Fiat 500L Living – the 500 family welcomes an MPV

Fiat 500L Living-02

Fiat must be thinking if MINI can do it, so can we. We’re talking about range expansion from a modern icon, and the Italian brand has released the first official photos of the Fiat 500L Living, an MPV version of the 500L variant, itself an enlarged five-door version of the chic Fiat 500. The car will be called Fiat 500L MPW (Multi Purpose Wagon) in the UK.

To debut next month, the new car has the charm of the 500, the agility of a city car, as compact as a mid-size car, the comfort and contents of a C-segment station wagon or saloon, and the space and the versatility of an MPV, says Fiat.

The 500L Living is 210 mm longer than the 500L on which it is based, and sits 10 mm higher, with the same width. This is a 5+2 seater, not a full sized seven seater, and Fiat is proud that the Living is the most compact of its kind. It’s highlighted that despite being 20 cm shorter than a typical C-segment wagon, boot space with rear seats down is 638 litres, 238 litres more than the 500L.

Fiat 500L Living-04

At launch, the Fiat 500L Living will come with two petrol engines – a 95 hp 1.4 and a 105 hp 900 cc TwinAir Turbo – as well as two turbodiesels: 105 hp 1.6 MultiJet II and 85 hp 1.3 MultiJet II, the latter available with automatic transmission.

The range includes two trim levels (Pop Star and Lounge), both with five or seven seats, 19 body colours (including 11 two-tone combinations) and six interior trims, plus 15 different types of alloys and hub caps. If it sounds like a lot, it is – Fiat says that no fewer than 282 combinations are possible, so it will be hard to bump into another 500L Living that’s identical to yours.

The family 500 will be made at the Kragujevac factory in Serbia, and order books will open next month.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Too bad Fiat is as good as dead in Malaysia… :(

• motorhead on Jun 20, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Malaysia boleh.. But fiat tak boleh. I have to agree with the statement above.

• Will Fiat make a comeback in Malaysia?

My family still own a 97 turbo diesel Fiat Ulysse, it was a great, big, and spacious car. I had so much memories in it.

But Fiat dealership network in Malaysia do suck, hope they will return back in Malaysia

• The back really looks like an overblown version of the new mini cooper

• alahai.. laku ke ni?

• scarlet on Nov 06, 2013 at 8:15 am

I thought Naza will bring in Fiat in M’siA. Torino Motor failed because of the prices, so greedy at last no one wants it. I’m owning the latest version of the Punto Grande & looking forward to this.

• Rizal Yusof on Dec 04, 2013 at 8:53 pm

What is the price for this car???

• mahayudin on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:07 pm

hi… i currently drive a 2005 fiat panda, i love how its handle the road… i would love one if the price is right . Many Malaysian don’t like a fiat because of their history in sales and services but other brand also had their own issues.
    At least i would not be worried about car thief syndicate snatching my car. No sane crook would want it unless for joy ride if i accidentally leave the key in.