Johor Bahru City Grand Prix all set for a revival?

The KL City GP has just ended its inaugural run over the weekend and already, it appears as though it may have a rival exhibition from the south in the near future. Tunku Ismail Idris ibni Sultan Ibrahim, has signalled his intentions to revive such an event on his Instagram page following the conclusion of the aforementioned KL-based race event.

So while the KL City GP can lay claim to being the first street race to take place in the capital, it trails behind the state of Johor Bahru when it comes to having the honour of hosting the first-ever Grand Prix in Malaysia – said to have taken place in the city of Johor Bahru way back in 1940, according to Tunku Idris.

Not much information has been divulged on the alleged street race so far but a closer look at said Instagram page has revealed plenty of support for the event. What do you guys think? Would Malaysia be able to pull off hosting our version of the Monaco AND Macau Grand Prix? Let us know in the comments below.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• I think they should. Johor Bahru can draw more spectators from KL and Singapore as well as International spectators. I think Malaysia should also made JB as city formula one track. This will encourage money inflow from Singapore. Singapore is a smaller country than Malaysia but they have more racing spectators compared to Malaysia. Power of buying! We should benefit from this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 10, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Yes, please have it in JB, let the Singaporean cars race there rather than our north south highway. And stop doing it in KL. We don’t need road closure to view super cars, there is a thing in the world called Internet!

• Matchy on Aug 10, 2015 at 9:52 am

http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/SIP_1354_2008-08-28.html

• Kwong Wing Chong, Garrett on Aug 10, 2015 at 10:19 am

The KLCGP was an awesome event! The race circuit was great with hard lefts and rights and seemed very challenging for the drivers. However, it still needs improvements in terms of road smoothness, we can see those race cars bumping around as well as water retention issues during rain fall. Nonetheless, kudos for all for pulling off such a great event despite those small hiccups. Looking forward for the 2016 KLCGP!

• shahrul on Aug 10, 2015 at 10:20 am

i am all for it.

• Leonardo on Aug 10, 2015 at 11:13 am

Good idea. But what happened to the Pasir Gudang track? It is grossly underutilized.

• Pasir gunung was designed for bikes and touring cars. It is and old track not suitable for modern racing. Last time I remember Pasir Gudang still host some local and Asian level events.

• KUOK Khoon ping on Aug 10, 2015 at 11:15 am

YES❤️❤️❤️ I have great memories of the JB Grand Prix with stalwarts like Bill Wylie in his Wylie Special from Aussieland, Albert Poon from HK etc!! Must revive this-Johor Boleh!! We have the heritage, we have the State pride, we have our Tuanku to lead us!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Taharim Kassim on Aug 10, 2015 at 11:42 am

Yes, splendid idea to bring back the road race at Johor Bahru. If it’s organised in conjunction with the Sultan’s Birthday,so much better. Just make it affordable for the local folks. No need to suffer like paying so much to watch the F1 races at Sepang. LEAD THE WAY JOHOR !

• Johor gonna be advanced in the future. Hope for the best for Johor. :)

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm

rip sepang international circuit. everything that relates to mahathir had is being gunned down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 10, 2015 at 1:40 pm

U know a week before that sepang circuit organise World Superbike Championship that long time since boleh organise that event..later this month Merdeka Endurance race..