Chevrolet Cruze Sport Edition – more details revealed

chevrolet-cruze-sport-naza-automania-7

The Chevrolet Cruze Sport Edition makes an appearance again at the latest Naza World Auto Mania event that happened last weekend. We first sighted it at the first instalment of the event back in April this year.

It features a silver paintjob this time around and appears to be closer to the actual product you’ll be able to buy – the black on that we first saw had aftermarket headlamps and different alloy wheels.

The brochures given out this time also has more details on what the ‘Performance Pack’ included in the Cruze Sport means. It’s basically a performance air filter that’s claimed to increase power and throttle response as per the dyno curve you see below.

Apparently the original curve has a dip somewhere in the mid point between 3,500 and 6,500 rpm and and the air filter fixes it. Peak power appears to be about the same though, as is the curve in the second half of the graph. We’d advise you to test drive it to see if you can feel the difference.

Other than that, the Sport Edition features added equipment like a full bodykit, black leather upholstery with red highlights, and illuminated door sill plates. Have a look at the photos of the spec list in the gallery for more details. It retails for RM122,868.17 OTR with insurance.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• http://paultan.org/2015/10/07/chevrolet-cruze-sport-edition-more-details-revealed/cruze-sport-upgrade/

from the chart, it looks like the car has almost Zero Horsepower below 3,500 rpm.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Dosa lah beli kete ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:41 pm

To distinguish yourself from RBA john register a gravatar account with your email
        & put a profile pic

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:15 pm

this car is not halal lah. I would stay away from this car because of the cross logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • eerza on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:06 pm

You really need to do some research la. This is a bow tie. If you want to play the religious card, go and research the actual car brand with a bit of a cross in it. Need to spoon feed you, is it? Here:
      http://www.chevrolet.com/culture/article/bowtie-history.html
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XUUJwQQ8Sw

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:58 pm

LOL a fake Donkey Kong pretending to be a narrow minded redneck.. come on, it’s the 21st century, who cares about primitive superstitions

• waters on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Yawn!

• alldisc on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:32 pm

are you kidding us naza?

even singapore has the cruze 1.4 turbo (also orlando 1.4T) but malaysia spec still stick with 1.8 NA. not to mention, america already has all new cruze with brilliat spec & features.

anyway, my advice is stay away from chevrolet brand at all costs. not for now anyway. until it improvise
    on the features (msia cruze has only 2 airbags and it still wanna claim this car has 5 star euro ncap!!), on after sales network support & spare parts supply issue. until that is done, chevrolet has no image and and because of all the above very poor resale value. we are talking something like 50% gone by the end of first year.

and another thing, an insider told me chevrolet cars are taxed twice on GST. the first one as we all can see on the price list in showroom (and website) but the other GST charge is actually hidden in custom documents. this is one reason why chevrolet malaysia can give huge discounts to all its cars (ranging from 7-20k, depending on model)

stay away and far!

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Nope, actually you need to ask, ‘are you kidding us, Chevrolet?’. Naza is the victim here. Chevy claims that Malaysia’s fuel is not good enough for their turbo engines and as for the price, Americans mah. In Singapore, they are probably dropping the Cruze hatch turbo simply because they cannot price it lower than a Golf TSI.

Again, for the number of airbags, unless you know for certain what happened (Chevy is very biased against RHD cars), what you mentioned is not the case.

As for the brand new Cruze that you see online, that is sold in China and USA, honestly, they do not plan to offer the latest models to Malaysia and other RHD markets in this region. Same for the latest Malibu that gets a new 2.0 Turbo engine.

• RM122k? Good luck in selling it, Nachar.

• Firdaus on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:37 pm

How many Cruze was sold since the 1st launch?
    Not to mention how many Sonic sold?

The above 2 volumes would speak volumes about Chevy’s in Malaysia!

• viknesvaran on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Is it coincidence or they copied the rim design from proton iriz???

• Zoom Zoom on Oct 07, 2015 at 5:03 pm

No reason to buy a 1.8 Cruze 122k when you can get a Mazda3 2.0 for 109k… (138hp/176nm vs 162hp/210nm)..Better close shop for being too greedy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • lowprofile (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Nope, they’re not being greedy. It is the high price that the car is sold to Naza that reflects the high price. Honestly, the local distributor is suffering from the high prices which results in a pittance for margins. They know what is the accepted price for the cars by the public. They are just barely getting on to survive. Thanks to GM and Chevrolet.

• A car badge with a cross in front certainly doesnt work in a muslim coun try!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Only a lowsy car maker will sell a car with the original power curve. No VVT engine makes stupid curve like that. Not proton, not perodua, not china car! Have you driven one? The auto gear shift is even worst than any other car you can think off!

• Also so it is saying that the previous Chevrolet Cruze had an out-of-allignment throttle. That says a lot about Chevrolet cars!

• jam unos on Oct 07, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Cruze sama je dgn Altis, overpriced & irrelevant in Msia

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:35 pm

A lot of Cruzes on the road to be honest,especially where I live.But not a lot of Sonics sadly.:(! By the way,this is a reply for Firdaus.I can’t find reply button on IPad.

• Norawati on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:36 pm

RM55k in the US, North Asia, Europe and Australasia continent but in Dr M proton land starting from RM122K. Thanks to Dr M Proton.

• Jobless on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Omg..pls dont waste our time wit these half hearted efforts but still ridiculous pricings…clearly trying to clear old stok

• Ootai on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:13 pm

I want a corvette but they offer me this bulky metal. Sigh.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:05 pm

With the price Chevrolet wants for their Left Hand Drive ONLY Corvette, you can easily buy a Porsche or a near new Ferrari. So, which would you rather have?

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Just give me the RHD Corvette!

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Nope, General Motors don’t think Malaysia or other RHD countries deserve their Corvette or the Camaro, so don’t hope… unlike Ford.