Proton Iriz gets TCU remap for better CVT performance

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 005

The new Proton Iriz is a very likable car, no doubt about it. We found that it rides and drives beautifully in our full review last month, but there’s no denying that the CVT automatic gearbox’s sub-standard behaviour somewhat spoils the overall appeal of the new B-segment hatchback.

Proton is well aware of this issue, of course, and has since issued a new transmission control unit (TCU) update to improve the CVT’s performance. The software remap is said to result in better throttle response, as well as a more linear and predictable feel (when pulling off from a standstill, especially).

The improvements have already been applied to all Iriz models delivered to customers so far. The fix doesn’t involve any mechanical changes – as it’s just a simple TCU re-flash – so presumably it won’t help with the CVT whine.

We will try to get our hands on an updated test unit soon, and will report on the new differences – if there are any, that is. In the meantime, if you’ve taken delivery of a Proton Iriz with a CVT gearbox, do tell us how it performs in the comments section below.

Proton Iriz vs Perodua Myvi

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Proton used to complained about Myvi big azz. Now their own Iriz is even bigger. No wonder the size is bigger on paper but the interior is so small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 140
    • kurang zat makanan (kzm) on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm

30 years making car but still cannot get simple gearbox right. Punch is the only gearbox maker in the world kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 123
      • あきな on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:50 pm

patutla goblok..kurang zat rupanya…kesiannn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 10
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Like Proton technician said “Biasalah bang. Ni Proton mah”.

Funny thing is Proton FOREVER improving, but build quality FOREVER the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 58
        • Tak cukup vitamin “M” kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:23 pm

mane partner die… pee noo

• biasalah nama pun sudah PUNCH
        of course PUNCH Proton down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Ah Beng tested for 1.6 cvt. The performance was acceptable and promising which is better than previous model..Again remap doesn’t mean that the car having drawback but it was more to improving..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 14
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Sorry for the pathetic engine and gearbox. 1.6 CVT to make the B segment hatchback “acceptable” ONLY, while the fuel consumption is worse than Sonata.

Already expensive car price +
          high maintenance cost due to “awesome” build quality +
          “Best” fuel consumption =
          Deadly financial trap

You really need to be rich to afford this. In another word, Iriz owners are generally rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 77
          • Albert on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Samelorr,for top range Iriz,we might as well pay another 18 months of instalment to get VIos or City(with discounts year end now)or even the Almera is a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Albert:
            You can pay additional 18 month installment for top spec Iriz by getting POOR SAFETY SPEC CAR like Vios and Almera..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:45 pm

From the second you book Proton, your wallet, bank account, annual bonus are not safe. lol.

If you hit the tree at 100km/h, all the ESP, 7 airbags, ABS, TRC can’t help you also. Don’t forget it is Proton, Proton’s build quality is already remarkable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • CVT still whines like a b*tch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Improving ke? or you all discovered a serious problem and nothing can be done except remapping which is intangible.

• Hardly see any iriz on the road. Is it only me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
        • Rover (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:23 pm

So far only saw one moving on the roads… And it is a test unit xP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Macai on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Most of them are in workshop “upgrading”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • leoRNado on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Where the hell so called 30k – 40k bookings while only see few on the roads?.. I am staying in Klang Valley some more.. ke org kg je yg beli the rest 39998 unit iriz (hi-risk).

• Naim Hasbullah on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Apparently delivery begins on Feburary 2015. I’m not sure how a few people already have their units though. Waiting for mine as well. Can’t wait >< my first car :/

• Albert on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:43 pm

For protong,it is obvious why they ‘kau kau ‘depend on Punch powertrain.
        For another 30 years,they will still stick to Punch cos all the other gear box producers have gone into “Extinction”.No need to draw out the intestines(in Chinese,you see).
        All the good Japanese gearbox guys ran away when they see so much of politics involved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:19 pm

mane partner die.. pee noo

• OMG…lousy gearbox…puihhh..Myvi better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • No one must know on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Selamat berjaya Proton. Semoga jenama Proton berjaya seperti Hyundai apabila QC kereta mereka dahulu seperti Proton. Harap Proton berjaya mengembalikan kepercayaan rakyat Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 28
    • Mc Chicken on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Hmm ini sindiran atau pujian? Bagi saya Proton tidak perlu dibandingkan dengan pengeluar negara lain, asalkan RAKYAT Malaysia dapat membeli kereta yang harganya berpatutan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 42
      • Ananz on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Without meritocracy and competition there will be no progress and will forever be Jaguh Kampung. If not because of Myvi and cheap Jap B segment cars, Proton will continue to be complacent and cocky which resulted in their downfall from the mid 2000’s.
        Currently due to the heavy competition finally Proton is striving hard to improve

• Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Dulu masa dia no 1 so damn arrogant. Nak beli keta kena ikut dia. Bukan dia ikut what market want. At one time, all model sold at 2 colors only. Easy for their prodn but we dun hv choice n buy.

Market complaints, just blindfolded. Now is very tough time to regain the trust.

• peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:20 pm

now p2 n umw lak cocky… rakyat suruh bagi better safety features diorang cakap…. kami bagi taik pon macai beli

honda, nissan n others impriving

• ionlaw on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Should have fix this before launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 13
    • kurang zat makanan (kzm) on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Proton so scared about Perodua Axia. Same month launching but Axia already started production months back.

Poor planning by Proton. Ini macam kah mau jadi global car maker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 43
      • Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:12 pm

They supposed to run production and keep stock prior launch date. But due to Axia, they force to launch afraid of savvy karma. The best part, cheated people with 25k bookings on launching day.. what the fish!

• peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:24 pm

and all info from perodua are correct

jajhaa typicalmperodua macai

• peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:27 pm

see…. kutuk2 proton skit…. puji2 perodua skit… pastu claim anyi NAP n protection

hhaha
        typical p2 macai

• Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:15 pm

ionlaw:
      Difficult to find a perfect car with limited investment cost. Even the new Asiah semput-semput naik bukit..Should we blame Perodua on this? The current CVT doesn’t bring troublesome to Iriz but it was meant for harmonising the engine and drivetrain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0rr on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:45 pm

You think the rakyat is the car tester kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • rakyat on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:37 am

when other brand make recall activities, do they the same with this? make the rakyat as car tester also ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • sam lorrrrrr what happend to ur worship brand T got recallllllll

• peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:38 pm

axia… engine semput.. bergegar masa idle.. meraung masa full throttle.. lampu belakang ah beng dan rated low by indonesian as cheap n low quality

• So many advertisement… so much talk…

However, have not even seen ONE on the road (in Klang Valley)

Wonder, has Proton deliver the Iriz to anyone yet? Or the sales is really that bad??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 69
    • kurang zat makanan (kzm) on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Proton factory is half-empty production, so logically they can produce Iriz more and faster. Hairan tapi benar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • unbiased on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:41 pm

seen a few on the road lately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • What are you talking about. I have seen 20 so far around KL and subang. My nephew seen a few in Johor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • ayooo on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:59 pm

You live in a cave?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I live in Klang Valley. Yet hard to see Iriz. Only see once at Seremban and 1 at Alor Gajah.

• You must have missed all your briefing sessions. Mana ada orang pakai “You live in a cave” statement lagi? Or your tiga suku supervisor did not update you all.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Yes, u wouldn’t see much until next month because the hottest variant 1.3 cvt will be deliver to customer after first week of December 2014..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Hottest variant konon.. running production pun belum lagi, ada hati mau deliver 1st week dec.. Next time buat la production dulu baru launch. kadawaleyy..

• true true on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:14 pm

yeah , saw one puchong-damansara.

compared to suprima ,15:1

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:01 pm

There’s one in Bukit Jelutong at D’Bayu Business center. Two nearby USJ 16. And a few more….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Even more rare than Lambos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Captain Kirk on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:12 am

False advertisement as usual, say can build Starship Enterprise but nah, all are not moving on the ground

There are more in showrooms than on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Dr Mmm on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm

get CVT unit from Honda or Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • kurang zat makanan (kzm) on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Punch cakap jangan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • dinosan on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Then basher will have more point to bash Proton for not being able to produce CVT.

• Lizio on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Use honda CVT lor, then ur gear will suddenly bounce back to N when driving lol, famous problem with Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Will the remapping hamper the fuel consumption since it’s more sensitive to throttle input rite now?

• Go Go Proton!Make us proud of you,Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
  • Seen many iriz already on the road near b.b.bangi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Yeah…Bangi, Dengkil saw different colour and different variants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Manusia on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:10 am

memang susah nampak lagi, sebab baru launch. Axia pun tak banyak yang aku nampak

• sketsa on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Cerita juga puji diri sendiri .u beli lu pakai lu rasa haiya banyat sakit ma manyak problem minyak minum mayak kuat ooooo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Sam Tow Truck on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:22 pm

One word after they buy:

Haiiiiilaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttttttttt!!!

• Haven’t seen one around either. Bunch of Axia’s though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:40 pm

I think the biggest concern is the slow sales that the Iriz is experiencing despite the big hoo-haa about their cars. If I’m not mistaken there’s an article from The Edge in regards to this matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:50 am

the edge report is bullshit.. apparently they are macai n butthurt… reporting based in sentiment .. no fact

• PROTONG CLOSE DOWN AND REMAP IN 10 Years Time on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:00 pm

what a bunch of wankers, so call testing the car overseas and all the stupid testing done locally here and you telling me nobody in proton + their test wankers could not pick up the iriz CVT automatic gearbox’s sub-standard behaviour was crap and now they wanna re-map it !!!

PROTONG CLOSE DOWN FOR GOOD LAR, then you can re-map in another 10 years time, that would be the best re-map of any car organization !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 42
    • later proton fans will say, they test the car in high speed, didnt do low speed test, cannot pick up the ‘sub standard’ effect…. all proton cars are meant for high speed driving one, high rev one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
  • Aero (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:00 pm

It’s good that Proton is working on the improvements early on. They took much, much longer with the TCU update for the Prevé.

I still haven’t seen a single Iriz on the road. Deliveries only started in mid-October if I’m not mistaken, but it’s almost December now. Proton produced 836 units of Iriz in September 2014. In comparison, Proton only made 407 units of Suprima S and 46,812 Saga FLX between January and September 2014. The October statistics have not been revealed yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:33 pm

I am pleasantly surprised that they rolled out an update at all. I thought they have already optimized it with pre-launch testing. Good on them, nonetheless.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Same here man, I thought that with all the testing, they would’ve known better. But I guess the quest to perfection is a never ending one.

• peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:37 am

delivery start in nov only fir certain variant..

• nabill (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:05 pm

They should update all the cvts in all protons since its jus as simple as pluging in da laptop.. But this is new to proton, listening to customers complain… Its freaky! But commendable…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • shamsul on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Poor IRIZ owner being made test drive dummies.
    Think they buying the best but at the end of the day
    realise that they are just guinea pigs.
    CVT , powertrain & cvt sucks even after all the reviews and feedback and all P1 can do is to reset ECU.
    Reminds me of the disaster with the Waja 1.8
    Renault – each time check engine light illuminate
    had to disconnect battery terminal to fool
    the ecu.
    Good luck P1!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:36 am

u compare 1.8 waja hard reset method with cvt tcu remap???

hahhaha i know ur erra 90s thre was no such cvt n tcu remap technology rite

rakyat smart oredi

• saiful on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Already saw at kesas highway yesterday.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:42 pm

It’s probably the only thing wrong about this little thing, considering the pricing.

I found the 1.6 very likeable, good space, and shockingly (for a Proton) decent quality and very comfy. Though I did experience the “delay clutch lockup” in stop and go traffic, though it is good to see the hill start assist stopping the roll back present in the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • potong on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

get ZF conventional transmission..your car not so cheap after all

• Diesel Power!!! on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:45 pm

i must agreed with ivan..so far i only saw 1 unit in my area..if iriz is a hot sell model, y there is no owner yet to put their comment here? Pity iriz..look nice, but bcoz of the gearbox…sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:10 pm

go lowyat forum..iriz owner thread is available there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • owner on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:24 pm

My daughter already received hers (1.6 CVT). What do you wanna know about the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Aero (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Congratulations on buying an Iriz for your daughter, instead of a Myvi or Axia. You know your daughter will always be safe on the road, courtesy of all that life-saving safety gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
  • najib on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:54 pm

whatever it is, it still sucks, got my point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
  • Fix the after sales service. Get really competent techies. Improve quality of parts. That’s how Proton can get back the people’s trust. That’s the best way to reply to naysayers. But can it do that with the current policies and organisation ?

• Took delivery of a 1.6 premium just last Saturday. Racked up over 300 km over the weekend and avoided revs over 3000rpm due to running in. So not really able yet to provide an-in depth insight with regards to full driving range of engine speeds. Anyway so far with revs below 3000rpm the impression is that the engine felt torquey (strong pulling power) in town driving. Something akin to my current old banger an e36 328i. Engine braking is quite substantial. Handling, is great..love it. Car moves slowly in the first 1 to 5 metres (my estimate) from rest in start-stop traffic before building up speed. So to compensate for that need to “stab” the accelerator quickly for a faster “move on” at the first instance….Can be tricky when moving out of junctions. And yes the overall feeling is that it is not as smooth as normal automatic. i should know cos’ I own another 2 auto “traditional” cars…thanks for reading..will update more once past the running- in period, which is expected to by end of this week…tq

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
    • swifty on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Thank you for a decent review and comment on your drive experience of your Iriz, unlike most that I’ve read so far which are totally off the objective of this article. I’ve test driven the 1.6 CVT model and yes the transmission behavior really let the whole car down which otherwise is a solidly-built car. Coming out of a busy junction was scary. You just couldn’t decide whether to stab it or go gently and risk being hit. Gave no confidence at all. Now I’m impressed Proton listened to the consumers and responded quickly with this improvement before delivery. Very unlike Proton of past. Now the only thing this car would need to prove is reliability. Only time will tell, won’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Pororo on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Why everyone said not see much laa otr? I saw quite a number of Iriz otr in Klang Valley… Even, there is student in my uni already driving Iriz 1.6..

• kadajawa on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

I don’t see any driving in Langkawi?

• i don’t see any in sarawak + sabah.

axia, in the other hands, a lot already seen on the road in KK

• by the way, a remarkable note – i saw 2 suprima in Miri, 1 blue, 1 white.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Guess you didn’t see the red, silver and black Mirian Suprima’s.

• sepul on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:45 pm

I think not all area is where most Iriz buyers are. I saw 3 around Meru.

• Albert on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:49 pm

You can map,remap,kau kau reremap.
    Makes no difference.Punch powertrain dna is still the same,unlike Honda and Toyota’s gearboxes.
    A Polo watch is definitely not in the same segment as Rolex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:33 am

pls stick with ur reliable 4AT laa

cvt is not for kampung salesman like u

tell me vios, myvi , avanza are using cvt

• I wish proton will change the gearbox for good in the next car..

• Suprima s is more rare….iriz got many on the road..

• bigdog on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:40 pm

only seen single iriz and ITS AT THE SHOWROOM…we cant even verify carmakers claims of units sold, as the geniuses at MYCC forbids all automakers from revealing their MONTHLY SALES FIGURES for each model..wat a bunch of incompetent jokers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • RavenAii (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:25 am

I’ve tested the Premium 1.6L CVT. The performance is really good. I had no problem with the CVT but I think it would perform better with the TCU updates. The problem is with the brakes. It is a bit too sensitive.

Cons :
    1. New VVT engine
    2. CVT works wonderfully
    3. Better handling(B-segment)
    4. Roominess
    Pros :
    1. Plastic interior
    2. Rear lights design a bit wierd
    3. Braking feels weird(idk maybe EBD problem?)
    4. The sales man keeps talking while I’m driving…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • anepmat on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:35 am

pros and cons terbalik bro

• RavenAii (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Bahahahahaa it is but then again looks kinda funny. I can’t stop laughing myself for that obvious reason.

• Ya, plastic interior, weird rear lights, weird brake feel and salesman talking are pros to Proton supporters. No wonder they like Iriz

• ugly toyota on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:00 am

Not denying tht Proton can design handsome looking cars like Suprima S and the Iriz but …basically it just stops there. What a pity. I saw one Iriz broke down at a Glenmarie traffic light. Seats still wrapped with plastics. Poor guy, probably full or regrets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • ayooo on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:36 am

What a liar. If it is true, why haven’t it gone viral? Certain section of the public would love to have a picture of a broken down iriz and spread it all over the net.

• FRank Chin on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:55 am

The TCU reflash on CVT gearbox must also be applicable to earlier Proton cars like Preve and Suprima S as the CVT Gearbox is still in these cars are not perfect. Proton pls also allow the owners of Preve and Suprima S to reflash the CVT gearbox.

• Nieko on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:51 am

Well if you guys think that bookings for the Iriz are not sufficient than think again. I think most of the bookings comes from places like Perak, Penang, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang and to my surprise there even some Iriz in Negeri Sembilan which is weird considering how far the distance from Tanjung Malim to Seremban but the weirdest of scenario’s is that in the Klang Valley the sales seems to be rather slow ..a pity really …

What ever it is I think that the Proton Iriz is a rather honest offering by P1 ie where else can we get a car below 50k that has Traction Control (TC), ESP, and even Hill Assist comeon even Hill Assist!!!!!! the only other car that comes with all these features is the Hot Chicks Kia Picanto and its even Sexier big sister the Rio….uhh damn you Kia

oh lastly the hell with P2’s Myvi it a overrated , unsafe , useless car ,,,oh so you guys think the myvi is fuel efficient is it oh what if I tell that according to AutoCar Asean Web is that the Proton Saga was rated at number 22 for efficiency while the Useless Myvi was in Third Last which was nomberf 42 the three car below the myvi was the Landrover Evoqe and the Mazda CX7 …..

so the morel of the story is don’t judge a bookby its cover …….

Cheers Guys Happy Motoring …

• kadajawa on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Langkawi ada kah? Why Langkawi people no buy?

• Super on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Aiyoo… Itu Axia,Myvi Sabah Sarawak sudah sampai. Lu apa cerita Iriz : Tg Malim – Seremban… deyy

• Jangan tipu la. Knowing that most posts here are from KV, you cepat-cepat admit sales is slow in KV but other area is good. We all know how the showroom is empty since launch.

• Nieko on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:01 am

Oh just to add there are three P1 Iriz’s in my Condominium two Premiums White and the other Red ,both CVTs (I just cant understand some peoples Taste I mean Red of all colours!!!) oh and the third Iriz is the Standard that in Manual and to make it even better it finished in that Sexy Silver Moon Dust colour… ohh Lord Help Me

• What ever proton do they will still keep killing it, trust me. This blog is one of the forum.
    Wake up guys!

• ereen on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:48 pm

My iriz done the tcu last saturday.
    to my surprise..after update the cvt is very smooth..no more stalling in heavy traffic n i dont feel the car judder anymore in jammed, my car moves lightly at start-stop traffic.
    Very good improvement to the cvt gearbox..

• totti on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Stop buying the 1st batch of Proton at least for 1.5 years.

There will be more problem coming up with the new introduction of CVT gear box.

• Sam Tow Truck on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:25 pm

They all require my “Tow” service eventually

• Don’t buy for the first 2 years because it’s first batch.
      Don’t buy the next 2-4 year because they will start substitute part with cheaper parts quietly, just like how they switch from 4 disc brake to 2.
      You won’t buy it from 4 year and above because you have already know the RV.

• I dont see any iriz around. Why?

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Lets laugh at early Proton Iriz buyer!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • peyn0 on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:28 am

p2 macai n umw salesman butthurt
    iriz currenly start dekivering 1.3mt n 1.6 cvt… hot selling 1.3cvt n 1.6mt will
    deliver ti customer in dec and jan onwards

rakyat smart oredi
    they wanna their car ti be registered in new year2015… getting car in year end is stupid decision

• syamilrosham on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:09 am

Almost a month now since the TCU update. Anyone can share their CVT experience after the fix?

• I own both Myvi and Iriz. The only downside of Iriz compared to Myvi is its FC and the slow throttle response. I have yet send for the TCU update.

Other than that, Iriz is better. Especially in motion, Iriz is far more quite than Myvi. Interior design of the Myvi is plain stupid. The hand rest at the door for driver and front passenger is rubbish. Iriz is loaded with more features and accessories although both prices are similar.

To those who are criticizing Myvi or Iriz, don’t judge when you’re just behind the steering for less than a day.

• chitchek on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Yeah!..Has been driving the Iriz for a couple of months now. Bought it because it is a new model/cheap;hence, its rarely on the road (a blessing!). And that WOW!factor wt (its limited numbers) are worth the price of ‘admission.’

Everything else about it equals if not better than its
    adversaries. Its shortcoming, however, is obviously the throttle response setup…

Since it is a new car wt manufacture warranty, the
    only alternative is to sit tight and see what Proton
    comes up wt..(the revised TCU is rather inadequate).

Pretty soon, I’m gonna head down the aftermarket route..or R3?

For those in the same predicament, here’s what I DO!

This little hatchback has got potential!
    It is just where to find its strength and minimize its
    shortcomings.

Firstly, every bit helps! So, for those who can afford
    it, gas up on V Power.
    Secondly, 1st thing in the morning ..(Well, not right away..let the engine heats up)..pedal to the metal a
    few times and let the engine/ transmission know your
    ‘mood’ for the day.
    Thirdly, you’ve got to know where to harness its
    power (power band). (I bet I can get the stock Iriz
    going faster than other Iriz’ on the road!).

And eat this! Its exhaust note is wicked..simply by re routing the exhaust tip; and the M Function Steering Wheel?…
    It’s a BLAST!

I like it! LOL>>>>>

p/s:
    submit>>>> not gonna proof read..

• stevea on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:44 pm

3 Issues with my Iriz I have encountered,

1. CVT would not engage Park, This fault occurred the first drive home from the dealer.
    2. CVT . Happen just once. Stared car and moved gear selector thro all positions Park to Drive and back, car dont move.Switch of car…restart…and select gear car drive ok.

3. Car underseal still tacky…not cured…dust and road dirt can stick to underside of car.

with fault 2. I dont feel safe driving the car.

• any chance the CVT on the Iriz (or all Proton makes for that matter) being dumped for a conventional slushbox, maybe Aisin-sourced 6-speeder or 8-speeder (a far cry, but who knows)? would think will greatly change the driving dynamics of the car.. having test driven the Mini Cooper and BMW 218i Active Tourer (both using Aisin 6-speeder), the gearbox is a gem.

call me petty, but was considering the Iriz as a replacement for my 12-year old Perodua runabout, but after test-driving the CVT, it was a deal-breaker.. nowhere near the smoothness of the Jazz’s CVT.. but liked the 6-speeder slushbox of the Mini, BMW and Mazda-2 skyactiv better..

perhaps a re-think for Proton. my 2 sen.

• Just make a test drive IRIZ 1.3CVT. For my opinion, much more better than Axia 1.0auto. Throttle response fast and smooth.

Naik bukit pun sedap, dah takde bunyi ngauman harimau bila nak memecut naik……

• Tester on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Tested 1.3CVT, I have to push the pedal hard at roundabout, no, it does not response fast. It’s like I whip the horse, but the horse are hesistating whether it should go faster or not.

• So…have you guys gotten your hands on a post-TCU update Iriz yet? Interested to hear the Paultan team’s comment on this.

• ariff on May 24, 2016 at 9:50 am

HI,

Any update on this? Does the remap TCU on Iriz is valid?
      Can the update version on Iriz TCU be implemented on Saga FLX?