios, csmry, honda
        Prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • 4g63t DSM on Apr 26, 2013 at 7:04 pm

TG Malim to Sg buloh bit of the NSH is quite fun. 200+ is certainly possible with a well sorted car even at the corners. It’s a good test of the cars suspension as the dips and undulation in the turns will properly upset a car that is ill tuned.

That’s why you see all these stiffly sprung modded Wira and Civics all get thier doors blown off by seemingly normal cars with stock suspensions. The Germans are especially well composed around these bends.

Even my little 120hp satria with good suspension tuning will comfortably do 200 around the bends flat out. People tend to make the mistake of thinking stiff=good handling.

I’m particularly tempted by the Preve hatch. Much more useful than the sedan and most likely better looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • ExoBold89 on May 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

I do agree, that stretch is the most fun in any highway in Malaysia that I’ve driven on so far. Taking corners are more fun and relaxed for stock cars, especially my Bold. The exit of each corners can well test your car’s capability, as the exit speed is very high (in which I’ve tested using three different cars). :D German cars especially will leave any other cars in the dust on this stretch of PLUS highway. Give way to em, and watch em. haha..

• driver on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Nice silhouette..

• Expatriate VN on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Do so much road test, after on market for 2 or 3 weeks, the respond is “amat-dukacita” then another disappointed sales but a lot of talking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • Peyno on Apr 27, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Again .. This car is to cater global market .. Not malaysia kampung market like u.. So they dint care sales in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • after selling thousand of them, only 2-3 of the owners said they are ‘amat dukacita’…

• llgriver on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:22 pm

i can see it’s dawn light very bright..er..day light

• _xXx_ on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:56 pm

I will consider buying one if the engine is not a macampro and gearbox is not a shitVT but 6MT…

• Sharon on Apr 26, 2013 at 7:13 pm

The sport rims seems like no more black tape.

• Tune man on Apr 26, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Come on Malaysia,

How much longer you need to test drive the car or is for personal usage.

It’s been awhile to see this masked cars running here and there wasting time.

It’s time to let it go on launching before Toyota Vios beat ya.

Think Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • wrong on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:06 am

jgn jadi bodoh bro. All cars need to undergo certain tests. And some tests need like 150,000 km for durability test.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
      • indeed. just make 2 shifts run day and night, lets say, each 500km. you do the maths how long will it take to complete the total durability. plus, there are not only 1 stage required.

• Bro…ur iq is really low….u cant simply produce a car n market it in 2-3months.all d carmakers test their car for a period…n….u cant compare vios dugong with preve….its different class….u guys…think dat vios crap is a good car…..then u bettr consult a doctor…

• ryuki on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:09 am

Locoman,….where is Proton business plan ?

• awie mohd on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:38 pm

sy da tgk da bahagian interior model ini…dashboard sama mcm preve…tp material nmpak lebih bermutu…kerusi kulit warna hitam…dan apa yg dpat sy pastikan tranmision manual 6kelajuan…pd pandangan saya…model ini mempunyai trim yg terbaek dlm barisan model proton…tapi malang skali…sy tidak dibenarkan snap sebarang gambar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • lauktan on Apr 28, 2013 at 9:01 am

That’s good news…where can i place my booking? Wish to be the first few owners of the 6mt Preve…

• if i’m not mistaken, around september 2013. this coming june is only for auto.

• sompua on Apr 28, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Since taken over by DRB, Proton has gone through from bad to worst. I pitty you guys at Proton, pray hard and wish you all the best. All indicators are pointing to your demise, slowly and steadyly. Your market share is shringking day by day, your export market is peanut, and you continue to making cars above 60K, which is not affordable for the majority of the peolple. The market for 60K to 100K is the fiercest with many Japs, Korean and Continental cars which you cannot beat due to perception (and some time reality) that your car is of inferior quality, performance and standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
    • kmpnier on Apr 28, 2013 at 7:23 pm

1.6 Turbo also bad performance? Oh yeah it is. Only if you compare that with 5.0l V6 engine in a sport car. LOL

• rosdi on Apr 29, 2013 at 6:48 pm

I bought a Exora CFE. I could not be more satisfied for my purchase. What an excellent MPV. The torque is so addictive. How is that Proton going from bad to worse?

• awie mohd on Apr 28, 2013 at 3:21 pm

saya ada bertanyakan ttg enjin apakah yg digunakan…tp saya xdpt jawapan…apa yg bole saya katakan…sistem ekzos utk kereta nie jauh lebih besar dr preve…dan saya sempat tgk model nie accelerate…bole dikatakan ‘awesome’…utk safety…4airbag da pasti…sbb bole nampak dkt seat bahagian depan ada tag airbag…pada pandangan saya…kemungkinan mereka sedang menguji enjin petronas juga mkin satu kebarangkaian…pecutannya bole dikatakan seperti sebuah model EVO…kali nie sy impress dengan model nie…yg paling sy kagum adalah trim utk model ini…

• I thought the current preve already hatchback!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • youbodok on Apr 28, 2013 at 9:05 pm

I thought the current civic/mazda3 already hatchback! Sounds familiar?

• lovers on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:57 am

This car mybe have been reduced total of weight compared to the previous one p3-21A..and also on the aspect improvement based on quality and performance with adding 6 manual cvt..For me preve are the great car from Malaysia..based on the performance and effeciency with 1.6 liter turbo compared with other car on the same class…

• Ahmadfaris93 on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Why camo ? Just show it la. It’s just a Proton anyway, it’s not a Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • pirlo on Apr 29, 2013 at 8:04 pm

i believe you are now 20 years old, am i right? do you know how automotive business run? do you know that the confidential future products can affect current potential buyers?

• Oh i see, only Ferrari can camo their cars lol

• awie mohd on Apr 29, 2013 at 2:03 pm

bagi pandangan mata saya…gear knob 6kelajuan tuh mmg nmpak cun..mmg nmpak sporty

• mystvearn on Apr 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Anyone know when this will launch? Surely after GE-13. No heavy mask so design should be final.

• thedarkside on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:27 pm

everytime when there is news about proton, we will sure see lots of comments….no matter how much we hated proton, it just proves that we actually care about our national car company..keh keh keh…admit it you people.

• Preve has traction control, ESP and 7 gear CVT, many expensive cars don’t.

• Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 7:08 pm

I choose preve HB with CVT protronic 7 speed more than manual…

• Protiga on May 16, 2013 at 3:23 pm

The Proton Preve Hatchback will be an instant winner if the back design follows something like that of the Ford Fiesta but selling around 6OK. It must designed to win.