More brands could join global Takata airbag recalls

airbag

With 12 automakers already involved in Takata airbag recalls, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is believed to be on the verge of adding another seven brands to the list that already includes the likes of Toyota, Honda, Nissan and BMW.

According to a new Bloomberg report, the US regulators overseeing the replacement of Takata airbags is looking to expand its concerns to include Mercedes-Benz, Tesla, Suzuki, Volvo Trucks, Land Rover, Spartan Motors and the Volkswagen Group (no specific brands under the VW Group were named in the letters sent to the company).

This follow’s Takata’s report to the NHTSA regarding all the car manufacturers it had supplied the allegedly faulty ammonia-nitrate equipped airbags to. In its letters to each brand in the new list of manufacturers, Takata explained:

“Takata has identified your company as having been supplied airbag inflators that contain either its 2004 or 2004L ammonium nitrate-based propellant and that are not currently covered by the Takata DIRs. In connection with the Coordinated Remedy Program proceeding, NHTSA is considering not only whether to issue an administrative order that would coordinate the remedy programs associated with the current Takata recalls, but also whether such an order should include expansion of the current recalls.”

SRS-Airbag

As mentioned, the potential recall here surrounds the NHTSA’s concerns over the ammonium nitrate-based propellant used in the airbags supplied to the various car manufacturers. The substance has been identified as a possible cause for explosive deployments of the airbags, along with desiccant, another substance added to keep the systems dry, but is also known to contribute to the explosions.

Not too long ago, Volkswagen found itself in the spotlight of the NHTSA when a driver in the US was reported to have his side airbag rupture when his 2015 Tiguan hit a deer on the road.

With over 34 million vehicles having been recalled in the US alone, and millions more around the globe collectively, the Takata airbag issue isn’t one that’s going away anytime soon, so it seems.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• transformer on Sep 29, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Even its detected in US first, the whole issues has created a lot buzz as its concerning lifes. I am still waiting for local auto brand owner to address this Takata Airbag issues, whether car sold(in MY) has this faulty component or not.

Our minister in Parliament should initiate a program like NHTSA focusing safety side on design/manufacturing defects.

My suggestion to look for Headlight safety issues, mainly BLURRY front cover thats made of Resin based Plastics. We could see Avanza, Camry, Sentra, G.Livina, Accord & many more with such defective headlight.

• Proton’s airbag is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • That is true. Autoliv airbags so far has escaped all these Jap bullshit. Thank the gods for Proton management foresight that time.
        Also for them not to JV with VW then. Maybe P1 really do have a Jedi who can see the future!

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Yea, those Saga, Wira, Waja, Satria, Perdana even better. No airbags no recall.
          Proton best selling car Saga FLX has how many airbags? 2.
          Proton best safety car are located where? Showroom and warehouse.
          Proton is safe? THink again.

• Kuduro on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Proton didnt have airbags when these batches were supplied.

• samelordupe on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:31 pm

You *CAN* go wrong with sushi

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:33 am

proton doesn’t manufacture airbags :)

• Up til now, after was advised to contact Honda Malaysia in the media sometime back which I immediately did, I have yet to receive any response regarding the airbags replacement.
    Am still wondering would they ever be replaced. Dread to think if….sigh…
    A medieval prince’s shining armour to protect myself while driving, against the damn airbag’s deployment, which suppose to protect me ?

• Chris Ong on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Interesting, the steering is Ford Focus Mk.3 steering wheel but the article have not mentioned ford.

• Cortanut on Sep 30, 2015 at 9:17 am

Ford is already in the existing list of first 12 brands affected by the recall.

Can be seen in this previous article.
      http://paultan.org/2015/06/01/takata-airbag-issue-bmw-recalls-420661-cars-in-the-us-ford-and-chrysler-add-to-list-by-expanding-recalls/

• Haha, Kimchi cars safe?

• instead of kimchi car.. i rather to go for vw car
      the car performance and handling are good.
      u should go for vw car. thumb up haha

• Ouch! Volvo Trucks is also affected. Why they go and use Takata when homegrown Autoliv is just around the corner. This will teach them not to be like Volvo Cars to save cost. After all, they’re still the only original Volvo left.

• Anyone know airbags brand for Mazda, Isuzu & Perodua?
    Thank you.

• No wonder previous generation Vios J do not have airbags. Looks like it is a right strategy though.

• hanssen on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:55 pm

tak terkata …is for takata. cannot afford to see this silly mistake more in the future. all takata airbags must be replaced free of charge.

• Colin Goon on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:14 am

Contacted Honda SC when news broke up in the newspaper some 2-3 months back, but till now not a single phone call yet from SC eventhough my current car is listed. Are we missing something here?

• I thought I am all alone.
      Welcome brother, to the “waiting-ever-after” club.
      While we both are at it, let’s grab the damn steering wheel real tight & pray real hard before we drive off each time.
      #@\?!! HM

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:27 pm

It is most unwise to hold unto the steering wheel really tight. If the unfortunate thing should ever happen, as resistance towards the explosive forces from S.R.S. Airbags will only aggravate the extent of partial or permanent injuries.

• monopolized biz by takata..

• Sharon on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:31 am

slow action by those comapanies in malaysia. JPJ, MIROS should take charge to ask those car companies to recall their cars as soon as possible.

Daihatsu also recall their car, is Perodua car models also using Takata airbags.

How about Proton?

• Proton mainly uses Autoliv airbags. Not affected by this Jap bullshit. Otherwise the bashing will reach 100 comments

• Tama the cat on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:06 pm

And proton sells how many cars in which markets compared to these other brands? Deadly incident in proton also there wont be repercussions because no other more strict jurisdictions are involved.

• And how many cars does Ferrari sells per market? Even if you are niche, doesnt absolve you of your responsibility to your customers, especially their safety.

And thanks to some fate, even with numerous issues, parts compromising safety was not part of Proton’s problem.

• Tama the cat on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Simple question for you – how many markets (where expensive lawsuits are a risk) are ferrari entrenched in vs proton?

• Absolute Rider on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Autoliv is Swedish company and working very closely with Volvo. The last and great development was back in 2012 when Volvo introduced the pedestrian airbag.

Lots of buying (acquired other companies) and joint ventures by Autoliv. So, they are not the airbag manufacturer only.