Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 6.4L V8 coming to Malaysia

Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 02

Exciting news, folks! The Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT will be officially launched here soon, as confirmed to us by Jeep Malaysia. As you may have guessed from the pictures, this is no ordinary SUV. It’s powered by a 6.4 litre V8 HEMI engine, and can run to 100 km/h in under five seconds. How much? RM698,889.

That’s a RM230k premium over the RM448,889 Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6 V6, but you do get a lot more car for the money. A comparable Range Rover Sport 5.0 V8 Supercharged, for instance, is priced significantly more at just under RM1 million.

The main highlight here is of course, the massive 6.4 litre V8 HEMI engine. It makes 470 hp and 624 Nm of torque, paired to an eight-speed automatic gearbox. It handles well too, claims Jeep, with an SRT-specific Selec-Track dynamic suspension with five settings to choose from. There’s even a Track mode that sends 70% of the power to the rear wheels.

There’s a lot of visual drama to go along with the performance too. Deep, aggressive bumpers, blacked-out grille surrounds, bonnet vents and 20-inch wheels with Brembo brakes are matched to a reworked interior with plenty of carbon-fibre and suede inserts. There’s also a 19-speaker Harman Kardon sound system, to go along with the glorious V8 soundtrack.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:28 pm

this car’s road tax can fight with RR road tax. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Stupid Jeep Marketing Team on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Went to BSC yesterday. They had big exhibition there. Every person who saw the price just walked away. Already Malaysians don’t like American trash, now they price it gila gila. Their normal Cherokee already RM400k plus.

People walked away laughing at how stupidly the cars were priced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
      • Jeep Fail Fail Fail on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:01 pm

I vote Jeep Malaysia as the stupidest car company in Malaysia.

All those who agree with me, please give a like.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 11
        • Who is Cheating Who? on Mar 14, 2015 at 11:39 am

I check the Jeep website, Jeep Cherokee is US$22,800. That is about Rm77,000.

Our Malaysian car tax and excise duty max out at 130%. That is the maximum any car can be taxed.

So, Jeep Malaysia, after paying tax, the car will be about RM160,000.

But, the sell the car RM450,000. Buta buta make RM300,000 clean profit from each car sold.

That is assuming Jeep Malaysia get the car at US selling price of US$22,800. Jeep Malaysia being the official country distributor will get this car for about US$15,000 from its Principal direct from Jeep USA.

So, you imagine, each car, I think profit margin is nearly RM350,000.

I cannot understand one thing, in the US, Jeep is a normal car with no status. It is like Proton in Malaysia. Jeep is an everybody car.

Why would Malaysians pay Porsche prices for a normal car in the USA? Even the Damansara Heights Datuks also won’t be this stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • symusty on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:55 pm

I see people compare local prices with US prices all the time. You guys should know cars in the US are cheaper than almost all countries. Even German cars are cheaper in the US than in Germany.

Doesn’t excuse what they’re doing in Malaysia, but just putting it out there.

• Stupid reply to stupid commentors on Mar 15, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Yes i agree that Jeep is exorbitantly priced and that is DRB fault because they too arrogant and i hope they fail. However, kudos to Honda Malaysia in collaboration with DRB for nicely priced models for our market.

Secondly,
            you got the tax calculation wrong. Being a CBU it is import tax 30% + (add on value) to 130% excise + 10% sales tax. So the tax is ridiculous and the govt is still to be blamed for that.

I love the Wrangler but at that price no way.

• JGNSANGAPSGT on Mar 16, 2015 at 9:53 am

Good Day.

For your information bro, the MSRP for Grand Cherokee SRT is $65,590 ≈ RM236,000 (base price, no option added).After adding 130% tax, its around RM542,800.
            For Grand Cherokee Overland 4×4 3.6 Pentastar V6, the price is $46,295 ≈ RM167,000 (base price no option added). After adding 130% tax, its around RM384,100

So, the profit margin (if my calculation is right, ignoring the other extras/option) is around RM100K-150K per vehicle. So it is not RM300,000, as you claimed here.

Before writing comments, please do your home work bro. :-)

References:
            http://www.jeep.com/model-compare/detailed-chart/?modelYearCode=CUJ201503&variation=1#

http://www.jeep.com/hostc/bmo/CUJ201503WKJX74A/2TL/colors.do?

• American Cars Zero Sales on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Don’t they know American cars don’t do well in Malaysia? Even the Chrysler also tak laku.

American cars only do well in their own US market. In Asia, American cars are like plague. Asians prefer economy as opposed to gas guzzlers.

this company never do market research? Just main tembak.

It is like Vertu trying to sell Nokia phones for RM500,000. Even one multi millionaire told me, only a fool will pay RM500k for a handphone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…JEEP not CHEAP…LOL

• ujintan on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:28 pm

So how much is the Road Tax? Wahahaha….6.4 litre

• If Peninsular Malaysia will be RM7080… Sabah/Sarawak RM4983.
      Cheaper than Rolls Royce road tax la

• Sengoku on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:29 pm

1 word = Gila

• Jeep Fail Fail Fail on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Normal people want SUV will buy the CX5. For RM130k, you can get a good car.

Rich people want SUV, they go for Cayenne or Macan or go and buy recon Range Rover.

Nobody will even look at Jeep. Better change your name to Sheep cause Jeep Malaysia like sheep, nothing in the head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • gaviny on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:30 pm

read on an australian car review site, they had one long termer, out of the 6 months, the last 2 months were spent in the dealer because of electrical failure

• cendol (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:33 pm

There is nothing Grand about this Jeep Grand.
    Just the price is Grand

• It will sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Stupid Jeep Marketing Team on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Jeep is one failure. It failed before and it is going to fail again. Very stupid people in Jeep Malaysia. Everybody knows big cc cars don’t sell well.

Already nobody buying your trash. Now you bring a 6.4 V8. Only idiots in Jeep Malaysia think people going to pay RM30k in road tax.

So so so stupid the marketing people. Again we will see Jeep failing in Malaysia.

Also, we all know Jeep got the worst RV in the world. The old Jeeps in Malaysia are now going for even 3k also nobody wants. Buy this trash for RM650k and 3 years later sell this car at RM40k

rich people rather buy the Cayenne S with a 3.6 twin turbo and can do below 5 seconds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Since this is an SUV, its road tax would be RM7,107.20. Not cheap, surely, but far less than a sedan with a 6.4 litre engine’s road tax would be (RM 17,506.50).

Refer to the Malaysian road tax structure here: http://paultan.org/2015/03/11/malaysia-road-tax-structure-explained/
      Or our road tax calculator on CarBase.my: http://www.carbase.my/tool/road-tax-calculator

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Jeep Fail Fail Fail on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Even road tax cheap also, parts gila gila mahal. My friend had an old Jeep Cherokee, he said each time service, nothing less than RM6k

I think no matter how rich you are, how big Datuk you are, you will wonder why each time RM6k to service your car.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Don’t like, then don’t buy. Don’t need to bark like a mad dog. Everyone has their taste and preference and it is their right.
          Empty vessel always makes a lot of noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • hazamiey on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:33 pm

My uncle, a Dato’ who lived in 2-storey terrace house in Damansara heights bought Range Rover 5.0 supercharged and paying RM 4,800 on his road tax annually. Still, he is barely that rich. There’s hundreds of bungalows over there and their cars are fetching millions of ringgit. This “700K only” Jeep will sell. For rich people who want to stand out from bland Porsche SUVs and BMW SAVs will find the Jeep very tempting. You want to see people who don’t care about brand too much? Go to Bangsar, Damansara Heights, Taman Tun, Mutiara Damansara, Mont Kiara and other places surrounding it. You’ll find Lotus, MG, Merc AMG (with 6.3 v8), BMW Ms, Citroen DS, and other less sought brands. Ferrari, Porsche, Lambo? Nahh too generic. Do not shocked of u find Koenigsegg Agera over there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:54 pm

i see…my aunty also a tan siti…tau tak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
        • Your Head Lah on Mar 14, 2015 at 1:48 am

Pls stop speaking rubbish little boy

Pls speak like a grown up adult!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • W204 C63 AMG on Mar 13, 2015 at 7:31 pm

I live in bangsar, but I only have 2 cars in my car porch, the most recent one is a 2014 Evoque Coupe that I bought for 340K. Not every single one of those people living in the suburbs you mentioned are that stupid to pay that amount of money for a Jeep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • They are not stupid.. Some of them just want something different.. AMGs, Porches, BMWs, Ferraris are common sight nowdays in KL..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 15, 2015 at 4:30 pm

well u were stupid enough to pay 340k for what is essentially a good looking freelander….at least ure rich

• Who is Cheating Who? on Mar 14, 2015 at 11:41 am

Jeep is a normal car in the US. It is priced only at US$22,800.

The Datuks and Tan Sris are not that stupid, otherwise they won’t be that rich in life. Hazamiey, please grow up. Finish your SPM first.

• Jimmy on Mar 15, 2015 at 12:34 pm

For a brand called Jeep, yes I will buy its Grand Cherokee provided that it has: 1) supreme beauty, and 2) 2188mm x 1988mm x 5888mm (WHL).

May I ask Jeep Malaysia, do you know Q7 which, in my opinion, is good for Snow-White her 7 little friends?

• spongewai on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:58 pm

BRING MAI DODGE HERE FOR SALE GOOD LOR

• this suv is 5 seater or 7 seater ?

• If you have road tax price in mind when buying a car, then maybe you should stick with Japanese or local cars. RM7k+ road tax is nothing for those who can afford these kind or cars.

• pandir on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:09 pm

woo,look at the dashboard.IRIZ RADIOPANEL!!congrats proton for having other company copycat ur design

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Big Hemi V8 = aural pleasure. Road tax isn’t too bad actually as its an SUV. What is bad though, is the fuel consumption – well, what do you expect from a 6.4 engine. Now that the Jeep is back here, when is Caddy coming to Malaysia? The CTS and ATS are amazing cars, and deserve to be seen/heard here.

• I was once seen Jeep fair in Ipoh. Frankly speaking, they are not worth for that price.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:39 pm

They should bring in the new Toyota Klugger instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Painter on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:43 pm

With all the talk about high cost of living in Malaysia, there seems to be an exception when it comes to spending money.

Cars and homes are so prohibitively expensive, yet people still buy them.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:39 pm

In Malaysia, people buy cars because of necessity. Yes it’s expensive compare to other countries but here can loan up to 9 years with 10% deposit. Some of model can even make full loan to buy it.
      As for house, people think the price keeps going up and up so their mentality better to buy now before it’s too late.
      With high cost of living now, the rakyats suffer. But there are also very very rich Malaysian here who is not effected, that’s why this Jeep Grand Cherokee is available.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Jeep Malaysia is a joke, honestly.

Considering the price, why would you put down so much money on a Jeep. Yeah, American muscle and all, but tbh for the price, I’d probably look at say a 0-100 in 6.5s BMW X5 xDrive 35i, or a base Cayenne V6 if I don’t mind spending more. Yes both cars go from 0-100 in above 5 seconds, but one thing is for sure, the BMW and Porsche owners will be laughing when it comes to the road tax and usability of the car. And the fact that their SUVs, just like the Range Rover, look classy while going fast, unlike this AhBeng-ed Jeep. Plus they are more comfortable too, and tbh, based on the 3.6 V6, the Jeep doesn’t have the right to command the price. It doesn’t feel that nice inside.

And while I don’t usually talk about resale value, but in this case, good luck when you want to dispose it. Not only its a Jeep, the engine is so big, people won’t even want to come close.

• Your Head Lah on Mar 14, 2015 at 1:49 am

I will buy this car. Only if I can get some Govn projects first.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 14, 2015 at 10:56 am

Jeep is doing it all wrong. Want a performance vehicle?

They should have brought in the old Dodge Ram SRT10 with the V10 Viper motor (or even anything with a V8 Hemi)

Since it is a pickup, it would be tax free. :)

But its a numbers game. Big numbers dont really translate well to actual road numbers. Once we tested the Ram SRT10 along with the Audi S4 and BMW E46 M3 SMG. All 3 did identical 13.8s 1/4 mile.

• wiraturbo1 on Mar 14, 2015 at 7:04 pm

My wira turbo can do 10s. Lol, pathetic cars

• llllooooollll on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:23 am

By quarter mile (402 m) time:

Bugatti Veyron Super Sport –> 9.9 sec @ 145.8 mph (234.6 km/h)
        Lamborghini Aventador –> 10.4 sec @ 136 mph (219 km/h)
        Porsche 911 GT3 –> 11.2 sec @ 126 mph (203 km/h)
        Audi R8 V10 Plus –> 11.3 sec @ 125.8 mph (202.5 km/h)
        Nissan GT-R –> 11.5 sec @ 124 mph (200 km/h)
        Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren –> 11.6 sec @ 127.7 mph (205.5 km/h)
        Lexus LFA –> 11.6 sec @ 123.2 mph (198.3 km/h)
        BMW M5 –> 11.9 sec @ 120 mph (190 km/h)

Wiraturbo1’s Wira Turbo –> 10 sec @ ~ 230km/h
        only Bugatti Veyron SS can hardly win your Wira Turbo
        0-230km/h in 10 sec with your Wira Turbo???!!

• Matthew on Mar 15, 2015 at 7:19 pm

What’s the point of all the BIG V’s if “they” implement the speed limit to 110km/h?

• SRT-8 on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:19 am

Because a Pentastar V6 does not have enough power, that’s why

• Wtf ROFL on Nov 23, 2019 at 1:30 am

Lantak pi dorang lah! Got money buy, no money just sit behind your keyboard and complain!