Proton We-Care Prihatin Banjir programme intensified

proton-sg-petani-4s

In light of the worsening flood conditions, Proton has augmented its We-Care Prihatin Banjir programme by providing a 30% discount on parts for owners affected by the floods. Apart from the discount, Proton is also offering to not charge any form of labour costs for repairs.

The programme is set to end on March 15, 2015 and includes a free inspection service, damage valuation and towing assistance from affected locations to selected Proton service centres. Proton has also listed several tips on how to best limit the damage in a flood-affected car, such as:

• Do not turn on your car engine.
  • Do not use a remote control to open the car door. Instead, do this manually.
  • Make sure to remove the negative terminal of the car battery to stop the flow of
    electricity in the car.
  • All three measures above are intended to minimise damage to equipment, in particular
    to electrical and mechanical components of the vehicle.
  • If these steps are taken, some equipment can still be saved.
  • After turning off the car electricity, remove valuables from the car, lock the door manually
    and get the car towed to an authorised Proton service centre.

For further enquiries and/or towing services, customers can contact the Proton Customer Care hotline at 1800-888-398.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• 30% still cannot afford la bang, parts very expensive from dealer, most still cannot afford..do some meaningful la sikit offer more for this poor folks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
    • lubjaime on Dec 26, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Proton such a good company! They actually help. Good Job! Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 26, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Yea, took RM1600mil from us (tax payers), it is time to do give some feedback to the society. It is not their money anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
        • Albert on Dec 26, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Proton should let loyal Proton fanboys and girls,whose cars are flood water ravaged,pay only actual cost of parts without any profiteering at all by Proton.
          Many of them do not have insurance coverage for flooded cars.
          Also,kindly absorb the towing and charges .Indirectly,the rakyat is paying for these unfortunate Proton loyalists,hit by natural disasters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Najib on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Janji ditepati! 30% reduction of car prices… Oops, i mean parts

• hahaha on Dec 30, 2014 at 9:58 am

At least they help…its not about how much, but how sincere you are in helping people…for sure many bashers here don’t even drive a Proton themselves laaa.talk cock only.hahaha…

• Karim Hasnafiah on Jan 03, 2015 at 3:54 am

Correct. Instead of talking nonsense you can help give idea to make this better. People help also want complaint. Typical Malaysians.

• 30% discount? If proton really care, maybe they should just shut down their plant and remove the taxes on foreign cars, do everyone a favour and cease to exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 67
    • unfortunately we have past that globalization thingy, after 08 even the us gonna protect their local industries, even new emerging markets are finding taxes on automobiles lucrative. As for developed nations like the uk and us, cars are cheap but insurance cost and labor on maintenance are high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Us and Uk’s average salary is not RM3000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Agree with you . Drove two years in London and had to paid almost 2000 pounds for the insurance ( mini cooper s ) plus the MOT services every year. Phewwwww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • On top of that , per labor service is roughly 80-100 pounds and i changed my rear brake sets for 500 pounds ( kwik-fit ) . Plus VAT 20 % of your total bill. mehh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • ayooo on Dec 29, 2014 at 10:13 am

Liverpool is even worse, my friend paid 2800 pound for his Mini since Liverpool is ‘high crime risk area’.

• ‘and remove the taxes on foreign cars’

Where this nonsense come from, that countries without a ‘national car’ don’t have to pay taxes on foreign cars?

Take Norway, an oil exporting country: You may have to pay 100 per cent of the cost of the car on additional taxes and other costs.

• ProtonGSC on Dec 26, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Thanks and I like the last tips.

PROTON TOWING :p

• Poppypoppy on Dec 26, 2014 at 2:10 pm

popcorns ready for idiot bashers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • help kena bash, dont help also kena bash.
    malaysian~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • magpie on Dec 26, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Not all malaysian.. Only the uncivilised. Reminds me not to read pt’s comment section

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Well at least proton is taking initiative about this. what about others car manufacturer ? They cost more to repair example contis and japs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Other manufacturers don’t ask Gov to pay R&D costs

http://paultan.org/2014/07/18/proton-wants-govt-pay-rd-costs/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • pleds on Dec 28, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Lol it’s promised and yet other manufacturers get incentives in other ways, do you think foreign investments come here for nothing, only to pay tax? Idiot

• Promised what? Like the hybrid incentive recently that G pulled out? Do you think other manufacturers “Tak tahu malu” like your Proton kah? Because of Proton, many car manufacturers went to Thailand to set up car hub instead. You are the real idiot if you don’t know

http://paultan.org/2014/07/18/proton-wants-govt-pay-rd-costs/

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 26, 2014 at 3:21 pm

At least better than nothing. Meanwhile at a golf club in Hawaii………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • Jimmy on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Proton cars not water proof?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Sam loo. Toyota no discount ar? No action at all wor.

• Rakyat on Dec 27, 2014 at 3:27 am

Why would the victims care about Proton cars at this moment? Having food and water supply is more important

• Sean Tan on Dec 27, 2014 at 2:18 pm

He is only an uncle sales man. What can he ask.umw to do?

• You name really suits you. If you’re the flood victim, would you care fixing your car during a flood? This again shows the stupidity of Proton and its supporters, always do useless things

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • nighttrain on Dec 27, 2014 at 9:23 am

Due to three months of rain, shouldn’t they be considering vehicles like SUVs or light trucks, with 4×4 capabilities? while you’re at it, all wheel drive turbo sedans sounds good too.. hahah.

• CyberPatrol on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Floor victims are in desparate need of water, warm foods, medical suppliers, blankets and restore the homes as their top most priority instead of fixed car problems.

Proton already have markup XX of percentage on profits not sure how 30% discounts really make an impact of your charitable thought.

Looks like Perodua donation to flood victims had done thing in a right ways. Perodua really put themself in shoes of flood victims then you have the feeling of the plight of flood victims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0rr on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Agree, Proton are doing it wrong. Give discount for what? The victims need most are basic necessities, the last thing they want is a Proton car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • alldisc on Dec 29, 2014 at 9:08 am

30% discount? look at how much proton marked-up its part prices.

no wonder.