Volvo S60 Cross Country – first sedan CC for Detroit

Volvo S60 Cross Country

Volvo’s “Cross Country” name has been stuck on vehicles with hatches so far, but that’s about to end with the Volvo S60 Cross Country – yes, the S60 sedan will be getting the Cross Country treatment. The booted CC will debut at the upcoming Detroit show.

Described as the first premium sedan with the same level of capability and rugged design cues of the renowned Cross Country wagons, the new car shares the V60 Cross Country‘s 65 mm increased ride height and SUV-style lower body cladding.

The S60 Cross Country will ride on 18- and 19-inch wheels with high profile tyres; the latter for comfort, “all­road aesthetics”, lower road noise and increased wheel protection. To follow tradition, there’s “Cross Country” emblazoned on the rear. We also noticed that the Active Cruise Control radar, previously a prominent square panel, is now nicely integrated into the grille pattern.

The S60 CC will launch this year with a T5 petrol engine with up to 254 hp. However, it’s not AWD-only; the sedan on stilts will also be available in front-wheel drive form.

Will there be takers for this unusual vehicle? Volvo seems to think so. “We have identified a clear niche in the market for a more capable sedan with rugged styling cues and a higher stance. It will appeal to people that are searching for an exciting and capable sedan, whilst enjoying the clear benefits that a crossover offers,” said Alain Visser, senior VP of sales, marketing and customer service at Volvo North America.

Volvo V40 Cross Country

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Another fake X6???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • skatax on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:10 pm

What a joke. This is what I call a lazy engineering approach. If the organization have budget constraints to build a proper car, then just simply don’t do it.

Volvo at present is plagued with very limited model lineup. You’ve seen V40, and then there’s V40 CC. Are they recycling excess models in the storage yard to clear existing stocks?

Understand they’re trying hard to outsmart others, but making a blatant model spin-off is just nonsense. I seriously hope they fully tweak the final car profile if this goes to production. Understand other car makers do jack-up their popular cars – local example is Nissan X-Gear vs Grand Livina. But all those are hatchbacks. Now try to load/unload items from heightened boot. I bet the engineers shook their heads and slapping each other foreheads while prepping this (insert vulgar word here).

Meanwhile, they should also prepare a S60 big-foot truck-inspired version for the motor show. Who knows, that could be Volvo’s new halo car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Polestar on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:34 am

You really know nothing about the current trends. Did you observe what BMW have done to their 3 series range? How many variants are there? How about the A class range?

Don’t be a katak and focus on Nissan only, look at Volvo’s real competitors.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:01 am

Nobody is buying Volvo anymore. See the Volvo properly, every part is now Made in China. You want to pay RM300k for a China car? Buying a Volvo now is as good as buying a Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • R-Design on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Wow, so dumb la you. Sales in 2014 is much higher than 2013 in Malaysia.

And almost all parts are from Sweden or Europe even though Volvos in Malaysia are CKD. In terms of quality of fit and finish, Volvos in Malaysia are much better than CKD BMW or Mercedes.

• zamer on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:37 pm

hahahaha…put bigger rims, jack it up..walaa..cross country..

i see a lot of taxi here doing that anyway. furthermore no AWD..embarrassing for Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Polestar on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:39 am

Read carefully dude, “not-AWD only” !!!

And don’t be a lazy fella, go to the nearest Volvo showroom and test the normal and the Cross Country version. There are many difference in handling and comfort.

• zamer on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:40 pm

sorry bro..the car just doesnt look right..
        look at the at how it been jacked up. horrible.

i believe it would make nicer by adding roof bar to make cross country style. i’m sure any normal s60 can do this in 1-2 hours job now.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:58 pm

This is a rather pointless shot at trying to make much out of nothing.

People who would appreciated a lifted “cross terrain” car would also likely need the big rear end to have dogs, bikes, camp gear, etc.

Having a XC sedan basically neuters the concept all together.

And by the way, Volvo isn’t the first in this sort of madness. Subaru had a Legacy outback sedan. Maybe Volvo should check with Subaru to see just how successful they were to move the outback sedan off the lots……

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Volvo had identified a clear niche? Ok, but Wira owners had identified this concept years ago, in the form of jack up with ultra high profile tyre Wira Banjir. Hahaha…

• Josh Ling on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:03 pm

this is gold! hahahahah….i second that!

personally, at first when i saw the picture, i thought it was someone trying to come up with what an S60 CC will look like when it is put into production, but when i realized how well those pictures were all taken, i was like what the heck?? this thing is real??

inspired by X6 and GT models of BMW to explore the niche market maybe?

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Tomorrow News: Proton jacked up their Iriz and called as Iriz active, Nobodies lose their minds….

• e30owner on Jan 10, 2015 at 7:21 pm

surely ppl need time to accept the look…hey couold anybody do a jack up for Gen 2. any takers..Theo?