Police book 759 traffic offenders in Genting Highlands

Cop shop

A total of 759 summonses have been issued by police for various traffic offences in a two-day operation aimed at carrying out inspection and enforcement on private cars as well as public transport vehicles such as tour buses, taxis, vans in and around Genting Highlands.

Meant to reduce the number of road accidents in the area, the operation – which was codenamed Operasi Bersama Khas – also saw the detention of 11 individuals found to be drug positive, Bernama reports.

“We found that the highest offences were for number plates not according to specification, driving without a licence or with expired licence,” Bukit Aman Traffic Staff Officer, Supt Bon Jeen Ahrom told reporters at a briefing held in Gohtong Jaya.

The operation was carried out at four locations – Genting Sempah roundabout, Gombak sliproad to Genting Highlands, Batang Kali sliproad and the Genting Highlands Bus Terminal.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kampung2005 on May 18, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Nice move!. next , emphasize on those that didnt pay the summon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • BNaik on May 18, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Our Govt doing the great job from corruption, So stop making complaints and just keep support.

PR loser go balik kampung ! BN for live !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 98
      • Sam Loo(ori1) on May 18, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Police will not stop me since I driving my luxury 2006 Toyota Camry .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • VHL Loo on May 18, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Don’t talk so big, soon your ‘luxury’ 2006 Toyota Camry will be impounded (i really hope so) with yourself hauled into a Proton Waja police patrol car towards IPD lock-up (you knowlah, almost all Toyota drivers in Malaysia, doesn’t matter high-class or jamban junk Toyota have multiple outstanding summons and refused to pay because just with a Toyota they think they are so hebat and drive like sakai barbarians). Anyway PDRM nowadays already put ‘red alert’ watchlist towards all Toyota drivers.

• I rather they use the money for development despite the corruption, instead of sitting on a pile of cash twiddling their thumbs and praising ownself that they have saved it for the rakyat

• Areyousure on May 18, 2015 at 3:02 pm

I hope they just set more road bumps on the hill road. So no more stupid racing there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Albert on May 18, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Why suddenly this operasi towards Raya ?
      Whole year,we seldom hear of these operations,which should be conducted unannounced, and regularly.
      People may smell something fishy…especially with Raya round the corner.
      In Bolehland,operasis many a time are leaked,but in western nations….no one goes unpunished as the operations are done with an element of surprise.

• You say it like that, but if the Gov dun inform you turn around and say Gov tak prihatin, kejam, mau duit, kenapa tak britau, songlap, etc, etc

Apa lagi mau? Podah!

• Kelso on May 18, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Major pay day

• BigBalls on May 18, 2015 at 3:12 pm

make sure operasi night time too, every weekend night got jokers racing there with no regards on other drivers safety…

• YES, new purse and a new airplane for me and my hubby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Almost a thousand summons within 2 days. That goes to show how bad Malaysian drivers are. We need to change that attitude and it starts with us. Imagine if all follow traffic rule, there will be no summons issued and no extra money for the gov. How cool is that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Bothsidesofthecoin on May 18, 2015 at 5:57 pm

I tend to agree with the utopian view… but that is assuming that the goalposts are not moved when everyone has complied… i.e. lowering the speed limit further just to meet “monthly quota” as instructed by the powers-that-be….

• Sorry, but I disagree. Why would speed limit be further lowered if there is no accident (assuming that everyone follow the speed limit) and no summons are issued. I thought the idea of lowering speed limit is to reduce accident (again assuming the road condition warrant for lower speed). I might be wrong but for sure it not just to meet “monthly quota”. :)

• If rakyat cow has run dry, they’ll go after the ministers next such as PG1 (serial traffic offender, how easy is that)

• andrekua on May 18, 2015 at 6:47 pm

I can’t believe that they were still yoyo-ing with the decision on number plate specification.

• calvin on May 19, 2015 at 12:51 pm

All they are interested in getting the fine money to fill gov’t coffers as our gov’t overspend and no income from petroleum and other sources. You think that they really care about your safety. Think again

• alexan wong on May 19, 2015 at 8:06 pm

i would like to bring the attention here from the news above

“We found that the highest offences were for number plates not according to specification, driving without a licence or with expired licence,” Bukit Aman Traffic Staff Officer, Supt Bon Jeen Ahrom told reporters at a briefing held in Gohtong Jaya.

why can’t the Custom / Police and etc stop those shop selling which is deem illegal…cause i believe not only me but many consumer are confuse why it is illegal by the Police but is granted to be sold to the public…. if you plan to do so, it should be educate us (which have been done, where last year posted in the news…correct me if im wrong) but i wholly believe the strongest way is stop those shop to sell..just like Chewing Gum in some country!!!