F32 BMW 4-Series Coupe – full details & gallery

The new F32 BMW 4-Series Coupe has been officially revealed by BMW, and when it hits the showroom floors it will replace the E92 3-Series Coupe. Like it’s four door sibling, it will come with various engines from a 420d all the way up to a 435i, and it will be joined later by a Convertible bodytype to replace the E93 as well as a new Gran Coupe variant.

The new 4-er Coupe has a wider track, a lower ride height and a longer wheelbase than the E92 Coupe that it replaces. The car’s widest point is the rear wheel arch, which helps with appearing athletic. The centre of gravity is said to be below 500mm, which is claimed to be the lowest centre of gravity of any BMW model currently on sale. It’s also on average lighter – up to 45kg lighter depending on the engine and equipment specified.

One new design element that we’ve already seen on previously unveiled cars such as the 3-Series GT are the air breathers positioned on the fenders behind the front wheels. These are functional items which help reduce drag in that area. No halogen reflectors here – xenon headlamps are standard, but you can also upgrade to full-LED headlamps.

As per the 3-Series Sedan, there are three ‘Lines’ (Sport, Luxury and Modern) as well as an M Sport package to choose from, giving the 4-Series Coupe four distinct exterior and interior looks. The M Sport package comes with the M Sport suspension, which can also be ordered separately. The M Sport suspension offers a firmer spring/damper setup and anti-roll bars. Of course the top of the line choice would be the lowered adaptive suspension option which allows switching between comfort or sport biased modes.

The interior is an evolution of the 3-Series Sedan’s, with most of the differences being on the door cards. Just like the E92 before it, there are automatic belt feeders to you don’t have to kill your back trying to reach for your seat belts. The iDrive controller is now upgraded to the latest Touch Controller, allowing touch and handwriting input.

The top of the line until the new M4 is out is of course the 306hp/400Nm 435i Coupe, which is joined at launch time by a 245hp/350Nm 428i and a 184hp/380Nm 420d as well. The numbers for these engine options are pretty much the same as the car’s sedan counterpart, and these options will be joined by other options such as a 313hp/630Nm 435d, 258hp/560Nm 430d and 184hp/270Nm 420i sometime in the future. Gearbox options are either 6-speed manual or 8-speed automatic. The 428i and 435i can also be had with xDrive all wheel drive as an option.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Veneno on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:07 pm

sexy..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • AudiMenz on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I agree!! oh no as i might change my Audi A5 for this…. looking awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
      • How many times to repeat the same front. Beemer doesn’t have idea already. All look same, pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • Megane on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:21 am

Ahhhh , your A5 is just a recon , nothing to shout about .no proper warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 44
        • Dude, whats wrong with ur comment? How you noe its a recon? Typical Malaysian mentality, cant bear coz ppl is driving Audi? To me, doesnt matter its a recon or new. Its still an Audi. Perfect if opted for Quattro. Sorry if u cant drive one yet. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
          • He cant afford even is a RECOND!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
          • syok sendiri on Jun 18, 2013 at 4:36 pm

..can’t even afford a AIRCONDition.. thats why so envy..

• Dude I’m driving a recon e-coupe with just 228k. Kiss my ass with your Accord or Camry.

• Jimmy on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:04 am

What is the use beautiful when pariah BMW Malaysia ONLY give 2 years warranty? You know why they are the ONLY car company giving a mere 2 year warranty? Its because just exactly 730 days later, most people have experienced total gearbox failure. Be prepared to fork out RM80k for a replacement. Tak cantiq when MBM gives 4 years for Mercedes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 15
  • sudonano on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:26 pm

FASTER. I want the Gran Coupe <3. Awesome car.

• Jimmy on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Good aftersales means keep your promise properly; if the item claimed is still under warranty, don’t simply said it is not; if it is your fault, rectify it properly.
    Similarly, shame to you if you can afford luxurious vehicles and yet when a particular part breaks down due to your fault, you just go and make a warranty claim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • It is indeed a nice car, but it will be better if it looks perfectly like this.
    http://paultan.org/2012/12/06/bmw-concept-4-series-coupe-previewed/

• I think BMW reserve this design especially the head lamp for coming M4/M3

• Joshua Ling on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:20 pm

sexy beast, but somehow the red one doesn’t speak to me as much as some other colours like white or grey. and like 6 series, imho, the gem of the whole range will be the gran coupe again! can’t wait to see it unveiled!!

• King kong on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Sigh, my dream car….

• key-el on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:44 pm

BMW got series from 1 to 8 and all the front is same! Only the rear is different. It deserves bashing because worse than Proton LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Oh la la, awesome….. When will it arrive Malaysia? 420i will do for me. Previous model 320i coupe was really “slow”… I can imagine the experience in a 420i. Drive a 320i but faster, better handling and lower

• AudiSuxs on Jun 17, 2013 at 6:49 am

Its simply BEAUTIFUL

Excellent Quality Finish

Thumbs up BMW !

• AKULA on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:55 am

Huhuhuhuhu…I WANT THAT F32 BLUE COLOUR. BUT, LIVING IN MALAYSIA, MOST OF US CAN ONLY DREAM FOR CAR LIKE THIS!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • U can only dream of owning this car even if u r in overseas if u decided to ‘dream for car like tat’. Co u r not even determined to work towards owning it!!! Lol! Wrong way of conveying a msg to show how expensive cars in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • vee-oh on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:12 am

somehow 420d, 435i, M4 sounds just right..sounds new & expensive

• Beemer Boy on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:19 am

Finally the E92 has taken a new avatar to continue it’s proud heritage…awaiting the epic M4!

• protondiehardfans on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:41 am

Why people dream of this subpar car?It is inferior for proton.I will keep my satria until bmw have a better car to match with proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Alson P on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

So this F32 replacing the M3 E92….. three ‘Lines’ (Sport, Luxury and Modern) as well as an M Sport package….. And 8 speed AT will be great but warranty only 2 years…

• I’m waiting for the RECOND. Cant be bother buying new after i loss so much on my Audi S4 but i still go for continental over the Japs!
    Once a continental u’ll never look back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • 4seriesforme on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:51 pm

How much it cost for the 420i? thats the main point. lol

• ryantan on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:02 pm

not bad looking car. still cant beat my Ferrari 599 gto tho.

• slapyourface on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:29 am

You are only good at bullshitting.I reckon your don’t even own a proton.