Kinrara-Damansara Expressway (Kidex) project axed?

kidex 1

The Kinrara-Damansara Expressway (Kidex) has been axed, according to a number of news reports – Selangor Menteri Besar Azmin Ali announced the cancellation of the project today following Kidex’s failure to comply with three conditions set by a February 14 deadline.

The state government had, with public feedback on the matter, set these conditions for the approval of the project. The first was to disclose reports on the project’s independent traffic impact asssessment, social impact assessment and environmental impact assessment.

The reports had to show benefit to users and residents after taking into account the negative impact of going ahead with the highway. The other two conditions were for the project to reveal toll charges for whole duration of concession, including that of increments, as well as the revealing of the full concession agreement.

kidex 2

“Since not one of these conditions were met by Kidex by the end of the period given, the Selangor state government is announcing the cancellation of the project,” Azmin said in a statement issued earlier today. He added that a similar approach will be adopted in the consideration of applications for approval of other expressways in the state, the news reports add.

The much-talked about 14.9 km elevated highway project is supposed to connect the NKVE from the Damansara toll plaza to Bandar Kinrara. It includes seven interchanges and will pass through Petaling Jaya and Puchong, before linking up to the Bukit Jalil Highway.

UPDATE: Following the Selangor decision to cancel Kidex, it has been reported that Works Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof is set to take the matter back to the Cabinet for a decision. The federal government had over the weekend approved another extension for the project, from February 15 to November 14.

There has of course been resistance to the project from residents, primarily those from Petaling Jaya – the burning question is whether the project is completely canned for good, or merely delayed to resurface later. Time will tell. What do you think of Kidex and the apparent cancellation of the project? Share your views with us in the comments section below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Thats just too bad for those who have to travel in between Puchong/Kinrara & PJ cos the traffic is really horrible during peak hours on the existing LDP/Federal Highway routes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 110
    • Turunkan Harga Kereta on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:55 pm

So deal with it you selfish fool. Many PJ folks worked hard to build their houses. Most of them senior citizens who are nearly 80 years old.

So, bulldoze their houses and where are these poor old folks going to stay? Your house ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 76
      • Respect your Elders on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:37 pm

The old people living in PJ came here first. It is their land. We have no right to take away their land or houses. We are acting like the Mat Salleh who took away the Red Indian land in the US.

To all the young punks complaining about KIDEX being abolished, learn to respect your elders. They took care of you. They fought for you. Without them, country also won’t have its independence.

Without the older people, Malaysia won’t be where it is. The younger people here making noise must first leaarn how to piss straight before making noise.

We have no right to bulldoze the houses of the elderly generation. they served Malaysia well and they have all the right to stay in their houses until they get called upon.

Learn to respect the older generation you young punks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 62
        • Heskey on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Think about 2 mil people in Puchong and Kinrara that could have benefited from this project. Who’s more selfish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 86
          • ProtonGSC on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:24 pm

2 million or more, if you WANT bring up a better idea… either making lousy project like destroy pupils land.

Cronies like to make it own easy and making others suffer… Now Azmin doing something right.

Not like PM and Tun DrM unimaginable of fortune/wealth but he still thinking alot of ways to make Malaysia and Rakyat poorer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 47
          • Anti Kidex Supporter on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Too bad brother. You cannot see the bigger picture. Azmin is definitely doing something right. You are too shallow to see this.

The Puchong people deserve this. Puchong people never think before buying a property. Just go simply and sign up purchase just to flip and make untung. Now suffer la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 36
          • Anti Kidex Supporter on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Agree with you. Most Puchong people are kampung people from up North come to KL and clog up our roads.

Why so shy to work in Butterworth and Penang and Kedah, Prai, Perlis?

If you want to have Bandar life, want to be happening, you have to live with the jam.

Like New York, you go there, you live in a 400 sq ft apartment. London also. But you go to small town, you can live in 5000sq ft bungalow.

So to all the pro kidex pondans, you come to KL, suck it up. That is life. Stop crying like a spoilt baby complaining about jam.

You don’t like it, you can always go back to the kampung up north. Life is great there too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 77
          • mca gang on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Who ask those beng n rempit to stay in puchong? Deal with it la…else work in puchong lor. Don’t come to pj.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
          • Down with Kickdex on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:36 pm

2 mil of what??? 2 mil people pay more tolls???

• Ah Beng anti Kidex on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Dear Puchong people, if you have the money, buy a house in PJ.

If you can’t afford a PJ house, find a job at Puchong/Putrajaya/Cyberjaya/Bukit Jalil.

No one force you to travel Puchong-PJ everyday. You can’t ask others (especially PJ residents) tolerate to your need simply because you are large number in size.

So arrogant think you own the road? Why not move back to your own place (e.g. Penang, Ipoh, JB, Kuantan, KK, Kuching) and work there. No one asked you to contribute in KL mass congestion!!

Wanna act like 100% KL-ian, I dare you to simply stay at your Puchong house and enjoy holidays from today till end of the month without leaving KL. Not dare ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 66
          • Anti Kidex Supporter on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Puchong people are rude and arrogant. You bought a shit place, just live with it. How can you ask PJ residents to suffer because you all stupid and don’t know how to research to buy a good property?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 37
          • puchong dogs on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Puchong people are like dogs clogging up the LDP. LDP should be shut down and closed. Let Puchong people work in cyberjaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 38
          • Puchong crap on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:14 pm

You are right! Puchong people drive like dogs… never a straight line and always looking for a hole to cucuk here and there to cut queue… Whenever you see reckless driving on KL roads, you will see the number plate with Jxx or Pxx.

Another highway for them to show off their kampung dog style of driving, NO THANKS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 35
          • When was the last time you been to puchong??? You go see the property prices in puchong and compare it to pj…. So many new projects and pj all old houses and rumah papan better demolish then preserve la …. If kidex got budget can build tunnel already no need demolish your house

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Aiya.. once all old people die we build loh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
        • Carlos on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:51 pm

So we wait for the old people to die which wont be long.

And their children will take over their property.
          So then only the property can be acquired by the state gov. Its ok, these are young people now, not old folks….

Did you see where your point of argument going???

• > Demands respect from youth
          > Calls them ‘punks.’

Respect is a two-way street.

• Ali Karim on Feb 19, 2015 at 7:39 pm

“Young punks” – I love that. I prefer to call them “Android Society” whom always have their heads down. Incapable of thinking all by themselves.

• ollie on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Selfish? Who’s selfish? Who’s houses are getting bulldozed? WHo are you calling a fool? You built your own house?

Look at the data, look at science. Don’t just blow your mouth off when you have taken advantage of all the development in KL, all the highways.

Yes, some bad some good. Dont just oppose because you THINK, oppose if you KNOW. Look at hard facts. Anti-KIDEX don’t listen to anyone, when they are a tiny minority. How about the rights of others? Take a hard look at yourself before you mouth off again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 31
      • Work Hard Lazy Pro Kidex on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Don’t blame Anti Kidex people if you are lazy and don’t work hard. You move to jam proned areas because properties are cheap.

If you worked hard and stop playing internet in your work place, you will be able to buy prime properties where jam does not exist.

The problem here is that, the lazy people, don’t work hard, want to sleep and enjoy life, of course la you cannot afford good location.

So, what have you learnt? Stop complaining about the Anti Kidex people and work hard. Don’t sleep and goyang kaki. Weekend instead of working, go to TGV and eat pop corn. No wonder I call you lazy people.

I work hard. So, I can afford a property in Bangsar. I drive to centre of KL in 10 minutes. That is my reward of working hard.

Aiseh, too many lazy pro Kidex people here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 93
      • if the gov gave them the same spacious house in some decent place before they bulldoze their houses, i think its fair enough for them, so it will be win win situation , and i believe gov will never just kick them out of their houses like that, surely will give them a decent house first …

• Painter on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:55 pm

The problem is that there’s too much politicking and too many politicians involved in this project and too many political careers are at stake.

The way Malaysians are behaving, we listen to those who make the biggest noise and got the most media coverage.

Life would just be so much easier if everyone sticks to what they know best :

Engineering consultants with their traffic, environmental, social impact reports,

Authority with guidelines compliance and their fact findings like public referendums (for vs against)

The fact for that matter is a group of motorists stand to gain from this highway, while those with assets near the highway may not.

The public is not getting enough information to make their decision. That’s the bone of contention here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 3
      • X celcom on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Those Engineer should be Professional
        If stupid= able to bribe, no point.

Fake consultant = waste money
        &
        allow public to question the project & company, people- justification how ppl like POLITICIAN own share.
        E.G cloud hafarizam kautim w thian Chua rumors.
        How qualified him?, to balance the bumi why don’t appoint expert in engineering so he can become role model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • kelvin on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:43 pm

just stay away from PJ, no one force you to come in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
      • Ripcord on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Wah! No sounding like UMNO leaders already. Don’t like Malaysia, leave Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 13
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Then why don’t the authorities FIX the issues at LDP and Federal highway?

Just too much traffic or poor management?

Everyone that uses the LDP knows that the problem is the Sunway Toll (10 lanes merge into 2 = sure die) , then 1 lane out to Sunway/Subang/NPE, and then all get stuck at the cable bridge.

Thier recent contraflow also made things worst…because it didn’t address the main bottleneck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Carlos on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:46 pm

The project will resurface with new company linked to the present MB.
      Kidex is previous MB pet project.

So hold that celebration….

• MeToo on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Next on the news.

Govt will compensate KIDEX Concessionaire RM8,500,000,000,000 for cancelling project…

Another day in Malaysia..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 18
  • azhar on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:46 pm

hoping it will go ahead..but since they cant provide what state gov. asked, i think its understandable they cancelled it..we need more state gov. like these…firm and no nonsense regarding public interest

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 13
    • winwin on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Agreed. Firm and dont blame the state government. The concessionaire are not cooperative. The people needs to know what is the price to pay ?? If RM10 each time, might as well dont build it since it only benefits the rich.

• Wrong moves, Selangor Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 111
    • lithium on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:03 pm

What we need is better public transport – not more highways. Check this out:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxmqyF5M_rw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Turunkan Harga Kereta on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Now I believe the Selangor Government. I am sure they will keep their promise to reduce car prices too.

Unlike Najib who lied and cheated us. Promised us that he would reduce car prices by up to 30% if we voted BN in. Now already nearly 2 years and car prices have actually gone up.

I am definitely voting for PKR next election. At least car prices will go down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 38
  • almighty lim guan eng on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:55 pm

You see how great PR leaders are? They care for rakyat! Rakyat say no, they oso say no! Rakyat say yes, they oso say yes! This is good move. Klang valley too many highway oredi. Later my house in PJ oso drop value if they build KIDEX.

Penang and Selangor best place to live right now. Free water, free toll and cheap local tax. Oso good road maintenance, good garbage collection. If Azmin oso want to use mercedes, I dont mind becose he very good leader like Lim Guan Eng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 61
    • spock1976 (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:09 pm

I live in gombak. Under BN or under Azmin, same old same old. I still have water shortages. So yeah water should be free cos we sometimes don’t get water.
      Anyway I don’t support PR but I also don’t support Kidex. In fact let’s stop building paid highways. And do proper town planning in the future. Make sure u allocate proper govt land for future highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Sg Nyior Boy on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:54 pm

PR leaders care for rakyat?pfffftt..ever heard of proposed penang underground sea tunnel?so many people against it..too costly..will create worse bottle neck situation on the Island side..toll fare will be extremely expensive..all of sudden the contract has been awarded to a company which has close relation with LGE..no open tender whatsoever..so called transparency..belah laa..BN ka DAP ka semua sama..liar..liar..nak kaya..never trust a politician mann..DAP promised tht they will abolish Sg Nyior tol if they won the Bagan seat..but what happened? they won the state for 2 consecutive GE n the tol is still there…kencing kuat…

• Nothing impressive about cancelling a project. If they can get on with the project while meeting every stakeholder’s expectations, that will be impressive.

Although I support PR, I wont give them too much credit on this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 11
  • continue to drive in jams je lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • How about DASH? Please scrap it as well!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • komarad on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:06 pm

tell that to puncak alam and bukit subang residents…

• DASH yonkuro on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:33 pm

DASH has less issues as only a small portion of the highway is being opposed. Worst thing is they will re-allign it. But i’m quite optimist that DASH will get the green light. 1 cancel, 1 approve. Win-win for Azmin ;)

• Heskey on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Unlikely. They are not as vocal and influential as PJ folks. And they are poorer too. No way government will listen to them.

• Tenji on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Poor residents of Kinrara, Puchong, Seri Kembangan…where else can they escape the jam? Imagine there is no LDP, travelling from Puchong to Sunway will jammed up Old Klang Road. It is normal for people to complaint, but while considering these people in Petaling jaya, how much consideration has been put forwarded to those in Puchong as while?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 22
    • puchong bohclass on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Well…who ask them to stay in puchong? Go back kg and tanam jagung la. Want to stay there…suffer the jam. Who ask those beng n retards to stay there. U choose it…u suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
    • dunno la on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:38 pm

What to do? PJ folks and maybe Malaysian folks are all selfish. As long as it’s not at my backyard, then ok…

Similar thing happened to NPE, DUKE, MEX and GCE last time, but the projects went ahead.. Now, a lot of people enjoying benefit from it, even those who opposed earlier. Example, some PJ people now enjoying NPE to go here and there at the expense of others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • What is so poor? LRT is ready soon. MRT is ready soon. Take public transport. Cheaper, cleaner to environment and less traffic congestion…. I rather they spend millions to improve the whole public transport systems and provide good feeder bus system to the whole puchong. Wouldn’t it better to build a highway that I am sure you will get congested at the end of the highway. No way you can escape the jam. Just that you will make another road congested. Public transportation is the solution but not KIDEX

• KIDEXXEDIK on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:44 pm

That is why i’m riding a bike now. It took around 20-30 minutes to go to my office at Jalan Semangat from Kinrara.
      If i’m driving, it gonna took more than 1 1/2 hour.
      I’m drove on Kinrara – Taman Seri Manja – Jalan Templer – PJ Old Town – PJ State road. No tolls and less traffic compared to LDP and Federal.
      A year driving from Kinrara to PJ made me suffered enough with fuel and parking cost daily.
      Stop nagging and make a wise decision. Drive and ride carefully. Happy CNY!!

• Oxoxoxoxox on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:01 pm

They can try next time. This time they failed to provide what is needed by the state govt. So they have to take the blame.

• LDP can’t afford current traffic flow. Alternative solution are needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Manta on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Precisely. That’s why the money should be spent on public transport rather than another tolled highway that is not bring any real benefits to anyone other than giving the project sponsors a quick profit at the expense of the rakyat.

• idontunderstand on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Wrong move.. now we have to face all the traffic woes.. kudos to selangor gov for putting politic ahead of rakyat. some quarters might complain over the project but they can’t see the benefit of having it. just like the tunnel project at TTDI. a lot of complaint over the project but now the traffic has improve a lot and nobody say thank you.. Typical malaysian …complaint a lot.. but when theres a heavy traffic we complaint, but when the government come out with a solution also complaint… kudos again to Azmin ali.. another stupid decision

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 39
  • vknes on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:09 pm

If government serious on easing traffic, they should have more public transport like buses and not MRT. Having more buses with every 10 minutes during peak hour sure many will take rather than driving in the traffic and can ease the traffic. Of course, to encourage people to take bus, should give 1 month free ride where it will ease traffic and encourage people to take buses. This will surely save $$$ in long run than compensate the highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • they give me one year free bus ride also i will never take the bus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • Kosumaledoko on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Indeed, by improving the public transport like buses we can ease our traffic. Safer, on-time, wider route coverage, and improve bus frequency will attract peoples to ride bus.

I think this is the cheapest option (implementation cost wise). We can also get better service as there will be more bus company competing. Is it not?

• dunno la on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:26 pm

We can have thousand of buses on the road for all you know, but they will get stucked in traffic jam no matter what we do… even with dedicated bus lanes, some people simply won’t care, and they will simply drive on the bus lanes..

I support having MRTs, but at the same time, i also support having higher toll or parking charges just for the sake of reducing traffic to the city

• WaJib on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Cancel.. Kroni-kroni nak makan apa ni selepas ni?? Minyak turun dah hilang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • jkgjkgdfjklgn on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:11 pm

The problem with Malaysian is that they want the convenience of a highway minus the toll and without reclaiming someone else’s land. Keep on dreaming bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:16 pm

According to Malaysianinsider, the project was already approved and concession agreement had been signed to collect toll. So, whats going to happen now?

• Hunter on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:29 pm

This is what u get when political ratings come first before urban wellbeing and development.

Yes, those PJ old folks who will lose their houses. Why the greater good must bow to PJ people? A lot of expressways were built before KIDEX too. We dont see this happening during those days. A lot of nay sayers champion this fact of ‘old people losing houses bla bla…’, but at the same time these people are also the ones who complain and make noise that KV traffic is like sh1t and what not. Have these nay sayers ever commuted or drive from puchong to damansara everyday?

Too bad a good project got scrapped. I pity the the tens of thousands daily commuters of LDP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 25
  • With no proper pro-active urban planning, we’ll continue to face these situations.

• metoo on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:43 pm

For those complaining about the jam…

You kinda know what you got into when you choose to live there…. the prices of the properties also reflect the traffic situation…. u move to a jam prone area u get cheaper properties…

So its not fair to blame others for you being stuck in traffic….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
    • ollie on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:09 pm

your logic says that Bkt Bintang and KLCC have the cheapest property in Malaysia. You must be very smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • tycoon on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Who ask u to be lazy and can’t afford kl properties? U have a choice. Either get rich and get kl property or become lazy and complain unfair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • winwin on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:42 pm

At least KLCC and Bukit Bintang area have good public transport. I wouldn’t mind taking Star LRT and Monorail.

• Then, KLCC and Bukit Bintang area should be the cheapest in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • ollie on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Show me the data:
    1. What % of people in Selangor oppose the project?
    2. Have the Anti-Kidex read the studies and seen the traffic patterns?
    3. Are the anti-kidex participating in open dialogue and listening to opposing views?
    4. What % of houses will actually be demolished?
    5. What are the ramifications if traffic is not managed with KIDEX and other alternatives 5 years down the road?

Show the rakyat the numbers, not decisions based on who SHOUTS the loudest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 14
    • azhar on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:57 pm

its not bout who shout the loudest…its about KIDEX cant comply with state gov conditions..if they can, i dont see why KIDEX cant go ahead as planned..u want to step into other people’s house u must respect their rules laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • Manta on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

That’s why the state govt imposed those 3 very reasonable conditions. Kidex couldn’t comply or didn’t bother to. So case closed. Good move by the state govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Carrer (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:40 am

Don’t blame the state government. Blame Kidex for not fulfilling the requirements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • i believe the long term solutions for this matter is by building more and improve our public transportation system. highway killing a community and its not a permanent solutions. maybe they should consider to build MRT or LRT if they afford or cheaper solution is BRT which is currently under construction in sunway area.

• erwinkarim on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:55 pm

so the NIMBY and Build Absolutely Nothing Anywhere Near Anything (BANANAs) people wins this round.

congratulations!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Please don’t get emotional and try to understand the technical facts before commenting. Poor planning, unreliable public transport, short-sighted agencies, unqualified consultants, altered studies, untested traffic models, environmental damage, overpriced costs, huge borrowings, lack of public spaces / parks, high taxes for cars, bad road conditions etc etc … problems we rakyat face daily. This is a giant step in making more progressive and people focused changes … well done Sgor gov. Now if they only built more race tracks :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • If they can improve the public transportation to be more efficient that itself is a big plus point. Don’t spend unnecessarily involving billions of dollars!

• kemosabe on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Its not about highways or bigger roads. Its all about planning.
    The currents roads are built to accommodate certain volume of vehicles.

Below this capacity it will give smooth driving, exceeding them will result in traffic jams and lots of pollution.
    The city of PJ has a city code which resides in MBPJ. It should be made public so you know a high rise(like a condo) shouldn’t be built in a low density housing area.

But we don’t see this happening and the result is putting too many people in an area that is meant for a lower density population.

Building more highways won’t solve the traffic jams issue, it will just take the jams from one area to another. Those travelling for CNY would feel this. No jam in Klang valley but elsewhere different story. Same goes to Kidex or any other highways.

I feel the most effective and cheapest way to solve this is to disperse the population into a greater area, a bit too late as a lot of people owns a condo. We have plenty of land to build houses but somehow we chose to concentrate ourselves into “good” locations and then the speculative nature of us takes place and make houses a dream to own.

So we don’t really need expensive and polluting highways. We just need good planning – cheap and efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • fatso on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:46 pm

You touch a very good point on town planning. High rise in low dense area. A good recent project is in sec 17. Building a pigeon hole highrise on a small lane road. Once the project completed….imagine the chaos of 500 vehicles in that areas squeezing thru the small road.

• Nutralife on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Last time no LDp in the mid 90s road also not jammed. Now with LDp the road so jammed. So how do you justify that? Those people crowd to puchong and cause the road to be jammed when commute to kl to work? Can u say those puchong ppl cause hardship to PJ ppl? Or it’s the poor planning and lack of public transportation to begin with. It’s easy to say sacrifice for the greater good. Would u give up your home then? Ask yourself that honestly. Peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • apamau on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:31 pm

I support the Selangor Government and also I support the Kidex or any better way to travel thro flow between pj,puchong to be built.

It’s required for future, by the time the kidex completed, it’s could merely enough to ease the traffics to PJ, without Kidex, it’s gonna be nightmare 5 to 10 years from now.

However, i do hope that anyone wanna built highway, pls adhere to what the rules being setup by Selangor Government. you need to be transparent and making sure this is not another black hole to suck the rakyat. people afraid another highway not because it’s a highway, because we afraid of daylight vampires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • MrPoppyplants on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Some comments here really disappoint. New roads, expressways, diversions will always need to be built to accommodate growing population. Saying that it will affect PJ residents is selfish because if the expressway is not built, then it affects more than just PJ alone.

This is not a matter of pro PR or BN. It is a matter of city planning and development for the country as a whole.

People can protest to all kinds of things because you can never please everyone. So, seriously, just because some rakyat demands no does NOT mean that the state government should also follow as told in order to win hearts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Nutralife on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Brother. Proper planning is the word. U build LDp. U build kindex. Will this solve the jam issues? The answer is no. Only temporarily. Just look at LDp now. If township and infrastructure is planned properly we won’t be facing this issue now wouldn’t we. If kindex adheres to the guidelines and requirements it wouldn’t be scraped would it?

• Ollie on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Good comment, out of 99 comments (2 of which were mine). I dont live in either Puchong or PJ. I live in KL. I have no sympathies for either side, but i find it uncivilised that people in our country have the mentality shown by those who are opposing Kidex and not listening to anyone. Where are the facts, where are the reports? Publish it online and do a referendum. Everyone is just shouting their case and behaving exactly like how they are, third-world uncivilised bigfoots. Sorry to say, its clear that PJ people are worse than Puchong from the comments seen here. To the Anti-Kidex, I hope you are proud of yourselves; what goes around comes around.

– From a proud KL-ite

• Maserati(Official) on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Many interesting comments being thrown around here

I will summarized it with the following points:

– yes, we must respect the elders who built their homes and foundation of our country
    – i have not heard of puchong until LDP is built, do ppl live there?
    – whilst i pity the poor people living in puchong in their small cheap houses, you guys must know everything has it prices. cheap hosues in puchong means u have to spend more time on the road, its a simple equation really
    – i was fortunate to grow up in bukit tunku and still live here today, so i dont know whats the fuss about jam since we are close to every township, but building tolls is not the SOLUTION!
    – living in bukit tunku, i learn to appreciate the green, so puchong people u are lucky your greenery are being protected.
    – puchong people are understandably frustrated as their poor educational background means they only know how to fight for more money in whatever circumstances, instead of learning to appreciate mother nature.
    – puchong reminds me of places like banting or kapar, are they still similar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Nutralife on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:38 pm

fyi. Puchong is not cheap no more. But I really dont understand what are you trying to say??

• MasakRoti on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:58 pm

He is trying to say, i am more high kelas than you porr sods. I stay in landslide bukit tunku with greenery and monkeys are my neighbour. With landslide, i get free burial. Save money and no need to hire nirwana.

By staying in Bukit Tunku, there is no taxi nor public transport. I only have Sam Tow Truck service whenever my VW cannot start. Indirectly, i have a a super VVIP concierge service by Sam Tow Truck. So, what you pj or puching have besides ah loong, gangster and massage parlours ?

Bukit Tunku the best….no toll…no ah loong, only got monkeys and free burial ground.

• superdriver on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:51 pm

LOL…fck this made my day man!!! hahahaha
          “With landslide, i get free burial. Save money and no need to hire nirwana”

• diulo on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:26 pm

diu lor one less high quality highway for my kuda and kerbau, have to avoid pothole and tlerate cucuk beng all the way to pj like always.

• Samad Jain on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Biasa la….

Sekejap ada, sekejap takda…..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:42 pm

din bribe enuf la….if i was menteri besar…i build underground roads

• la la land on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:05 pm

We should practise like Switzerland where everything must get the consent of the majority of the citizen. If majority says no then be it.

• NO WAY on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:40 pm

You wanna know why LDP is always packed/jam? If it’s not packed, how do litrak get more money. Who owns litrak? Think about it. Just check google map or earth, a lot of klang valley areas are not inter-connected by normal roads, only tolled highway is the option. Tolled highway is built to give people an option to go from point A to B fast, not served as a normal road like LDP.

• Maserati(Official) on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:32 pm

a quick checks shows u can go to PJ from puchong using OKR and federal highway.. tolless.. why are you complaining?

• Justin on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Why no smartie pants thought of doing toll collection like Sillypore style? ERP gantry.

Hello, Kiasuland going for GPS based toll collection and we are still sticking to the congested system of queue-stop-pay-wait for gantry to open-and sit in jam.

Want to suck money also do it conveniently la.

• dunno la on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Cannot!! Malaysian people are too intelligent to beat the system. A lot of people would simply go through gantry for free, without getting caught. there’s so many ways to do it such as using fake plate number, drive close to the front car, etc. Heck, there are even ways to blur plate numbers when captured on camera..

• Gomorrah on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Interesting reading the comments here. I live in PJ, along the proposed alignment and am very glad this highway has been scrapped. However disrespecting those people who live in Puchong and Kinrara for whatever reason is not on. The bigger questions that need to be asked is why did the previous government give approval for land development there with no planning for access roads? How is it that the only way to your house has to be a tollway? Is anyone wondering why the government failed the residents there just to enrich some cronies? Why should people in mature areas suffer for the lack of planning and get rich quick schemes that only benefit developers that are long gone, and a highway concession agreement that will continue to burden those residents?

Anybody remember how the LDP used to be jammed as each time a new area in Puchong was developed, they had to add overhead U-turns and new interchanges? How far ahead was the planning done? 1 year? 5 years? 6 months? until the developers 3rd wife wanted a condominium in New York?

Come on people start asking the hard questions – why should the only affordable housing (if it can be called that) be behind a toll plaza? Why concentrate development on one area in Malaysia? People want to destroy our country very easy – no need to think hard, just carpet bomb KL and PJ and if you got extra jet fuel, loop around hit Penang and JB and complete the job. Planning? What planning? Planning only to enrich some people’s Swiss bank account while the rest of the country eats dirt.

Kudos to the Selangor government, but bear in mind the political aspect – you hit me I hit you. Somebody went to jail so to gain political credibility this highway gets cancelled.

Wait for the appeal – Putrajaya still holds the cards.

• karipap basah on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:04 pm

tarak masuk poket, tarak bina jalan.

Malaysia way of business…

• tiger on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:07 am

pls lah, those anti-kidex sapoters claimed “improve public transportation” BUT HOW ON EARTH PUBLIC TRANSPORT eg RAPIDBUS going to move IF ONLY ONE MAIN ROAD FROM PUCHONG TO DAMANSARA still jammed? the main poblem is POLITICS, last time the local papers all want to be seen as champions of the anti-kidex group, NOW RECENTLY ONLY they stated to publish PRO-KIDEX vies and sapoters when real chance of kidex getting cancelled…how on earth bolehland going to progress when the MINORITY’s voice eg anti-kidex gets all the publicity

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:27 am

First of all , I welcome new highways but not at the expense of residence properties due to poor route planning. A new elevated highway can always be build above Federal Highway, LDP, Sprint, Kesas, etc. Such new highways will be able to channel traffic & wont be at the expense of other people’s properties.

• Azmin on Feb 17, 2015 at 1:06 am

I think my decision make sense because it is the voice of the rakyat. It is not right for us to give Kidex another chance by extending the deadline.

• azmin ali sucks on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:29 am

how about rakyat at Taman Keramat? they rakyat also what?

• azmin ali sucks on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:28 am

Azmin Ali poyo… KIDEX ko batalkan…. DATUM JELATEK ko teruskan! double standard!!!!! oh lupa… DATUM JELATEK projek ko kan.,,, hahaha

• For me, the only reason for massive traffic between PJ and Puchong is the LDP Sunway toll. The traffic can be better-managed without the toll plaza in place.

• start a fight on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:47 am

good guy selangor government, listening to the rakyat.

however,

malaysian people wanted cheaper car.. but oppose highway. I wonder where they would like to drove their branded car on?

PJ people is old people town? more to me, heritage house to younger generation that being rented out to arab, or black student..

• kreutze on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:57 am

The proposals is there, its just not the time, wait until unbearable traffic, the project will materialized later with few people go against it. You know, its just politic. Either BN or Pakatan running the project, you’ll end up with cronies, believe me.

• altenativeproject on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:21 am

Build underground road lah. others land x kacau langsung. Cuma cost lah.

• Fyi puchong property prices is almost on par with pj so for those who talk about puchong being dodgy and stuff do your research if kidex have money they can just build a tunnel from kinrara to damansara you old fools

• Maserati(Official) on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:33 pm

really? I still see houses selling for 200k .. which is cheap and comparable to the garage adjoining my house

• skolnik on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:06 pm

The federal government had over the weekend approved another extension for the project, from February 15 to November 14????

November 15 is it?

• adzwan on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:47 pm

All necessary report and assessment for traffic, environment etc is very important crucial thing. its understandable when state gov chop this project. blame
    kidex team for not be able to fulfil the requirement.

• youbuynTRY on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:22 am

KIDEX, unable to provide justification to build the road.
    Obviously, it cant be approved!

We should thanks to clean gov.
    Diry gov will approve any project for its own kocek.

Dont waste our hard earn money.
    Our hard earn money depreciating.
    Our hard earn money power will be slashed more than 6% on 1st Apr onwards.

Be wise, do the right things, and choose the right gov.
    Fair, justice, clean is what we need and want.

• I’m hope that Kidex will be commence as fast as possible.
    What you think of our traffic after 5 years?
    If Selangor government not allow Kidex to be built, may i know what is the alternate route for kinrara residents?
    We need SOLUTION…..
    Don’t be selfish and politic this issue when come to development.

regards