Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 introduced – from RM210k

Golf-GTI-Mk7-02a

We’re coming to you from Singapore, where Volkswagen Group Malaysia has decided to do a little media preview of the Golf GTI Mk7 ahead of its official launch. The launch proper will be held this Saturday, when you can start getting a feel of the hot-hatch at your nearest Volkswagen showroom.

The Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 is priced at RM217,888 before options (we’ll get to that in a minute). Also, surprise, surprise, Volkswagen is offering the three-door version of the GTI for the first time, at a cheaper price of RM209,888. Prices quoted exclude insurance.

As goes without saying, this new hot-hatch is a high-performance version of the latest MQB-based Golf Mk7. Our local Golf GTI comes with the standard 220 PS 2.0 litre turbocharged engine, 10 PS more than before. Not to let the horsepower grab the limelight, the engine also produces 350 Nm of torque, a good 70 Nm bump from the Mk6 GTI, which we reviewed back in 2009.

The EA 288 2.0 TSI engine is mated to a six-speed dual-clutch DSG (wet, not dry type), and the new GTI accomplishes the 0-100 km/h dash in 6.5 seconds (6.9 on the previous) and continues to a top speed of 246 km/h.

Golf-GTI-Mk7-05a

On the other side of the performance coin, with standard stop/start system and regenerative braking on, the GTI will return a fuel economy of 6.4 litres per 100 km and expels just 148 g/km of CO2 (versus 7.4 l/100 km and 173g/km in the outgoing model).

This shows that the new drivetrain is 14% more fuel efficient, while emitting 16% less CO2 compared to the previous-generation GTI. Something for your trivia file – the hot-hatch fulfils the EU6 emissions standard.

To improve handling, the boffins at Wolfsburg have not only stiffened the chassis but also added in an advanced electronic differential lock called the XDS+, which essentially applies more torque on the wheel that needs more of it, resulting in sharper turn-ins. It also prevents wheelspin on individual wheels. Also, the new progressive steering lets the car make a turn with less steering movements.

What else? There’s an ESC Sport function that allows the deactivation of the ASR (traction control) at a press of a button. Hold the button longer and you’ll activate ESC Sport.

Let’s turn our attention to the exterior of the car. As is, the five-door GTI comes with bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, red brake calipers, two chrome tailpipes and one GTI badge for each wind direction. There’s also a GTI rear spoiler with black borders around the rear windscreen, in addition to the GTI honeycomb grille and the red stripe running across it.

One thing to note here: gone is the double red strip on the grille, which has been replaced by a single red strip that extends into the headlight housing. As for its wheels, the five-door GTI features 18-inch ‘Austin’ alloys wrapped in 225/40 R18 tyres.

Inside, you’ll find GTI-specific black roofliner, red ambience lighting, a sport steering wheel with paddle shifters, gear knob and instrument cluster, special trim strips, and stainless steel pedals and foot rest. The seats are wrapped in the GTI-signature ‘Clark’ tartan pattern.

There’s also a GTI-exclusive ‘Premium’ multi-function display with a lap timer function and rear LED reading lights. In-car entertainment system comes from the 5.8-inch Composition media with eight speakers. Exclusive for the GTI, the touchscreen display has a ‘Checkered Black’ motif.

Golf-GTI-Mk7-07a

The Performance Pack won’t be offered at the moment, but there are plans to bring the 230 PS car in. What we do get is the Tech Pack, which adds another RM10,000 to the price. For that, the GTI will have Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) with Driving Profile Selection, which gives five modes – Sport, Normal, Comfort, ECO and Individual.

There’s also Vienna leather seats with red stitching, with a 12-way electric adjustable driver seat replete with lumbar support. More options – you can swap out the standard 18-inch wheels for 19-inch ‘Santiago’ alloys wrapped in 225/35 R19 for another RM3,000.

These options are not available on the three-door Golf GTI, which is offered only in a ‘Pure’ specification trim and is available on a BTO (built-to-order) basis. Another catch is that the cheaper three-door version goes without many of the bits and pieces that are standard on the five-door model.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_specs_ 014

With the more affordable price, out goes the bi-xenon headlights, replaced by halogens, while 17-inch ‘Brooklyn’ wheels are in place over the five-door’s standard 18s. Also deleted are LED fog lights, electric foldable side mirrors, auto wipers, cruise control, and, get this, parking sensors.

We’re not done yet, either. The 5.8-inch screen is replaced by a smaller 5.0-inch display that goes without USB or Bluetooth connectivity. Also, automatic climate control is replaced by a manual unit, and the number of speakers is halved from eight to four. Too bad Volkswagen Malaysia didn’t go one step further and specify a manual gearbox to go with it.

There are four colours to choose from – carbon steel grey metallic, tornado red solid, pure white solid and deep black pearl. Do keep in mind that the car will be launched in all Volkswagen showrooms this Saturday, August 24. So if you want to check out Volkswagen’s hot-hatch, you know where – and when – to do so.

UPDATE: We’ve already driven the new Golf GTI Mk7 at the international press drive event in Saint Tropez. Read our review of Volkswagen’s latest do-it-all hot-hatch here.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Farhat on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 254
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Let me complete the sentence for you…

“…hot-hatch legend for an ego-deprived tailgating freak”…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 284 Thumb down 151
      • Ihateneo on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Your sentence seems to fit more on our local made hot-hatch, Satria Neo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 147
        • Petrolhead on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 199
          • policeman on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:01 am

and this 210K car uses some mamak’s sarung for seat fabric.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 116 Thumb down 180
          • Really German Engineering? on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:24 am

Do you know that VW buyers in Malaysia are the most gullible people on earth? Why? 2 Reasons.

Reason 1 – Because they pay about RM200,000 for a car that globally is equivalent or same in status as Proton. VW globally is nothing. They are same status as even Skoda (though same group). But in Malaysia, Malaysian buyers act as if they have made it in life and are the pinnacle of success. They act arrogant and even at traffic lights they rev and rev to show the car beside themselves that they, the VW owners, are happening. But in actual fact, like I said, in global eyes, people regard VW owners as normal people. For heaven’s sake, Volkswagen is the German term for “People’s car”. Its like owning a Proton. But likely Proton does not charge you RM200,000 to own it.

2nd Reason: You pay RM200,000 for problem after problem. Isn’t that so silly? VW Owners claim it is German superior engineering, but if it really superior engineering, why is there so so many complaints? You pay so much of money for problems?

Now VW Owners don’t know what to do. They bought their cars thinking that;
            1) Got Status ie thinking its same level as BMW and Mercedes.
            2) Quality of German Engineering.

But now, both of these points have gone down the drain. The car has zero status. Infact, people laugh at VW owners on the road because they know the reputation of constant breakdowns and DSG scandals and how foolish the owner was to pay RM200,000 for a car that is so problematic in the first place.

Isn’t better you just buy a normal car like Proton, Honda or Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 275 Thumb down 105
          • alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:56 pm

in the real world, a Golf 1.6 will sell abt the same price as waja 1.6, but we can understand if VW sells the GTI at a higher price due to its performance different from say, Satria R3. however, i find 130-150k is a reasonable figure. 200K+ is totally greed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 12
          • Drivetrain Selalu Gagal on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Spend Rm200k on a toilet car that breaksdown all the time? Better to spend on the A200 or a BMW 316i. Maybe less powerful but you get status. Chics know Merc and BM owners got money. VW owners are usually small wannebe punks trying to be grown ups. In Malaysia, VW owners are like Mat Rempit in most girl’s eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 34
          • dreaming of maserati on Aug 25, 2013 at 2:19 am

No no no. VW buyers are only the 2nd most gullible people, coz at least VW cars are high in price but also high in spec and performance.

Toyota buyers are still the most gullible champion as they pay high price for low spec + ancient tech + fugly design + low safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 7
          • steve on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:54 pm

u mean the mamak fabric on Burberry products? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
          • battu on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:01 am

with all the talk about frequent breakdown, funny thing is, i never see any vw breakdown at roadside untill now. are u sure about that, or just read it somewhere in internet? no need to be so butthurt with vw owner. it still german tech there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
          • mamak sarung got more money, thats why the can buy this car….

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Awwww….! How sad…! Soon there’ll be Tun Mamak’s ego-deprived tailgating Sperma everywhere blurting out “A million sperms and I’m the fastest”.

Ready for them yet…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 56
        • Some of the comments regarding buying a GTI for status is laughable….ppl buy the GTI bcoz of its fun to drive but very low profile appearance that does not shout “Boy Racer”. …if you are soo self consious & equate a car wt status symbol…., yeap go buy a merc A class or 1 series, but for those who loves to drive but would prefer to be low profile…GTI’s unassuming profile fits the bills…its more fun to drive compared to a A or 1.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
          • Fredo on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:05 am

I could not agree more bro..
            some people just dun get it…
            i know a few people drive bmw on weekdays but still own this baby for a weekend fun…
            yes, people buy this baby for the fun is offered….the hanky panky of technical issue is part of the ownership experience…
            Hey! as long as its covered under the 5 yrs warranty, who cares ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Only Use At Night Car on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:25 am

I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away. VW Germany already admit on May 08, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white.

There is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner is inherently defective.

VW fansboys will say that this Gti’s DSG is different and all that, but trust me, its the same problematic DSG. Anyway, do you still want to trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, this car CANNOT be sold in Malaysia. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. Unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam. Truly Knight Rider (KITT)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 15
        • ahmadjohnson on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:17 am

If it’s true about DSG problems, why VW Malaysia still not offering manual gearbox, sigh…

• alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

hear no evil, say no evil, see no evil.

• Well, cant really blame them. The market for Manuals are too small. But it is ashamed that they didnt allow manual special order.

• confused on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:34 pm

y so much of grudge towards VW owners? do you own a benz or a BMW? does your neighbour or your enemy-for-life own one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
          • confused on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:37 pm

the above reply was meant for “Really German Engineering?”‘s post

• kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:51 am

breakdown is bad enough but what is worse for VW DSG owners is that they might have a head on collission with a on-coming lorry because when they were going to overtake a car infront of them, suddenly, their DSG loses power completely? This has been reported a lot in forums. How then? Mati lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • sportivo S on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:57 pm

wet (Gti) or dry clutch (Tsi)DSG, same problem. I was stranded by the kerb on north south highway at 1pm.Hot ambient temperature + high rev = No drive, gearbox went into neutral & refused to engage. tow truck + RM13k repair bill to replace something called “mechatronic” in the gearbox.btw, this mk 5 Gti only covered 40k km since new. But it was a fun car to drive just like the original mk 1 Gti i had years ago. but the car failed without warning & leave you by the road side is not acceptable to me just like the Alfa 156’s selespeed gearbox! (also failed at 40k despite serviced to the dot.)

• more than a thousand VW owner in brunei and sarawak…no problem issue…my brother own MK6…no problem…4 years already….daily driven…

• Passat Owner on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:14 am

Go and google. Find out why VW is the tow truck’s best friend in Malaysia. Pay so much but stand in the hot sun like a bangla waiting for the tow truck to pick your DSG faulty car. Not once, not twice but non stop. I just sold my 2013 Passat and in 8 months, broke down 5 times. All DSG related.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Tow Truck on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Woo Hoo….more business for me.

Don’t worry VW fans, i will be at the VW showrooms giving out my call card for towing service.

Tow 4 times free 1 tow. Best in KL/PJ, JB and some says Hatyai.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
          • Tow Truck Assocation on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:34 pm

We, the tow Truck Association of Malaysia, would like to thank all VW owners in Malaysia. Because of you owners, we are able to send our children for higher education overseas, have bigger houses and eat better food. Thank you VW owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
          • paparazi on Aug 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm

VW owners could set to work accumulating Brake down Bonus Link points…

• Jangan Tipu on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Haha who tell you to buy cheapo DRY DSG 7.
          Those re problematic.
          If u really wanna performance; go for WET DSG 6 (2L cars/3.6L cars).
          DSG 6 WET hardly have problem (unless miss used or illegal/ego purposes)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawi on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:53 am

Whether wet or dry or semi wet or whatever, not worth the risk buying VW. If someone tell you that some parts of the beach got jelly fish and few metres away got no jelly fish and safe to swim, would you dare still go and swim? Danger is danger. Trouble is trouble. Just stay away from trouble!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Henalex on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Agreed on your point, 8 out 10 VW owners sent their car to service center for warranty claim instead of normal servicing in Malaysia.

But what you stated there ‘like bangla’ is offensive and racist, mind your word.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Jonathan Ali on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Disregard hothatch or not, I m just wondering if this gti offers more FUN than a toyota gt86? pls comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Alpha on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Two different segments. Although I dislike the 86 for being not only overpriced here but also overhyped, it is undoubtedly a fun car to drive. More fun than the Golf GTi Mk6 if you ask me.

And come on, no one bats an eye on VW on the road anymore. =P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
        • but the GTI is more practical…its can do both comfortable family hatch & another 2nd, become a sports hatch….thats why, most GTI owner are matured family guys/gals…

• sportivo S on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:12 pm

well the Gti finally caught the attention of the criminals.It is on the hot car list of insurance company. if they can, they will refuse cover for this car!

• Lemans on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:42 am

Try Megane RS. Fastest FWD car in the world. Slghtly in the same price bracket as those two.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
        • dewaSemut on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:16 am

Well that car is a head turner.. sadly only seen it once so far, stationary not on the move.. sad…

• Saw speeding on highway, very good sprinting. Then at other place saw it cornering fast but it’s not impressive as straight line. I could do that with my car too. Maybe the driver was not in speeding mood. My car is certainly not Asian car.

• Sam Tow Truck on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Coz most of the time, renault always in workshop.

Don’t believe, go ask our Proton ceo. Part of the reason why they ditch tiara, sawi and waja 1.8. Renault reliability is as good as DSG.

• Definitely try the Megane RS before settling for a hot hatch, it’s a great drive!

Or if for city driving, maybe try the new V40 T5? o.O

• ahmadjohnson on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:32 am

86 is more fun because it’s a driver’s car. Looks and handling also better. GTi is more towards family car but with good performance.

• Saw the A class and GTI MK7 in overseas and A class in M’sia… u know what?! the A class butt is just looks the Polo lolx anyway how came the M’sia version didn’t came with the LED tail lights yea? cut cost or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • innosera on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:00 am

Just 1 car for RM210k?

I rather to 3 hot hatch – a Suprima S, Satria NEO R3 and a modified Gen2 R3.

seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 48
      • i will rather have 1 good performance car than having 3 rubbish cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 12
        • alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:10 pm

err, hello innosera? its me hhw. can i borrow your gen2 R3?

innosera : which one?

hhw : the modified one. pleaseeee my golf GTI in workshop again la

innosera : but how come? this is the 5th time in 3 months… but okay lah… can borrow my gen2 since i have SS and sneo R3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:58 pm

GB kaput and low RV. Be prepared.

My yard does not trade in VW, coz more difficult to sell than kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Das Auto on Aug 25, 2013 at 2:10 am

My GTi is happily smoking your cheapo camry everyday….what for i want to trade in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Johnny on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:18 pm

My dream car….it’s finally here…but I still can’t afford it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
  • Uweeekkkkkk!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • 8k difference but so many things not available on 3 doors version.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • It’s a good car, what the hack am I saying, It’s a Great car. But for the price, and yes I am not in the position to buy it but just saying, I’ll walk towards the Ford dealership for something more yellow, I like my Hot Hatch with a stick.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • itammanis on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:43 am

owh..the one with big tolerance gap on the front hood is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Alpha on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:52 pm

I love 3-door hatch, but the spec of the 3-door version is such a big big turnoff!! Shame on them for omitting too many stuffs from the 3-door.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Johnny on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:09 pm

I think some would just go ahead and buy the MK6 compared to the 3 door.

• by referring on the above slideshow, the variants are Advanced 5-door and Pure 3-door. That’s why the 3-door is pretty basic.

I think the spec will be same if VW bring in the Advanced 3-door.

• The 3-door comes with more inferior equipments list, not to mention two fewer doors at a saving of only 8k over the 5-door. The 5-door definitely is the better buy.

• sudonano on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Starting at 218k for the 5 door, 220hp, 350Nm, 0-100 in 6.5s Golf GTi, Its interesting how VW are putting it at 28k more than the near equivalent, 5 door, 213hp, 300Nm, 0-100 in 6,9 s Volvo V40, which is much safer thanks to City Safety and is WAY cheaper at 189k. Is there a 30k difference in CKD and CBU?

Or the more powerful, 247hp, 350Nm, 0-100 in 6,5s Ford Focus ST which is at 202k. Mind you, the Focus is CBU too.

Seems like VW is feeling pretty confident, being at the top of the pack in terms of price. We’ll see. But if it were me, I’d take the V40. Or if I wanted a stick, the ST for sure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 6
    • Simon Hoh on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:08 pm

You forgot to mention the A250 which is slightly more expensive, but if you are already forking out so much why not a little more for the Merc. Prestige & sporty all in one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
    • MrPoppyplants on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:47 pm

VW Malaysia is definitely way over their head. But they know that there will already be a long line of customers who will buy it at this price, so that’s why they won’t bother with a more sensible price.

Their profit margin, is sickening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • VW is getting really confident here. Price up by RM8k and they took out the DCC and leather seats. The Composition media is still not the top end as Singapore gets the Navigation packs with 8″ touchscreen. And we don’t get the signature LED tail lights also. Of course when you compare the A-Class and V40’s safety features and specs, VW has totally lost the game. But, a GTi is still a GTi… fitment quality still seems to be better than the A-Class. And please no one go and bash the clutch again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Zippox on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:37 am

mind you.. Volvo has higher fuel consumption, higher co2, only euro 5 environmental classifications… and lower performance.. therefore, I guess the price difference wasn’t significant if u take above into consideration..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • ahmadjohnson on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:12 am

I’ll sure pick Ford Focus ST or Mazda 3 MPS over this kind of price

• Zippox on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:31 am

I like the focus’s specs… I just cant accept the looks… its hideous!

• Keris Jawa on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:07 pm

My dream car since I can’t remember when, but at RM 0.217 million, it will remain just that, a dream car… :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Volvo V40 T5…
    VW, you finally meet your rival today..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • Jangan Tipu on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:20 pm

T5 is rubbish. DO u know a performance car?
      Sweedish cant make any performance.
      They are good for cruising.
      But better go for MERC German for cruising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
      • sportivo S on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:25 pm

i love fast stationwagon. but ever since the funeral parlour started using Merc station wagon, don’t even want to fantasize having a Merc wagon!

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:16 pm

No doubt this is a good car, but the options listed shows pretty much what VW Malaysia is nowadays, trying to con innocent Malaysians every bit of their hard earned money. They seem to have learned well from Toyota

For more value money car, why not go for Mazda3 2014? With similar performance, handling and beauty of the car, one doubts if the gti will be the performance hot hatch car of this decade. My unbiased vote will go to Mazda 3 2014 hot hatch with the all new engine which will be the contender of the world car engine of the year, and similar handling and beauty that easily beats the likes of Audi A4 and BMW 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 40
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:27 pm

No wonder there are so many “con victims” out there in a rage that put other innocent people’s lives at stake.

• Bro, comparing turbo to n/a? Wassup? Last I heard, there won’t be a turbo Mazda3 MPS.

Handling better? Maybe it is better than the normal mk7, but better than GTI? I don’t think so.

But anyhow, it’s always interesting to see your “comment”. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • ada orang jual ubat minyak angin pus pus, keke

• xatomic on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:59 am

of course the 130k mazda3 won’t be faster or turn corners than the GTI (without any differential or traction control), but definitely better and more value than the normal Golf (boat suspension). the MPS would be a better comparison. And who knows what’s the performance of the 2014 Mazda3?

• now this is what we call “hot hatch”, “sport”. those idiots in the R&D and bastards in the managemant of potong don’t suka2 salah pakai the ‘S’ word and put underwear over your heads like badman; worse, u compare yourselves with focus and 308 and golf!
    damn it why i take this chance to bash sperma?…. sorry guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Remember the Asian (or rather the Malaysian) answer to BMW a decade ago…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Potong Waja. The ozzies thought it was a Candid Camera Joke when it was launched there

• sam hailat loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:04 pm

old story, now proton has 5 star australian ncap safety rating preve/SS, even honda accord only get 4 star

• undone on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:09 pm

why not, in term of handling lotus is well known brand. the better output in manual tranny will come later.

• alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:17 pm

suprima was not tuned by lotus directly but rather proton’s own staff who underwent trainings at Lotus.

same access to knowlege and technology but lesser experience overall for proton.

• impulse on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:40 pm

TOT – transfer of tech. I believe they have done their best.

• Wakawaka on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Rm210k? Definitely go for Merc A250 it’s different class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • Jangan Tipu on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:20 pm

u said only go this go there.
      but u no money one..
      so shut up laaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • overpriced car.. performance so so only.. better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 64
    • Johnny on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Do you think Toyota Vios performance good? tell me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • WaJib on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:23 am

Sorry V40, A 250 & GTi cannot floating like sampan at high speed. But Vios can.. so Vios win..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
        • poller on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:27 pm

nowadays it’s different:

floating is good, planted is bad
          cheap plastic is good, leather / soft touch is bad
          less airbags are good, more airbags are bad
          no vsc is good, have vsc is bad
          RV more safety less is good, RV less safety more is bad

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • SYAFIQ A6 on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:38 pm

toyol tar vios rubbih…..out dated 4 speed tech…LOL

• i hate vios. but i like ur comment..haha

• paparazi on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:03 pm

you showed great daring! 1 like for you.

• shawal on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:42 pm

the 3 door equipment list is pretty horrendous
    the price isn’t attractive either , if its 160k probably others might consider

• volvofanboy on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:54 pm

It makes the v40 a better buy with its longer list of equipments and cheaper price. Too bad the v40 T5 only got 213hp and 300NM

• Ruthless on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:42 pm

looks cheap though , mk6 gti is more rugged and sporty compare to this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Luqman_HKM on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:54 pm

*sigh* Here comes people commenting about DSG Problems in the VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Performance Pack pls on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Yah, I also dunno why. Keep harping on the DSG. I drive a Golf, no problems at all and the DSG was super intelligent and ruthlessly efficient. Yes, my car was recalled but not that I demanded it in the first place. Not missing my old 4-speed 2003 Altis 1.8….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Furqan on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Awesome sauce! Now all I need is the money. D:

• Louis Cho on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:02 pm

To be frank, with this price I will go after an A 250 AMG. The logo mean everything difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Furqan on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:21 pm

wait no manual? NOOOO

• MrPoppyplants on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:37 pm

The kind of profit margin that VW Malaysia has is sickening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:19 pm

the reason is VGM is not owned locally – it is a subsidiary of VAG Germany.

• MrPoppyplants on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:43 pm

The kind of profit margin that VW Malaysia have is sickening..

• Toy Yoda on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Please help, which one for an everyday runaround car: the VW GTI, Volvo V40 or Merc A250?

• wakaka on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:02 am

V40 FTW, free maintenance for 5 years also.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:26 am

Unless VW gives you free voucher for tow trucks anywhere in Malaysia, avoid VW at all cost.

My unbiased vote will be Mazda 3 2014 hot hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Mann Bell on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:00 pm

kain pelikat di luar pagar,
    ambil galah tolong jolokkan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • rather get the Ford Focus ST with manual gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Definately take the 5 door version. Its still one of the best drivers car out there at the moment. But the design is a bit boring.

The A250 is so much better looking but in terms of driving,still cant beat the GTI.

At the end of the day ,I have already booked the A250 but need to wait till end of this year! Oh well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • jeremy on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:45 am

You’re buying an A250?? Haha, nice joke there..maybe in your dreams…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • Kereta Mayat on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:06 am

The first day I got my F430 I also thought it was a dream. But well… There is nothing impossible in this world. Just work hard & in sha Allah it can be yours. Thanks to Ustaz Azhar Idrus who always give me the inspiration to get my own F430.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
        • BaruKaya on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Err F430 is dated. Itu balakong dvd seller also can buy noawadays. How about 458 brader ? Baru ada class, gaya, mutu, keunggulan.

• Kereta Mayat on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:22 am

I bought the F430 before the 458 come into market, it was a few years back. I’m thinking to get the LP700-4 next.

• jeremy on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:32 am

You believe this maserati guy?? hahaha…just looking at his past postings, the only car he can afford is probably a viva or saga sv….since he complains so much about gov tax…

• eddie on Sep 24, 2013 at 6:35 pm

hahaha..

• driller on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:11 am

drillz or it never happens

• SYAFIQ A6 on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:55 pm

maserati…u sudah drive A250 or owned it?…LOL….

• helos on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Will sell like hotcakes regardless.. 6 months waiting list i’m sure

• neemfa on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:23 am

Don’t be too sure.. even the Mk7 Golf TSi is having less success than the Mk6.. ppl fed up with DSG already.

• dang2 on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:40 pm

what the fish this kind of small size car worth rm210k? mau telan duit ka?

imagine one day proton also want to be sell their product at this price range..hahaha suprima s rm195k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Mael Campak on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Sempit….Suprimau seems a better buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:40 am

Less 2 doors!! but “equipments” feel like less a 1000 miles…… Pray hard don’t stated as “Poor Man GTI” compare to 5 doors

• Fahmi on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:54 am

Who said 3 Suprimas is better than 1 Golf GTI? .. Its like saying 3 “pasar malam” girls is better than 1 Miss World… I’m not in need for such many cars, one is enough… Yes I could buy 5 Myvi or 6 SAGA SV, but whats the point??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • Skypirate on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:02 am

I understand the logic of offering the near empty 3-door version of the GTI, VW Malaysia is targeting those that are more likely to switch out the tyres and rims and go for stage 2 or 3 modifications the moment they get their hands on their car. However the price is sickening with only 8k difference with the 4-door version.

DRB Hicom officially took the crown for fat profit margin from UMW.

• Toffeeman on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:14 am

Let’s look at the comparison

MB A250 – RM238k
    Volvo V40 T5 – RM188k

And now VW wants to price at RM218k

If cost is an issue, customer will take Volvo

Lookswise GTI looks very dated compared to the A250 and V40

handling wise, maybe one may choose GTI but I believe A250 is not too far off.

VW is relying on brand loyalty and following. But I don’t believe it can be permanent. VW should not be complacent to think they can price so close to A250 and get away with murder.

• neemfa on Aug 22, 2013 at 8:25 am

The 3-door version is such a rip-off..

• retart on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:10 am

I saw my kain pelikat being used for seat fabric of 200k car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • medic on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:44 pm

You must be from kampung,know nuts about Gti heritage tartan seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • helos on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Lol. Cool it mate…

• gtmini on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:22 pm

I dun care, this is Malaysia, not Europe!! Who’s gonna appreciate that kain pelikat alike pattern in a car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • medic on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:36 pm

If that’s the case you better stick to that proton sperma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Tow Truck on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Aya that medic boy think he eat scones and drink earl grey kat mamak bangsar.

Ugly is Ugly. Period. Just like how some sorhai italian fan think fiat multipla is beautiful.

Seriously in today world, if you think kain pelekat is in, why not your house and yr shirt also pakai kain pelekat lar ?

To sum it, VW designers are probably some mamak kain pelekat supplier.

• medic on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:53 am

Another moron,if you don’t like the fabric,you can always choose leather.Msian are given that option.

• gtmini on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:07 pm

no, I will get embarassed if one asks me, “Aiyah, where is the kain pelikat pattern? You throw already ah?”

pleeeaaassseeee

• SYAFIQ A6 on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:59 pm

kain pelikat hahahah. made in indon

• GTi lover on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:21 am

Outgoing Mk6 GTI’s price of RM210,000 includes leather seats and DCC. The Mk7’s price of RM218,000 doesn’t. DCC and leather seats is an additional RM10,000 extra! What the hell?!! Granted you get more tech and 10bhp and 70nm more but its already RM200k big ones. The Tech Pack should hv been included in the RM218k price…very clear greed on VW Malaysia’s part. I could go with more luxe brands like a F30 BMW 320i (with leather and DCC- equivalent, Top speed 235km/h, 0–100 km/h in 7.3s), Disappointed.

• barber on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:11 am

47% of population wanted more expensive cars. So we have to bear with it another 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Beetle Nut on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:56 am

Even though I’m a VW fan, I think the Mk 7 Golf in general looks very boring, the GTI is slightly better but there are more interesting hot hatches around – the Renault Megane RS250/265 and of course, the Mercedes A250. Sorry, the Focus ST looks like a cheap imitation next to them.

• Merz lover on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:06 am

Which car would you go for? Volkswagen GolF GTI or Mercedes A250 Sport? Let’s commment.

• GTi lover on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Based on all international reviews, the Golf GTI is still the king of all round performance hot hatch with a big does of refinement, frugality and practicality and has defined the segment for 35 years. Its design may be conservative but will age better and destined to be a classic over time.
      The A-Class isn’t as well packaged and is tight on rear legroom and boot-space. The interior doesn’t have t honest to goodness of the GTI and some cost cutting measures are obvious. It also doesn’t handle or ride as well as the GTI. The genuine entry-level Merc will always be the C-Class in my book. The only A-Class that’s drool worthy is the A45 AMG bec of its gob-smacking performance!

Finally, if I had to choose, it would be the GTI and I guess if I really wanted one, I’d have t grit my teeth (holding back complaint) and accept the stupid ass pricing….or wait for the Golf R!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • medic on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Tough choice,choose merc for the looks,badge snob.Choose Gti for the heritage,ride &handling.

• andrewk on Aug 23, 2013 at 12:41 pm

If it is going to be your only car, the A250’s AMG suspension may be a little harsh for daily use as it is not adjustable like the GTi’s DCC. However, to get that DCC (and leather), its another RM10k which brings it really close to the A250 sports. From some reviews, the GTi is also relatively more spacious (seats and boot). I’ve not tried the mk7, but if it rides like the mk6, then it would be the more comfy car of the pair, and can stiffen up when required.

Looks wise (externally and internally), it depends on preference, but I gotta say the A250 looks better externally and internally (save for that God awful looking tablet-like screen). VW has certainly gone for a more conservative (read: boring) look. But then again, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

At the end of the day, the price difference you pay between the merc and VW is really for brand prestige and reliability (real or perceived).

If you think it’s worth it, then go for the A250. Otherwise, the GTi is no slouch too.

Also, granted the VW brand is not a premium brand compared to the big 3 (audi/merc/bmw) and is known as the ‘people’s car’, but to say its equivalent to Proton? C’mon la… not bashing proton, but while it has gone a long way since the first saga, it’s still got a long way to go… lets not kid ourselves. If someone offers you a GTi or a Suprima S for free, honestly, would you take the Suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • garlic oil on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:29 pm

i take gti, sell it, buy suprima new. The extra money i use as down payment for a new house

• Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 5:51 pm

But who’s gonna buy your GTi? VW sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
          • dreaming of maserati on Aug 25, 2013 at 2:31 am

VW passat and jetta stealing away your camry customers eh Sam?

NO wonder you’re so butt hurt!! hahahahaha

• medic on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:42 am

You better start apply job to be Vw SA,better life there ler…Go there say you’re Sam Loo,sure ‘hired’ on the spot.

• Goodbye Mk7 GTI. Hello V40 T5!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • mkhee on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Of course a Merc A250 anytime. Design and resale value trumps the Golf.

• kidding me on Sep 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm

are u kidding me resale value?
      go google in mudah / otto etc..

can see that besi buruk MK5 2005 GTI still asking for RM100K..
      where else merc or BM which is over 7 yrs is like few K rm only; no value…

• shawal on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm

we’re asians
    we work hard to appease bosses/customers on weekdays
    we work hard on weekends to appease wife(s) / parents / in-laws
    we hard all the time so the white man in europe don’t have to and reap all the benefits

stop spending money on their sh*** and support local made cars..
    hopefully our cars with enough support will be as good as theirs…
    if not then let’s all crash into each other….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • Performance Pack pls on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Yes, let’s support the local economy and kill ourselves along the way.

• Das Auto Gotcha! on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:50 pm

You guys seems to forget GTI is a hot hatch that is not for everyone. How many can DRB sells ? Without the profits why bother to bring it in ? If you are them I guess you would price it even higher ! Its just business nothing else.
    In Bolehland most cars are over priced so too bad we have to live with that or next time change the Govt. simple.

• Wan Malaysia on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Wah, need to add RM10K for tech pack to RM218K and the price is still without insurance??! By the time drive out of showroom with number plate, tinting, etc, it’s close to RM240K!!! Actually, the price can buy a Merc or BMW already. Das Ouch-to!

• Jeffrey Chew on Aug 22, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Where is the GTI LED signature rear light?????

• Performance Pack pls on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Yes, I dunno why. Even the CKD Passat has LED lights. I think VGM is reserving the LED lights for the Performance Pack. More rip-offs coming our way! Lemme guess, RM249,888 Performance Pack with rear LED lights, 19″ rims standard and 8″ touch screen. You can forget about the panoramic sunroof cuz that was to be put in when the car runs out 5 years later.

• Wan Malaysia on Aug 22, 2013 at 5:28 pm

The GTI brand is strong and profitable, so I’m not surprised VW is milking it. But the landscape is no longer the same, BMW will soon launch the 1-Series CKD, and it’s a matter of time before the A-Class is locally assembled. Don’t be surprised that the A250 eventually turns out to be more affordable than the GTI with its many options.

• Polo Saga on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Still overpriced in Bolehland…. While other countries sell below only RM180K….

• Tan R on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:49 pm

All in all, its their own money in the end, and its people’s own choice to buy what they want with their money. Who are we to judge? It’s laughable to see people bashing one another just because someone can afford something they cant or not willing to fork out. Its their money, not ours.

• Jimmy on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Love the looks and deposit paid. Now waiting for delivery and looking forward tailgating Myvi,Vios and Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Tow Truck on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:54 am

Don’t worry. I will be tail gaiting you when your DSG break down ;)

When you think of DSG, think of Sam Tow Truck. 24 hours 7 days a week. Harga berpatutan….sikit sikit lama jadi bukit. Tada tipu punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • medic on Aug 24, 2013 at 4:40 pm

If you’re a tow truck driver,shouldn’t you encourage people to buy Vw since that will be good for your business.Hmm…you better pass SPM 1st lar..

• Jimmy on Aug 23, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Thank you. Whenever my car breaks down, i shall give you a call.

• VW Car owner on Aug 23, 2013 at 8:55 pm

To “Really German Engineering”?? ,Sam Tow Truck..!! And…-ve comments…
    I pakai Vw passat for more than a year,my freind Vw jetta since Mac…no problem with DSG at all…travelling almost daily Sban to KL
    ..If U have an inch of line dont think to fish in the ocean..,no money no talk la!!

• VW owner on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:21 pm

To ” really German Engineering??..,Sam Tow..,WaJiB..n -ve comments

…I pakai VW Passat since 2 years,my freind VW Jetta…travelling almost everyday from Seremban to KL.., no problem at all with DSG
    ..”If you have an inch of line dont think to fish in the Ocean”… No money no talk la!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • akula on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:22 pm

SUPRIMA S is always better, because, got 7″ screen with navigation…Golf GTI got only 5.8″ screen without navi….hahahahaha

• diala on Aug 23, 2013 at 11:10 pm

and of course high quality leather that you usually find in luxury cars, wow

• Which is Better? Volvo v40 T5 or VW GTI MK7 with Tech Specs?

• golf gti mk7 on Aug 25, 2013 at 4:14 pm

golf gti mk7, I tried yesterday and will make a booking soon…

• Does it come with engine start-stop button or does it need key to start the engine? From the 7th picture, it looks like the latter.

• Dropped by VW showroom yesterday and checked out the GTI. These are what I found out:

1. No start/stop engine push button. Not an option.
      2. No LED tail lights. Not an option.
      3. No paroramic sunroof. Not an option.
      4. No GPS navigation. Not an option.
      5. Tech Pack worths RM10k going for RM5k now.

• foxtrot on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:21 am

pointless without performance pack limited slip differential

• Ridge Racer on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:12 pm

you can deduct safely that 90% of the commenters are trolls or just plain jobless folk.

• Those who comments T&H are better than bla bla bla let me ask you something. Did you owned any of VW? If you don’t owned any of it just cut the crap. If you just heard from Ahmad, Ah Seng or Muthu just cut the crap. Didn’t owned yet wanna talk. It’s like you never married a model but wanna talk hw bad she is at bed.

• blaster88 on Sep 16, 2013 at 1:08 pm

I currently am owning a GTI MK6, clocked 20,000 plus KM. Rattling everywhere. Build quality is crap! DSG gear box has issues, wanted for a long time for Alliance adjuster to show up (5 year warranty is a bloody is not by the manufacturer) 3rd year onwards, its insured by Alliance and for you to claim, an adjuster has to turn up and approve your case). They are not motivated and it takes forever!!!!! Still waiting…and waiting and waiting… Buyers BEWARE!

• blaster88 on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:09 pm

VW and its dealers are “killing” the brand. You all should google the Aussie Gal that was killed when her VW “lost power”…its all plastered in the internet. you pay 200K plus for crap service and now this…

• gti6apr1 on Oct 14, 2013 at 2:55 pm

I just test drove the A250 and it was shit. COmpletely shit. The only ONLY plus point is the fact that it has reverse camera come standard.

I test drove the GTI7 tech spec and it was okay to me. A little sluggish to my feeling and to be fair, I didn’t WOT on any corner to appreciate the suspension/body roll which apparently is up to par with the Golf R.

I drive a GTI6 w/ APR stg 1 and its awesome. I would have thought the Merc A250 would have better pick-up but I can literally count up to 2 for the turbo to kick in. Really dissapointed. And dont get me started with the claustrophobic feeling i get when i sit in the Merc.

Anyway, Golf GTI7 with the performance pack would be worth it. Other than that, I would skip the Gti7 tech spec also and just wait for the MK7 Golf R.

• Keris Jawa on Oct 15, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Baru berangan angan nak beli Merc tu as I am worried about the DSG problems. What say you?

• Gti6Apr1 on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:54 am

I think you should test drive the Mecr A250 first before making your decision. And then test drive the VW Golf Gti Mk7.. trust me… you WILL know the difference.. Buy Merc only for Brand.. not that it is that much better since you will be buying one of the cheapest Mercs…

• andrew on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:03 pm

weird..regardless of so many criticism on Golf MK7 and yet there’s heaps of it selling like hot cakes. I’m a proud owner of Gold MK7 nevertheless. 8 months of having my MK7, I only encountered 1 issue last month and it’s not related to DSG at all but it’s covered by warranty and has been repaired without needing to pay a single cent and loan car has been offered for free for the inconveniences, so it’s not a big deal at all.
    Also just info for you guys out there, Golf MK7 owners in Australia already get an invitation letter for a recall servicing on their DSG and my opinion would be, either VW are very proactive in R&D and care for their customer or their engineers who design the DSG must be inexperienced which I highly doubt it. I checked with VW service centre and according to them that recall doesn’t mean it will break down but it’s just for preventative measure which everything is done for free with loan car at their expense for our convenient (in Australia and depending on which dealership of course).
    All in all, I drove BMW before and not really impress with its 8 speed gear at all and of course this is only true comparatively to the same class of hatch build.
    You guys might encounter problem with your VW but whether you’re a happy owner or otherwise is solely depending on which dealership or VW representative to assist in solving your issue. There’s a lot that I read online that criticised about how VW sucks because they haven’t been treated accordingly by some dealership when they have petty issue but that doesn’t mean VW are inferior. All cars do have problem from minor to major regardless of expensive or cheap, that include brands like Ferrari, Lamborghini or even BMW. It all come down to customer service after sales and dissatisfaction owner lead to exaggeration by irresponsible people to have a go at VW but to be honest, it’s not really that bad at all.
    So, my advice to will be VW buyer , DSG is a transmission on a whole new level that anyone shouldn’t be afraid of. I’m not VW salesperson but just a proud Golf MK7 owner, I’ve been warn by my volvo-salesman-cousin on the dry clutch and yet no regret buying Golf MK7 and I’m still lovin it!!!
    Just my 1 cent. Cheers

• my brother own mk6 good as hell more than 4 years alraedy….people who talk rubbish about GTI becuse they dont have money to buy it or even never sit in this car…hehehehe….i pelik why people comparing this car with our local car…im proud malaysian got our own car….but compare with the same league laa….:)

• who compare this car with our our local car, normal honda or totoya is the most stupid person ever….drive it first and you will know….VW make a car more than 100 year…its the largest car manufacture right now…even audi is under VW…..if mamak sarung use this car…why? because mamak sarung richer than you..ask mamak sarung how they earn every month…hehehehe

• Any problems with mk7 gti?comment pls…

• Keris Jawa on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:32 am

Had mine since last December. Done 220 km/h with ease. So far so good. Personal best 6.8 litre/100 km. His name is Al-‘Adb. Service by the dealer has been like, well… Malaysian standard lah… It’s not like you’re driving a Merc (my wife drives one so I can say this) or a Bentley (my boss drives one) but the service at VW has been friendly and meets my demand. Some people say wait until it hits 30,000 km and then pray harder. I’d say, by then I am pretty sure I will have endorsed the car as the best my money can buy.

• BrianXYZ on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:11 am

Whatever the VW owners said ‘how good their VW is’. There are still very negative perception about VW in Malaysia. Bad news travel faster than good news. Sorry to all VW owners in Malaysia but VW owners in China is getting 10 years warranty for their DSG. haha…
    I am driving a Merc if you want to know.