Toyota Corolla Altis ESport Nurburgring Edition launched in Thailand – limited edition, from RM108k

Toyota-Corolla-Altis-ESport-Nurburgring-Edition

The Toyota Corolla Altis ESport Nurburgring Edition has been launched in Thailand – and yes, there is some weight to the rather ambitious-sounding nomenclature. In 2014, Toyota Team Thailand came in seventh at the 24 Hours of Nürburgring in the Altis so it’s not just a failed attempt at marketing a rather sedate model.

To be built in limited numbers, the ESport Nurburgring Edition will be showcased at the 2015 Bangkok Motor Show before going on sale in April. Only two colour schemes are offered with the Black Mica option kicking things off at 949,000 baht (RM107,920) and White Pearl paint costing owners 959,000 baht (RM109,058).

Look-faster bits on the exterior includes a more prominent front bumper, a piano black front grille finish and commemorative stickers on the front wheel arches. At the rear, a not-so-subtle rear spoiler with an integrated third brake lamp and a rear diffuser are featured. Inside, the seats are trimmed in black leather with contrasting red accents across the dashboard and door lining.

Toyota-Corolla-Altis-ESport-Nurburgring-Edition-5

On the mechanical side of things, the Toyota Corolla Altis ESport Nurburgring Edition carries forward the same 1.8 litre, four-cylinder Dual VVT-i engine from its vanilla siblings. The mill produces 141 PS and 177 Nm of torque while the sole transmission choice is a CVT gearbox. Power gets transferred to the front wheels.

The suspension has, reportedly, been tweaked to offer a tad bit more performance though certain Thai channels have stated that the overall setup remains identical to that of the normal Corolla Altis models.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam Loo1 on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:15 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 179
    • Toyota on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:34 am

According to a retarded Toyota salesman, this car give you 2 airbags and super good RV so its very safe to buy. UMW Toyota won’t bother about the safety features to Malaysian cause people still buying Toyota and they are more concerned about their profits rather than our life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Those can’t afford the Altis whine about it a lot. Those can afford it still happy driving it.

People rather buy this one than the Civic Type R. However, either both of them, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Buy a kimchi, you show me your sour face during trade in negotiation.

Buy a Proton, you show your soulmate sour face during Proton breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
        • karam singh on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Toyota Corolla Altis ESport Nurburgring Edition ?
          Do everyone know Nurburgring is a race track?
          If this one a Nurburgring package, try drive it on the race track first.Lets see if it deserve it or not.
          Just bodykit and trims not gonna make it faster around the track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
          • Pfalzer on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:27 pm

do you even know Nuerburgring? Do you know touristenfahrten for public road-legal car can race on that track?meaning, my old trabant also can participate and put my sticker on my mighty trabant! google or youtube it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • blaster88 on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:02 am

Samlorr, comparing with Civic Type R? Seriously? 141PS, some fancy add-ons and then proceed to include the legendary Nurburgring name??? A feeble attempt at marketing and disgrace to the Nurburgrring. Please bloody sue Toyota and send Samloor to have his brains checked!!!!!

• Specifically referring to your video, This could happen to anyone or any car when you are speeding on a wet road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Some people think that they will be very safe if the car is equipped with all kind of safety people without realizing even best safety car also cannot withstand high speed crash.
        Even BMW 5 car also ‘penyet’ like pancake on the highway before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • ah jib gor on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:25 pm

not true. i’ve done a fast cornering at 160kmph on a very long strecth corner. the road surface is very wet due to heavy rain. i did this just to test the cornering handling and the road is clear (3am in the morning). surprisingly, i didnt lost control of my car. why? because i drive kia rio with electronic stability control. i could feel the ESC is kicking in several times (activating the EBD + traction control). so if u think all cars is the same, think hard again. good luck driving your toyota syiok sendiri with no ESC & traction control. if u still think RV is more important than your life value..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
        • AVH (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:39 pm

And I tried doing the same thing under the same conditions albeit at a slower 130kph.

But in a nearing 24 year old Proton Saga. And iam still here, healthy and still breathing and my car is as it was before. So what does that mean? My 24 year old car is also extremely safe and well engineered?

So what does that mean? If you don’t crash and die in mid-high 100kph speed your car is the safest thing out there? Like this I can attest the thousands of VSC-less cars out there, myvi, Saga, Vios and even Altis doing 180kph in the rain to be just as safe as your Rio.

Stability control is vital when you are doing sudden evasive maneuvers and more so if it’s wet. Not for you to floor to 160kph in an empty wet Highway and keeping you safe.

• red supra on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:01 pm

My friend crashed into a tree while negotiating a corner at 60 kmh on a wet tarmac. same car as u, 24years old saga

• so hai on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:29 pm

R u a test driver? Else stop endangering other drivers by your moronic stunt

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:41 am

That could have happened to any car with a combination of unknown factors like bad driver speeding, bad tires, and the road appears to have been slightly wet from the looks of it, though I may be wrong on that one.

There’s too little information to blame anyone. What makes you think that this crash happened just because it’s a Toyota Corolla Altis?

• ProtonGSC on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:52 am

UMW no need waste time to bring it here…

1st. Change the marketing team.
      2nd. Change management.
      3rd. Stop lying to customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • dugongx on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Toyota’s have always been known for poor handling especially the sampan Altis. With no VSC you are guaranteed to die in an expensive death coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Jimmy on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Nurburgring, what is that?
        Has it got some thing to do with comfort + economy?

• The toyota corolla is a hideous car that i would rather get aids than buy.
      However you are extremely ignorant for sharing that link, a high speed car accident that is driven by a drunk driver, and you blame the car?
      Anyone with half a brain can tell you that any drunk driver in any car is extremely dangerous.
      Regardless if the car had 1 star safety rating or 5 star safety rating, the speed of that impact would kill absolutely anyone in ANY car PERIOD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Please don’t cry!! :D OOooooooooooohhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Forgive those that has gone thru the Hailat syndrome.

Sam has fixed that for me.

Sell the cancer and you will be a new man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo1 on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:20 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 143
    • Green on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Toyota Corrolla Altis: 1300kg
      Jetta: 1380kg
      Civic: 1270kg
      Syphy: 1265kg
      Mazda 3:1292kg

what kind of report is the video?
      comparing to old gen Japanese vehicle with new german car?

German car not very heavy also man.

• Many Japanese cars including the Lexus high end cars uses out-dated manufacturing method.
      The cars may not be light but it is made of weak heavy material. The Germans have already use Ultra high-strength steel, Aluminum Alloys on many critical section of the cars to make it strong and yet light weight.
      A very good example is the Lexus RC-F which weighs 2 tons for a 2-door coupe. Why? BMW using advance manufacturing technique was able to keep the weight down to 1.5 tons. Both cars are sold at the same price.
      The Golden days of Japanese auto industry from the 90s are gone. They don’t make affordable cars anymore, they don’t make lighter cars, they don’t make fun to drive cars, they don’t better value cars anymore.
      It is not a surprise that VW group matched the sales number to Toyota group last year.
      But I guess there are many Toyota die-hard fans in Malaysia. Lucky Toyota to have people like you to feed their wallets.

• VW celeberated Killer amount of sales @ China.

VW = China car.

CHina now dont buy Japanese car, they boycott due to the old Japanese War bla bla..

VW @ CHina = use OLD VW GOLF MK4 platform.

U did research, VW almost as much as Toyota.
        But u need do more, VW Sales mostly come from China ONLY.

Toyota has now far less sales @ China, but Still Champion @ other Developed and Developing countries.

• Which car exactly that came in 7th place? Bet it’s not a farking Toyota Corolla Altis… ptui.

@Gregory, I’ve google but found no Toyota in 7th place. However, in 11th is the LFA. Gimme some sos to make me wrong please (yea, I am just lazy to search it myself).

• Pfalzer on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

ayyo macha, google it wisely loh..use wikipedia if ur brain not working well. 2014 24hrs of Nuerburgring Class SP3:
      1st: Toyota 86
      2nd: Renault Clio Cup
      3rd: Opel Manta
      4th:Renault Clio 3
      6th:Volkswagen Mk3 GTI
      7th:Toyota Corolla
      8th: Renault Clio Cup
      9th: Honda S2000
      10th: Renault Clio Cup

kapiert?

• neemfa on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:24 am

tak malu nya.

7th place still want to make no-burger-ring edition.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:25 am

This will be a great replacement for my Sonata.

Thanks to Sam for taking my cancer away

• Rear spoiler is hideous !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • The Red linings will add another 20Hp and yeah two airbags will be maintained.

• razakoss on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:52 am

OMG. Nurburgring edition? oh come on! this car is absolutely tarnish the legendary nurburgring image.

• Nurburgring meh? Why not Buriram edition, or Rayong edition?

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Nurburgring?

Must be joking. Too bad they don’t build it in Malaysia, or you could have the MEX Highway edition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • dugongx on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Nurburgring Edition? Hahahahahhaha

• what da heck is this

• carazy on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:13 pm

I really can understand if Toyota-86 got Nurburgring edition, because its possible/logic. But for this car.. It make no sense at all. Pls T, do you think all uncle and auntie knows what is Nurburgring heh? If they know SIC I also shock!!!

• abc123 on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:31 pm

hahaa… i totally agree with you… best thing nya the car not even sell in europe… so no related to nurburgring AT ALL….!!!

• Kosumaledoko on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:45 pm

For the clueless buyer only. If this is true Nurburgring edition, what is it’s best lap time on the Ring? Better handling? More power?

• cendol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Vios Nurburgring edition will come out soon.
    RM120k for 1.5L

• bengbeng on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Vios abeng Edition for LED crazy all over the car, icluding on rims! Haha!

• Low Budget on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Vios only exist in East Asia, so any new edition should bear the ‘Boleh’ name.

• azhar on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:51 pm

corolla and nurburgring juz doesnt mix..its like perodua made an axia sepang edition…despo attempt from toyota to sell

• slewe on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Now despo ady with many Same Lorrrr or Sam Loo variants, no customer at showroom so can korek hidung, thumb down and bash other brands here

• Random readers on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:13 pm

are they on drug… high or something? what are they thinking? TOYOTA altis nurburgring? LMAO

• Edmont on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:28 pm

this is what happen when you’re high on weeds lol..

ain’t know what they’re thinking about.. need more weeds perhaps lol..

• put whatever lah on this car, still ugly. better buy civic.. or preve also ok.

• Fact: the car looked really great and sporty.
    Fact: people will only buy it unless there is improvement of spec!!!!!

• Megane on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Hahaha what kind of joke is this. No need to put Nurburgring name la..Shameful

• Samad Jain on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:28 pm

What an insult to Nurburgring….

Toyota has no shame at all!!!! The buyers of this car must be damn syoik sendiri….

What’s next, Toyota??

Toyota altis….
    Monte Carlo edition?
    Monza edition?
    Suzuka edition?

Sudah la…..

• jacksonljs on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:31 pm

whatever edition, i don’t care…but there’s one edition for sure in Malaysia is “Very Hailat Edition” or VHE for overpriced luxury ‘T’ cars without VSC. But don’t worry, as still a lot of dumb customers that will buy it anyway, excellent RV (Regret Value) ma…

• Shameless Toyota

• nikko on Mar 26, 2015 at 4:31 am

guys…this car really race at nurburgring wor…found the video at YouTube..actually…this is not a bad looking car I must say…the only problem is the safety package and price damn high…