Volvo previews its Intellisafe Auto Pilot autonomous driving interface and how you can activate it

IntelliSafe Auto Pilot interface

Volvo’s upcoming autonomous driving function is called Intellisafe Auto Pilot and it is expected to feature on a hundred XC90 SUVs for its 2017 autonomous driving project entitled, “Drive Me” in Gothenburg, Sweden.

With two paddles placed behind the steering wheels, drivers need to put both hands on the steering and pull on both paddles at the same time. When the two light strips on the paddles turns to a constant green, the auto pilot system will then notify the driver that the driving and supervision has been passed on to the car.

It will however only work with selected routes. That said, the car will automatically notify drivers when routes that allow for autonomous driving becomes available. Following that, lights on the paddles will also start flashing to signal that the self-driving function is ready and can be engaged.

When coming out of the route where the self-driving function is no longer available, the system will prompt the driver to take over. Here, a 60 second countdown is displayed in the instrument cluster – the amount of time in which the driver is required to put his hands back on the wheel, pull onto both paddles so as to acknowledge that the driver is now in control.

Should drivers fail to do so within that one minute window, the car will safely pull over to a stop on its own. Thomas Ingenlath, senior VP of Design at Volvo Cars said, “we have designed a user interface that is safe and seamless to use so that drivers can confidently transfer and regain control of the car.” It certainly sounds more interesting than a button.

The “Drive Me” project in Gothenburg stretches approximately 50 km on selected roads. Families and commuters around Gothenburg will be invited to experience it in an XC90. The system will then be introduced to the masses following that.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• tokmoh. on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Meanwhile, the new S90:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzF9e7F1HWM

Seems they getting serious on handling, so Volvo wants to be Proton of China?

• All rubbish. when it gets spoilt, to repair this gadgets cost a bomb. I am happy with my Preve, though basic, when anything goes wrong, I get no big bill.

In that sense, I can safely say, Proton is 100x better than any Volvo junk

• PR macais says good handling is syok sendiri. So now Volvo Cars is syok sendiri…

• Aaron on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Volvo is unbeatable at anything. Almost.

• fendie on Oct 07, 2015 at 2:25 am

Great inventions

• Singaporean on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:03 am

Meanwhile in bolehland still making milo tins… Muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Love that Sensus dashboard.

• Sexybich on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:53 am

Now everyone can text and drive!

• puterakupang84 on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:13 am

Impressive…volvo always a step a head in automotive technology..

• puterakupang84 on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:17 am

Impressive…volvo always a step ahead in automotive technology..

• step a head In safety
      “Cars are driven by people. The guiding principle behind everything we make at Volvo, therefore, is and must remain, safety”, Assar Gabrielsson and Gustav Larson 1927

• Fair driver on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:19 am

That is what you can expect from a China company..Impressive…

• tinmilo on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:21 am

There seems to be alot going on in Volvo, and yet in this part of the world, nothing seems to work for them.
    I am looking at this post and think that it is a “great invention”. But somehow, i am not planning to buy a volvo anytime soon.
    I don’t know, something is not right…
    And I rarely come across anyone that sing praises about owning a volvo.

• Mack lbn on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:49 am

Thanks to Geely to safe guard Volvo from missing.

• bootupjoe on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:49 am

Good for OKU….great job

• JustAnotherSkepticalPrick on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:13 am

What if the system goes berserk, is there anyway the car can tell or warn us ? What if when we are reading and texting anything that don’t involve looking at the front and the car start to drive to a cliff or river because of the mulfunction ?