Caterham 620R for Goodwood debut – new range-topper is most powerful production Seven ever

caterham-620r-d

Say hello to the mighty Caterham 620R. The new top-of-the-range model is set to make its first public appearance at this weekend’s Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Don’t let its unassuming looks catch you out – its supercharged 2.0 litre Ford Duratec motor produces 311 hp at 7,700 rpm and close to 300 Nm of torque at 7,350 rpm, making it the most powerful production Seven ever made.

As a direct result, the lightweight sports car can do the century sprint in a neck-snapping 2.8 seconds and is capable of a top speed of nearly 250 km/h (not with no roof, thank you).

The Caterham 620R features a gunmetal chassis held up by De Dion rear suspension and 13-inch alloys. Its nose cone is designed to optimise airflow, and there’s a race-developed cooling system. The driver faces a race-spec steering wheel and performance-focussed gauges amidst a sea of carbon fibre.

Certainly, it’s a far cry from the crossover SUV and subcompact car Caterham is planning!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• I would looooove to have this for cruising around town or layan Karak highway for balik kampung, feel the air breeze… if I can afford it tho. =\

• Sam Loo on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:40 am

2.8 !!!!?????
    My neck sure patah !!

• theanswer on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:04 am

must be scary to drive this at 250. but 2.8 sec sprint is awesome.

• longjaafar on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:48 am

13″ alloys..Hmmmmm..Must be a chore to search for stockists for that size…

• lembu jinni on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:54 am

juvenile of hot rod…..no small block V8

• goshh on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:27 pm

aha, so it is supercharged.
    http://life.caterham.co.uk/news/telegram-from-caterham-hq-the-seven-620-r-is-unleashed

• kadajawi on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Wasn’t there a Caterham V8? Or were they produced in too limited numbers? They weren’t produced by Caterham directly, and only 8 of them, but they were very powerful. These cars had 500+ hp, so about 1000 hp per tonne…

• Thats tuned by RS Performance…not Caterham official car…
      From caterham would be R500…263hp…
      and R600 275hp…

• why used ford engine.thought mr.tony said that all the new models will use Renault engines..

• Basic Driver on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:43 pm

What i would like to see from Caterham in malaysia is the basic caterham 7. nothing too fancy, a simple 2 liter, inline 4, around 160- 180hp, <800kg, manual 5 spd.

manual everything to cut cost, manual windows, no power steering ( since the car is light it should not be a problem), no stereo.

maybe a basic air conditioning since it is malaysia after all.

and the most important, a sub 80k price tag, CKD it or make it a kit form, i'm sure there are plenty of Malaysian workshops are qualified enough to assemble it and send it for JPJ inspection.

• Kalun on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Almost all Caterham 7 has no air-conditioned, no power assisted steering, no windows, no stereos.
      It just a basic kit car that you can build yourself in your garage with a book full of instructions.

There is a package. A ready made Caterham 7 is much more expensive than a non ready made Caterham

• Basic Driver on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm

i know, but Caterham (even if arrival in Malaysia)will NOT be cheap, because of the tax structure in Malaysia, most car makers have to stuff in as many accessories as possible to make it look ” value for money”.

An Example :Do we actually need a MoonRoof on the Peugeot 308?

Another example : Lotus Elise, look at the price for a car which is basically toyota with Plastic body on a aluminium (albeit high tech) tub.

• Based on your Lotus Elise analogy, a Lamborghini is an Audi, a Bentley is a VW and a Rolls Royce is a BMW

• Unfortunately JPJ will never approve the Caterham 7 for road use. That’s why they’re not hitting the market

• ramzdan on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:31 am

cannot… must protect proton kao kao…