VIDEO: Polestar teases new hot Volvo – is it the V40?

Polestar, Volvo’s works racing team cum official performance tuning arm has just released this short and inconclusive video teaser about a new hot Volvo that will be unveiled in November 26. The clip doesn’t show the car at all, but it does include a rather delicious recording of the new car’s engine.

We are already awaiting the impending arrival of the V60 Polestar that we caught testing in the Nurburgring last month, yet the teaser’s smoky silhouette points at a much smaller vehicle, possibly one based on the V40 hatchback. Are we about to see a Polestar-tuned super V40? Yum indeed.

If it really is a Volvo V40 Polestar, we could be on the verge of getting a near-300 hp super Swede, as the Merc A-Class-sized five-door hatch already boasts a 254 hp turbocharged engine in its most potent form so far. Take a look at the V40 R-Design, painted in Polestar’s trademark Rebel Blue paintwork (shown below) to have an idea of what’s upon us.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sam69 on Nov 18, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Tail light looks like Honda CRV…:DDD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
    • dagreat on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:59 pm

CRV tail light look like volvo car…volvo have this design long time ago before the new crv…

• Honda is Cheap Japanese knockoff of European cars

• Joe Radzif on Nov 18, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Macam Suprima pun ada…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • How can you guys compare CRV or Suprima to this almighty Volvo??? Please don’t judge a book by its cover! Volvo also tends to be low profile…

• Joe Radzif on Nov 19, 2013 at 8:25 am

Bukan compare la bang…
      macam CRV jer…
      macam Suprima jer…

kikiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • dagreat on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:57 pm

have u seen the older volvo design..volvo xc60?? the rear lamp came long ago before the new crv come to our market…who’s copy who’s i think…

• Alfred on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:39 am

isnt the A class most potent form the AMG a45?

maybe you all writers should proof read their colleagues works, kind of misleading..

the polestar tuned v40 should be a direct competitor to amg a45. both done by tuning arms