Hyundai Santa Fe facelift launched in South Korea

Hyundai Santa Fe facelift-21

After months of spyshots – including some of the interior – the facelifted Hyundai Santa Fe has finally been unveiled in its home market of South Korea. The five/seven-seat SUV gets a range of tweaks inside and out to bring it up to speed with the rest of the competition.

First things first, the looks – the bulk of the changes are situated in front, with new projector headlights, restyled grille slats and a reprofiled bumper with C-shaped chrome highlights around the front fog lights. Also new are the wing mirrors – the odd diagonal indicators on the pre-facelift car have given way to more conventional horizontal items.

At the rear, the internal graphics of the LED combination tail lights have been redesigned; there’s also a new bumper with reshaped reflectors, as well as trapezoidal exhaust exits. New wheel designs and three new colours (Tan Brown, Beige Chalk and Mineral Blue) complete the makeover.

Hyundai Santa Fe facelift-20

The interior, meanwhile, is much the same as before, with improved textures, new garnish on the knee pads and a simpler instrument cluster with more legible fonts. New options include a larger eight-inch touchscreen operating the Smart Navigation system, Around-View Monitoring (AVM), park assist and a 10-speaker JBL premium sound system.

Koreans get a choice of new 2.0 litre and 2.2 litre R e-VGT four-cylinder turbodiesels. These engines now meet Euro 6 emissions regulations and get a healthy bump in power – the 2.0L produces 186 PS (up 36 PS) at 4,000 rpm and 402 Nm (up 19 Nm) from 1,750-2,750 rpm, while the 2.2L develops 202 PS (up 5 PS) at 3,800 rpm and 441 Nm (up 5 Nm) from 1,750-2,750 rpm.

In terms of fuel consumption, the 2.0 litre version achieves a claimed 13.8 km per litre, while the 2.2 litre mill manages 13.4 km per litre. Both engines are mated to a six-speed automatic transmission.

Hyundai Santa Fe facelift-25

Top-spec Malaysian-market Santa Fe models may have recently been upgraded to six airbags, but in terms of safety the facelifted Korean-market Santa Fe is even more advanced – in addition to standard seven airbags and stability control as well as optional Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), the Korean-market Santa Fe now gets Automated Emergency Braking (AEB), High Beam Assist (HBA), Blind Spot Detection (BSD) and Advanced Smart Cruise Control (ASCC) as optional extras.

Hyundai also claims it has reinforced the body to fare better in small overlap crashes, as tested by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) in the United States.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• huehuehue on Jun 05, 2015 at 7:41 pm

it would be great if malaysian hyundai bring all the necessary safety features as standard but.. you know bolehland hyundai only think money and shit only. the ldws, ascc, aeb, bsd, hba should be optional la. i wont think in malaysia they will bring such tech because once again its bolehland.. oh ya i really hope hsdm fire the guy who gives the idea to use localised unit for the navi system. it really look like some crappy aftermarket ones..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Leafable on Jun 06, 2015 at 7:38 am

Totally agreed with you. Spot on! They definitely need to fire the marketing staffs. And get someone on selling with quality volume.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:34 pm

I admit, sales are so slow in UMw. I feel suicidal like most UMW salesman now

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:39 am

Better buy from me. Don’t waste your hard earned money on the kimchis. They are pretty much the same buying first hand or second hand, but the price is like heaven and earth.

• i want to buy on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Where is ur location?

DEAR Samloor, u mean u got 2nd 2014 this model? RM20k??? GIVE ME UR CONTACT NUMBER, I buy…

• Rokuth on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:42 pm

This car in the US only US$24,950. Come here, nearly Rm190k.

Bloody gomen!

• With these diesel engines, users have to feed euro 5 & above oil quality. Even current 2.2 on santa fe, it power drop & nvh is raise compare to mostly diesel engines in pick up trucks. Even worse the old sorrento 2.5 diesel.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 05, 2015 at 10:20 pm

4 months ago, I would have said get the Hyundai instead of KIA for SUV

Today, all I can say is that there is no longer any market for kimchi SUV except for scrapyard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 112
      • NO TIME FOR YOUR BULLSHIT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 39
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Now, Toyota also got no RV I admit. Even 2nd hand market also, everybody asking VSC got or not.

• huehuehue on Jun 06, 2015 at 9:48 am

atleast this is better than your moving coffin la

• He wasn’t talking about RV or whatever. He was talking about our horrid diesel quality affecting diesel performance.

• Toyota Altis 2013 RM65k on Jun 06, 2015 at 11:14 am

Nobody got time with your bull. We all know it is because of you solely, Toyota sales have plummetted in Malaysia.

Everybody knows your lies. Better stick to your dildo bro. that is your only friend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
        • Sam loo suppoter on Jun 06, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Thumb up for my boss
          https://m.facebook.com/SamLooRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Rokuth on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Sam Loo is such a big liar. Now everybody knows about his lies

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:36 pm

OMG, I just checked. It is true! 2013 Altis 1.8 now advertised for Rm68k

OMG! OMG!

• Jimmy on Jun 06, 2015 at 8:28 am

Proton patut keluarkan SUV macam ni.

• Jimmy on Jun 06, 2015 at 8:28 am

Proton patut keluarkan SUV macam ni.

• KL Biggest Scrapyard Owner on Jun 06, 2015 at 9:16 am

My scrapyard already full with kimchi SUV, please don’t send in anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 07, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Sam’s yard has stopped taking in Tucson.

Only accept Sonata, Elantra and K5

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Tell the truth lah. Now all yards full of Toyota. Cannot sell because got no VSC. Nobody wants a car without VSC

• Gearshift on Jun 06, 2015 at 11:52 am

Take a look at this one owner’s review of Santa Fe in the UK.

Amal • 2 months ago

I’ve been driving my Santa Fe (MY13) for more than two years now, and love the every minute of it. The best car by far, comparing to many of my friends cars, which include late model BMW X5, Mazda CX9, Toyota Prados, Ford Territory, Nissan Pathfinder, and Jeep Grand Cherokee.

How the Koreans built such a good looking (arguably, the best looking thing on the market), economical and powerful car that handles well for so cheap is unbelievable. That is until you drive one, then you will not look back. I was one of those who laughed at people who bought Hyundai or Kia in the past. But now I love them. Way ahead of Japanese and up there with the best European car makers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • hailax on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:09 pm

You sure you dun shout hailat when you trade it in?

• Rokuth on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Our cars are so overpriced compared to the US or world prices.

• policeman on Jun 07, 2015 at 11:12 am

Better than X5??? Wanker at its best!!!!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:22 am

Well, for a 12 month old unit below RM55k (selling) and trading in of RM30k, it is a pretty good deal.

BTW, have stopped taking in Tucson as no demand in the export market for kimchi SUV

• kak yatiadam on Jun 06, 2015 at 4:28 pm

wah…semua cantik2..

• Diewek.Blogspot.Com on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Thanks for all you do, it IS noticed :)

• Angot on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Hyundai should go back to its own grassroots by selling them at half the price they ask today. For a cheaply built vehicle with nothing but paint and bling, asking at hyundai price, is like asking a paper towel priced at body towel price. Koreans, wake up and don’t pretend.hyundai and samsung is worth the money.