Nissan Juke facelift makes debut at Geneva show

Nissan Juke facelift

The facelifted Euro-spec Nissan Juke has made its first public appearance at the ongoing Geneva show, looking… not very different. In Nissan’s words, “to radically alter the proportions would undermine the Juke’s unmistakable presence,” and we couldn’t agree more.

There are now 370Z-inspired headlamps (now xenons, incorporating LED DRLs as standard), revised tail lamp graphics (now with LED light guides), updated front and rear bumpers, a slightly-changed grille and new 16- to 18-inch alloys. The door mirrors now hold LED indicators and, where fitted, Around View Monitor cameras.

More changes are to be found under the skin. A new 113 hp/190 Nm turbocharged 1.2 litre DIG-T engine replaces the naturally-aspirated 117 hp/142 Nm 1.6 litre HR16DE unit.

Fuel economy and CO2 emissions for the 1.2 litre DIG-T are a claimed 5.5 litres per 100 km and 126 grams per km respectively (2WD, start-stop as standard).

The 1.6 litre DIG-T engine has been enhanced to give more low-end torque. Its compression ratio has been upped from 9.5 to 10.5, and there’re improved low-friction technologies and cooled exhaust gas recirculation. It now delivers 190 hp – two horses more than before. The 1.5 litre dCi diesel engine continues as is.

The facelifted Nissan Juke 1.6 DIG-T 4WD comes with a six-speed manual as standard; Xtronic CVT optional. In 2WD versions, luggage space is up by 40% to 354 litres, thanks to changes in the boot area. A sunroof is available as an option.

Where tech’s concerned, Nissan Dynamic Control is available on select variants, offering Normal, Sport and Eco driving modes. The latest-gen 5.8-inch NissanConnect touch-screen also features, along with Nissan Safety Shield (Around View Monitor, Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot Warning, Moving Object Detection).

The Nissan Juke facelift also introduces a range of personalisation options for outside and inside – you can specify what colour you want your mirror caps, headlamp finishers, bumper inserts, centre console, seats, gear knob, door trim etc. to be in. Also on Nissan’s Geneva stand is the Juke Nismo RS.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hey TCM – when you will bring this in, we want the facelift and not the previous version. Thangkiut

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:44 pm

As usual, TC will alwiz think….think…. THEN when finally decided to launch…….. they sell to us “OLD stock”. BTW love this car tough!!!

• natasha on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:02 pm

actually the interior is quite small. very cramp. like suzuki swift despite it’s bigger & taller than swift.

• Sam Junior on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:20 pm

I thought dugong is ugly. Then comes along multipla. Then kolos. Now this…..my eye my eye. All the designers having too much weed is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • benchot on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

saya lasa jika orang itu stevie wondar pun dia tak mau beli..selupa itu katak jamban saja itu rupa..haiyah cakap itu katak pun macam kutuk itu katak pasal ini hodoh tahap gaban x 10 kali wor..

• As usual, tc will launch the juke when it’s phased out in other countries

• a J’O’KE

• I love it. please bring in the facelift ETCM…

• nice juke. why can’t tan chong bring in these cars rather than the super boring looking syly, alema and those sort of crap.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:44 am

The only nissan car with some attitude. . Funky & naughty look. Bring it here.

• kitty on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:24 pm

the reason of TCM not yet bring the model in is because not everyone can accept the unique look of the car based on survey done. However, the response of the car when stepping on the pedal is just tempting! :D and i heard it will come SOON…..