Mazda MX-5 manual coming to Malaysia, says Bermaz

Great news, driving enthusiasts! Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh has just officially announced that the Mazda MX-5 manual will be available in Malaysia. “Yes, we are working on that (manual MX-5). It’s coming in a couple of months,” he confirmed.

Nothing else has been made public as of yet, other than the fact that when the six-speed manual version does arrive, it will be matched to Mazda’s 158 hp/200 Nm 2.0 litre SkyActiv engine – the same one already available with the automatic MX-5, launched today at RM219,999.

In case you’re wondering, the smaller 1.5 litre engine that’s available in other markets will not make an appearance here in Malaysia. Why not? “Because it’s a no-no in this country for a sports car. Why would you want a 1.5 litre when you can have a 2.0 litre?” asked Yeoh.

Well now, who can argue with that?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Of course they would bring in the manual, they wont wanna commit suicide again like with the last gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Zonda on Aug 22, 2015 at 2:16 am

LoL,Yeah.

The manual is for the boys and the auto is for the pondans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
      • Mari Mari Songlap RM2.6b on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:49 am

Hopefully this car will be priced not RM220k here. It is way too high. This is the problem with Malaysia. Car can cost less than US$20k but here, it jumps to RM220k.

We can have cheap cars but the problem is, too much of songlap going on.

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices like this Mazda. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Nazgul on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Nope.
        Yeah the manual is for the boys, but the auto is for the smart boys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
      • Japanese Workers vs Proton Workers on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Amazing how Mazda can come up with a superb car. I wonder why Proton cannot come up with such a good car like MX5. See below and you will know why Proton is a failure.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Nanti kerajaan mesti order Proton banyak banyak, pasti jual. Tengok, PDRM sudah beli semua kete baru dari Proton”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
        • So you wanna say this mx5 beats lotus handling? In your dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • lotushandling on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:01 pm

i’ve driven a Lotus (of previous and current generations), and a variety of Protons.

Proton’s “Lotus Ride and Handling” is nothing like a Lotus…not even near in fact. The fact is that not many people will have driven a Lotus (because it’s not wildly popular) so not many will be able to gauge.

• hailthepurist on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:41 am

drifters relieved..

• Pontan-HairStylist on Aug 24, 2015 at 12:22 am

Booked mine today, manual version. great.

• Sam_lul on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Ooppps sam lorr is reading this right?

• So paultan has removed the voting system from the comments? Piss off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • At least they listen to public demand. Mazda is doing very well. Bring the CX-3 now. Waiting for so long already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • cendol (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:51 am

Bring in CX3 , I don’t think you WILL buy also!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • GT3 (Member) on Aug 23, 2015 at 3:55 am

Yeah, thank you Bermaz for listening to people and making it happen, despite the sky-high price that made it impossible for me to own it.

• It’s just like music to the ears :D
    3-pedals enthusiasts will definitely buy this

• karipap basah on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:56 pm

The weekend toy car for the rich ppl only….

• Sam lolz on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Apa lagi you guys mau?? Manual iz coming

• mr_em on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Errr…. 1.5 litre will attract a diff tax bands compared to 2.0 litre and will make it cheaper. But then again is Bermaz trying to avoid making the mx-5 a victim of its own success?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • zoom zoom bermaz on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:19 pm

while i welcome this piece of news, now i would like to see if those people who have been bashing bermaz for not bringing the MT before to put in their booking fees for this model.

bising je lebih. now orang dah bawak masuk, sila beli.

btw. their decision to not bring in the 1.5 is really pure business… really, i can’t argue with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • thefact on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:40 pm

agreed with u. and those who said that, in the end will give excuse, oh susahla..traffic jam la.. malas la… all talk no action…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • olio benzina on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Can also be they gave up on Bermaz who don’t know what kind of product the MX-5 is.

When they said they only want to bring in auto, then “Jinba Ittai” means the horse will decide the gear for you.

• JB_KIA on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:46 am

haha, I nk bli tp harga not rite laa…Dato Seri tlg layan I…lol

• Pauline tan on Aug 23, 2015 at 1:54 am

Does bermaz dare to accept deposit for manual version ?
      no they dare not now …

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Haha of course they will lah since majority will opt for the manual. Hopefully comes in below RM190k and they can take out some optionals like lane departure warning and cruise control.

• Matchy on Aug 22, 2015 at 4:39 pm

I will be surprised if the manual is cheaper than the auto…

• Sudah Lambat on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Good news for those who haven’t commit to other cars.

Not very smart to cocksurely announce not bringing in manual in the first place.
    I’ve also expressed interest on Bermaz website for updates on MX-5.
    No response to indicate receipt of feedback nor updates since.
    Maybe I not Kimarie graduate.
    Have to rely on PaulTan.org

• Anonymous on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Why would anyone want a 1.5 litre when u can get a 2.0…? well… 1.3 Mazda RX8 is the reason… no doubt the R2 rotary engine is no longer available but its a solid foundation for a midsized engine for a sportscar… it sold quite well worldwide from 2001 to 2012.

Truth is the CEO just wanna make more money off the margin.

p.s. personally, rather have tiptronic n paddles than the manual shtick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
    • olio benzina on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Reports from UK is that the difference is not just engine.
      2.0 comes with LSD, strut brace and bigger wheels while price difference is less than five percent.

• sepul on Aug 23, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Those are UK spec. Elsewhere, the LSD is only on the Club version (US spec).

Personally, I don’t find it a no-no for a sports car to have a small engine (1.5 version). Given our tax structure, it will be cheaper for road tax, and with most of the luxury item removed (i Active Sense, Bose audio system) while retaining the standard safety tech intact should reduce the selling price quite a lot I reckon. Say around the 208 GTi price would suffice. Better if they can take Swift Sport price for the 1.5 because that is most reasonable for many.

But news that they are working to bring a manual ones are plenty good for purist.

• thepolygonal on Aug 24, 2015 at 10:16 am

Speaking of LSDs, I went to the Glenmarie showroom but the person here could not confirm if they have the LSDs on the models here. Any idea anyone? They had a RM20k discount for early birds that lasted till Sunday.

• Lololol on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Comparing rotary to inline? And just stating engine capacity? How ignorant can you be????? 1.3 Rotary has 2.5lit car consumption. Totally different.

Truth is you are just a an inexperienced person.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Anonymous on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:05 am

dunno where u learned to read… but i did not compare rotary with inline. What i typed implied there is a market for a mid sized engine. Anyway, dunno what u drive (and don’t care) my 2.5 lit sedan has low consumption on the hiways.

Truth is… it takes very little to rumple your panties does it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Lololol on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:16 am

Again… talking high after smelling panties issit… which car doesnt have good FC on highways, everyone knows your mum is a woman la… ahahahahahhaha….

Fact is, just using engine capacity without considering FC, engine maintenance to size up demand for car means you just talk after being high sniffing on something….

• when the butt is doing the thinking instead of the brain, people will come up with those kind of statement so…yeah

• Lolol on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Where to book?

• wiwiwiw on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:54 pm

ya ya ya that’s because the profit margins are higher for high specs 2.0 auto. i will wait for grey imports

• olio benzina on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:50 pm

UK reports mentioned the price difference less than five percent. 2 litre gets ltd slip diff, strut brace and bigger wheels.

• True, ive rented mx-5’s many times before and they are hard to live with, 220k for a weekend car is expensive. A 1.5 manual grey import will be fine.

• olio benzina on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:55 pm

If I’m loaded and want an autotrans open top I can afford to stretch the budget to an SLK, Z4 or boxster. Same if I’m buying for a mistress. You think she’ll settle for a Mazda?

The MX-5 is all about feel and maximum feel comes from manual box. Especially if it has a short throw and a light clutch. I too was impressed with paddletronic at first and was amazed that the system (selespeed) even blips the throttle before a downchange. However to me, double declutching, heel and toeing is not a chore.

Its more satisfying to do it myself.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 7:38 am

Agree. For me driving a manual gearbox always gives me satisfaction and smile in my heart. No matter how worst the traffic can be.

• mohaWk on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:17 pm

take my money!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:38 pm

good job… they do listen to customers….

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 7:41 am

Not only limited to MX-5. Other cars such as Mazda 3 and Mazda 2 also need to have manual transmission as an option.

• I ate on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Those who complained about the lack of manual trans option will book one soon right? Right…?

• azhar on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

I’ll buy 1.5 if the price is right..mx-5 is for drive with style not a real sports car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Lololol on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Yet another ignorant iffer….. who has no clue of what a sports car is… just looking at engine capacity … how shallow and inexperienced.

• sepul on Aug 23, 2015 at 4:35 pm

His point being smaller engine meaning cheaper road tax, that is what I understand.

What is a sports car to you btw?

• Mazda 2 on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:51 am

Why only answer for mx-5? How about Mazda 2? Even low budget car ppl also should have choices what transmission they prefer. Understand manual not too suitable in city drive, yet manual drive like a man. Auto car like old guy or lady drive… Manual support!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • cendol (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:53 am

low budget people will consider Proton or Perodua and not Mazda

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Agree with that. Many peoples’ first car will be A and B segment cars and manual transmission will help if budget is tide. Unless they either only got driving licence for automatic transmission vehicles or scare of heavy traffic jam will break/paralyse/amputate break their left foot.

• tokmoh. on Aug 23, 2015 at 3:30 am

Not only it helps in budgeting, it’s jolly fun too. There’s a joy in driving lightweight small car, less is more rings true here.

I think people need to try modern manual cars. They’ll know those cars have very light clutch, it’s hardly tiring at all. It’s harder to stall, so easier to drive.

It’s free gym too. If one ponders driving in jam is tiring, they probably have >30min commute, so it’s as long as a gym session. Save gym fee, save fuel, save workshop trip unlike dsg cars, stay healthy, enjoy much more fun driving when they’re not in jam, impress amoi/awek manis that u can drive manual in jam, safer too as it’ll force you to drive instead of selfie/text/fiddling phone, win liao lor.

• gavyin on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:08 am

by the time mazda bring in, our country has already collapsed, loaf of bread will cost rm1000

• You bet on Aug 22, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Lol amazing how many people claimed they will buy one if they bring in the manual then when it’s apparent the manual is coming in they’re asking for 1.5 and start naming alternatives. Well.. Just like our leaders. Pathetic and a piece of joke.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 5:19 pm

I agree.
      Bring in automatic , they complain want manual.
      Bring in Manual, other reasons will come.
      They are training to be BN members

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • And you two are just sheep typing on the keyboard too, grow some balls go to Bersih 4.0

• Bersih are for pussies. Real men take up armed revolution.

• I ate on Aug 23, 2015 at 12:02 am

Typical bn supporters, they keep changing their story. Theyre fighting a losing battle even though they think theyre winning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Nah! Most of them are PR supporters. They will always find something negative to say, and when their demands gets fulfilled, they will find something else to harp about.

• lepas dia orang cakap takda turbo la, KL jam maual tak sesuai la, minta color yang bermacam macam la, rim terlalu kecil la….actual reason is they are afford it…all talk cock….haaaa

• muddy (Member) on Aug 22, 2015 at 4:12 pm

I think an S2000 looks way better than this even after 16 years… and drives better too… IMHO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • tokmoh. on Aug 23, 2015 at 3:17 am

Brb, wanna ask donation from arab.

Err, i eat McDonald’s, so i helped to fight against isis, right?

• Masin on Aug 23, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Looks like ‘john’ is the barisan nasional version of sam loo lolol

• The real car guys have disappeared. A car guy would buy a manual car, however, it can be too expensive and unaffordable for people who want a manual and drive for engagement. Many guys, who get married buys a auto, coz their wife can’t drive a manual.