VIDEO: Honda Civic Type R – development car sets Nurburgring front-wheel drive lap time of 7:50.63

Honda Civic Type R-04

You read about the new Honda Civic Type R earlier in the day, and so you’re aware that there’s plenty to shout about with this one as far as numbers go – 310 PS and 400 Nm from a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo engine, a 270 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h time of 5.7 seconds make for some impressive Top Trumps specs.

Great on-paper numbers then, but what about real world performance? Well, Honda has announced the Nürburgring lap time for the Civic Type R development car, and the magic number is 7 minutes 50.63 seconds, which puts the new CTR well ahead of the current front-wheel drive lap record holder, the Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy-R (7 min 54.36).

Alas, the CTR’s record run – accomplished during the final phase of pre-production testing – isn’t official, but the automaker says that development car’s technical specifications are representative of the final production car, with a standard state of engine tune and kit levels identical to the production car.

The only changes were the removal of equipment (air conditioning, the front passenger seat and audio equipment) to offset the additional weight of a full roll cage, which Honda says was installed specifically for safety reasons and not to add rigidity.

The development car used production-specification high-rigidity 19-inch alloy wheels, fitted with 235/35R19 road tyres developed especially for the car.

So, no new lap record for now, but the intent has certainly been signalled, and Honda says it is planning to send a production CTR out to the ‘Ring later this year with the aim of setting a new lap record for a front-wheel drive production car. Will it be done? Bets on, if you please.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Can u guy add login function for paultan mobile site..I had to go to desktop version to login then switch back. Anyway the new layout for mobile site look better than previous one.

• roll cage for safety reasons and not to add rigidity? Isn’t that the main purpose of a roll cage??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • snailcar on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Why too slow? I think the turbo unit dun work well like those in Korean cars. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Yes, the main purpose is for safety reason but you do get the benefit of extra chassis rigidity. Honda should just retime the time…

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:11 pm

No “car experts” “car enthusiasts” wants to condemn it for having a “shitty” torsion beam that handles like a boat?

Thats strange, considering how badly they bashed cars fitted with torsion instead of multi-link, or macphersons

• don know who said at new CTR there .. i beat this ctr wont faster than megane …it still fast than megane bro..

• mango on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:39 pm

my 2004 standard integra type r with sports tyre beat his time in gt6… lousy driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Matrix on Mar 03, 2015 at 11:44 pm

So what?
    My inspira is much better than this.

I beat type R so many times.

This new junk R, the result is the same.. loser R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Oh come on,you are just driving the pathetic inspira,no even the ori lancer.
      i doubt you know there is such thing call evo x,which only can confidently say beat this type r many times.
      like someone claim riding ex5 beating your pathetic inspira many time.
      get the joke?

• Really on Mar 04, 2015 at 12:23 am

Well, the CTR should be faster than the Megane. It’s newer and more importantly, have more power, isn’t it? For those that have doubts over the CTR’s rear torsion beam, don’t forget that the Megane also has the same suspension. I think people should be more concerned about torque steer instead.

• neonceejay on Mar 04, 2015 at 12:44 am

from what i can see via the video(just my two cents opinion)

This car have good torque which means it can swing through most of the corner with 3rd gear. I barely see the driver shift to 2nd, or even 1st.(only once kut)

and then, i think torsion beams does do some effect on the car, as i can see the car…erm….dunno how to say but behave slightly weird, even tough the suspension pretty good, as the vibration barely translates into the cabin camera(maybe an anti-vibration go-pro did that?)

No such thing as V-TEC kick in, but yet no such thing as blow off valve fart. Sounds sweet especially when downshifting. vroom~~~~(hope to see the rpm indicator shoots up!)

that’s all. LOL

and i think it will be so so so expensive that….I think i will debate to have a proton satria, satria neo, than this masterpiece.

GST mau lai liao. kasi jimat lifestyle~!

• ghost on Mar 04, 2015 at 9:37 am

just my opinion, from Vtec lover. Some how this new type-r not my liking. I think FD2 and DC5 still better looking than this one. And i love the Honda famous V-Tec screaming sound, but I somehow can’t hear it on video (correct me if i wrong).

• OMG…..the engine sounds shitty. Mic quality i hope?

• Woohoo

• not bad almost catchup this 1.0L ecoboosted FFC @7m22s
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e_XGroZP9Gk

• LED Flashlight on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:02 pm

go here for the best 18650 rechargeable battery anywhere