IIMS 2015: Ford Focus facelift makes ASEAN debut – 1.5 EcoBoost turbo, 6-speed auto, from RM120k

Ford Focus Facelift 2

Present at the 2015 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) is this hatchback (there’s also a sedan on offer) from the Blue Oval. What you’re looking at is the Ford Focus facelift – making its ASEAN debut at the show – which does look a lot more sporty than the current offering, bearing a striking resemblance to its more potent ST sibling.

A few things that one can pretty much notice is the trapezoidal grille – which features a honeycomb mesh – as opposed to a split front grille. On this Sport model, there’s a bodykit that adds a lower intake that runs around the front splitter. More honeycomb patterns can be found here and in the fog light housing, making for a more aggressive look.

The headlights have also been revised – they’re slimmer and sleeker than before. Ford’s Kinetic design continues to flow through the sides with the Focus character lines retained. If you’ve ever imagined an Aston Martin hatchback, well, the facelifted Ford Focus does look like it fits the description, and it retains consistency with the Mondeo and facelifted Fiesta.

Ford Focus Facelift 3

On to the back, the rear lights have been scaled down in size giving it a more aerodynamic look when viewed from the side. The bumper has also been reprofiled – yet more honeycomb here on the Sport, flowing around the diffuser, adding to the sportiness.

Inside, the Focus gets a few revisions, including a new three-spoke steering wheel, a slimmer central tunnel (now that the handbrake has been relocated away from it), revised switchgear and cupholders which are now aft of the gearlever, with a new sliding cover.

Also revamped is the centre console where the Sony head unit on this Sport model sits – it’s a lot simpler and more organised now compared to the frenzy of audio control buttons that the current Focus has.

Ford Focus Facelift 32

Instead, the majority of functions are performed through the newer SYNC 2 infotainment system, utilising a much larger eight-inch touchscreen display. Also seen in the Mondeo, Everest and facelifted Ranger, its voice control system now understands more natural language commands compared to that on the original SYNC.

Three models are made available in Indonesia – the range starts with the Trend hatch, which gets five-split-spoke 17-inch alloy wheels, the original SYNC system with a 4.2 inch screen and steering wheel audio controls, six speakers, dual airbags, ABS, stability control and Hill Launch Assist. It retails at 403 million rupiah (RM119,700).

Moving up, you get the aforementioned Sport hatch, gaining smoked headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED light guides for the tail lights, a bodykit with larger rear spoiler, multi-spoke alloys (same size), SYNC 2 with nine-speaker Sony sound system, keyless entry, push-button start, front parking sensors, auto lights and wipers, dual-zone auto air-con, a four-way power-adjustable driver’s seat and leather upholstery.

Safety-wise, selecting Sport adds side and curtain airbags (six in total), Active City Stop and enhanced Active Park Assist (parallel and perpendicular parking); all in all, it’ll cost you 441 million rupiah (RM130,900). The range-topping Titanium sedan gets much the same equipment except it switches to a five-spoke wheel design – punt for this and the bill rises to 485 million rupiah (RM144,000).

No matter which variant you choose, the facelifted Focus will be powered solely by the new 1.5 litre EcoBoost turbocharged petrol four-pot, making 180 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm at an oddly high (for a turbo mill, anyway) 5,000 rpm – this engine will be offered in our market as well.

Along with the removal of the naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre mill, the much-maligned six-speed Powershift dual-clutch transmission has also been dumped, replaced by a conventional six-speed torque converter automatic.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• stop showing price in rm la like this price is for malaysian market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 5
    • karam singh on Aug 20, 2015 at 4:38 am

Powerrrrrrrr……

• Ford Famous 3 Reasons on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:13 am

Three reasons you should avoid this junk.
      1) Worst RV in Malaysia. Buy today, next year you want to get RM60k also you will be lucky

2) 3 month wait for parts. It is not a rumour contrary to SDAC cybertrooper trying to prove otherwise.

3) Dual dry clutch is like DSG. It will breakdown every other month. Besides waiting for the tow truck in the hot sun, if under warranty it is ok. If warranty habis, you have to jual buntot to pay RM30k for the gearbox. 100 percent gearbox will fail in first year itself at least 2 to 3 times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
      • applegreen on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:19 am

this new fofo has new gearbox, replaced by a conventional six-speed torque converter automatic

• Ford Bodo on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:44 am

I am one of its victims. I waited 3 months for my windscreen to be replace. In Malaysia, batu kena windscreen so common. But 3 months I got to wait for the windscreen.

• theanswer on Aug 20, 2015 at 10:31 am

wow..worst than peugeot. my bro only need less than a week to replaced his 308 windscreen.

• not sure how much truth there is in this..had my windscreen replaced in 4 hours.

my friend’s Kuga got smashed also replaced in a day.

• alldisc on Aug 20, 2015 at 10:05 am

the fact that ford malaysia has decided to skip dual clutch and go for conventional has proven that its DSG gearbox has many unsolved issues.

• @alldisc, the Dry Clutch Powershift was not designed for high-torque engines like the 1.5 EcoBoost which produces 240Nm of torque. Globally, the automatic option for any Ford with a 1.5 EcoBoost is always a torque converter automatic. The Dry Clutch Powershift is only used on the 1.5/1.6 and 2.0 naturally aspirated engines and the 1.0 EcoBoost which produces around 170Nm of torque.

• Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:38 am

ya totally agree with you. it’s super confusing. first time i read i also thought it was launched in malaysia already. why can’t they put the price in local currency of the launch place instead or simply don’t put the price at all on the title?

• title already mentioned Indonesia international motor show.
        u must be a special kind of stupid not being able to read, yet blaming the editor for confusing you ?

• OMG…when i first looked at it…i thought was Fiesta..hahha…more than 100k for this car…never never never…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • JB_KIA on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:16 pm

I estimated that it would be selling at around RM160k here. Rebate 15k kalo x laku…

• wahhh on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Wahhh this is the focus the i want!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Hooray…welcome

• SamLoo on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:11 pm

OMG IM SAMLOO BUT I WILL BUY THIS CAR

• Colin Wong on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:17 pm

The replacement of the dry dual clutch auto transmission is a good decision. As much as we like the performance of the transmission, the clutch replacement is a hassle and no one is sure if once replaced, the problem is gone for sure. No doubt in other territories, the 2.0 lives on and so does the dual clutch but good decision nonetheless.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:32 pm

I know this going to be very unlikely but I do hope Malaysia bring in the six speed manual version too especially for hatchback.

• ben yap on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:39 pm

can this car park by itself?

• Colin Wong on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:55 pm

The current version: yes. I am sure this one does as well.

• John X on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:07 am

This comment shouldn’t be thumbed down, because the older one did actually parallel park itself.

• neemfa on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Wah.. didn’t expect this to come.. good, more choice for buyers.. but SDAC better buck up!

• Wow. Great piece of work on the Focus. Can we hope for the RS to come as well? . Thx.

• focus on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:02 pm

yes, yes, yes!!! this is the one !!!

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Good looking car. Good engine, good specs, competitive price, could the Focus actually sell in Malaysia?

• Colin Wong on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Yes. I think it will. I was formerly a Toyota and Nissan diehard. We bought the Focus after test drive. Last week, my friend took me in her new Civic – no fight. Even the leather seat quality felt inferior.

However, because resale value is still low, I can see that only people who are willing to lose up to 30 to 40k more than a Civic on resale after 6 years will buy this car.

Overall, the experience is much better than Civic.

• can u pls elaborate which/what is better than the civic? we want to know
        thanks

• shawal on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:24 pm

I went to see d saloon in d showroom, d interior colour combo is like being in a plane, which is nice….n d sunroof gives it an airy feel…. Tho honestly its a bit cramped inside…

But impressive kit count

• Passion on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:35 pm

The best change is the much more reliable coventional auto rather than the quick but problematic powershift tranny..

• Colin Wong on Aug 20, 2015 at 12:00 am

We are really hoping that the current transmission problem has a permanent solution.

• Nasi Padang on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:08 pm

I wonder how much it will cost to get a 1.5 ecoboost here. Price shud be equal to the new 308!

Ermmm. Focus or 308? Any ideas ?

• theanswer on Aug 20, 2015 at 10:34 am

308 will win in terms of interior volume. drive wise, should be a tight fight..but focus will win.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:22 am

I would say, in terms of space the Focus is slightly more comfy at the back. I find the new 308’s rear cramped. But, having said that, the new 308 interior feels much better and more plush compared to the Focus – at least the outgoing one. The seats in the current Focus don’t feel as nice as the French’s as well as the general build and panel gaps.

The Mondeo feels really really comfy inside, but you cannot deny, somehow Ford and interior space isn’t always in the same line.

• Areyousure on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Replace the dual-clutch today and replace the turbo tomorrow. Sooner people will remember again, all they need is just something that can carry them to work.

Bread and butter. Driving pleasure simply not for everyone.

• DPCraft on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Looks better than Fiesta :)

• nabill (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Interior is jus cramped, very snug… Probably the smallest interior in its segment… Nm the japanese competitors, the preve feels like a stadium inside n alot more cleverly packaged… Time for a new platform rather than power train enhancements… Although its stil very refined

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 5:14 am

Moral of the story?

Ford should have been smart and never had the PowerShift in the Focus from the start, what were they thinking cause that thing was an absolute mess of the highest degree.

• amirad on Aug 20, 2015 at 8:25 am

Nice. Comparable to the golf tsi. Really interested in this updated focus. But Sam Loo’s words ‘ Buy Ford, RV drops faster than a stone in air’ still echoes in my mind. Is there a Ford support group that can make Ford ownership experience not as bad as it seems.

• gaviny on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:13 am

Any word when the focus ST will be coming also ?

• applegreen on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:23 am

1.5 turbo with 180hp, that sounds good. Powerwise and 0-100 should be faster than mazda3

• Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:41 am

the only achilles’ heel of this car right now: super cramped rear seat space. else this could be the perfect pick of the range.

• noford on Aug 20, 2015 at 10:44 am

Ford and mazda…similar rear seat situation..cramp..
    those cars are for drivers…not for passengers…more like 2 doors config.

• Jeffrey on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:20 am

Halogens? No xenon? hmm…

• omegle on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:36 am

wow starting price at indonesia alrd at rm120k, how much would it sell here…

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Nice…cheaper road tax haha but the Pug 308 looks n feels more premium though plus I don’t think the majority of the owners will be taking this Ford to its limits so comfort n interior space should be more important. For the loyalists there’s the ST and RS.

• @Jonathan Lee, New Focus specs are up at the Australian Ford wensite. They also get the same Thai made Focus models. Torque is 240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm.

• will Mac on Sep 03, 2015 at 6:32 am

I guess Thailand is going to skip the facelift and wait for the new model