Ford EcoSport – Europe to lose outside spare wheel

Ford Ecosport launch 6

Ford EcoSport models sold in Europe are expected to receive a revamp in May amid lacklustre sales in the burgeoning B-segment crossover market, according to an Automotive News report. Just 11,257 units of the tallboy Fiesta found homes from its launch in April until November – in the same period Renault sold 149,701 units of the segment-leading Captur, while sales of the Peugeot 2008 reached 125,002 units.

Industry analyst IHS Automotive believes that Ford made a “big misstep” with the EcoSport – designed primarily for markets like India and Brazil, where buyers prefer more rugged-looking vehicles – against sleeker-looking rivals in Europe, given the segment’s growth potential in the coming years.

The biggest change coming to the EcoSport would be the removal of the exterior-mounted spare wheel – which will be offered as a no-cost option instead – despite Ford previously saying that the rear design of the Indian-built model could not be changed. Despite the move, the side-hinged tailgate will be retained.

Ecosport_Ext_07

Revisions will also be made to the suspension setup and the interior plastics, in a move to make the EcoSport more closely resemble the Fiesta, the company’s bestselling model (European versions of the latter get soft-touch plastics, rather than the hard trim in our market). “We want to give it a bit more Fiesta personality,” said a Ford spokesperson.

IHS predicts that the B-segment crossover market will grow to over 900,000 units by 2017, up from the 500,000 units sold last year. Set to contribute to the expansion are new arrivals like the Fiat 500X, which is expected to sell over 70,000 units a year, putting it in fifth place behind the Captur, 2008, Nissan Juke and the Opel/Vauxhall Mokka.

In contrast, Ford is forecast to sell 20,239 units of the EcoSport in Europe this year, down from its original prediction of 36,000 units.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• look at the front….only a mother could love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • slk3879 on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:33 pm

So basically the hidden words from Europe Ford is that “we realised we can’t make you buy an expensive unreliable car with cheap plastic interior”

So what say you, Ford Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Wanted to write but I have to rush to berak now. Aiyoo berak coming out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:52 pm

It’s not about reliability. The EcoSport is a car developed in Brazil… From a “third world country” for other third world countries. Apparently that shows in how the car rides etc., and European customers are used to better cars.

It’s like if Toyota would try to sell the Avanza or Vios in Europe. No one would buy it, but it would hurt Toyota’s reputation. Mitsubishi tries to sell the Mirage in Europe, but without success and with terrible reviews. Again third world…

• Faster remove that fugly spare tyre !!!

• JB_KIA on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Whether the spare wheel is outside or inside, I won’t buy. Simply because of incorrect spec and price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • TheDuh on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:11 pm

EcoSport. Not only is it overpriced, it is ugly as well (especially the over the top dashboard).

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:12 pm

duh…common sense?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Cheap quality plastics, side-hinged tailgate and its odd looks were never supposed to be there in the first place and the sales figures are here to proof that.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:16 pm

I don’t think it will help much. The problem is that the door still opens sideways. The interior is still amongst the worst in the segment, rugged and hard plastic is definitely not something Europeans are fond off.

It’s definitely a welcome move, but depending on how much they change will result in its future viability. I still find kts abit to small

• flash back early 90s car

• kittfoxx on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:46 pm

This car doesn’t make any sense. It’s ugly.. the proportions are all wrong and the interior’s dreadful.

Alternatively, why not get a Toyota Rush? It looks better.. cheaper to maintain (Toyota vs. Ford)

Or.. work a li’l harder, save a bit more and get either the Pug 2008, Mitsu’s ASX, or the upcoming Honda HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Rush is worse. ABS on high spec only. Avanza chassis. China car-quality interior.

• Ktard on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Not surprising by the low volume sales. When i test drove the ford ecosport, the ride and handling feels like you are sitting on a pogo stick. Interior reminds me of 80’s (cheap hard nasty plastic around) and the lcd screen reminds me of my first nokia phone with bluish dot matrix display. I didn’t even bother with extended drive after 5 minutes behind the wheels.

Everything looks cheap. I think great wall M4 look better than this expensive ecosport. I mean for the price for this kinda suv, i rather get the Peugeot 2008 which is much more refined and look more pleasant. Finally, i choose the peugeot 2008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • I’ve seen more Perodua Nautica on the road than I see the EcoSport & 2008 combined. and the Nautica isn’t quite a best seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Josh Ling on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:25 pm

i think compare with the spare wheel, i would rather they could change the grille instead. that grille is a huge no-no for me.

• apaapajelah on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:42 pm

My brother bought one last November.. baru satu minggu keluar showroom sudah ada bunyi ‘chett chett chett’ at left absorber..sent back to ford sc at Johor Jaya, senior technician checked and found nothing problem.. the sc manager himself testdrive the car and promised to ask to HQ what is the really problem.. ok laa for my brother no problem since the car still very new and under warranty, he believe sc can fix the problem.. but for new car, ada bunyi-bunyi pelik it is very annoying.. for to be fair i also has drive that car and the handling is superb.. take corner no worry macam melekat atas jalan..

• yezza on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm

i own one and the sound is definitely due to things you put around the cabin… i was at first perplexed… then when i removed everything, the sound disappeared… but yeah overall i think this car is a bit of an “acquired taste” kinda thing…