2016 Toyota Fortuner debuts in Thailand, from RM133k

2015 Reveal of All New Toyota Fortuner. (Crusade pre-production model shown)

After plenty of leaks and spyshots, the 2016 Toyota Fortuner has finally been unveiled in Thailand. The second-generation Hilux-based seven-seater SUV has been totally redesigned with a sleek new look, a more premium-looking interior and a range of new engines.

Looks handsome, doesn’t it? While we’ve seen the design as early as March, it remains very forward-looking, with slim headlights flanking a heavily-chromed grille. Under this, a chiselled bumper with chrome inserts brings on a very macho look.

Along the side, the prominent haunches give the new Fortuner a strong stance, enhanced by optional 18-inch wheels shod in 265/60 rubber (standard fitment in Thailand). The beltline also kinks upwards towards the rear, and blacked-out pillars give it a “floating roof” look. Finishing off the look are equally slim tail lights, fitted with LED light guides.

2015 Reveal of All New Toyota Fortuner. (Crusade pre-production model shown)

The interior takes a decidedly upwards step in perceived quality – there’s a sophisticated-looking upright dashboard design with synthetic leather and stitching, a three-spoke steering wheel derived from the new Hilux Revo and a Camry-style Optitron instrument cluster with a large colour TFT LCD multi-info display. The 50:50-split third row still flips up onto the bodyside, instead of folding flat into the floor like on most rivals.

As with the Hilux Revo, the lineup includes two new GD turbodiesels – a 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV that develops 177 hp at 3,400 rpm and 450 Nm from 1,600-2,400 rpm, as well as a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV that pushes out 150 hp at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,600-2,000 rpm. Taking over from the current 2.5 and 3.0 litre options, they feature common-rail direct-injection and variable nozzle turbocharging; the 2.8 litre also gets auto start-stop.

Also available is a 2.7 litre petrol mill, now lighter and with Dual VVT-i, improved combustion and and less friction; it churns out 166 hp at 5,200 rpm and 245 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

2015 Reveal of All New Toyota Fortuner. (Crusade pre-production model shown; fresh water crossing shown)

In Thailand, only the base 2.4G gets a six-speed “intelligent” manual transmission with rev-matching; the 2.4V, 2.7G and 2.8G receive the new six-speed automatic with paddle shifters as standard, with only the 2.8 litre oil burner getting the option of four-wheel drive. We expect both the automatic gearbox and 4WD to be standard on our cars.

Under the skin, the Fortuner features larger cross sections for its ladder frame, and sits on double wishbone front suspension and five-link rear suspension with coil springs. The rear differential lock also has its componentry placed within the differential housing for improved off-road protection.

Surprisingly, the standard kit list in the Land of Smiles is vast – the range kicks off with the 1,199,000 baht (RM133,500) 2.4G with fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, a tilt- and telescopic-adjustable steering wheel, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a 220 V power socket, three airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), traction control, Trailer Sway Control (TSC) and hill-start assist.

fortuner-brochure-0013

Moving up to either the 1,369,000 baht (RM152,400) 2.4V or the 1,449,000 baht (RM161,300) 2.7V nets you dual-beam LED headlights with LED daytime running lights, puddle lights, brown leather upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, a powered tailgate, auto air-conditioning for all three rows, a touchscreen navigation system, a reverse camera and side and curtain airbags.

At the top of the range, the 1,529,000 baht (RM170,200) 2.8G also receives cruise control, while the 1,599,000 (RM178,000) 2.8G 4×4 gains tan leather upholstery and hill descent control. So, what do you think of this new Ford Everest rival?

GALLERY: Toyota Fortuner live from Thai showroom

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Black Dog on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Tip: If you want to buy this vehicle in Malaysia, stick plenty of graphics on the car to deter car thieves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • First 2 years is should be ok la..
      when more on the road then become thief magnet.

• rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:45 pm

This car very cheap cheap. Memang benar, kerajaan BN tunai janji rendahkan hRG kereta.

Saya saying kerajaan yang prihatin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
        • Sam Loo Crying like baby on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Who is going to buy at this price? I pass Sam Loo’s house, I heard him crying like a baby while holding a dildo. Poor Sam Loo (ori1) and Same Lorrrr, now, lagi sales will be ZERO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
          • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:55 pm

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 15
          • Same L0rrrr on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:08 pm

You must be the hailat kimchi driver who trade in your san fe to me at RM 25k. You bet me, if not, I will not accept the trade in. Work hard so you can own Lexus like me one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:08 pm

do you know that above price is Thailand price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • RM150k Camry no VSC 2 Airbags on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:33 pm

If Camry top of the range also got no vsc, you think this jamban got VSC???? Pay RM133k for a car that has no VSC????? Ha ha ha ha

RM60k Picanto also got vsc and 6 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 36
      • George Abdul on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Worst we won’t get that kind of price in fact…
        Greedy AP system owners and Govt taxes and UMW will makeup the price to RM 180k(lowest spec) !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • VSC VSC Where Are you? on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:27 pm

People no more buying Toyota la. It has worse RV than kimchi. 2013 Altis 1.8 now selling for RM65k. 2015 brand new Altis selling for RM139. In less than 2 years, Altis can drop more than HALF

Anyway, only an idiot will buy Toyota. 2010 Altis and 2010 Camry got VSC.

2015 Camry and 2015 Altis got NO VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
          • Checked on the website and both camry and altis got VSC wor. Im confused.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 16, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Its obvious that this sorhai was shown the Hilux.

Any kimchis more than 24 months old will now fetch less than RM10k, if dealer accepts

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:44 pm

My son used SamShowedMeTheHilux identity, what he said is correct, even his Saga RV worth more than Kimchis. I hope my son can get good income like me, I hope he can make RM6k per month just like me so he can afford a Lexus.

• Crappy looorrrr on Dec 16, 2015 at 7:03 pm

6k monthly salary can afford a Lexus, the biggest joke I ever heard ! Lollllllll , your income 6k as low as my driver, he is only driving a local car.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:10 pm

above car using AP that is free…not same AP use by AP king

• rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Bodoh beli kete ini. Woi, ni Hilux lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • Aaron on Jul 16, 2015 at 5:06 pm

I really wish the Malaysian version will come with the tan interior. Black interior is so, so dull.

• Toyota Keranda Bergerak on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 194
    • Takata airbag on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Enoughlaa…komen tu always copy paste maa, people already know laa. Up to them what they want to buy, full safety packages wth 5 stars ancap bukan garenti u will safe from crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
      • rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Saya cadangkan semua kereta tukar nama bila masuk msia supaya ada identity Malaysia.

Macam kereta ni, pangill Toyota Jebat atau Toyota Tuah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Dude, are you NOT TIRED posting the same thing over and over again?? We all know how good and bad toyota is: Im driving a camry and im not the happiest customer too. You always come out and give impression that you were raped by toyota or something. We pity you but please say something more constructive .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
      • Mari Mari Songlap Songlap on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:19 pm

We pity you more bro, because you are a Camry buyer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 17, 2015 at 8:52 pm

You gotta kerlian these sorhais,

Just imagine an RM140k Sonata or K5 12 months on is only worth RM25k

I would be as bitchy as them

• I think there is no staff in charge of spamming.
      copy and paste over and over..

the owner of this blog doesnt seem to worry of loosing readers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • iiAMGPackage on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Secretly he/she is Sam Loo’s cousin trying to brainwash our minds with Toyotas.

• sutheshkumar on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:30 pm

you might wanna see the brochure again. there is no 2.7G and 2.8G.

• LeJohn on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Is this new fortuner based on the hilux platform ? The old one had rather bad comfort due to the same platform as the hilux making it rather bumpy . Hopefully it isn’t :/

• Ongtk on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Looks great. Hope it’s price and equipped right in Malaysia. Might consider getting it then.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Toyota Fortuner is nothing more than a Hilux with covered top.
    But Toyota charges a premium for it.
    And some people buy it and act as though they have made it in life and mistaken it for luxury vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo Crying like baby on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:32 pm

So true brother. It is just a Hilux. that is why Sam Loo (ori1) only friend now is his dildo. Sales are so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • Its charges a ‘premium’ because the hilux has no excise duty as a commercial vehicle. Jeez i get annoyed by toyota too but the ignorance in the comment segment is ridiculous.

• Hilux, Ranger, Navara.
      if come with same taxation structure as SUV.
      it would be around RM135k + –

• tenine99 on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:59 pm

When Estima want to be 4X4. Tadaaa!

• isuzuki on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:25 pm

more like RM180K in Malaysia

• cendol (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Have you all sit in a covered top Hilux (Fortuner) before?
    The suspension is like there is no suspension.
    You can feel all the bump and lump on the road, each of it.

• xiper (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 7:14 pm

seems like Toyota was doing a great job for better road feedback in another way…

• just like a Honda HRV…..
      Thud Thud… Thud Thud…

• The front looks like wild boar with shiny tusks, seriously.

• 133k too expensive, should be below 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • it’s beyond expectation.
      looks like a RM300k Toyota.

just below Lexus NX.

• Josh Ling on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:26 pm

wow, finally toyota gets serious about its cars. this is a really sharp looking car! nice! now, about that avanza…..

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Not sure with the hate, I surprisingly like it. Just make sure full safety and it should be a good buy.

• xiper (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 7:15 pm

152k for the 2.4V is a good buy compared to the existing Fortuner variants and specs we have today. Hopefully it will be similar price range when UMW launch it.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 16, 2015 at 8:59 pm

12 months old Tucson : starting to accept trade in again ~ RM25k if no phyisical paintwork damaged

• I think it looks good.
    RM133k would be great for Malaysian market but it will be more like add another RM40K to that.

• tiffany on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

when come to Malaysia.
      RM 133k become RM 331k.

Toyota Fortuner full specs, a whole new luxury level.
      just below Lexus RX.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:24 pm

i cant be the only one who thinks the front resembles the last gen VW Touareg…looks good , as usuall with these suv,s that are based on their pickup platforms , the rear and the rear quarter looks odd….
    but generally its not bad , we can finally shed a tear for the departing 4 speed auto…

• tiffany on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:02 pm

my expectation:

Toyota Fortuner
    2.4 G M/T = RM 180k
    2.8 V A/T = RM 270k

Lexus NX 200t
    RM 299k to RM 385k

iPhone owner upgrade to another iPhone.
    Fortuner owner, gonna upgrade to another Fortuner.

• Josh Ling on Jul 17, 2015 at 12:38 am

UMW Toyota hasn’t lost their mind yet. 2.8V for RM270k?? you might as well ask them to point guns to their heads and pull the triggers.

• xiper (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:03 am

the 2.4 and 2.8 diesel engines might not make way here with our diesel quality

• Am I the only one here who notice how beautiful the design is?
    This will sell well.

As for the thieving issue in Malaysia (especially the east), it is a sad reality.

• Yuv06 on Jul 17, 2015 at 5:56 am

Hi Guys

See video test of 4×4 4 door in Thailand https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vM3udF7dwgI but everything is in Thai

• The more refined X-trail is a better buy

• ProtonScrewed? on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:46 am

OMG!!! That is a sorry looking Fortuner…

I dont think ppl gonna buy this dinosour…for that price.

Sam Lorr and family gonna eat grass bcoz his sales are zero….

• Quite nice looking. But hope toyota Malaysia will bring in the new diesel engines.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jul 18, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Looks like a Korean design vehicle now, not too bad.

• Outalingam on Aug 31, 2015 at 12:46 pm

CUT the crap if UMW Toyota DOES NOT OFFER 7 airbags ACROSS the range because the Fortuner, being very properly a family-oriented SUV with seven proper seats….Malaysian versions of this kind of vehicle has gotta be compliant to at least ANCAP (Australia) as well as Euro NCAP, in order to make this vehicle WORTH THE BUY as a daily driver and family transporter….Malaysia had better wake up from being complacent to peg to only the ASEAN NCAP standard…

• In Sabah, this new Fortuner became normal sight.