Peugeot 508 facelift final prices out – RM174k-RM202k

Peugeot 508 GT 17

You probably would have remembered that the facelifted Peugeot 508 was launched in Malaysia last month, but only estimated prices were given at the time. Well, the real deal is finally out and guess what – the car is slightly cheaper across the board than previously estimated.

The refreshed range has done away with the base RM155,888 Turbo S variant, so the previous mid-spec Premium model now kicks off the lineup as the 508 THP, with a starting price of RM173,888. That’s a RM4,000 premium (hah!) over the outgoing model.

Peugeot 508 GT 16

Want a more practical bodystyle to go with the new chisel-jawed looks? The 508 SW THP wagon is now priced at RM183,888, again RM4,000 more than before. Finally, the range-topping 508 GT diesel retails at RM201,888, an increase of RM2,000. All prices, on-the-road inclusive of insurance and GST, are between RM1,000-RM3,000 lower than the earlier estimates (THP RM175k, SW THP RM185k, GT RM205k).

Introduced to the world last year, the updated 508 gains a sharper new face with LED headlights, daytime running lights, fog lights and indicators. There’s also a more upright bonnet, a cleaner rear bumper design and sleeker “three-claw” tail lights.

Peugeot 508 GT 8

Changes are relatively minor inside – the BMW iDrive-like rotary controller for the central screen is gone, replaced by a roll-top cubbyhole. This necessitated a switch to a touchscreen for the seven-inch display.

Engine choices remain the same across the range. Both petrol models are powered by the ubiquitous Prince 1.6 litre THP 165 turbo four that develops – you guessed it – 165 PS and 240 Nm of torque from 1,450 to 4,250 rpm. On the diesel side, there’s a 2.2 litre HDi turbodiesel packing a strong 206 PS and 450 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 2,750 rpm. Both mills are mated to an Aisin six-speed automatic transmission.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jaques on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Cheapest European D-segment I guess? Passat already hit 180k. Dont talk about Mondeo.

• Gargantia on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:54 pm

After GST reduced price, facelift or new model immediate increase price even expensive.

Same case like AP system first reduce later increase price uncontrollable…

• vioser on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Buy vios coz real men drive real car. Not this unreliable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • Same L0rrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:34 pm

When people can’t even afford VW to get a conti car, Peugeot is the next option.

For me, getting Peugeot and getting Proton are the same: Conti-wannabe and Lotus-wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • kington on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Soon, a C segment car like the Corolla, Civic, Sylphy, MAzda 3 would be viewed as luxury items. D segment? Don’t even bother.

My question is, when is this going to stop?

• AhLimKuCheng on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:13 am

Non-national C segment has always been regarded as luxury items. Can we find those C Segment below RM110k nowadays? Use Honda, Mazda, Toyota already feels like big taukeh.. This will never end and expect to become even worst.

• All I read is that the price goes up instead of down as promised by ah jib gor during the last GE… 30% reduction? Aihhh… Forget it la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • http://paultan.org/2012/06/18/peugeot-508-relaunched-now-with-five-variants-including-hdi-diesel-and-sw-wagon-from-rm159k/

prefacelift starting price RM159k.
      after facelift starting price RM174k.

Up RM15k..

• For some reason cars imported by Naza no reduction in price after gst. Increase got la

• wkaka on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:16 pm

The lesson learnt would be to not trust ah jib kor, trusting him is like taking his kangkung and stuffing it up your a**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • ithought on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:32 pm

but some still buy their bullshiet n support them, i couldn’t understand.

• isuzuki on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Must be the RM as well… so weak….

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:44 pm

It’s a pretty impressive car no doubt, accomplished for what it is in Malaysia, especially considering among the conti trio, this is technically the weakest in terms of power and torque.

Having said that, the Turbo S should have been continued. I feel that it is a good marketing car, in the sense that it could be used to attract buyers to consider the car, then eventually these buyers could consider the Premium if they don’t mind the higher repayments. Just like how the Accord has a 150k model (2.0 VTI-L) vs the 180k model (2.4 VTI-L) with the only difference being that you won’t lose power or torque by buying the cheaper car with the Peugeot.

• Hidup Proton Power on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:32 pm

My standard Suprima can whack this car….easily..

hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Don’t buy car now, if u don’t need. Wait until near to the upcoming election la. That time sure BN kaw2 cut excise tax.

• conti no conti, soon will be 40k oso nobody wants..

• u buy properties la bro…..i don care about rv…conti is the best car to drive…..

• Joblesst on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Nearly Rm180k for a 1.6cc liter car?. Wat a rip off…either gomen is charging extra for the outdated turbocharged or somebody is making tons of pofit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • peugeotsux on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:52 pm

This 1.6 turbo is very fuel consuming for its price and spec. Better get an A3 1.4 or 316I. If the price around 150K, still can consider to buy but the peugeot all cars fuels consumption very high.

• get the proper 3 series not 316i on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:55 am

bro, A3 & 316i are two different segement cars if you want to compare with pug 508.

• car launch thread by nasim peugeot always worth to look at. their selection of girls has always been of consistent quality

• CarmenTung on Jun 24, 2015 at 7:26 am

This car looks good, but I a bit skeptic to buy it…why I don’t it much on the road ? In my place I only see one user only.

• naza dint fight hard to gov to mantain the previous price. For me, 508 and mazda 6 anytime. Its look classy and well-equipped.

• Enthu on Jun 24, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Still Prince? BMW has ditched that problematic engine for some time now. Time to move on Peugeot.

• shawal on Jun 24, 2015 at 7:54 pm

darker colours looks better to highlight the chrome….
    in white or silver the new one looks rather bland at the front….

• Fildaus on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Sesiap yg berhajat beli 508, fikirkan semula. Saya da pakai. Saya bayar rm1600 sebulan utk
    1. Steering sentiasa kekiri
    2. Dalam tempoh 2 bulan, 3 tingkap jatuh berturutan. Perodua viva isteri saya masih elok walaupun da berumur 5 tahun. Kereta saya baru 2 tahun 8 bulan
    3. Handle pintu mengelupas

• phua chu kengkang on Sep 21, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Happened (No 1 & 2) to mine as well. According to them its a common problem but can be repaired. Anyway, its solid and powerful car.