Man buys a luxury car with RM393k worth of coins

Car coins

A businessman in China bought a brand new luxury car in Shenyang yesterday. That may not sound all that interesting, but get this: he paid for the vehicle with RM393,500 (660,000 RMB) worth of coins!

Apparently, it took more than 10 staff members over an hour to move the large amount of cash into the car dealership. The coins were all rolled up into 1,320 bundles, weighed four tonnes and were over four metres tall when piled up.

The buyer, a petrol station operator, told CCTV News that he had collected the coins for over three months, from busses that stopped to refuel. “As our station is in the suburb, there are very few banks. Thus, we did not deposit and decided to use them to buy a car for our company,” he explained.

Reports say that the car dealership (a Toyota showroom, from the looks of it) was happy to accept the truck-load of copper coins. Sounds legit, no?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I know cars in China are a bit expensive but close to 400k for a Toyota?

• Sam Loo Sux on Jun 05, 2015 at 2:16 am

Now only you know toyota is a bloody overpriced crap? Priced more than conti, spec like proton.

• Elvis Ko on Jun 05, 2015 at 9:10 am

For your information,Cars in China is much cheaper than Malaysia

• KevShortt on Jun 05, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Probably an Audi

• A toyota landcruiser easily cost over rm400k for medium – high end specs. In Malaysia, not sure about China.

• mystvearn on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:21 pm

menabung dari kecil :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • pakdin on Jun 04, 2015 at 6:35 pm

The copper coins that he pays for actually worth more than the value of the coin…. hahaha (copper-considered as valuable metal for industries)

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 04, 2015 at 6:39 pm

He definitely learn from someone here in Malaysia.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 9:35 am

Nothing new…China ppl are used to paying in cash. They often travel daily with hand luggage bag full of cash. They are not worried of theft. U often see many cars parked with bags of cash inside. They also buy houses & shop lots with cash. Imaging bringing several million in cash stacked up in van load of briefcases to developer’s office. To us is shocking but in China….normal.

• Cars in china is way cheaper than malaysia..
    google for some info lor…
    http://www.bmw.com.cn/cn/en/newvehicles/3series/sedan/2011/showroom/price_promotions/pricelist.html

316i Progress RMB283,000
    316i Sport Line RMB301,000
    320i Lifestyle RMB328,000
    320i Sport Line RMB379,000