Plan to reduce cost of obtaining car and motorcycle license still being studied – JPJ

Plans to reduce the cost of obtaining a driving/riding license for cars and motorcycles are still being studied, according to Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad.

He said that many factors need to be considered before a decision can be made as it also involves the driving school industry. “To be fair to the (driving school) industry, they also need to pay GST. We need to discuss the matter as it involves many parties. At the same time, we need to ensure learners are not too burdened by the costs,” he told reporters at the JPJ academy in Ayer Molek, Melaka.

In September last year, JPJ released ceiling prices for driving school courses, which are RM350 for class B2, RM900 for class B, RM1,150 for class D and RM1,250 for class DA. All driving schools must not charge more than these figures for their courses.

While GST is not imposed on driving licence and road tax, services provided by driving schools are taxable. JPJ has previously urged the institutes to absorb the 6% GST as a corporate social responsibility to help learners.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kenapa x puji kerajaan
    license harga turun untuk rakyat
    sokong bn sokong najib
    salam 1 malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • Kerana beban yang diberi kepada rakyat sudah melampau. Kenapa kerajaan tak menyerah badan pencegah rasuah menyiasat anggota jpj yang sengaja mengagalkan pelajar. Sekarang bukan pelajar silap & kopi o untuk lulus. Tapi lulus pun dikira gagal & minta kopi o.

Kes ini bukan asing lagi. Kenapa tak ambil tindakan.

• Jubei Anaike on Aug 12, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Sure or not ceiling price been implemented? In Sabah, driving school still imposed way higher than said price & still no action taken again them. Take a look at this: https://goo.gl/UlK2k0 and this: https://goo.gl/9SWRPs
    Don’t trust me? Check for yourself here: https://goo.gl/hGIDGx
    Any comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • forrest the tree on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:09 am

JPJ, you are studying wrong subject!
      You should study how to reduce car import tax!

• Opaixx on Aug 13, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Stupidity at it best. Car tax nothing to do with enforcement agency. Not ‘study’ before commenting eh?

• gberd on Aug 12, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Do you want to kill more Malaysian !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • rockybalboa on Aug 12, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Yeah, any price reduction would take years to study before implementing…..

Any price increase, next day you gonna have it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • ~owhmalaysiaku on Aug 12, 2015 at 8:24 pm

huhu…

• ahmad maslan on Aug 12, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Mana boleh turun harga. Mau belajar betul-betul yuran kena naik. Siapa nak bayar gaji cikgu memandu. Bila sistem baru jpj keluar semua calon kena thumbprint masuk belajar dan jumlah jam mandatori telah naik ke 18 jam. Dulu 8 jam sahaja. Tak logik kalau jumlah jam naik harga boleh turun. Jpj ni cakap banyak tapi tak fikir. Dia inplement sistem nak ikut negara maju tapi harga nak turun.

• Yet another populist move by the powers that be. The moment a new driver gets his or her P license they will get an axia or lagi best or Trd or nismo crap and all those of us with impeccable records will be tormented by these new breed of drivers who can’t for the love of their own God even parallel park well without reverse cameras and sensors.
    Let’s not get to them motorcyclists shall we….that’s a whole white paper waiting to be written on them.

• Normal Guy on Aug 13, 2015 at 7:34 am

Dont be crazy. More license means more sub-standard drivers in malaysia. Accidents happening everyday during rush hour making it so inconvenient for people like me who drive to work. I say raise the price of getting a license and ensure petrol price do not drop below 2.30. That will discourage idiots from our highways and roads. If your mentality shows through your ride, you should not be on the road. ‘Nuff said.

• Driver on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:32 am

Why? You think you are better driver than others? Please explain?

• tokmoh. on Aug 14, 2015 at 12:36 am

I agree. I think auto makes people lazy and easily distracted, so I would also want govt to consider auto gearbox tax of RM26,000/year. This will either force them to drive manual, thus be more attentive driver, or give up driving. The rich won’t be affected, RM26,000 is only 0.001% of donation their receive, chump change.

• StuckInJam on Aug 13, 2015 at 8:27 am

Lower price to get driving license so cronies get more money from AP and tax for ppl buying car?

Charge more on the license price to get money to improve public transport!

• Cutester on Aug 13, 2015 at 8:43 am

Discuss here, discuss there… study here, study there. When kuihs and teh tariks served during the discussions, postponed again.

The never ending discussions and no immediate actions taken to improve the matter.

• when talk about reduction, they will conduct studies for years and will cost millions. At the end, the will tell it will jeopardize the operators revenue therefore they need to maintain. Besides that, the minister will come up with statement “Kalau tak mampu nak ambik license, guna perkhidmatan awam”.

It been a gimmick whereby ministry will conduct study to reduce but at the end of the day consultant and the related parties will enjoy big sum of money and citizens will die hoping.

• shawal on Aug 13, 2015 at 9:41 am

is he the ‘5k dead on the road’ dude..?
    that video is hilarious~!

• on 1 hand they are reducing the number of parking especially in PJ area…said wanna encourage usage of public transport…on the other hand they are saying they wanna bring down car costs…ZZZzzzz

• Hondana on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Yes, cost is one issue but the quality of drivers is more paramount. Most accidents were caused by younger drivers (18-35) who blatantly disregard traffic rules. The big question is why? Learning to drive just to get the license?

• Johnny on Aug 13, 2015 at 1:29 pm

He means reducing the price of rasuah izzit?
    We already have enough crappy drivers on the road that wouldn’t even pass international standards of driving. Please don’t lower the cost anymore.