VIDEO: Shah Alam public saves child locked in a car

A video showing a crowd attempting to save a child locked in a car parked in front of a bank in Section 9, Shah Alam went viral on social media earlier today. In the end, the rear window of the car was broken to open the door and the child was rescued from the car.

You can consider this a very happy ending for this particular incident as we’ve read before news of children dying from heat stroke after being left in a car right here in Malaysia. We are a tropical country, and a car can heat up pretty quickly. It can take as little as 15 minutes stuck in an overheated car interior for a child to suffer life-threatening brain or kidney injuries.

According to Ahmad Mahyuddin Mohamed, Orthopedic and Traumatology consultant at Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Hospital in Temerloh, there’s no guarantee that a heat stroke can be prevented with slightly opened windows and leaving the air conditioner on in a static car. Children shouldn’t be left alone in a car even for a minute. The heat can cause sweating, dehydration, seizures, brain and organ damage, and eventually death.

When a child’s body temperature hits 40 degrees Celsius, internal organs shut down, and at 41.6 degrees Celsius, the child could die.

The person who recorded this particular video later clarified on Facebook that the mother of child was actually among those in the crowd trying to rescue the child and it was not a case of the mother forgetting the child but a case of “auto lock” where the child ended up trapped in the car with the keys inside.

Whatever the story is, we shouldn’t fool around and leave our children unattended in vehicles. Here are some tips to make sure we never make the mistake of leaving our children in the car alone and unattended.

look-before-you-lock-back

Other than trying our very best to remember, other methods we can use to ensure that we don’t forget about our sleeping babies is to place an item (that you need to take with you when you leave your car) at the rear with the child. This could be your handbag, for example, and you can place it on the floor in a secure area just so you are forced to go to the back of the car when you leave.

To passersbys, if you spot a child left in a car alone, you should call the police immediately. Please share this with everyone you know who has children, or has to take care of children.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jimi Neutron on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:45 pm

I’m commenting about the safety checklist. Nothing to do about the video.

It’s absurd really that we are required to remember and prioritize our precious and priceless handbag, wallet, smartphone in order to REMEMBER our child in the backseat. Now you see how materialistic we are right now.

We value things more than a human soul that it forced us to search the THINGS first rather than the irreplaceable child’s life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
    • ^This right here!

• Wisdom on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:58 am

Alhamdulillah….
        Thank god the baby saved.
        Next time, on incident like this, dont waste time trying to pry the door open or unlock using metal etc..
        Just break the glass (at a safe window, away from the baby) and put the human life as priority.

Car parts can always be replaced…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • George Abdul on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:19 am

Most of the education by the country are too weak… Govt only focus on the “stupid elections”.

Hope Govt will encourage more safety on “humans right” and NOT on “cronies right”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:47 am

Ha?? U don’t watch tv or paper or wat? Even sum billboard remind us bout safety..

• 4Wheeler on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:59 am

I think there’s nothing wrong with the checklist & i do agree that it has nothing to do with the video because the mother intentionally left her baby to do a so call “short” errant.In this day & time,all of us a likely to forget & make mistake.The checklist is there just as reminder for us to reduce unwanted mistake just like any safety signs at work place.

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:31 am

Yet, i see many people installing auto lock, giving rise to scenarios like this. Those cheap-but-not-so-cheap 3rd party accessories can’t possibly come with sensor to auto unlock in the event of crash (like iriz’s), nor activate only when the car is driven up to speed. There’s a reason UN ECE regulations put certain conditions to having that system.

Save your money, and instill discipline: train yourself to lock your car manually. Those cap ayam autolock is not worth it and they do not meet safety regulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:42 am

those parents should be prosecuted…i pitty the kid having dumbass parents like that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • did you even read the entire article?
      The lady didnt forget the baby inside, the car was locked with the keys inside.

Judgemental!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Whatever the excuse, this should not have happened in the first place. Parents should mind their child at all time.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:20 pm

ya i judge , boohoo….
        wdnt have happenned if they let their poor kid alone in the car…
        i see alot of ppl leave their kids at two common places , petrol stations and infront banks….with only the kid inside waiting for their Einstein parents to come back…its patheric n dangerous…
        back to topic , auto locks is just not made with accidents in mind , i know the new once suppose to open before a shunt , even the Iriz has it ..
        for protection against robbers ,car jacking and thiefs (which we have abundant supply of) i can see the reason…but since its a mechanical thing ,it can jam anytime…..n usually at the wrong time

• tuhpakhang on Jun 02, 2015 at 3:25 pm

wehh..kalo dia bawak anak dia pi cucuk duit..pehtu anak hilang kena culik masa cucuk duit..hang kutuk seghopa tu jugak..kahkahkah

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:58 am

Eh, people make mistakes. I’m sure you make mistakes too. What matters is the kid is safe and the parents learned a valuable lesson in childcare (hopefully).

So as a fellow human being with the potential to become parents one day, let us be gracious to them and learn from their mistakes.

Who knows that you will do something regretful one day and be ungraciously labeled an idiot by some random forumer?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:51 am

In Malaysia very easy one, its the car manufacturer’s fault la, for not installing an alarm to remind people not to leave their child in the car
    Malaysians very clever to shed responsibility one, drive like an idiot bang toll both blame no VSC, not enough airbags
    Im surprised nobody blame P2 yet for not installing such an important life saving feature yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • vscrap on Jun 02, 2015 at 4:15 am

Agree, certain car brand supporters always blame no VSC but drive like idiots to smoke others

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:24 am

Sked P2 CEO will sue u.

He edi said, their cars are safe, Euro 4 compliant yo! Jangan persoal!

• Krasher on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:51 am

One more thing for parent with kids.
    Always make use of the child door lock

• drMpower on Jun 02, 2015 at 6:33 am

if a webpage needs to remind us of this, that tells a lot about parenting these days. sources told that the parents needed to attend something more important, that they left the kid inside (tv,2015).

that is parenting 101. i wonder what is more important than a kid?

• Megane on Jun 02, 2015 at 7:09 am

Great! Double parking and leaving a child in a car. Ops engine must be turned off as well. 3 bonus points for you mother. Next year don’t forget to honour her on Mother’s day 2016.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:06 am

Yet another case…

Well in the case of auto-locks, I would highly recommend against installing such devices. In a crash, it won’t unlock, hence trapping you inside. Now, not all devices are like this, the original manufacturer ones, those are OK, like VW’s Intelligent Crash Response or the BCM system in the Exora, Iriz, Preve and all have an unlock feature.

What interests me is how is it that they left the key inside, cause that thing would have beeped reminding the key was left in the car…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:20 am

The other thing is, if new cars that can come with factory security, why is it taking that long/difficult to put in the auto unlock feature in a crash?

Most drivers here would lock thier cars anyway….with or without auto lock.

I’m assuming the auto unlock is also triggered by the fuel and battery cutoff in a crash (likely the airbag trigger), so are the cars sold here equipped with said feature? Does the battery and fuel get cut off in an event of a crash?

for more than a decade or so, auto unlock, fuel and battery cutoff has been the norm for overseas cars (some will even automatically call emergency services if your airbags deploy). Do we have the feature here?

• stopFMC on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:32 am

Im new to the local accessories market but from my knowledge of cars, Autolock is either the car lock that gets activated after a certain speed/depress the brake OR the moment you unlock but did not open the doors..

My old myvi has that stupid fault where it locks itself after 5-10 seconds even if you have opened the door and keys are inside. I was told the sensors rosak and it will happen to any Peroduas sooner or later..

• Azwan Azmi on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:07 am

In my opinion, this is not about the safety of the car all along, this is about the mother neglecting safety of the child and also basic road rules. Double park?? Leave a child for a moment just to buy something quickly?? It’s like other stuff is more important than the child.

• Lanhb on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:16 am

It’s a Myvi?

• Jon Snow (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:50 am

What if she installed security tint?
    If the car has KEYLESS feature this will not happen in the first place.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:02 am

Security tint doesn’t make the glass break-in proof. It would just be more resistant to smashing and it won’t shatter once the glass is smashed. You can use a sharp object such as a knife to cut through the tint afterwards.

• BigBalls on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:52 am

Something is really wrong in the society if you need a checklist to remind you that you have a child sitting behind u.. seriously, i wish the world would restart again… come to us oh big ass asteroid.

-BigBalls-

• JohnsonBayi on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:07 am

Thank god the windows not installed with Nano Titanium Space security tinted film that is bullet or smash resistant.

• Gberd on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:34 am

Just Imagine what type of people will this type of parent bring up !!!