GALLERY: Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 on location

Mk7 GTI On Location-42

You’ve seen the Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 before, but nothing more than a handful of official images. Here’s the hot hatch in a better light. We’ve put up 50 on location pics of the Mk7 GTI from the south of France, where VW is having an international media drive as we type. Plenty of accompanying nice backgrounds, from the mountain roads on the French Riviera to Paul Ricard.

To recap, the Mk7 GTI is available from the factory in two power output levels from its EA888 2.0 TSI turbo engine – a standard 220 PS GTI and a 230 PS GTI Performance version (both have 350 Nm), which also adds larger brake discs and an electronically controlled mechanical limited-slip differential. Transmission choices are a six-speed manual gearbox or six-speed dual-clutch DSG unit.

Mk7 GTI On Location-38

The GTI Performance pack adds uprated brakes, with the ventilated front brake discs increasing in size to 340 x 30 mm from the standard 312 x 25 mm rotors. The rear rotors also get upsized, with the stock 300 x 12 mm solid discs on the standard GTI being replaced with 310 x 22 mm ventilated discs.

As for the LSD, the system consists of a multi-plate coupler between the differential cage and right driveshaft, which controls locking torque electro-hydraulically. Initial reports have said that “understeer is virtually non-existent.” Visually, vehicles with the Performance pack are distinguished solely by ‘GTI’ lettering on the red brake callipers.

The benchmark century sprint is done in 6.4 seconds for the GTI Performance, a tenth faster than the 220 PS car and half a second faster than today’s GTI. You can watch a video of the icon doing it his way here.

Reports streaming out from Nice have been positive, with hacks reporting that the Mk7 is a big step up in every aspect, especially in the driving department. Appetite all worked up, can’t wait to drive it!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Come to papa :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng Kia on May 02, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 339
      • VW Sad Man on May 02, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 295
      • WhySoSien? on May 03, 2013 at 6:11 am

Why so much effort to discredit VW? I have asked mechanics around town and “nobody” has seen a VW car broke down!

In fact they all say only good things about VW cars.

U guys have a agenda against VW or what?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 10
        • VW Warranty Sham on May 03, 2013 at 2:33 pm

VW Salesman in action. Now they starting to panic. Worried about sales. Well, worry about the faulty DSG lah, then, sales will come automatically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • kl fella on May 03, 2013 at 10:13 am

Ah Beng Kia, are you an owner or you’re one of those who “i heard from this and that bla bla bla”.. let me enlighten you about the DSG, coming from someone who’s a MK6 ex-owner.

mainly speaking, DSG problems consists of 2 types: 1. mechatronic failure and 2. clutch plates slippage / slipping. the mechatronic is considered the “brain” of the DSG and it consists of solenoids that control the gear changes, engagement of clutches etc. prior to 2011 batches, mechatronics are the main culprit for DSG problems and i highlight here, NOT THE DSG BOXES have problems, only the mechatronics have problems. when you have a faulty mechatronics, gears can’t be engaged, or right gears are not chosen properly etc causing the car to stall. there was huge brouhaha about this where mechatronics are being replaced and changed. after 2011, factory installed mechatronics improved and DSG failures caused by mechatronics no longer become a problem. the 2nd problem continued however, only on 7-speed DSG boxes.

the clutch plates probs only plague the 7-speed dry clutch DSG because the so called 7-speed dry clutch DSG (not actually dry, it has about 3 litres of lube in it) causes excessive wear and tear on the two clutch plates causing clutch slippings and that’s where you’ll feel the judders during low speed (those who have driven manual cars before when you’re lazy to change gears at low speed will understand the feeling). once it bites hard (at higher speed) the judders will be gone. i myself got the clutch plates changed in 15k km FOC and the 6-speed wet clutch DSG is faultless (used in GTI & others) and you can check out the facts for yourself at vwmalaysia.net forum. with the right adjustments on the DSG boxes, excessive wear & tear on the clutch plates can be reduced therefore prolonging their lifespan.

having said that, i hope VW will just manufacture wet clutch DSG and the problems will be gone. however, maintenance on a wet-clutch DSG is high because it has about 6 or 7 litres of lube in it and each oil change for the wet clutch will cost about RM1k (lube costs only). that’s why VW came out with a dry clutch DSG for the masses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 479 Thumb down 2
        • this is the best post related to dsg problem so far.credits to kl fella

However,having to replace clutch plate at 15km does show poor reliability.poorly driven manual car (clutch riding) can last longer than that.

Is the dry clutch box developed for racing purposes at the first place?

• VW Warranty Sham on May 03, 2013 at 2:37 pm

kl fella, what about the China recall? You think China simply want to recall nearly 400,000 VW DSG cars? It cost them US$600 million to make the recall. You think they simply recall for fun? Simply spend US$600 million for fun?

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-20/volkswagen-recalls-384-181-vehicles-in-china-for-gearbox-faults.html

• bigie on May 03, 2013 at 3:47 pm

All the thumb ups are from vw salesmen, pity! Yet who wants to guarantee DSG won’t fail?

• VW Salesman Are Bored. on May 03, 2013 at 4:36 pm

wah VW salesmen are so bored with sales dwindling because of DSG failures that they got time to sit in office to refresh the page and click like to get 439 likes. This alone speaks about the credibility of VW salesman, their poor service centres and the real truth about the DSGs. Amazing, got time to just sit around and refresh the page and click “Like”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • AhSeng on May 03, 2013 at 8:53 pm

‘VW Salesman Are Bored’ – i think you have got it wrong. If you check MMA figures, VW sales actually up this year. Only Toyota and Peugeot sales are down!

• Beetle 1.2 is using 7 speed dsg, so it has the problem you mentioned?

• Shut up! i take the red one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • chichi on May 02, 2013 at 4:02 pm

wonder if i can get a manual option in malaysia?

• lonelyobserve on May 02, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Bring both manual transmission and DSG. At least car owners won’t complain the car due to DSG.

• _xXx_ on May 02, 2013 at 5:41 pm

In Malaysia car distributors represent consumers. They assume ALL consumers want AT cars. Nk bli jemput masuk, berambus kalo xnk.

• lonelyobserve on May 03, 2013 at 9:25 am

That is called monopoly. The mentality of the car distributors. Profit margin oriented business ethique, unwilling to make back to back/special order for manual transmission equipped vehicles.

• Danny on May 02, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Better buy porsche panamera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • retard on May 02, 2013 at 8:55 pm

kia 6 speed auto gearbox pleaase and more reliable than dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng on May 04, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Toyota 4 speed auto please, most reliable of all cars and approved by sam loo.

• Kia compared with VW is out of story… should compared to Myvi or Preves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • konga on May 02, 2013 at 11:08 pm

equus is more luxurious than an e keras
      cfe is more energetic than a tsi
      la la la la

• VW Fanboi on May 02, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Golf can beat all the car on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Johnny on May 03, 2013 at 8:57 am

I don’t think you can smoke Nissan Teana 2.5L on highway.

• Teana 2.5 V6 takes 10.9secs to do the century sprint.The 1.4 Golf TSI takes 8.5 secs. The 1.2 Polo takes 9.7 secs. I think it’ll be an insult to the GTi to be compared to the Teana 2.5.

But just to let you know, the GTi takes 6.4 secs and if you want to compare, you can take the 3.5 Teana V6 which takes 7.2 secs. If you drive this, at least you’re eligible to see the GTi’s LED brake lights at the back.

I’ve booked one. No, not the Teana, hahaha! Launching in Malaysia this Sept and deliveries in Oct.

• GT-Rider on May 03, 2013 at 12:01 pm

yeah smoke mine….
      when it’s parked LOL

• amirad on May 03, 2013 at 8:10 am

I want a GTi with a boot i.e the GLi. But since the GLi won’t be coming here, I will patiently wait for the new Skoda Octavius VRS.

• retard on May 03, 2013 at 2:08 pm

why disagree with my komen, kia 6 speed gb less breakdown compared to dsg. maybe kia 6speed gb not even 1 breakdown currently.

• Hi golf. Glad u are here! Bye2 all nonsense n retard competitor. This is it, next car of the year!

• retard on May 03, 2013 at 11:29 pm

only smart peopple buy the retarded always breakdown dsg gearbox. alo fren, why waste money on maintenance, buy something that is realistic and robust built. why buy something that is stylish but in the end rosak here and there. wake up laaaa…

• erman on May 04, 2013 at 1:19 am

To whom that condemn VW cars you guys all wrong. Do own it you will love it.

• Samlok on May 07, 2013 at 7:00 am

Has this DSG problem solved for mk7? My brother 6 month old golf tsi already started giving problem.

• ryzzz on May 20, 2013 at 10:08 am

different dsg.. this is gti model. It uses dsg6 instead of the famed dsg7…

• Gtx5000 on May 18, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Nice looking car! I want one!!!

• Wake up ppl on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:14 am

Just finished reading the comparison between the mk7 and focus st and YES, finally GTI has come of age, pity we cant get the manual version…