Volkswagen Golf GTI Clubsport concept breaks cover

Volkswagen golf gti clubsport concept 01

The Volkswagen Golf GTI Clubsport has been revealed ahead of its Worthesee meet debut in Austria – teased a few days ago through sketches, the first images of the three-door special have come about.

As per the initial drawings, the GTI Clubsport features a more aggressive front end, with two functional air ducts sitting where the fog lamps are on the standard GTI. There’s a red accent running across the upper front grille that sweeps into the headlamps, and a Clubsport decal strip runs across the lower side of the car.

At the back, there’s a new roof spoiler, a restyled rear bumper and a redesigned diffuser to match the rework, and the GTI Clubsport – which is finished in Onyx white with a black roof -sits on 19-inch alloys.

The entire bodykit package on the show car supposedly previews what to expect on an ‘Edition 40’ model that will be introduced next year to mark the model’s 40th anniversary, much like how the GTI Edition 35 celebrated the 35-year mark back in 2011.

Powering the Golf GTI Clubsport is a EA888 2.0 litre TSI engine offering 261 hp, which is 34 hp more than a regular Golf GTI equipped with the optional Performance Package. The mill is mated to a six-speed DSG transmission, with an electronically-controlled XDS differential in tow.

The automaker hasn’t revealed torque figures for the car, nor are there performance figures as yet. No details on the rest of the mechanicals too, but there should undoubtedly be some revisions to the suspension and brakes to handle the extra grunt.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Areyousure on May 13, 2015 at 10:37 am

I seriously wonder how much horsepower can cracks from this EA888 2.0 turbocharged engine. It keeps surprises me on its development!

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 10:49 am

VW? IS for those who have
    1. time (to send garage)
    2. money (VW ain’t cheap)
    3. spare car (so you still can travel while your VW in garage)

So ask yourself do you have ALL these above?

Don’t forget VW in Germany = Toyota in Japan, nothing so special, so no need Syok Sendiri of your conti car.

I never Syok of Toyota, I just wanna tell you… In terms of reliability, price, comfort, fuel saving, RV in Malaysian car markets, Toyota still your best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • taknakToyota on May 13, 2015 at 1:41 pm

What about safety? No use reliability, price, comfort, fuel saving, RV if you are dead ady

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:15 pm

If you can’t afford Toyota cars with more airbags and VSC, don’t pretend they don’t exist!!!

Yes, you can get a City with more airbags and VSC, but you also know City quality now. And Honda has more expensive maintenance and less RV.

Yes, you can get a Mazda 3 with more airbag and VSC, but you also know Mazda has very very low RV and expensive spare parts, maintenance.

There ain’t perfect car in the world. You pay peanut, you get monkey. So work harder to get a Toyota with more safety features then.

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:18 pm

There are Prius C Prius Altis Camry 86 with 7 airbags and VSC. If you can’t afford them, don’t pretend they don’t exist.

• Billy on May 13, 2015 at 11:38 am

Typo I suppose? Anthony

• Wtf bro. Very unfair statements. All cars has problems so happened if you bought an unlucky one. I got 3 Volks from 3 years to another one very recently. I am a happy owner. No major problem. Yes we heard of Volks with problems likewise we heard of Toyota. I am not disagreeing with the good points you talked about Toyota. I have a Toyota Landcruiser and are very happy too