One last ride: Fast & Furious 8 set for Apr 2017 release

paul-walker-in-f7

Looks like Paul Walker’s one last ride wasn’t the last ride for the Fast and Furious franchise. Part eight in the series will be made, and is set to be released on April 14, 2017.

Called Furious 8, the upcoming movie’s release date was announced by none other than Dominic Toretto himself at Universal’s CinemaCon presentation in Las Vegas yesterday.

“I swear to you and to my brother upstairs (Walker), we are going to make the best movie you’ve ever seen,” the 47-year old star actor and producer of Furious 7 Vin Diesel said.

The movie will be a follow-up to the current Furious 7. Directed by Malaysian-born James Wan, the film has grossed more than $1 billion worldwide since its April 3 opening, crossing the magic threshold in just 17 days.

If you’ve been following the franchise since day one, you would have shed a tear in silence (c’mon, admit it!) at the ending of F7, which paid tribute to Paul Walker. The “turbocharged Japanese import guy” in the show (contrasting Dom’s penchant for American muscle) was slain in a car crash on November 30, 2013, aged 40. How many of you have Wiz Khalifa’s See You Again on replay? One last ride, for Paul.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Fast Fan on Apr 24, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Nah this is called Malaysia Boleh lo. The director so smart and he is/was Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • SagaLine 4G13 on Apr 24, 2015 at 5:48 pm

wahhhh..first time i like in this page..
      peace!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Congrats James Wan. Heard that Alvin Tan who is currently based in LA will direct Furious 8. Hes also good in film making…just cant wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • LMAO people are so stupid. Born in Sarawak, lived in Australia all his life, he is even considered an Australian film director, he is as Malaysian as a Holden Commodore. Don’t flatter yourself.

• albag on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:37 pm

i thought the Furious 7 should drop a beautiful fullstop to the F&F franchise… I worry the 8th instalment will just spoil everything…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Any show with T-backs, guys will see it again :-P~~

• nope, no tears for me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • aiyo…in case u don’t know, fast n furious franchise is planned until FF9…Lucas Black (tokyo drift star) signed contract for 3 FF movies, if excludes FF7 (where he is only cameo) that might gone up to FF10.

Also they introduce new person (Kurt Russell) which will be expanded in FF8-9

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 25, 2015 at 9:29 am

these paultan guys need to work less and watch more movies….news about 3 more movies quite long known already

• Ask rosmah son to be the producer. Add also j low or j lo. Sure pass 2 billion excluding gst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Talentcorp, make a statement, perhaps you can convince James Wan to at least take back his Malaysian citizenship.

• Josh Ling on Apr 25, 2015 at 2:25 am

don’t think he would be interested in doing so. can’t wait for the new movie. this series still has a lot of lives to itself. never expect it to end at FF7.

• gaviny on Apr 25, 2015 at 7:58 am

Not only about paul walker but also makes you think of all the people you may have lost